tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2015 : NOTS - We Are Nots

NOTS

We Are Nots

MusicCD
Post PunkPsychedelicRiot Grrrl

[82/100]   

Heavenly Recordings
08/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Punk has to come from the belly. There are no rules for it, you have it or you do not. Anyway you do not have to teach Natalie Hoffmann, Charlotte Watson, Madison Farmer and Alexandra Eastburn the definition of punk. In 27 minutes, the foursome of Memphis plays 11 songs and they all have one common feature: it rambles, but it sounds irresistible.

Even though their lyrics are not exactly what you’d call optimistic, they do not take themselves too seriously and as loyal disciples of Mark E. Smith, Nots plays eleven tracks that are situated between garage rock and psychedelics. Psychedelics? Yes, the basic sounds are like Bikini Kill, The Fall and even Elastica, but between their punk-rock violence you regularly hear Alexandra’s progrock synths that seem to come from a Hawkwind album.

This quartet barely exists three years, but this debut, recorded with Doug Easley (Sonic Youth, White Stripes and Guided By Voices), is both daring and great class. No, Nots does nothing new, but it sounds incredibly fresh. One of the best punk-rock album of this year. Dirty, sexy, aggressive and damn addictive too!

Didier BECU
08/12/2015


NL

Punk moet uit je buik komen. Er bestaan geen regels voor, je hebt het of je hebt het niet. Natalie Hoffmann, Charlotte Watson, Madison Farmer en Alexandra Eastburn uit Memphis moet je de definitie van punk in ieder geval niet leren kennen. In 27 minuten speelt het viertal 11 nummers en die hebben allemaal één gemeenschappelijk kenmerk: het rommelt langs alle kanten, maar klinkt onweerstaanbaar.

Ook al zijn hun teksten niet bepaald opgetogen, nemen ze zichzelf niet al te serieus en als loyale leerlingen van Mark E. Smith brengt Nots elf tracks die zich tussen garagerock en psychedelica situeren. Psychedelica? Jawel, de basisstructuur klinkt zoals pakweg Bikini Kill, The Fall en zelfs Elastica, maar tussen het punkrockgeweld door hoor je ook geregeld de progrocksynths van Alexandra, die uit een Hawkwind-album lijken te komen.

Dit viertal is amper drie jaar bezig, maar dit debuut dat met Doug Easley (Sonic Youth, White Stripes en Guided By Voices) is opgenomen, getuigt van zowel durf als grote klasse. Neen, Nots doet niks nieuws, toch klinkt het ontzettend fris. Een van de beste punkrockplaten van het jaar. Vuil, sexy, agressief en verdomme nog verslavend ook!

Didier BECU
08/12/2015


Music reviews

23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer
22
08
NAIROD YARG
Nairod Yarg
17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live
14
08
PETER GUNDRY
V Ö L U R

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
08
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo
17
08
MOTOR!K
Static