tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

20/10/2011 : NOISEPOETNOBODY & VANCE GALLOWAY - Uranium 238

NOISEPOETNOBODY & VANCE GALLOWAY

Uranium 238

MusicCD
Experimental

[70/100]   

Lens Records
20/10/2011, Chris KONINGS

This duo met each other way back in the nineties when Vance was mastering an album of a band that Noisepoetnobody (Casey Jones) was in at the time. Seattle based Casey was then also establishing himself as a solo performer in the experimental music scene. Occasionally they performed together and as improvisers managed to captivate audiences as though the songs performed were rehearsed to perfection.

This album represents the duo's second full length recording (the first being Summons The Porocora) and also has a live recording made for KEXP radio.

Their use of loopers, analog synths, guitars and string boards is very similar to the experiments of Nurse With Wound or people like Pascal Comelade. Not extremely listenable but only because of the abscence of conventional methods. The music itself has a sort of ambient feel that I can only discribe as a junction where Brian Eno meets Fear And Loathing in Las Vegas.

The first five songs are what I presume studio works finding the perfect balance between improvisation and production. The last song takes about half an hour and is the KEXP radio recording. This is pure improvisation and it takes of lot more of your listening skills (or your patience). Titles like "Measuring The Stones Of Light With Primitive Wooden Tools" and "Casting Links For Chain To Enslave Animal And Man" can only suggest mind bending sound experiments and those few fans will not be dissapointed with this album. Peculiar and beautiful but you have been warned!

Chris KONINGS
20/10/2011


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel