tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2015 : NOTS - We Are Nots

NOTS

We Are Nots

MusicCD
Post PunkPsychedelicRiot Grrrl

[82/100]   

Heavenly Recordings
08/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Punk has to come from the belly. There are no rules for it, you have it or you do not. Anyway you do not have to teach Natalie Hoffmann, Charlotte Watson, Madison Farmer and Alexandra Eastburn the definition of punk. In 27 minutes, the foursome of Memphis plays 11 songs and they all have one common feature: it rambles, but it sounds irresistible.

Even though their lyrics are not exactly what you’d call optimistic, they do not take themselves too seriously and as loyal disciples of Mark E. Smith, Nots plays eleven tracks that are situated between garage rock and psychedelics. Psychedelics? Yes, the basic sounds are like Bikini Kill, The Fall and even Elastica, but between their punk-rock violence you regularly hear Alexandra’s progrock synths that seem to come from a Hawkwind album.

This quartet barely exists three years, but this debut, recorded with Doug Easley (Sonic Youth, White Stripes and Guided By Voices), is both daring and great class. No, Nots does nothing new, but it sounds incredibly fresh. One of the best punk-rock album of this year. Dirty, sexy, aggressive and damn addictive too!

Didier BECU
08/12/2015


NL

Punk moet uit je buik komen. Er bestaan geen regels voor, je hebt het of je hebt het niet. Natalie Hoffmann, Charlotte Watson, Madison Farmer en Alexandra Eastburn uit Memphis moet je de definitie van punk in ieder geval niet leren kennen. In 27 minuten speelt het viertal 11 nummers en die hebben allemaal één gemeenschappelijk kenmerk: het rommelt langs alle kanten, maar klinkt onweerstaanbaar.

Ook al zijn hun teksten niet bepaald opgetogen, nemen ze zichzelf niet al te serieus en als loyale leerlingen van Mark E. Smith brengt Nots elf tracks die zich tussen garagerock en psychedelica situeren. Psychedelica? Jawel, de basisstructuur klinkt zoals pakweg Bikini Kill, The Fall en zelfs Elastica, maar tussen het punkrockgeweld door hoor je ook geregeld de progrocksynths van Alexandra, die uit een Hawkwind-album lijken te komen.

Dit viertal is amper drie jaar bezig, maar dit debuut dat met Doug Easley (Sonic Youth, White Stripes en Guided By Voices) is opgenomen, getuigt van zowel durf als grote klasse. Neen, Nots doet niks nieuws, toch klinkt het ontzettend fris. Een van de beste punkrockplaten van het jaar. Vuil, sexy, agressief en verdomme nog verslavend ook!

Didier BECU
08/12/2015


Music reviews

24
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Human Transitions
23
03
AUTOGRAMM
What R U Waiting 4?
22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
03
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Phoenix
23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco