tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : NIGHTMEN - Fifteen Minutes of Pain

NIGHTMEN

Fifteen Minutes of Pain

MusicCD
GaragerockRock n' Roll

[85/100]   

Lövely Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Ramones and The Undertones used to make songs which lasted 1 or 3 minutes. Nightmen continues that tradition: well pointed and concise songs with catchy choruses, like the opener Hot Days. The song has a summery atmosphere, it is pure rock 'n roll. The vocals and melodies are just irresistible.

Go Go tends more towards the sound of early Blondie. On I Do not Give A Damn, Nightmen makes me think of the Belgian punk band The Kids. This is garage rock of the better kind: it sounds simple, but it's ingeniously made and has some good melodies. Sometimes it’s punky and then it’s power pop.

I Only Want You makes me think of Herman Brood. OK, we use many references, but those who like these influences, will like this album, although Nightmen has its very own sound.

12 tracks with a total of 28 minutes of listening pleasure. In times of complex concept albums, this is a relief. Hell yeah, let's rock and roll. Fifteen Minutes of Pain? Certainly not, and if they can bring that same energy on stage, then I hope they soon will play in Belgium. I'm a fan already. What about you ?

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

In de tijd van Ramones en The Undertones waren songs van 1 of 3 minuten geen uitzondering. Nightmen zet deze traditie voort: puntige en bondige songs met catchy refreinen zoals in de opener Hot Days. De song straalt een zomers sfeertje uit en is pure rock 'n roll. De zanglijnen zijn onweerstaanbaar.

Op Go Go horen we een zangeres die naar de vroege Blondie neigt. In feite zijn ze met z'n drieën en nemen afwisselend de vocals voor hun rekening. Op I Don’t Give A Damn doen ze me wat aan The Kids denken. En zo vliegen we als een sneltrein doorheen het album en dus ook doorheen de muziekgeschiedenis. Dit is garagerock van het betere soort: het klinkt simpel, maar het zit vernuftig in elkaar en bevat goede melodielijnen. Soms punky en dan weer powerpop.

I Only Want You laat Herman Brood herrijzen. OK, we gebruiken veel verwijzingen, maar wie van al deze invloeden houdt, zal dit zeker appreciëren, zo veel is zeker en het betekent niet dat de muziek geen eigen smoel heeft.

12 tracks goed voor in totaal 28 minuten speel- en luisterplezier. In tijden van ingewikkelde conceptalbums, een verademing. Hell yeah, let’s rock and roll. Fifteen Minutes of Pain? Zeker niet en als ze die energie ook nog op het podium kunnen brengen, dan hoop ik dat ze snel ons land aan zullen doen. Ik ben nu al fan. Nu jullie nog.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : NIGHTMEN - Fifteen Minutes of Pain 09/12/2016 : NIGHTMEN - Fifteen Minutes of Pain

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap