tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/12/2015 : NOVEMBER NOVELET - The World In Devotion

NOVEMBER NOVELET

The World In Devotion

MusicCD
ElectronicsMinimal

[88/100]   

Galakthorroe
13/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps the name November Növelet sounds obscure to you, but this duo consists of Mrs. And Mr. Arafna, or in other words: Haus Arafna. The difference is that the duo from Braunschweig sounds a bit more accessible on November Növelet,due to the minimal synths...

The cover is dark, and a CD that begins with the words Death Has Released You, Be Grateful To Your Murderer can hardly be called cheerful. No, dear children of the night, sounding more dark is almost impossible, and that's the atmosphere of the whole CD. The voice of Ms. Arafna sounds icy cold, while the electronic compositions of Mr. Arafna gives you goose bumps.

Because of the minimal wave-like approach and the glockenspiel-like synths, The World In Devotion sounds a bit lighter, even a tad danceable, but you always stand with one leg in the grave. Dark discopop with indus-like synths: it exists and it is made by November Növelet. Even more obscure sounds you hear in Living Perfection, with synths that give you the feeling that you are watching a cheap, terrifying horror movie.

Perhaps In Circles is the most poppy song, and coincidence or not, it sounds a bit like Nine Circles, although those frightening keyboards still emerge. More beautiful songs about death you’ll hear in He's Dying Beside. It doesn’t make you happy, but who wants beauty without content? Pain is the nourishment of the soul, and this German duo understands this like no other. Made Of Gold is sinister too. Music at its darkest. Intriguing, but also terrifying. No, music can’t be any deeper than that.

The only song that conveys some hope is Crying Walls, reminiscent to Absolute Body Control through its synths. But do not laugh too soon, as the final track Fire is (again) pitch black.

The World In Devotion is a very dark record. And no, there is no light at the end of the tunnel, so be it!

Didier BECU
13/12/2015


NL

Misschien zegt de naam November Növelet je niet meteen iets, maar dit duo bestaat uit Mrs. En Mr. Arafna, of gewoon Haus Arafna dus. Het verschil met Haus Arafna is wellicht dat het duo uit Braunschweig op November Növelet door de minimale synths iets toegankelijker klinkt, alhoewel…

De hoes is donker, en een cd die met de woorden Death Has Released You, Be Grateful To Your Murderer begint, kun je moeilijk een vrolijk plaatje noemen. Neen, lieve kinderen van de nacht, meer droevig kan bijna niet en dat is de sfeer die November Növelet de hele cd lang volhoudt. De stem van mevrouw Arafna klinkt ijzig koel, terwijl je van de elektronische composities van mijnheer Arafna gewoon kippenvel krijgt.

Door de minimal wave-achtige aanpak en de glockenspielachtige synths klinkt The World In Devotion wel iets lichter, zelfs een tikkeltje dansbaar, toch blijf je steeds met één been in het graf staan. Zwartgallige discopop met indusachtige synths: het bestaat en wordt gemaakt door November Növelet.

Nog meer duistere klanken hoor je in Living Perfection, met synths die je het gevoel geven dat je naar een goedkope, angstaanjagende horrorfilm kijkt.

Wellicht is In Circles het meest poppy nummer, en toeval of niet, het klinkt wat als Nine Circles, ook al blijven die angstaanjagende keyboards alsmaar opduiken. Nog meer mooie liedjes over de dood hoor je in He’s Dying Beside. Gelukkig word je er niet van, maar wie wil schoonheid zonder inhoud? Pijn is de voedingsbron van de ziel, en dat begrijpt dit Duitse duo als geen ander. Made Of Gold is zelfs bij momenten luguber. Muziek op zijn donkerst. Intrigerend, maar tegelijkertijd angstaanjagend. Neen, muziek kan moeilijker dieper dan dat.

Het enige nummer dat wat hoop uitstraalt is Crying Walls, dat door de synths wat aan Absolute Body Control doet denken. Maar lach niet te vlug, het eindnummer Fire is alweer gitzwart.

The World In Devotion is een zeer donker plaatje. En neen, er is geen licht aan het eind van de tunnel, het zij zo!

Didier BECU
13/12/2015


 

Next reviews
INNERWOUD • Mirre
BEYOND THE LABYRINTH • Ghost Melody
MY BABY • Shamanaid
DAVID CARRETTA • Two Decades: A Retrospective
LUDOVIK MATERIAL • Model Generation
MAIA VIDAL • The Tide
MARC-ANDRE HAMELIN • John Cage/Karlheinz Stockhausen (Antwerpen, deSingel, 10/12/2015)
FISH • London,Islington Assembly Hall (05/12/15)
PETER BELLAERT (KONER) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PHANTOM CRUX • Synesthesia

 

Other reviews from NOVEMBER NOVELET
NOVEMBER NOVELET • Unintended By Nature (The Singles 1994-2012 + Bonus Material)

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRONICS + MINIMAL
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
ROLF TROSTEL • Two Faces
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Pistes Noires-Hommage Electronique-Pop A Etienne Daho
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
ADN’ CKRYSTALL • Jazz' Mad

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP

Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019
14
07
'Hidden Figures' release their first single this August - debut album in progress!
13
07
Exclusive BEAUTY IN THE SUFFERING Performance Featured In New Horror Film, CLOWN MOTEL

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
ALIENARE
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis
12
07
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
11
07
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue