tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : NICOLE SABOUNE - Miman

NICOLE SABOUNE

Miman

MusicCD


[96/100]   

Woah Dad
09/12/2016, Marija BULJETA

EN

If this album was called “the best goth to have come out of Sweden for ages”, that might just be a bit of an understatement, as I can't remember when I have heard such an emotional and truly dark album before. So, not only would I say Sweden, I would go globally here. Miman is a record that belongs on your playlist, as it is one truly amazing masterpiece, especially for those in search of something fresh and contemporary in a darkly painted music expression.

I can’t label this album as simply “gothic”; it will find its place with those in search of some deeper emotions within themselves, as it surely provokes them. I was mesmerized by this release right from the start, and even though I have heard a fair amount of “goth” music, this one surely sits on its own throne. It flirts with gothic rock, dark wave, post-punk, indie music; it is utterly melodic, melancholic, and not to forget: about the magnificent vocals of Nicole!

The opening track The Body is really like a punch in the face, but you don't even mind, as it is so heavy, so breath-taking, so awakening as if you have been asleep for too long, and Nicole wakes you up to tell you the story of your soul. It is as if she knows you well.

Even when Nicole is more quiet, that great emotional impact lingers on, as in Under Stars. Lifetime is another favourite on this album, an extraordinary and emotional vocal performance with an strong melody and chorus.

Rip This World is the hit piece of this release. It evokes memories of Siouxsie Sioux, but only for a moment, as Nicole gives us her true self all the way. One slower track to close the story of Miman is Withdraw. Relaying mainly on vocals, this song has a lullaby effect, which continues to echo in your soul long after the track is over. 

Marija BULJETA
09/12/2016


NL

Kijk, mocht je deze gothplaat omschrijven als de beste die sinds jaren uit Zweden komt, dan denk ik het daarmee eens zou zijn. Neen, het is zeker geen understatement, want ik kan me niet herinneren wanneer ik nog zo'n emotioneel en donker album heb gehoord. Voor mijn part moet je je zelfs niet tot Zweden beperken, maak er maar gewoon de hele wereld van.

Miman behoort gewoon op je playlist te staan. Het is een geweldig meesterwerk, vooral voor degenen die op zoek zijn naar iets fris en modern in de donkere muziek.

Anderzijds kan ik dit album ook niet zo maar als gothic labellen. Het zal wel vanzelf zijn plaats vinden bij mensen die op zoek zijn naar diepere emoties, want deze muziek wakkert ze aan. Vanaf het begin was ik gefascineerd, en hoewel ik een behoorlijke hoeveelheid goth in mijn leven heb gehoord, verdient deze plaat van Nicole Sabouné toch een kroon. De muziek flirt met gothicrock, dark wave, post punk en indiemuziek. Ze is volkomen melodieus, melancholisch en niet te vergeten: ze bevat de prachtige zang van Nicole!

Het openingsnummer The Body is als een klap in je gezicht, maar je vindt dat helemaal niet erg, want het is zo zwaar, zo adembenemend en het doet je zo wakker worden, dat het net aanvoelt alsof je te lang was ingedommeld. Nicole maakt je wakker om je het verhaal over haar ziel te vertellen. Het is alsof ze je zeer goed kent.

Zelfs wanneer Nicole rustiger zingt, blijft die grote emotionele impact hangen. Een mooi voorbeeld is Under StarsLifetime is één van mijn andere favorieten op dit album, waarop je kan horen wat voor een emotionele vocale prestatie Nicole neerzet.

Ook op Rip This World wordt je adem afgesneden. Het voelt echt als een hit aan en herinnert je aan Siouxsie Sioux, maar alleen maar voor een moment, als Nicole zich als het ware helemaal geeft. Een langzamere track sluit het verhaal van Miman af. Withdraw is vooral op zang gebaseerd, deze song heeft bijna het effect van een slaapliedje, en als het afgelopen is, zal je nog lange tijd in je ziel de echo ervan horen.

Marija BULJETA
09/12/2016


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life
13
06
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Infierno