tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2015 : NOTS - We Are Nots

NOTS

We Are Nots

MusicCD
Post PunkPsychedelicRiot Grrrl

[82/100]   

Heavenly Recordings
08/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Punk has to come from the belly. There are no rules for it, you have it or you do not. Anyway you do not have to teach Natalie Hoffmann, Charlotte Watson, Madison Farmer and Alexandra Eastburn the definition of punk. In 27 minutes, the foursome of Memphis plays 11 songs and they all have one common feature: it rambles, but it sounds irresistible.

Even though their lyrics are not exactly what you’d call optimistic, they do not take themselves too seriously and as loyal disciples of Mark E. Smith, Nots plays eleven tracks that are situated between garage rock and psychedelics. Psychedelics? Yes, the basic sounds are like Bikini Kill, The Fall and even Elastica, but between their punk-rock violence you regularly hear Alexandra’s progrock synths that seem to come from a Hawkwind album.

This quartet barely exists three years, but this debut, recorded with Doug Easley (Sonic Youth, White Stripes and Guided By Voices), is both daring and great class. No, Nots does nothing new, but it sounds incredibly fresh. One of the best punk-rock album of this year. Dirty, sexy, aggressive and damn addictive too!

Didier BECU
08/12/2015


NL

Punk moet uit je buik komen. Er bestaan geen regels voor, je hebt het of je hebt het niet. Natalie Hoffmann, Charlotte Watson, Madison Farmer en Alexandra Eastburn uit Memphis moet je de definitie van punk in ieder geval niet leren kennen. In 27 minuten speelt het viertal 11 nummers en die hebben allemaal één gemeenschappelijk kenmerk: het rommelt langs alle kanten, maar klinkt onweerstaanbaar.

Ook al zijn hun teksten niet bepaald opgetogen, nemen ze zichzelf niet al te serieus en als loyale leerlingen van Mark E. Smith brengt Nots elf tracks die zich tussen garagerock en psychedelica situeren. Psychedelica? Jawel, de basisstructuur klinkt zoals pakweg Bikini Kill, The Fall en zelfs Elastica, maar tussen het punkrockgeweld door hoor je ook geregeld de progrocksynths van Alexandra, die uit een Hawkwind-album lijken te komen.

Dit viertal is amper drie jaar bezig, maar dit debuut dat met Doug Easley (Sonic Youth, White Stripes en Guided By Voices) is opgenomen, getuigt van zowel durf als grote klasse. Neen, Nots doet niks nieuws, toch klinkt het ontzettend fris. Een van de beste punkrockplaten van het jaar. Vuil, sexy, agressief en verdomme nog verslavend ook!

Didier BECU
08/12/2015


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album
19
02
Gothic Industrial Band BATAVIA Unveils Remix Album, Batavia And Their Friends

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag
22
02
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth