tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : NICOLE SABOUNE - Miman

NICOLE SABOUNE

Miman

MusicCD


[96/100]   

Woah Dad
09/12/2016, Marija BULJETA

EN

If this album was called “the best goth to have come out of Sweden for ages”, that might just be a bit of an understatement, as I can't remember when I have heard such an emotional and truly dark album before. So, not only would I say Sweden, I would go globally here. Miman is a record that belongs on your playlist, as it is one truly amazing masterpiece, especially for those in search of something fresh and contemporary in a darkly painted music expression.

I can’t label this album as simply “gothic”; it will find its place with those in search of some deeper emotions within themselves, as it surely provokes them. I was mesmerized by this release right from the start, and even though I have heard a fair amount of “goth” music, this one surely sits on its own throne. It flirts with gothic rock, dark wave, post-punk, indie music; it is utterly melodic, melancholic, and not to forget: about the magnificent vocals of Nicole!

The opening track The Body is really like a punch in the face, but you don't even mind, as it is so heavy, so breath-taking, so awakening as if you have been asleep for too long, and Nicole wakes you up to tell you the story of your soul. It is as if she knows you well.

Even when Nicole is more quiet, that great emotional impact lingers on, as in Under Stars. Lifetime is another favourite on this album, an extraordinary and emotional vocal performance with an strong melody and chorus.

Rip This World is the hit piece of this release. It evokes memories of Siouxsie Sioux, but only for a moment, as Nicole gives us her true self all the way. One slower track to close the story of Miman is Withdraw. Relaying mainly on vocals, this song has a lullaby effect, which continues to echo in your soul long after the track is over. 

Marija BULJETA
09/12/2016


NL

Kijk, mocht je deze gothplaat omschrijven als de beste die sinds jaren uit Zweden komt, dan denk ik het daarmee eens zou zijn. Neen, het is zeker geen understatement, want ik kan me niet herinneren wanneer ik nog zo'n emotioneel en donker album heb gehoord. Voor mijn part moet je je zelfs niet tot Zweden beperken, maak er maar gewoon de hele wereld van.

Miman behoort gewoon op je playlist te staan. Het is een geweldig meesterwerk, vooral voor degenen die op zoek zijn naar iets fris en modern in de donkere muziek.

Anderzijds kan ik dit album ook niet zo maar als gothic labellen. Het zal wel vanzelf zijn plaats vinden bij mensen die op zoek zijn naar diepere emoties, want deze muziek wakkert ze aan. Vanaf het begin was ik gefascineerd, en hoewel ik een behoorlijke hoeveelheid goth in mijn leven heb gehoord, verdient deze plaat van Nicole Sabouné toch een kroon. De muziek flirt met gothicrock, dark wave, post punk en indiemuziek. Ze is volkomen melodieus, melancholisch en niet te vergeten: ze bevat de prachtige zang van Nicole!

Het openingsnummer The Body is als een klap in je gezicht, maar je vindt dat helemaal niet erg, want het is zo zwaar, zo adembenemend en het doet je zo wakker worden, dat het net aanvoelt alsof je te lang was ingedommeld. Nicole maakt je wakker om je het verhaal over haar ziel te vertellen. Het is alsof ze je zeer goed kent.

Zelfs wanneer Nicole rustiger zingt, blijft die grote emotionele impact hangen. Een mooi voorbeeld is Under StarsLifetime is één van mijn andere favorieten op dit album, waarop je kan horen wat voor een emotionele vocale prestatie Nicole neerzet.

Ook op Rip This World wordt je adem afgesneden. Het voelt echt als een hit aan en herinnert je aan Siouxsie Sioux, maar alleen maar voor een moment, als Nicole zich als het ware helemaal geeft. Een langzamere track sluit het verhaal van Miman af. Withdraw is vooral op zang gebaseerd, deze song heeft bijna het effect van een slaapliedje, en als het afgelopen is, zal je nog lange tijd in je ziel de echo ervan horen.

Marija BULJETA
09/12/2016


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
08
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
19
08
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
18
08
MARY OCHER
The Android Sea
17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless