tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/12/2015 : NOVEMBER NOVELET - The World In Devotion

NOVEMBER NOVELET

The World In Devotion

MusicCD
ElectronicsMinimal

[88/100]   

Galakthorroe
13/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps the name November Növelet sounds obscure to you, but this duo consists of Mrs. And Mr. Arafna, or in other words: Haus Arafna. The difference is that the duo from Braunschweig sounds a bit more accessible on November Növelet,due to the minimal synths...

The cover is dark, and a CD that begins with the words Death Has Released You, Be Grateful To Your Murderer can hardly be called cheerful. No, dear children of the night, sounding more dark is almost impossible, and that's the atmosphere of the whole CD. The voice of Ms. Arafna sounds icy cold, while the electronic compositions of Mr. Arafna gives you goose bumps.

Because of the minimal wave-like approach and the glockenspiel-like synths, The World In Devotion sounds a bit lighter, even a tad danceable, but you always stand with one leg in the grave. Dark discopop with indus-like synths: it exists and it is made by November Növelet. Even more obscure sounds you hear in Living Perfection, with synths that give you the feeling that you are watching a cheap, terrifying horror movie.

Perhaps In Circles is the most poppy song, and coincidence or not, it sounds a bit like Nine Circles, although those frightening keyboards still emerge. More beautiful songs about death you’ll hear in He's Dying Beside. It doesn’t make you happy, but who wants beauty without content? Pain is the nourishment of the soul, and this German duo understands this like no other. Made Of Gold is sinister too. Music at its darkest. Intriguing, but also terrifying. No, music can’t be any deeper than that.

The only song that conveys some hope is Crying Walls, reminiscent to Absolute Body Control through its synths. But do not laugh too soon, as the final track Fire is (again) pitch black.

The World In Devotion is a very dark record. And no, there is no light at the end of the tunnel, so be it!

Didier BECU
13/12/2015


NL

Misschien zegt de naam November Növelet je niet meteen iets, maar dit duo bestaat uit Mrs. En Mr. Arafna, of gewoon Haus Arafna dus. Het verschil met Haus Arafna is wellicht dat het duo uit Braunschweig op November Növelet door de minimale synths iets toegankelijker klinkt, alhoewel…

De hoes is donker, en een cd die met de woorden Death Has Released You, Be Grateful To Your Murderer begint, kun je moeilijk een vrolijk plaatje noemen. Neen, lieve kinderen van de nacht, meer droevig kan bijna niet en dat is de sfeer die November Növelet de hele cd lang volhoudt. De stem van mevrouw Arafna klinkt ijzig koel, terwijl je van de elektronische composities van mijnheer Arafna gewoon kippenvel krijgt.

Door de minimal wave-achtige aanpak en de glockenspielachtige synths klinkt The World In Devotion wel iets lichter, zelfs een tikkeltje dansbaar, toch blijf je steeds met één been in het graf staan. Zwartgallige discopop met indusachtige synths: het bestaat en wordt gemaakt door November Növelet.

Nog meer duistere klanken hoor je in Living Perfection, met synths die je het gevoel geven dat je naar een goedkope, angstaanjagende horrorfilm kijkt.

Wellicht is In Circles het meest poppy nummer, en toeval of niet, het klinkt wat als Nine Circles, ook al blijven die angstaanjagende keyboards alsmaar opduiken. Nog meer mooie liedjes over de dood hoor je in He’s Dying Beside. Gelukkig word je er niet van, maar wie wil schoonheid zonder inhoud? Pijn is de voedingsbron van de ziel, en dat begrijpt dit Duitse duo als geen ander. Made Of Gold is zelfs bij momenten luguber. Muziek op zijn donkerst. Intrigerend, maar tegelijkertijd angstaanjagend. Neen, muziek kan moeilijker dieper dan dat.

Het enige nummer dat wat hoop uitstraalt is Crying Walls, dat door de synths wat aan Absolute Body Control doet denken. Maar lach niet te vlug, het eindnummer Fire is alweer gitzwart.

The World In Devotion is een zeer donker plaatje. En neen, er is geen licht aan het eind van de tunnel, het zij zo!

Didier BECU
13/12/2015


 

Next reviews
INNERWOUD • Mirre
BEYOND THE LABYRINTH • Ghost Melody
MY BABY • Shamanaid
DAVID CARRETTA • Two Decades: A Retrospective
LUDOVIK MATERIAL • Model Generation
MAIA VIDAL • The Tide
MARC-ANDRE HAMELIN • John Cage/Karlheinz Stockhausen (Antwerpen, deSingel, 10/12/2015)
FISH • London,Islington Assembly Hall (05/12/15)
PETER BELLAERT (KONER) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PHANTOM CRUX • Synesthesia

 

Other reviews from NOVEMBER NOVELET
NOVEMBER NOVELET • Unintended By Nature (The Singles 1994-2012 + Bonus Material)

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRONICS + MINIMAL
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
ROLF TROSTEL • Two Faces
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Pistes Noires-Hommage Electronique-Pop A Etienne Daho
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
ADN’ CKRYSTALL • Jazz' Mad

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)
12
09
SPANKRAGHT
N16