tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2015 : NOTS - We Are Nots

NOTS

We Are Nots

MusicCD
Post PunkPsychedelicRiot Grrrl

[82/100]   

Heavenly Recordings
08/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Punk has to come from the belly. There are no rules for it, you have it or you do not. Anyway you do not have to teach Natalie Hoffmann, Charlotte Watson, Madison Farmer and Alexandra Eastburn the definition of punk. In 27 minutes, the foursome of Memphis plays 11 songs and they all have one common feature: it rambles, but it sounds irresistible.

Even though their lyrics are not exactly what you’d call optimistic, they do not take themselves too seriously and as loyal disciples of Mark E. Smith, Nots plays eleven tracks that are situated between garage rock and psychedelics. Psychedelics? Yes, the basic sounds are like Bikini Kill, The Fall and even Elastica, but between their punk-rock violence you regularly hear Alexandra’s progrock synths that seem to come from a Hawkwind album.

This quartet barely exists three years, but this debut, recorded with Doug Easley (Sonic Youth, White Stripes and Guided By Voices), is both daring and great class. No, Nots does nothing new, but it sounds incredibly fresh. One of the best punk-rock album of this year. Dirty, sexy, aggressive and damn addictive too!

Didier BECU
08/12/2015


NL

Punk moet uit je buik komen. Er bestaan geen regels voor, je hebt het of je hebt het niet. Natalie Hoffmann, Charlotte Watson, Madison Farmer en Alexandra Eastburn uit Memphis moet je de definitie van punk in ieder geval niet leren kennen. In 27 minuten speelt het viertal 11 nummers en die hebben allemaal één gemeenschappelijk kenmerk: het rommelt langs alle kanten, maar klinkt onweerstaanbaar.

Ook al zijn hun teksten niet bepaald opgetogen, nemen ze zichzelf niet al te serieus en als loyale leerlingen van Mark E. Smith brengt Nots elf tracks die zich tussen garagerock en psychedelica situeren. Psychedelica? Jawel, de basisstructuur klinkt zoals pakweg Bikini Kill, The Fall en zelfs Elastica, maar tussen het punkrockgeweld door hoor je ook geregeld de progrocksynths van Alexandra, die uit een Hawkwind-album lijken te komen.

Dit viertal is amper drie jaar bezig, maar dit debuut dat met Doug Easley (Sonic Youth, White Stripes en Guided By Voices) is opgenomen, getuigt van zowel durf als grote klasse. Neen, Nots doet niks nieuws, toch klinkt het ontzettend fris. Een van de beste punkrockplaten van het jaar. Vuil, sexy, agressief en verdomme nog verslavend ook!

Didier BECU
08/12/2015


Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still