tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : NIGHTMEN - Fifteen Minutes of Pain

NIGHTMEN

Fifteen Minutes of Pain

MusicCD
GaragerockRock n' Roll

[85/100]   

Lövely Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Ramones and The Undertones used to make songs which lasted 1 or 3 minutes. Nightmen continues that tradition: well pointed and concise songs with catchy choruses, like the opener Hot Days. The song has a summery atmosphere, it is pure rock 'n roll. The vocals and melodies are just irresistible.

Go Go tends more towards the sound of early Blondie. On I Do not Give A Damn, Nightmen makes me think of the Belgian punk band The Kids. This is garage rock of the better kind: it sounds simple, but it's ingeniously made and has some good melodies. Sometimes it’s punky and then it’s power pop.

I Only Want You makes me think of Herman Brood. OK, we use many references, but those who like these influences, will like this album, although Nightmen has its very own sound.

12 tracks with a total of 28 minutes of listening pleasure. In times of complex concept albums, this is a relief. Hell yeah, let's rock and roll. Fifteen Minutes of Pain? Certainly not, and if they can bring that same energy on stage, then I hope they soon will play in Belgium. I'm a fan already. What about you ?

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

In de tijd van Ramones en The Undertones waren songs van 1 of 3 minuten geen uitzondering. Nightmen zet deze traditie voort: puntige en bondige songs met catchy refreinen zoals in de opener Hot Days. De song straalt een zomers sfeertje uit en is pure rock 'n roll. De zanglijnen zijn onweerstaanbaar.

Op Go Go horen we een zangeres die naar de vroege Blondie neigt. In feite zijn ze met z'n drieën en nemen afwisselend de vocals voor hun rekening. Op I Don’t Give A Damn doen ze me wat aan The Kids denken. En zo vliegen we als een sneltrein doorheen het album en dus ook doorheen de muziekgeschiedenis. Dit is garagerock van het betere soort: het klinkt simpel, maar het zit vernuftig in elkaar en bevat goede melodielijnen. Soms punky en dan weer powerpop.

I Only Want You laat Herman Brood herrijzen. OK, we gebruiken veel verwijzingen, maar wie van al deze invloeden houdt, zal dit zeker appreciëren, zo veel is zeker en het betekent niet dat de muziek geen eigen smoel heeft.

12 tracks goed voor in totaal 28 minuten speel- en luisterplezier. In tijden van ingewikkelde conceptalbums, een verademing. Hell yeah, let’s rock and roll. Fifteen Minutes of Pain? Zeker niet en als ze die energie ook nog op het podium kunnen brengen, dan hoop ik dat ze snel ons land aan zullen doen. Ik ben nu al fan. Nu jullie nog.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : NIGHTMEN - Fifteen Minutes of Pain 09/12/2016 : NIGHTMEN - Fifteen Minutes of Pain

Music reviews

16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall