tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/12/2015 : NOVEMBER NOVELET - The World In Devotion

NOVEMBER NOVELET

The World In Devotion

MusicCD
ElectronicsMinimal

[88/100]   

Galakthorroe
13/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps the name November Növelet sounds obscure to you, but this duo consists of Mrs. And Mr. Arafna, or in other words: Haus Arafna. The difference is that the duo from Braunschweig sounds a bit more accessible on November Növelet,due to the minimal synths...

The cover is dark, and a CD that begins with the words Death Has Released You, Be Grateful To Your Murderer can hardly be called cheerful. No, dear children of the night, sounding more dark is almost impossible, and that's the atmosphere of the whole CD. The voice of Ms. Arafna sounds icy cold, while the electronic compositions of Mr. Arafna gives you goose bumps.

Because of the minimal wave-like approach and the glockenspiel-like synths, The World In Devotion sounds a bit lighter, even a tad danceable, but you always stand with one leg in the grave. Dark discopop with indus-like synths: it exists and it is made by November Növelet. Even more obscure sounds you hear in Living Perfection, with synths that give you the feeling that you are watching a cheap, terrifying horror movie.

Perhaps In Circles is the most poppy song, and coincidence or not, it sounds a bit like Nine Circles, although those frightening keyboards still emerge. More beautiful songs about death you’ll hear in He's Dying Beside. It doesn’t make you happy, but who wants beauty without content? Pain is the nourishment of the soul, and this German duo understands this like no other. Made Of Gold is sinister too. Music at its darkest. Intriguing, but also terrifying. No, music can’t be any deeper than that.

The only song that conveys some hope is Crying Walls, reminiscent to Absolute Body Control through its synths. But do not laugh too soon, as the final track Fire is (again) pitch black.

The World In Devotion is a very dark record. And no, there is no light at the end of the tunnel, so be it!

Didier BECU
13/12/2015


NL

Misschien zegt de naam November Növelet je niet meteen iets, maar dit duo bestaat uit Mrs. En Mr. Arafna, of gewoon Haus Arafna dus. Het verschil met Haus Arafna is wellicht dat het duo uit Braunschweig op November Növelet door de minimale synths iets toegankelijker klinkt, alhoewel…

De hoes is donker, en een cd die met de woorden Death Has Released You, Be Grateful To Your Murderer begint, kun je moeilijk een vrolijk plaatje noemen. Neen, lieve kinderen van de nacht, meer droevig kan bijna niet en dat is de sfeer die November Növelet de hele cd lang volhoudt. De stem van mevrouw Arafna klinkt ijzig koel, terwijl je van de elektronische composities van mijnheer Arafna gewoon kippenvel krijgt.

Door de minimal wave-achtige aanpak en de glockenspielachtige synths klinkt The World In Devotion wel iets lichter, zelfs een tikkeltje dansbaar, toch blijf je steeds met één been in het graf staan. Zwartgallige discopop met indusachtige synths: het bestaat en wordt gemaakt door November Növelet.

Nog meer duistere klanken hoor je in Living Perfection, met synths die je het gevoel geven dat je naar een goedkope, angstaanjagende horrorfilm kijkt.

Wellicht is In Circles het meest poppy nummer, en toeval of niet, het klinkt wat als Nine Circles, ook al blijven die angstaanjagende keyboards alsmaar opduiken. Nog meer mooie liedjes over de dood hoor je in He’s Dying Beside. Gelukkig word je er niet van, maar wie wil schoonheid zonder inhoud? Pijn is de voedingsbron van de ziel, en dat begrijpt dit Duitse duo als geen ander. Made Of Gold is zelfs bij momenten luguber. Muziek op zijn donkerst. Intrigerend, maar tegelijkertijd angstaanjagend. Neen, muziek kan moeilijker dieper dan dat.

Het enige nummer dat wat hoop uitstraalt is Crying Walls, dat door de synths wat aan Absolute Body Control doet denken. Maar lach niet te vlug, het eindnummer Fire is alweer gitzwart.

The World In Devotion is een zeer donker plaatje. En neen, er is geen licht aan het eind van de tunnel, het zij zo!

Didier BECU
13/12/2015


 

Next reviews
INNERWOUD • Mirre
BEYOND THE LABYRINTH • Ghost Melody
MY BABY • Shamanaid
DAVID CARRETTA • Two Decades: A Retrospective
LUDOVIK MATERIAL • Model Generation
MAIA VIDAL • The Tide
MARC-ANDRE HAMELIN • John Cage/Karlheinz Stockhausen (Antwerpen, deSingel, 10/12/2015)
FISH • London,Islington Assembly Hall (05/12/15)
PETER BELLAERT (KONER) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PHANTOM CRUX • Synesthesia

 

Other reviews from NOVEMBER NOVELET
NOVEMBER NOVELET • Unintended By Nature (The Singles 1994-2012 + Bonus Material)

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRONICS + MINIMAL
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
ROLF TROSTEL • Two Faces
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Pistes Noires-Hommage Electronique-Pop A Etienne Daho
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
ADN’ CKRYSTALL • Jazz' Mad

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens

Music reviews

18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn
19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
11
From Human To Numan | Tubeway Army at 42
23
11
The Public’s Image Of Metal Box | The PiL Classic 41-Years On
21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 32 years ago!
21
11
Isn't Anything (album) by My Bloody Valentine turns 32 today!
17
11
40 years of Grotesque by The Fall
17
11
Lord Of The Lost release Fears - 10th Anniversary Edition -

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
11
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh
21
11
LIEF HALL
Roses for Ruins
20
11
FEAR FACTORY
Expiration Date
19
11
WULFBAND
Kalt Blut
18
11
NINE INCH NAILS
Closer