tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep

NURI BILGE CEYLAN

Winter Sleep

Movie
ArthouseDrama

[79/100]   

Cinart
28/08/2015, Didier BECU

EN

I really don’t know why, but it seems like I'm always watching the Golden Palm winner at a later moment. A sin, as not so long ago I discovered that La Vie D'Adele is actually one of the best movies ever made. With nerves I started Winter Sleep (the winner of 2014) by the Turkish director Nuri Bilge Ceylan, even though it was one year after its release date. The picture does not end up in my list of favorites, but Winter Sleep caused a cinematic orgasm (or something like that) that lasts 196 minutes!

Ceylan, who previously directed Uzak and Once Upon a Time in Anatolia, applies a style that is often compared to Ingmar Bergman. That's right, because like the Swedish master, this Turkish filmmaker likes long dialogues. You see long shots of people talking, complemented with some beautiful images of desolate landscapes, because Tarkovsky’s influence is never far away either. And what are they talking about during those 3 hours? About nothing! Ceylan does not do that because he’s arrogant, but simply because the essence of life means nothing. Aydin (Aluk Bilginer) runs a hotel in Cappadocia with his sister (Demet Akbağ). There is hardly a person who visits the hotel. Aydin thinks life is too short. Boredom does not exist for him. Every day he sits at his computer to write a book about the history of Turkish theater. His sister thinks that is a stupid pastime, her life consists of thinking. Aydin is so immersed in his writings that he has forgotten that he also has a wife (Melisa Sözen). But it's all too late, the relationship is broken. That is the subject of Winter Sleep: trying to save a relationship that has a future.

This sad story (which is loosely based on Chekhov) is made of long dialogues. Occasionally you see an exterior shot of a Turkish snowy landscape, but almost everything happens in the gritty, unpleasant hotel rooms. The conversations are about everyday things: boredom, the differences between rich and poor, the meaning of life, the value of love. Although the conversations last long, they all end up with the big nothing.

Winter Sleep is certainly not an easy film , and we can imagine that for some viewers it might be three long tedious hours. But sometimes nihilism becomes art , if only to show us the futility of our existence. Winter Sleep will not make you happy, but that was probably not Nuri Bilge Ceylan’s intention.

Didier BECU
28/08/2015


NL

Hoe het komt, weet ik eigenlijk niet, maar door bizarre omstandigheden lijkt het erop alsof ik de Gouden Palmwinnaar steeds later bekijk. Pure zonde. Zo ontdekte ik niet zo lang geleden dat La Vie D’Adèle eigenlijk één van de allerbeste films ooit is. Het was dan ook met zenuwen dat ik besloot om Winter Sleep (de winnaar van 2014) van de Turkse regisseur Nuri Bilge Ceylan in de lader te schuiven, ook al was het een jaar na datum. Neen, uiteindelijk belandt de prent niet in mijn lijstje van lievelingen, maar veroorzaakt hij toch een cinematografisch orgasme (of zoiets) van (jawel) welgeteld 196 minuten!

Ceylan, die eerder al opviel met Uzak en Once Upon a Time in Anatolia, hanteert een stijl die wordt vaak vergeleken met die van Ingmar Bergman. Dat klopt, want net als de Zweedse grootmeester laat deze Turkse cineast graag zijn protagonisten het woord voeren. Ook al schrikt het de modale kijker zonder twijfel af, zou je Winter Sleep gewoon als een praatfilm kunnen categoriseren, aangevuld met prachtige beelden van verlaten landschappen, want ook Tarkovskys invloed is nooit veraf. En waarover gaan die drie uur conversatie dan wel? Over niets! Ceylan doet dat niet uit arrogantie, maar gewoon omdat het leven over niets gaat. Aydin (aluk Bilginer) runt samen met zijn zus (Demet Akbağ) in Cappadocië een hotelletje. Er komt amper een mens over de vloer. Voor Aydin is het leven veel te kort. Verveling bestaat voor hem niet. Dagelijks zit hij achter zijn computerscherm om een boek over de Turkse theatergeschiedenis te schrijven. Zijn zus vindt dat maar een domme bezigheid, voor haar bestaat het leven uit nadenken. Aydin verdiept zich zo sterk in zijn schrijfsels dat hij ondertussen is vergeten dat hij ook nog een echtgenote (Melisa Sözen) heeft. Maar het is allemaal te laat, het kalf is al lang verdronken. De relatie is stuk en over die problematiek gaat Winter Sleep: het proberen te redden van een relatie die al lang geen toekomst meer heeft.

Dit trieste verhaal (dat trouwens losjes gebaseerd is op Anton Tsjechov) wordt geschetst via lange dialogen. Af en toe krijg je wel eens een buitenopname van een besneeuwd Turks landschap te zien, maar voor de rest speelt alles zich in de grauwe, onaangename hotelkamers af. De gespreken gaan over alledaagse dingen: verveling, de verschillen tussen arm en rijk, de zin van het bestaan, de waarde van liefde. Ofschoon ze soms verschrikkelijk lang duren, monden de gespreken steeds uit op het grote niets.

Neen, Winter Sleep is zeker geen gemakkelijke film en we kunnen ons inbeelden dat het voor sommige kijkers wel eens drie lange vervelende uren zouden kunnen zijn. Maar soms is nihilisme ook kunst, al was het maar om ons op de zinloosheid van dit bestaan te wijzen. Van Winter Sleep word je niet vrolijk, maar dat is waarschijnlijk geen seconde de bedoeling van Nuri Bilge Ceylan geweest.

Didier BECU
28/08/2015


28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep

 

Next reviews
ATTRITION • Millions of the Mouthless Dead
TALKING HEADS • Remain in Light
VITTORIO DE SICA • UMBERTO D.
FREDRIK CROONA (CYNICAL EXISTENCE, MENSCHDEFEKT) • Ten albums that changed my life
SERGE GAINSBOURG • Love On The Beat
GREGG ARAKI • Mysterious Skin
JEAN-PAUL RAPPENEAU • Tout Feu, Tout Flamme
VLY • I/Time
SIMI NAH • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE LILAC TIME • Prussian Blue EP

 

Same combination of genres: ARTHOUSE + DRAMA
BERTRAND BONELLO • L'Apollonide (Souvenirs de la maison close)
SOPHIE SCHOUKENS • Marieke, Marieke
RYAN GOSLING • Lost River
ALBERT SERRA • Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort)
PAUL WRIGHT • For Those In Peril
STEPHANE DUMOUSTIER • Terre Battue
KARIM ANOUIZ • Praia Do Futuro
ALIX DELAPORTE • Angèle Et Tony
PHILIP GRONING • Die Frau Des Polizisten
CATHERINE BREILLAT • Romance

 

Same genre: ARTHOUSE
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
FEDERICO FELLINI • Il Casanova
PETER GREENAWAY • Eisenstein In Guanajuato
REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI • Belle Epine
KORNEL MUNDRUCZO • White God
JAFAR PANAHI • Taxi Teheran
VERA CHYTILOVA • Fruit Of Paradise
STEFAN HAUPT • Sagrada, Il Misteri de la Creació

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination