tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

We asked Sal-Ocin (or if you prefer the real name of Empusae's master mind Nicolas Van Meirhaeghe) to come up with ten records that changed his life...

1. NAMANAX - Audiotronic
The album I listened to the most in my life since at least 15 years: melodic, repetitive dreamy noise drones. A masterpiece and my number one album of all time!

2. COIL - Music to Play in the Dark 1&2
The best albums of these masters of bizarre which marked my life. Extreme intelligent soundtrack for nocturnal listening.

3. MICHAEL NYMAN & DAMON ALBARN - Ravenous (OST)
A soundtrack for a little-known movie about cannibalism: weird, haunting, beautiful with humourous accents. A surprising symbiosis between two complete different composers.

4. PETER BJARGO - A Wave Of Bitterness
My friend and brother in arms (Onus) with his underestimated debut solo album. So much sorrow and melancholy with delicate instrumentation and...his voice....!

5. HECQ - Nightfalls
Ben is an amazing and talented artist who turns different (electronic) styles into gold. This particular album is a pure ambient melodic homage to his father. Each time the music touches me very, very deep and intense.

6. VIDNA OBMANA - The Inferno Trilogy: Tremor + Spore + Legacy
The best representation of ritual ambient tribal music. Dirk Serries combined all elements such as rhythms, drones, melodies to get a blend of ethnic, post-industrial, ritualistic elements. I have very much respect for this artist.

7. PORCUPINE TREE - Fear Of A Blank Planet
A huge discovery of a few years ago. A friend gave me the live performance of the album. I was shocked at how good it was. Steven Wilson's highlight in a long and vast career. Post-rock with a poppy touch and yet, very dark and melancholic.

8. J.S. BACH - De Occulta Philosophia
Extreme addictive interpretation of Bach's BWV 1001 & 1004. The music is played on a Baroque lute. One version of BWV 1004 contains a soprano and contratenor and is close to the most beautiful music I ever heard. Bach has always been the most influential composer for Empusae's compositions.

9. STORM CORROSION - Storm Corrosion
Steven Wilson and Mikael Akerfeldt (Opeth) teaming up during/after Steven produced Opeth's album Heritage. The result contains the best virtues of both artists, but on a new level. Delicate, virtuous post-rock with, for me personally, references to 70s. A piece of Art!

10. BARST/TREHA SEKTORI/RM 74 - Tri Muerti
An epic album of genius Bart Desmet, aided by Dehn Sorah and Reto Mäder. Best album on our label so far, said Mike Keirsbilck when the album came out. And I agree, although Bart's upcoming solo album will be something huge. Nobody will be prepared for it and will be blown away...far away!

Foto van Nicolas: Leon De Bakker

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS
06
01
KMFDM
Paradise

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
11
01
On this day 35 years ago, Nina Hagen performed in front of 1,5 million people on the first edition of world’s biggest festivals Rock in Rio (Brazil).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.
11
01
CHRIS HASKETT (ROLLINS BAND)
'Musicians are more like radios that occasionally pick up and reproduce things from the cosmos.'

PHOTOS

26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest
26
12
REIN
Bimfest
26
12
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
bimfest
26
12
STURM CAFE
bimfest
26
12
RADERKRAFT
bimfest
26
12
ZWEITE JUGEND
Bimfest
26
12
ENZO KREFT
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing
13
01
VOK
Waterfall