tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/12/2015 : NOVEMBER NOVELET - The World In Devotion

NOVEMBER NOVELET

The World In Devotion

MusicCD
ElectronicsMinimal

[88/100]   

Galakthorroe
13/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps the name November Növelet sounds obscure to you, but this duo consists of Mrs. And Mr. Arafna, or in other words: Haus Arafna. The difference is that the duo from Braunschweig sounds a bit more accessible on November Növelet,due to the minimal synths...

The cover is dark, and a CD that begins with the words Death Has Released You, Be Grateful To Your Murderer can hardly be called cheerful. No, dear children of the night, sounding more dark is almost impossible, and that's the atmosphere of the whole CD. The voice of Ms. Arafna sounds icy cold, while the electronic compositions of Mr. Arafna gives you goose bumps.

Because of the minimal wave-like approach and the glockenspiel-like synths, The World In Devotion sounds a bit lighter, even a tad danceable, but you always stand with one leg in the grave. Dark discopop with indus-like synths: it exists and it is made by November Növelet. Even more obscure sounds you hear in Living Perfection, with synths that give you the feeling that you are watching a cheap, terrifying horror movie.

Perhaps In Circles is the most poppy song, and coincidence or not, it sounds a bit like Nine Circles, although those frightening keyboards still emerge. More beautiful songs about death you’ll hear in He's Dying Beside. It doesn’t make you happy, but who wants beauty without content? Pain is the nourishment of the soul, and this German duo understands this like no other. Made Of Gold is sinister too. Music at its darkest. Intriguing, but also terrifying. No, music can’t be any deeper than that.

The only song that conveys some hope is Crying Walls, reminiscent to Absolute Body Control through its synths. But do not laugh too soon, as the final track Fire is (again) pitch black.

The World In Devotion is a very dark record. And no, there is no light at the end of the tunnel, so be it!

Didier BECU
13/12/2015


NL

Misschien zegt de naam November Növelet je niet meteen iets, maar dit duo bestaat uit Mrs. En Mr. Arafna, of gewoon Haus Arafna dus. Het verschil met Haus Arafna is wellicht dat het duo uit Braunschweig op November Növelet door de minimale synths iets toegankelijker klinkt, alhoewel…

De hoes is donker, en een cd die met de woorden Death Has Released You, Be Grateful To Your Murderer begint, kun je moeilijk een vrolijk plaatje noemen. Neen, lieve kinderen van de nacht, meer droevig kan bijna niet en dat is de sfeer die November Növelet de hele cd lang volhoudt. De stem van mevrouw Arafna klinkt ijzig koel, terwijl je van de elektronische composities van mijnheer Arafna gewoon kippenvel krijgt.

Door de minimal wave-achtige aanpak en de glockenspielachtige synths klinkt The World In Devotion wel iets lichter, zelfs een tikkeltje dansbaar, toch blijf je steeds met één been in het graf staan. Zwartgallige discopop met indusachtige synths: het bestaat en wordt gemaakt door November Növelet.

Nog meer duistere klanken hoor je in Living Perfection, met synths die je het gevoel geven dat je naar een goedkope, angstaanjagende horrorfilm kijkt.

Wellicht is In Circles het meest poppy nummer, en toeval of niet, het klinkt wat als Nine Circles, ook al blijven die angstaanjagende keyboards alsmaar opduiken. Nog meer mooie liedjes over de dood hoor je in He’s Dying Beside. Gelukkig word je er niet van, maar wie wil schoonheid zonder inhoud? Pijn is de voedingsbron van de ziel, en dat begrijpt dit Duitse duo als geen ander. Made Of Gold is zelfs bij momenten luguber. Muziek op zijn donkerst. Intrigerend, maar tegelijkertijd angstaanjagend. Neen, muziek kan moeilijker dieper dan dat.

Het enige nummer dat wat hoop uitstraalt is Crying Walls, dat door de synths wat aan Absolute Body Control doet denken. Maar lach niet te vlug, het eindnummer Fire is alweer gitzwart.

The World In Devotion is een zeer donker plaatje. En neen, er is geen licht aan het eind van de tunnel, het zij zo!

Didier BECU
13/12/2015


 

Next reviews
INNERWOUD • Mirre
BEYOND THE LABYRINTH • Ghost Melody
MY BABY • Shamanaid
DAVID CARRETTA • Two Decades: A Retrospective
LUDOVIK MATERIAL • Model Generation
MAIA VIDAL • The Tide
MARC-ANDRE HAMELIN • John Cage/Karlheinz Stockhausen (Antwerpen, deSingel, 10/12/2015)
FISH • London,Islington Assembly Hall (05/12/15)
PETER BELLAERT (KONER) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PHANTOM CRUX • Synesthesia

 

Other reviews from NOVEMBER NOVELET
NOVEMBER NOVELET • Unintended By Nature (The Singles 1994-2012 + Bonus Material)

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRONICS + MINIMAL
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
ROLF TROSTEL • Two Faces
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Pistes Noires-Hommage Electronique-Pop A Etienne Daho
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
ADN’ CKRYSTALL • Jazz' Mad

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature

Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil