tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : NIGHTMEN - Fifteen Minutes of Pain

NIGHTMEN

Fifteen Minutes of Pain

MusicCD
GaragerockRock n' Roll

[85/100]   

Lövely Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Ramones and The Undertones used to make songs which lasted 1 or 3 minutes. Nightmen continues that tradition: well pointed and concise songs with catchy choruses, like the opener Hot Days. The song has a summery atmosphere, it is pure rock 'n roll. The vocals and melodies are just irresistible.

Go Go tends more towards the sound of early Blondie. On I Do not Give A Damn, Nightmen makes me think of the Belgian punk band The Kids. This is garage rock of the better kind: it sounds simple, but it's ingeniously made and has some good melodies. Sometimes it’s punky and then it’s power pop.

I Only Want You makes me think of Herman Brood. OK, we use many references, but those who like these influences, will like this album, although Nightmen has its very own sound.

12 tracks with a total of 28 minutes of listening pleasure. In times of complex concept albums, this is a relief. Hell yeah, let's rock and roll. Fifteen Minutes of Pain? Certainly not, and if they can bring that same energy on stage, then I hope they soon will play in Belgium. I'm a fan already. What about you ?

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

In de tijd van Ramones en The Undertones waren songs van 1 of 3 minuten geen uitzondering. Nightmen zet deze traditie voort: puntige en bondige songs met catchy refreinen zoals in de opener Hot Days. De song straalt een zomers sfeertje uit en is pure rock 'n roll. De zanglijnen zijn onweerstaanbaar.

Op Go Go horen we een zangeres die naar de vroege Blondie neigt. In feite zijn ze met z'n drieën en nemen afwisselend de vocals voor hun rekening. Op I Don’t Give A Damn doen ze me wat aan The Kids denken. En zo vliegen we als een sneltrein doorheen het album en dus ook doorheen de muziekgeschiedenis. Dit is garagerock van het betere soort: het klinkt simpel, maar het zit vernuftig in elkaar en bevat goede melodielijnen. Soms punky en dan weer powerpop.

I Only Want You laat Herman Brood herrijzen. OK, we gebruiken veel verwijzingen, maar wie van al deze invloeden houdt, zal dit zeker appreciëren, zo veel is zeker en het betekent niet dat de muziek geen eigen smoel heeft.

12 tracks goed voor in totaal 28 minuten speel- en luisterplezier. In tijden van ingewikkelde conceptalbums, een verademing. Hell yeah, let’s rock and roll. Fifteen Minutes of Pain? Zeker niet en als ze die energie ook nog op het podium kunnen brengen, dan hoop ik dat ze snel ons land aan zullen doen. Ik ben nu al fan. Nu jullie nog.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : NIGHTMEN - Fifteen Minutes of Pain 09/12/2016 : NIGHTMEN - Fifteen Minutes of Pain

Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

06
04
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
05
04
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL
03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]
02
04
DIE KRUPPS
Chinese Black Die Krupps feat. Jyrki69 (Official Music Video)
02
04
DIESEIN
You
01
04
ILLUMININE
Dear, Eulogy (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)