tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

We asked Sal-Ocin (or if you prefer the real name of Empusae's master mind Nicolas Van Meirhaeghe) to come up with ten records that changed his life...

1. NAMANAX - Audiotronic
The album I listened to the most in my life since at least 15 years: melodic, repetitive dreamy noise drones. A masterpiece and my number one album of all time!

2. COIL - Music to Play in the Dark 1&2
The best albums of these masters of bizarre which marked my life. Extreme intelligent soundtrack for nocturnal listening.

3. MICHAEL NYMAN & DAMON ALBARN - Ravenous (OST)
A soundtrack for a little-known movie about cannibalism: weird, haunting, beautiful with humourous accents. A surprising symbiosis between two complete different composers.

4. PETER BJARGO - A Wave Of Bitterness
My friend and brother in arms (Onus) with his underestimated debut solo album. So much sorrow and melancholy with delicate instrumentation and...his voice....!

5. HECQ - Nightfalls
Ben is an amazing and talented artist who turns different (electronic) styles into gold. This particular album is a pure ambient melodic homage to his father. Each time the music touches me very, very deep and intense.

6. VIDNA OBMANA - The Inferno Trilogy: Tremor + Spore + Legacy
The best representation of ritual ambient tribal music. Dirk Serries combined all elements such as rhythms, drones, melodies to get a blend of ethnic, post-industrial, ritualistic elements. I have very much respect for this artist.

7. PORCUPINE TREE - Fear Of A Blank Planet
A huge discovery of a few years ago. A friend gave me the live performance of the album. I was shocked at how good it was. Steven Wilson's highlight in a long and vast career. Post-rock with a poppy touch and yet, very dark and melancholic.

8. J.S. BACH - De Occulta Philosophia
Extreme addictive interpretation of Bach's BWV 1001 & 1004. The music is played on a Baroque lute. One version of BWV 1004 contains a soprano and contratenor and is close to the most beautiful music I ever heard. Bach has always been the most influential composer for Empusae's compositions.

9. STORM CORROSION - Storm Corrosion
Steven Wilson and Mikael Akerfeldt (Opeth) teaming up during/after Steven produced Opeth's album Heritage. The result contains the best virtues of both artists, but on a new level. Delicate, virtuous post-rock with, for me personally, references to 70s. A piece of Art!

10. BARST/TREHA SEKTORI/RM 74 - Tri Muerti
An epic album of genius Bart Desmet, aided by Dehn Sorah and Reto Mäder. Best album on our label so far, said Mike Keirsbilck when the album came out. And I agree, although Bart's upcoming solo album will be something huge. Nobody will be prepared for it and will be blown away...far away!

Foto van Nicolas: Leon De Bakker

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)