tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2015 : NOTS - We Are Nots

NOTS

We Are Nots

MusicCD
Post PunkPsychedelicRiot Grrrl

[82/100]   

Heavenly Recordings
08/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Punk has to come from the belly. There are no rules for it, you have it or you do not. Anyway you do not have to teach Natalie Hoffmann, Charlotte Watson, Madison Farmer and Alexandra Eastburn the definition of punk. In 27 minutes, the foursome of Memphis plays 11 songs and they all have one common feature: it rambles, but it sounds irresistible.

Even though their lyrics are not exactly what you’d call optimistic, they do not take themselves too seriously and as loyal disciples of Mark E. Smith, Nots plays eleven tracks that are situated between garage rock and psychedelics. Psychedelics? Yes, the basic sounds are like Bikini Kill, The Fall and even Elastica, but between their punk-rock violence you regularly hear Alexandra’s progrock synths that seem to come from a Hawkwind album.

This quartet barely exists three years, but this debut, recorded with Doug Easley (Sonic Youth, White Stripes and Guided By Voices), is both daring and great class. No, Nots does nothing new, but it sounds incredibly fresh. One of the best punk-rock album of this year. Dirty, sexy, aggressive and damn addictive too!

Didier BECU
08/12/2015


NL

Punk moet uit je buik komen. Er bestaan geen regels voor, je hebt het of je hebt het niet. Natalie Hoffmann, Charlotte Watson, Madison Farmer en Alexandra Eastburn uit Memphis moet je de definitie van punk in ieder geval niet leren kennen. In 27 minuten speelt het viertal 11 nummers en die hebben allemaal één gemeenschappelijk kenmerk: het rommelt langs alle kanten, maar klinkt onweerstaanbaar.

Ook al zijn hun teksten niet bepaald opgetogen, nemen ze zichzelf niet al te serieus en als loyale leerlingen van Mark E. Smith brengt Nots elf tracks die zich tussen garagerock en psychedelica situeren. Psychedelica? Jawel, de basisstructuur klinkt zoals pakweg Bikini Kill, The Fall en zelfs Elastica, maar tussen het punkrockgeweld door hoor je ook geregeld de progrocksynths van Alexandra, die uit een Hawkwind-album lijken te komen.

Dit viertal is amper drie jaar bezig, maar dit debuut dat met Doug Easley (Sonic Youth, White Stripes en Guided By Voices) is opgenomen, getuigt van zowel durf als grote klasse. Neen, Nots doet niks nieuws, toch klinkt het ontzettend fris. Een van de beste punkrockplaten van het jaar. Vuil, sexy, agressief en verdomme nog verslavend ook!

Didier BECU
08/12/2015


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu