tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : NICOLE SABOUNE - Miman

NICOLE SABOUNE

Miman

MusicCD


[96/100]   

Woah Dad
09/12/2016, Marija BULJETA

EN

If this album was called “the best goth to have come out of Sweden for ages”, that might just be a bit of an understatement, as I can't remember when I have heard such an emotional and truly dark album before. So, not only would I say Sweden, I would go globally here. Miman is a record that belongs on your playlist, as it is one truly amazing masterpiece, especially for those in search of something fresh and contemporary in a darkly painted music expression.

I can’t label this album as simply “gothic”; it will find its place with those in search of some deeper emotions within themselves, as it surely provokes them. I was mesmerized by this release right from the start, and even though I have heard a fair amount of “goth” music, this one surely sits on its own throne. It flirts with gothic rock, dark wave, post-punk, indie music; it is utterly melodic, melancholic, and not to forget: about the magnificent vocals of Nicole!

The opening track The Body is really like a punch in the face, but you don't even mind, as it is so heavy, so breath-taking, so awakening as if you have been asleep for too long, and Nicole wakes you up to tell you the story of your soul. It is as if she knows you well.

Even when Nicole is more quiet, that great emotional impact lingers on, as in Under Stars. Lifetime is another favourite on this album, an extraordinary and emotional vocal performance with an strong melody and chorus.

Rip This World is the hit piece of this release. It evokes memories of Siouxsie Sioux, but only for a moment, as Nicole gives us her true self all the way. One slower track to close the story of Miman is Withdraw. Relaying mainly on vocals, this song has a lullaby effect, which continues to echo in your soul long after the track is over. 

Marija BULJETA
09/12/2016


NL

Kijk, mocht je deze gothplaat omschrijven als de beste die sinds jaren uit Zweden komt, dan denk ik het daarmee eens zou zijn. Neen, het is zeker geen understatement, want ik kan me niet herinneren wanneer ik nog zo'n emotioneel en donker album heb gehoord. Voor mijn part moet je je zelfs niet tot Zweden beperken, maak er maar gewoon de hele wereld van.

Miman behoort gewoon op je playlist te staan. Het is een geweldig meesterwerk, vooral voor degenen die op zoek zijn naar iets fris en modern in de donkere muziek.

Anderzijds kan ik dit album ook niet zo maar als gothic labellen. Het zal wel vanzelf zijn plaats vinden bij mensen die op zoek zijn naar diepere emoties, want deze muziek wakkert ze aan. Vanaf het begin was ik gefascineerd, en hoewel ik een behoorlijke hoeveelheid goth in mijn leven heb gehoord, verdient deze plaat van Nicole Sabouné toch een kroon. De muziek flirt met gothicrock, dark wave, post punk en indiemuziek. Ze is volkomen melodieus, melancholisch en niet te vergeten: ze bevat de prachtige zang van Nicole!

Het openingsnummer The Body is als een klap in je gezicht, maar je vindt dat helemaal niet erg, want het is zo zwaar, zo adembenemend en het doet je zo wakker worden, dat het net aanvoelt alsof je te lang was ingedommeld. Nicole maakt je wakker om je het verhaal over haar ziel te vertellen. Het is alsof ze je zeer goed kent.

Zelfs wanneer Nicole rustiger zingt, blijft die grote emotionele impact hangen. Een mooi voorbeeld is Under StarsLifetime is één van mijn andere favorieten op dit album, waarop je kan horen wat voor een emotionele vocale prestatie Nicole neerzet.

Ook op Rip This World wordt je adem afgesneden. Het voelt echt als een hit aan en herinnert je aan Siouxsie Sioux, maar alleen maar voor een moment, als Nicole zich als het ware helemaal geeft. Een langzamere track sluit het verhaal van Miman af. Withdraw is vooral op zang gebaseerd, deze song heeft bijna het effect van een slaapliedje, en als het afgelopen is, zal je nog lange tijd in je ziel de echo ervan horen.

Marija BULJETA
09/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide