tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : NICOLE SABOUNE - Miman

NICOLE SABOUNE

Miman

MusicCD


[96/100]   

Woah Dad
09/12/2016, Marija BULJETA

EN

If this album was called “the best goth to have come out of Sweden for ages”, that might just be a bit of an understatement, as I can't remember when I have heard such an emotional and truly dark album before. So, not only would I say Sweden, I would go globally here. Miman is a record that belongs on your playlist, as it is one truly amazing masterpiece, especially for those in search of something fresh and contemporary in a darkly painted music expression.

I can’t label this album as simply “gothic”; it will find its place with those in search of some deeper emotions within themselves, as it surely provokes them. I was mesmerized by this release right from the start, and even though I have heard a fair amount of “goth” music, this one surely sits on its own throne. It flirts with gothic rock, dark wave, post-punk, indie music; it is utterly melodic, melancholic, and not to forget: about the magnificent vocals of Nicole!

The opening track The Body is really like a punch in the face, but you don't even mind, as it is so heavy, so breath-taking, so awakening as if you have been asleep for too long, and Nicole wakes you up to tell you the story of your soul. It is as if she knows you well.

Even when Nicole is more quiet, that great emotional impact lingers on, as in Under Stars. Lifetime is another favourite on this album, an extraordinary and emotional vocal performance with an strong melody and chorus.

Rip This World is the hit piece of this release. It evokes memories of Siouxsie Sioux, but only for a moment, as Nicole gives us her true self all the way. One slower track to close the story of Miman is Withdraw. Relaying mainly on vocals, this song has a lullaby effect, which continues to echo in your soul long after the track is over. 

Marija BULJETA
09/12/2016


NL

Kijk, mocht je deze gothplaat omschrijven als de beste die sinds jaren uit Zweden komt, dan denk ik het daarmee eens zou zijn. Neen, het is zeker geen understatement, want ik kan me niet herinneren wanneer ik nog zo'n emotioneel en donker album heb gehoord. Voor mijn part moet je je zelfs niet tot Zweden beperken, maak er maar gewoon de hele wereld van.

Miman behoort gewoon op je playlist te staan. Het is een geweldig meesterwerk, vooral voor degenen die op zoek zijn naar iets fris en modern in de donkere muziek.

Anderzijds kan ik dit album ook niet zo maar als gothic labellen. Het zal wel vanzelf zijn plaats vinden bij mensen die op zoek zijn naar diepere emoties, want deze muziek wakkert ze aan. Vanaf het begin was ik gefascineerd, en hoewel ik een behoorlijke hoeveelheid goth in mijn leven heb gehoord, verdient deze plaat van Nicole Sabouné toch een kroon. De muziek flirt met gothicrock, dark wave, post punk en indiemuziek. Ze is volkomen melodieus, melancholisch en niet te vergeten: ze bevat de prachtige zang van Nicole!

Het openingsnummer The Body is als een klap in je gezicht, maar je vindt dat helemaal niet erg, want het is zo zwaar, zo adembenemend en het doet je zo wakker worden, dat het net aanvoelt alsof je te lang was ingedommeld. Nicole maakt je wakker om je het verhaal over haar ziel te vertellen. Het is alsof ze je zeer goed kent.

Zelfs wanneer Nicole rustiger zingt, blijft die grote emotionele impact hangen. Een mooi voorbeeld is Under StarsLifetime is één van mijn andere favorieten op dit album, waarop je kan horen wat voor een emotionele vocale prestatie Nicole neerzet.

Ook op Rip This World wordt je adem afgesneden. Het voelt echt als een hit aan en herinnert je aan Siouxsie Sioux, maar alleen maar voor een moment, als Nicole zich als het ware helemaal geeft. Een langzamere track sluit het verhaal van Miman af. Withdraw is vooral op zang gebaseerd, deze song heeft bijna het effect van een slaapliedje, en als het afgelopen is, zal je nog lange tijd in je ziel de echo ervan horen.

Marija BULJETA
09/12/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl