tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

16/04/2015 : NICK WILLING - The Haunting Of Radcliffe House

NICK WILLING

The Haunting Of Radcliffe House

Movie
Horror
Image Entertainment
16/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The Haunting Of Radcliffe House, also known as Altar, was actually made for television by Nick Willing (who also wrote the script). A film that has enough fans in Britain to release it on DVD. Even though this film is not a complete winner, it is still an enjoyable movie.

Meg (Olivia Williams, a little known from X-Men 3) and Alec (Matthew Modine) are a couple from London. One of Meg's American customers has just bought an old house and she is instructed to completely renovate it. This is also good for Alec, as for his job he really need some space and that the property offers more than enough. Along with their two children, everything seems like if they finally have found some happiness. But it is a horror picture, so you will be scared too. Locals warn the couple that the building is possessed by spirits, but the two of course believe nothing of that. Everything changes when contractor Donnelly (Jonathan Jaynes) discovers a strange drawing on the floor that looks like occultism. It is the beginning of a series of horror events.

The film was often compared to The Woman In Black, and that is not such a crazy idea. Just like the Hammer-hit Willing opts for a creepy atmosphere instead of gory effects, and that pays off! Too bad the script is not solid enough and the end just too silly. However, if you are willing to overlook those two flaws (we know we ask a lot), The Haunting Of Radcliffe House is a must for horror fans. The film is now out on DVD via RLJ Entertainment.

Didier BECU
16/04/2015


NL

The Haunting Of Radcliffe House, dat eigenlijk als Altar werd uitgebracht, is een televisiefilm van ene Nick Willing (die ook het script schreef) en bestemd voor televisie. Een film die in Groot-Brittannië voldoende aanhang heeft om hem op dvd uit te brengen. Ook al is deze film geen echte hoogvlieger, is hij toch een genietbare spookfilm die het vooral van de effecten moet hebben.

Meg (Olivia Williams, een beetje bekend van X-Men 3) en Alec (Matthew Modine) zijn een koppel uit Londen. Een Amerikaanse klant van Meg heeft net een oud huis gekocht en zij krijgt de opdracht om de woonst volledig te restaureren. Dat komt ook goed uit voor Alec, want hij heeft voor zijn job heel wat ruimte nodig en dat biedt de woning meer dan genoeg. Samen met hun twee kinderen lijkt het erop alsof ze het geluk hebben gevonden. Maar het is een griezelprent, en dus moet er ook wat gebibberd worden. De lokale bevolking waarschuwt het koppel dat het gebouw door geesten is bezeten, maar daar geloven de twee natuurlijk niets van. Alles verandert als aannemer Donnelly (Jonathan Jaynes) een vreemde tekening op de vloer ontdekt die naar occultisme ruikt. Het is meteen het begin van een reeks griezelachtige voorvallen.

De film is vaak vergeleken met The Woman In Black, en dat is niet eens zo’n gek idee. Net zoals de Hammer-hit opteert ook Willing voor een griezelige sfeer in plaats van voor bloederige effecten, en dat loont! Jammer genoeg is het script niet stevig genoeg en het einde net iets te lullig om van een aanrader te kunnen spreken. Als je evenwel bereid bent om die twee gebreken door de vingers te zien (we weten dat het veelgevraagd is), is The Haunting Of Radcliffe House een aanrader voor griezelfans. De film is nu op dvd uit via RLJ Entertainment.

Didier BECU
16/04/2015


16/04/2015 : NICK WILLING - The Haunting Of Radcliffe House 16/04/2015 : NICK WILLING - The Haunting Of Radcliffe House 16/04/2015 : NICK WILLING - The Haunting Of Radcliffe House 16/04/2015 : NICK WILLING - The Haunting Of Radcliffe House 16/04/2015 : NICK WILLING - The Haunting Of Radcliffe House

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design