tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : NIGHTMEN - Fifteen Minutes of Pain

NIGHTMEN

Fifteen Minutes of Pain

MusicCD
GaragerockRock n' Roll

[85/100]   

Lövely Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Ramones and The Undertones used to make songs which lasted 1 or 3 minutes. Nightmen continues that tradition: well pointed and concise songs with catchy choruses, like the opener Hot Days. The song has a summery atmosphere, it is pure rock 'n roll. The vocals and melodies are just irresistible.

Go Go tends more towards the sound of early Blondie. On I Do not Give A Damn, Nightmen makes me think of the Belgian punk band The Kids. This is garage rock of the better kind: it sounds simple, but it's ingeniously made and has some good melodies. Sometimes it’s punky and then it’s power pop.

I Only Want You makes me think of Herman Brood. OK, we use many references, but those who like these influences, will like this album, although Nightmen has its very own sound.

12 tracks with a total of 28 minutes of listening pleasure. In times of complex concept albums, this is a relief. Hell yeah, let's rock and roll. Fifteen Minutes of Pain? Certainly not, and if they can bring that same energy on stage, then I hope they soon will play in Belgium. I'm a fan already. What about you ?

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

In de tijd van Ramones en The Undertones waren songs van 1 of 3 minuten geen uitzondering. Nightmen zet deze traditie voort: puntige en bondige songs met catchy refreinen zoals in de opener Hot Days. De song straalt een zomers sfeertje uit en is pure rock 'n roll. De zanglijnen zijn onweerstaanbaar.

Op Go Go horen we een zangeres die naar de vroege Blondie neigt. In feite zijn ze met z'n drieën en nemen afwisselend de vocals voor hun rekening. Op I Don’t Give A Damn doen ze me wat aan The Kids denken. En zo vliegen we als een sneltrein doorheen het album en dus ook doorheen de muziekgeschiedenis. Dit is garagerock van het betere soort: het klinkt simpel, maar het zit vernuftig in elkaar en bevat goede melodielijnen. Soms punky en dan weer powerpop.

I Only Want You laat Herman Brood herrijzen. OK, we gebruiken veel verwijzingen, maar wie van al deze invloeden houdt, zal dit zeker appreciëren, zo veel is zeker en het betekent niet dat de muziek geen eigen smoel heeft.

12 tracks goed voor in totaal 28 minuten speel- en luisterplezier. In tijden van ingewikkelde conceptalbums, een verademing. Hell yeah, let’s rock and roll. Fifteen Minutes of Pain? Zeker niet en als ze die energie ook nog op het podium kunnen brengen, dan hoop ik dat ze snel ons land aan zullen doen. Ik ben nu al fan. Nu jullie nog.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : NIGHTMEN - Fifteen Minutes of Pain 09/12/2016 : NIGHTMEN - Fifteen Minutes of Pain

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
12
43 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
This month it’s 35 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
02
12
Jah Wobble & The Invaders Of The Heart announced 2020 UK Tour!
30
11
This month it’s been 32 years since Electro / EBM heads Nitzer Ebb released the single Murderous!
28
11
Out Of Line presents: Persistence Illusions Tour featuring Ashbury Heights & Massive Ego
28
11
Today it's exactly 39 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA (SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'

PHOTOS

04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
03
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
01
12
LINEA ASPERA
@ Centre Tour à Plomb Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

05
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
04
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Crime Passionel
03
12
SIXTH JUNE
Night Before
02
12
LEBANON HANOVER
Gallowdance
01
12
DEPECHE MODE
Where's the Revolution
30
11
ARBEID ADELT!
Apparaat
29
11
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela