tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

We asked Sal-Ocin (or if you prefer the real name of Empusae's master mind Nicolas Van Meirhaeghe) to come up with ten records that changed his life...

1. NAMANAX - Audiotronic
The album I listened to the most in my life since at least 15 years: melodic, repetitive dreamy noise drones. A masterpiece and my number one album of all time!

2. COIL - Music to Play in the Dark 1&2
The best albums of these masters of bizarre which marked my life. Extreme intelligent soundtrack for nocturnal listening.

3. MICHAEL NYMAN & DAMON ALBARN - Ravenous (OST)
A soundtrack for a little-known movie about cannibalism: weird, haunting, beautiful with humourous accents. A surprising symbiosis between two complete different composers.

4. PETER BJARGO - A Wave Of Bitterness
My friend and brother in arms (Onus) with his underestimated debut solo album. So much sorrow and melancholy with delicate instrumentation and...his voice....!

5. HECQ - Nightfalls
Ben is an amazing and talented artist who turns different (electronic) styles into gold. This particular album is a pure ambient melodic homage to his father. Each time the music touches me very, very deep and intense.

6. VIDNA OBMANA - The Inferno Trilogy: Tremor + Spore + Legacy
The best representation of ritual ambient tribal music. Dirk Serries combined all elements such as rhythms, drones, melodies to get a blend of ethnic, post-industrial, ritualistic elements. I have very much respect for this artist.

7. PORCUPINE TREE - Fear Of A Blank Planet
A huge discovery of a few years ago. A friend gave me the live performance of the album. I was shocked at how good it was. Steven Wilson's highlight in a long and vast career. Post-rock with a poppy touch and yet, very dark and melancholic.

8. J.S. BACH - De Occulta Philosophia
Extreme addictive interpretation of Bach's BWV 1001 & 1004. The music is played on a Baroque lute. One version of BWV 1004 contains a soprano and contratenor and is close to the most beautiful music I ever heard. Bach has always been the most influential composer for Empusae's compositions.

9. STORM CORROSION - Storm Corrosion
Steven Wilson and Mikael Akerfeldt (Opeth) teaming up during/after Steven produced Opeth's album Heritage. The result contains the best virtues of both artists, but on a new level. Delicate, virtuous post-rock with, for me personally, references to 70s. A piece of Art!

10. BARST/TREHA SEKTORI/RM 74 - Tri Muerti
An epic album of genius Bart Desmet, aided by Dehn Sorah and Reto Mäder. Best album on our label so far, said Mike Keirsbilck when the album came out. And I agree, although Bart's upcoming solo album will be something huge. Nobody will be prepared for it and will be blown away...far away!

Foto van Nicolas: Leon De Bakker

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

06
06
I LIKE TRAINS
The Truth
05
06
GOOD CO
So Pretty
30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
06
PSYCHE
The Things That Dreams Are Made Of (Party Monster Mix)
05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE