tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/12/2015 : NOVEMBER NOVELET - The World In Devotion

NOVEMBER NOVELET

The World In Devotion

MusicCD
ElectronicsMinimal

[88/100]   

Galakthorroe
13/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps the name November Növelet sounds obscure to you, but this duo consists of Mrs. And Mr. Arafna, or in other words: Haus Arafna. The difference is that the duo from Braunschweig sounds a bit more accessible on November Növelet,due to the minimal synths...

The cover is dark, and a CD that begins with the words Death Has Released You, Be Grateful To Your Murderer can hardly be called cheerful. No, dear children of the night, sounding more dark is almost impossible, and that's the atmosphere of the whole CD. The voice of Ms. Arafna sounds icy cold, while the electronic compositions of Mr. Arafna gives you goose bumps.

Because of the minimal wave-like approach and the glockenspiel-like synths, The World In Devotion sounds a bit lighter, even a tad danceable, but you always stand with one leg in the grave. Dark discopop with indus-like synths: it exists and it is made by November Növelet. Even more obscure sounds you hear in Living Perfection, with synths that give you the feeling that you are watching a cheap, terrifying horror movie.

Perhaps In Circles is the most poppy song, and coincidence or not, it sounds a bit like Nine Circles, although those frightening keyboards still emerge. More beautiful songs about death you’ll hear in He's Dying Beside. It doesn’t make you happy, but who wants beauty without content? Pain is the nourishment of the soul, and this German duo understands this like no other. Made Of Gold is sinister too. Music at its darkest. Intriguing, but also terrifying. No, music can’t be any deeper than that.

The only song that conveys some hope is Crying Walls, reminiscent to Absolute Body Control through its synths. But do not laugh too soon, as the final track Fire is (again) pitch black.

The World In Devotion is a very dark record. And no, there is no light at the end of the tunnel, so be it!

Didier BECU
13/12/2015


NL

Misschien zegt de naam November Növelet je niet meteen iets, maar dit duo bestaat uit Mrs. En Mr. Arafna, of gewoon Haus Arafna dus. Het verschil met Haus Arafna is wellicht dat het duo uit Braunschweig op November Növelet door de minimale synths iets toegankelijker klinkt, alhoewel…

De hoes is donker, en een cd die met de woorden Death Has Released You, Be Grateful To Your Murderer begint, kun je moeilijk een vrolijk plaatje noemen. Neen, lieve kinderen van de nacht, meer droevig kan bijna niet en dat is de sfeer die November Növelet de hele cd lang volhoudt. De stem van mevrouw Arafna klinkt ijzig koel, terwijl je van de elektronische composities van mijnheer Arafna gewoon kippenvel krijgt.

Door de minimal wave-achtige aanpak en de glockenspielachtige synths klinkt The World In Devotion wel iets lichter, zelfs een tikkeltje dansbaar, toch blijf je steeds met één been in het graf staan. Zwartgallige discopop met indusachtige synths: het bestaat en wordt gemaakt door November Növelet.

Nog meer duistere klanken hoor je in Living Perfection, met synths die je het gevoel geven dat je naar een goedkope, angstaanjagende horrorfilm kijkt.

Wellicht is In Circles het meest poppy nummer, en toeval of niet, het klinkt wat als Nine Circles, ook al blijven die angstaanjagende keyboards alsmaar opduiken. Nog meer mooie liedjes over de dood hoor je in He’s Dying Beside. Gelukkig word je er niet van, maar wie wil schoonheid zonder inhoud? Pijn is de voedingsbron van de ziel, en dat begrijpt dit Duitse duo als geen ander. Made Of Gold is zelfs bij momenten luguber. Muziek op zijn donkerst. Intrigerend, maar tegelijkertijd angstaanjagend. Neen, muziek kan moeilijker dieper dan dat.

Het enige nummer dat wat hoop uitstraalt is Crying Walls, dat door de synths wat aan Absolute Body Control doet denken. Maar lach niet te vlug, het eindnummer Fire is alweer gitzwart.

The World In Devotion is een zeer donker plaatje. En neen, er is geen licht aan het eind van de tunnel, het zij zo!

Didier BECU
13/12/2015


 

Next reviews
INNERWOUD • Mirre
BEYOND THE LABYRINTH • Ghost Melody
MY BABY • Shamanaid
DAVID CARRETTA • Two Decades: A Retrospective
LUDOVIK MATERIAL • Model Generation
MAIA VIDAL • The Tide
MARC-ANDRE HAMELIN • John Cage/Karlheinz Stockhausen (Antwerpen, deSingel, 10/12/2015)
FISH • London,Islington Assembly Hall (05/12/15)
PETER BELLAERT (KONER) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PHANTOM CRUX • Synesthesia

 

Other reviews from NOVEMBER NOVELET
NOVEMBER NOVELET • Unintended By Nature (The Singles 1994-2012 + Bonus Material)

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRONICS + MINIMAL
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
ROLF TROSTEL • Two Faces
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Pistes Noires-Hommage Electronique-Pop A Etienne Daho
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
ADN’ CKRYSTALL • Jazz' Mad

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!
01
03
SEX GANG CHILDREN PREMIERE NEW SINGLE - DEATH MASK MUSSOLINI
28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG