tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

We asked Sal-Ocin (or if you prefer the real name of Empusae's master mind Nicolas Van Meirhaeghe) to come up with ten records that changed his life...

1. NAMANAX - Audiotronic
The album I listened to the most in my life since at least 15 years: melodic, repetitive dreamy noise drones. A masterpiece and my number one album of all time!

2. COIL - Music to Play in the Dark 1&2
The best albums of these masters of bizarre which marked my life. Extreme intelligent soundtrack for nocturnal listening.

3. MICHAEL NYMAN & DAMON ALBARN - Ravenous (OST)
A soundtrack for a little-known movie about cannibalism: weird, haunting, beautiful with humourous accents. A surprising symbiosis between two complete different composers.

4. PETER BJARGO - A Wave Of Bitterness
My friend and brother in arms (Onus) with his underestimated debut solo album. So much sorrow and melancholy with delicate instrumentation and...his voice....!

5. HECQ - Nightfalls
Ben is an amazing and talented artist who turns different (electronic) styles into gold. This particular album is a pure ambient melodic homage to his father. Each time the music touches me very, very deep and intense.

6. VIDNA OBMANA - The Inferno Trilogy: Tremor + Spore + Legacy
The best representation of ritual ambient tribal music. Dirk Serries combined all elements such as rhythms, drones, melodies to get a blend of ethnic, post-industrial, ritualistic elements. I have very much respect for this artist.

7. PORCUPINE TREE - Fear Of A Blank Planet
A huge discovery of a few years ago. A friend gave me the live performance of the album. I was shocked at how good it was. Steven Wilson's highlight in a long and vast career. Post-rock with a poppy touch and yet, very dark and melancholic.

8. J.S. BACH - De Occulta Philosophia
Extreme addictive interpretation of Bach's BWV 1001 & 1004. The music is played on a Baroque lute. One version of BWV 1004 contains a soprano and contratenor and is close to the most beautiful music I ever heard. Bach has always been the most influential composer for Empusae's compositions.

9. STORM CORROSION - Storm Corrosion
Steven Wilson and Mikael Akerfeldt (Opeth) teaming up during/after Steven produced Opeth's album Heritage. The result contains the best virtues of both artists, but on a new level. Delicate, virtuous post-rock with, for me personally, references to 70s. A piece of Art!

10. BARST/TREHA SEKTORI/RM 74 - Tri Muerti
An epic album of genius Bart Desmet, aided by Dehn Sorah and Reto Mäder. Best album on our label so far, said Mike Keirsbilck when the album came out. And I agree, although Bart's upcoming solo album will be something huge. Nobody will be prepared for it and will be blown away...far away!

Foto van Nicolas: Leon De Bakker

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu