tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

06/06/2013 : NIMON - Drowning In Good Intentions

NIMON

Drowning In Good Intentions

MusicCD
AmbientDrone

[80/100]   

Ant-Zen
06/06/2013, Chris KONINGS

When Keef Baker made Pen Fifteen, his double cd for Hymen Records, he took a few steps towards guitar based music. I guess new ideas and inspiration bubbled up from this approach as here he workes under his new alter ego called Nimon. And while this is still electronic ambient, the use of guitars is omnipresent on this release...

And what a release it is, those who have read a few of my reviews will know I'm fond of the thing Rob Lioy (Access To Arasaka) does. Keith Baker achieves exactly that, a compelling soundtrack with feelings of distress, melancholy and hope.

It has also become a very personal album, dedicated to a family member who passed away two years ago. What better way to cope with loss then to express yourself? I could go on about what song sounds like this or that but you'll just have to hear for yourself. All I will tell you it's a wonderful journey, conjured through the many moods of the human mind and grounded in mother nature itself.

Great stuff for ambient or soundtrack fanatics!

Chris KONINGS
06/06/2013


 

Next reviews
MXRCXL • A Lauging Matter
VARIOUS ARTISTS • _ever Alive: A Tribute to Snowy Red
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO, IN SLAUGHTER NATIVES, ROME, TRIARI, MENTALPLASTIC BODYFILLER, EMPUSAE, DEAD MAN'S HILL & MR. MANUVA • Porta Nigra, 1/6/2013, Aarschot, Belgium
XP8 • Adrenochrome
MONO NO AWARE • Tatemae
ZEBRA ISLAND • Saturnine
PARáRA
WIELORYB • Namaste
GUIDO BELCANTO • Zo Goed Als Alleen
SONIC AREA • Music For Ghosts

 

Other reviews from NIMON
NIMON • Fear of Change
NIMON • The King Is Dead

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + DRONE
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One
PALE THORNS • Somberland
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
JOHN 3:16 • The Burnt Tower/Babylon the Great (EP)
LA MONTE YOUNG & MARIAN ZAZEELA • Dream House 78’ 17”
SUBHEIM • Foray
INNERWOUD • Mirre
CHVE • Rasa

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
EMPUSAE + KLANKDAL • Split album
YODOK III • Legion Of Radiance: Live At Dokkhuset
HERMAN NITSCH • (Brussels, Begijnenkerk, 28/02/2016)

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra
25
09
WULF 7
Porta Nigra
21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom