tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep

NURI BILGE CEYLAN

Winter Sleep

Movie
ArthouseDrama

[79/100]   

Cinťart
28/08/2015, Didier BECU

EN

I really don’t know why, but it seems like I'm always watching the Golden Palm winner at a later moment. A sin, as not so long ago I discovered that La Vie D'Adele is actually one of the best movies ever made. With nerves I started Winter Sleep (the winner of 2014) by the Turkish director Nuri Bilge Ceylan, even though it was one year after its release date. The picture does not end up in my list of favorites, but Winter Sleep caused a cinematic orgasm (or something like that) that lasts 196 minutes!

Ceylan, who previously directed Uzak and Once Upon a Time in Anatolia, applies a style that is often compared to Ingmar Bergman. That's right, because like the Swedish master, this Turkish filmmaker likes long dialogues. You see long shots of people talking, complemented with some beautiful images of desolate landscapes, because Tarkovsky’s influence is never far away either. And what are they talking about during those 3 hours? About nothing! Ceylan does not do that because he’s arrogant, but simply because the essence of life means nothing. Aydin (Aluk Bilginer) runs a hotel in Cappadocia with his sister (Demet Akbağ). There is hardly a person who visits the hotel. Aydin thinks life is too short. Boredom does not exist for him. Every day he sits at his computer to write a book about the history of Turkish theater. His sister thinks that is a stupid pastime, her life consists of thinking. Aydin is so immersed in his writings that he has forgotten that he also has a wife (Melisa Sözen). But it's all too late, the relationship is broken. That is the subject of Winter Sleep: trying to save a relationship that has a future.

This sad story (which is loosely based on Chekhov) is made of long dialogues. Occasionally you see an exterior shot of a Turkish snowy landscape, but almost everything happens in the gritty, unpleasant hotel rooms. The conversations are about everyday things: boredom, the differences between rich and poor, the meaning of life, the value of love. Although the conversations last long, they all end up with the big nothing.

Winter Sleep is certainly not an easy film , and we can imagine that for some viewers it might be three long tedious hours. But sometimes nihilism becomes art , if only to show us the futility of our existence. Winter Sleep will not make you happy, but that was probably not Nuri Bilge Ceylan’s intention.

Didier BECU
28/08/2015


NL

Hoe het komt, weet ik eigenlijk niet, maar door bizarre omstandigheden lijkt het erop alsof ik de Gouden Palmwinnaar steeds later bekijk. Pure zonde. Zo ontdekte ik niet zo lang geleden dat La Vie D’Adèle eigenlijk één van de allerbeste films ooit is. Het was dan ook met zenuwen dat ik besloot om Winter Sleep (de winnaar van 2014) van de Turkse regisseur Nuri Bilge Ceylan in de lader te schuiven, ook al was het een jaar na datum. Neen, uiteindelijk belandt de prent niet in mijn lijstje van lievelingen, maar veroorzaakt hij toch een cinematografisch orgasme (of zoiets) van (jawel) welgeteld 196 minuten!

Ceylan, die eerder al opviel met Uzak en Once Upon a Time in Anatolia, hanteert een stijl die wordt vaak vergeleken met die van Ingmar Bergman. Dat klopt, want net als de Zweedse grootmeester laat deze Turkse cineast graag zijn protagonisten het woord voeren. Ook al schrikt het de modale kijker zonder twijfel af, zou je Winter Sleep gewoon als een praatfilm kunnen categoriseren, aangevuld met prachtige beelden van verlaten landschappen, want ook Tarkovskys invloed is nooit veraf. En waarover gaan die drie uur conversatie dan wel? Over niets! Ceylan doet dat niet uit arrogantie, maar gewoon omdat het leven over niets gaat. Aydin (aluk Bilginer) runt samen met zijn zus (Demet Akbağ) in Cappadocië een hotelletje. Er komt amper een mens over de vloer. Voor Aydin is het leven veel te kort. Verveling bestaat voor hem niet. Dagelijks zit hij achter zijn computerscherm om een boek over de Turkse theatergeschiedenis te schrijven. Zijn zus vindt dat maar een domme bezigheid, voor haar bestaat het leven uit nadenken. Aydin verdiept zich zo sterk in zijn schrijfsels dat hij ondertussen is vergeten dat hij ook nog een echtgenote (Melisa Sözen) heeft. Maar het is allemaal te laat, het kalf is al lang verdronken. De relatie is stuk en over die problematiek gaat Winter Sleep: het proberen te redden van een relatie die al lang geen toekomst meer heeft.

Dit trieste verhaal (dat trouwens losjes gebaseerd is op Anton Tsjechov) wordt geschetst via lange dialogen. Af en toe krijg je wel eens een buitenopname van een besneeuwd Turks landschap te zien, maar voor de rest speelt alles zich in de grauwe, onaangename hotelkamers af. De gespreken gaan over alledaagse dingen: verveling, de verschillen tussen arm en rijk, de zin van het bestaan, de waarde van liefde. Ofschoon ze soms verschrikkelijk lang duren, monden de gespreken steeds uit op het grote niets.

Neen, Winter Sleep is zeker geen gemakkelijke film en we kunnen ons inbeelden dat het voor sommige kijkers wel eens drie lange vervelende uren zouden kunnen zijn. Maar soms is nihilisme ook kunst, al was het maar om ons op de zinloosheid van dit bestaan te wijzen. Van Winter Sleep word je niet vrolijk, maar dat is waarschijnlijk geen seconde de bedoeling van Nuri Bilge Ceylan geweest.

Didier BECU
28/08/2015


28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep

 

Next reviews
ATTRITION • Millions of the Mouthless Dead
TALKING HEADS • Remain in Light
VITTORIO DE SICA • UMBERTO D.
FREDRIK CROONA (CYNICAL EXISTENCE, MENSCHDEFEKT) • Ten albums that changed my life
SERGE GAINSBOURG • Love On The Beat
GREGG ARAKI • Mysterious Skin
JEAN-PAUL RAPPENEAU • Tout Feu, Tout Flamme
VLY • I/Time
SIMI NAH • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE LILAC TIME • Prussian Blue EP

 

Same combination of genres: ARTHOUSE + DRAMA
BERTRAND BONELLO • L'Apollonide (Souvenirs de la maison close)
SOPHIE SCHOUKENS • Marieke, Marieke
RYAN GOSLING • Lost River
ALBERT SERRA • Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort)
PAUL WRIGHT • For Those In Peril
STEPHANE DUMOUSTIER • Terre Battue
KARIM ANOUIZ • Praia Do Futuro
ALIX DELAPORTE • Ang√®le Et Tony
PHILIP GRONING • Die Frau Des Polizisten
CATHERINE BREILLAT • Romance

 

Same genre: ARTHOUSE
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
FEDERICO FELLINI • Il Casanova
PETER GREENAWAY • Eisenstein In Guanajuato
REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI • Belle Epine
KORNEL MUNDRUCZO • White God
JAFAR PANAHI • Taxi Teheran
VERA CHYTILOVA • Fruit Of Paradise
STEFAN HAUPT • Sagrada, Il Misteri de la Creaci√≥

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Gi√¶ver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • L√°szl√≥ Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amen√°bar: Regression

Music reviews

12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.
‚Äč

NEWS

12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more
09
11
UK Gothic Rock Band HER DESPAIR Release Official Music Video for 'The Exorcism' - New EP, Exorcisms Of Eroticism due November 22nd
08
11
Bauhaus' David J announces 'Missive to an Angel from the Halls of Infamy and Allure' LP and Euro/UK tour!
07
11
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Jesus Built My Hotrod!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
05
11
THEN COMES SILENCE
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
05
11
MODELE MARTIAL
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
08
11
MUSCLE AND MARROW
Ritual
07
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Electric Dreams