tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep

NURI BILGE CEYLAN

Winter Sleep

Movie
ArthouseDrama

[79/100]   

Cinart
28/08/2015, Didier BECU

EN

I really don’t know why, but it seems like I'm always watching the Golden Palm winner at a later moment. A sin, as not so long ago I discovered that La Vie D'Adele is actually one of the best movies ever made. With nerves I started Winter Sleep (the winner of 2014) by the Turkish director Nuri Bilge Ceylan, even though it was one year after its release date. The picture does not end up in my list of favorites, but Winter Sleep caused a cinematic orgasm (or something like that) that lasts 196 minutes!

Ceylan, who previously directed Uzak and Once Upon a Time in Anatolia, applies a style that is often compared to Ingmar Bergman. That's right, because like the Swedish master, this Turkish filmmaker likes long dialogues. You see long shots of people talking, complemented with some beautiful images of desolate landscapes, because Tarkovsky’s influence is never far away either. And what are they talking about during those 3 hours? About nothing! Ceylan does not do that because he’s arrogant, but simply because the essence of life means nothing. Aydin (Aluk Bilginer) runs a hotel in Cappadocia with his sister (Demet Akbağ). There is hardly a person who visits the hotel. Aydin thinks life is too short. Boredom does not exist for him. Every day he sits at his computer to write a book about the history of Turkish theater. His sister thinks that is a stupid pastime, her life consists of thinking. Aydin is so immersed in his writings that he has forgotten that he also has a wife (Melisa Sözen). But it's all too late, the relationship is broken. That is the subject of Winter Sleep: trying to save a relationship that has a future.

This sad story (which is loosely based on Chekhov) is made of long dialogues. Occasionally you see an exterior shot of a Turkish snowy landscape, but almost everything happens in the gritty, unpleasant hotel rooms. The conversations are about everyday things: boredom, the differences between rich and poor, the meaning of life, the value of love. Although the conversations last long, they all end up with the big nothing.

Winter Sleep is certainly not an easy film , and we can imagine that for some viewers it might be three long tedious hours. But sometimes nihilism becomes art , if only to show us the futility of our existence. Winter Sleep will not make you happy, but that was probably not Nuri Bilge Ceylan’s intention.

Didier BECU
28/08/2015


NL

Hoe het komt, weet ik eigenlijk niet, maar door bizarre omstandigheden lijkt het erop alsof ik de Gouden Palmwinnaar steeds later bekijk. Pure zonde. Zo ontdekte ik niet zo lang geleden dat La Vie D’Adèle eigenlijk één van de allerbeste films ooit is. Het was dan ook met zenuwen dat ik besloot om Winter Sleep (de winnaar van 2014) van de Turkse regisseur Nuri Bilge Ceylan in de lader te schuiven, ook al was het een jaar na datum. Neen, uiteindelijk belandt de prent niet in mijn lijstje van lievelingen, maar veroorzaakt hij toch een cinematografisch orgasme (of zoiets) van (jawel) welgeteld 196 minuten!

Ceylan, die eerder al opviel met Uzak en Once Upon a Time in Anatolia, hanteert een stijl die wordt vaak vergeleken met die van Ingmar Bergman. Dat klopt, want net als de Zweedse grootmeester laat deze Turkse cineast graag zijn protagonisten het woord voeren. Ook al schrikt het de modale kijker zonder twijfel af, zou je Winter Sleep gewoon als een praatfilm kunnen categoriseren, aangevuld met prachtige beelden van verlaten landschappen, want ook Tarkovskys invloed is nooit veraf. En waarover gaan die drie uur conversatie dan wel? Over niets! Ceylan doet dat niet uit arrogantie, maar gewoon omdat het leven over niets gaat. Aydin (aluk Bilginer) runt samen met zijn zus (Demet Akbağ) in Cappadocië een hotelletje. Er komt amper een mens over de vloer. Voor Aydin is het leven veel te kort. Verveling bestaat voor hem niet. Dagelijks zit hij achter zijn computerscherm om een boek over de Turkse theatergeschiedenis te schrijven. Zijn zus vindt dat maar een domme bezigheid, voor haar bestaat het leven uit nadenken. Aydin verdiept zich zo sterk in zijn schrijfsels dat hij ondertussen is vergeten dat hij ook nog een echtgenote (Melisa Sözen) heeft. Maar het is allemaal te laat, het kalf is al lang verdronken. De relatie is stuk en over die problematiek gaat Winter Sleep: het proberen te redden van een relatie die al lang geen toekomst meer heeft.

Dit trieste verhaal (dat trouwens losjes gebaseerd is op Anton Tsjechov) wordt geschetst via lange dialogen. Af en toe krijg je wel eens een buitenopname van een besneeuwd Turks landschap te zien, maar voor de rest speelt alles zich in de grauwe, onaangename hotelkamers af. De gespreken gaan over alledaagse dingen: verveling, de verschillen tussen arm en rijk, de zin van het bestaan, de waarde van liefde. Ofschoon ze soms verschrikkelijk lang duren, monden de gespreken steeds uit op het grote niets.

Neen, Winter Sleep is zeker geen gemakkelijke film en we kunnen ons inbeelden dat het voor sommige kijkers wel eens drie lange vervelende uren zouden kunnen zijn. Maar soms is nihilisme ook kunst, al was het maar om ons op de zinloosheid van dit bestaan te wijzen. Van Winter Sleep word je niet vrolijk, maar dat is waarschijnlijk geen seconde de bedoeling van Nuri Bilge Ceylan geweest.

Didier BECU
28/08/2015


28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep 28/08/2015 : NURI BILGE CEYLAN - Winter Sleep

 

Next reviews
ATTRITION • Millions of the Mouthless Dead
TALKING HEADS • Remain in Light
VITTORIO DE SICA • UMBERTO D.
FREDRIK CROONA (CYNICAL EXISTENCE, MENSCHDEFEKT) • Ten albums that changed my life
SERGE GAINSBOURG • Love On The Beat
GREGG ARAKI • Mysterious Skin
JEAN-PAUL RAPPENEAU • Tout Feu, Tout Flamme
VLY • I/Time
SIMI NAH • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE LILAC TIME • Prussian Blue EP

 

Same combination of genres: ARTHOUSE + DRAMA
BERTRAND BONELLO • L'Apollonide (Souvenirs de la maison close)
SOPHIE SCHOUKENS • Marieke, Marieke
RYAN GOSLING • Lost River
ALBERT SERRA • Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort)
PAUL WRIGHT • For Those In Peril
STEPHANE DUMOUSTIER • Terre Battue
KARIM ANOUIZ • Praia Do Futuro
ALIX DELAPORTE • Angèle Et Tony
PHILIP GRONING • Die Frau Des Polizisten
CATHERINE BREILLAT • Romance

 

Same genre: ARTHOUSE
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
FEDERICO FELLINI • Il Casanova
PETER GREENAWAY • Eisenstein In Guanajuato
REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI • Belle Epine
KORNEL MUNDRUCZO • White God
JAFAR PANAHI • Taxi Teheran
VERA CHYTILOVA • Fruit Of Paradise
STEFAN HAUPT • Sagrada, Il Misteri de la Creació

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression

Music reviews

22
07
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Pink Obsession
11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

22
07
L'AME IMMORTELLE
Amphi
22
07
PINK TURNS BLUE
Amphi
22
07
HENRIC DE LA COUR
Amphi
22
07
BLUTENGEL
Amphi
22
07
LORD OF THE LOST
Amphi
22
07
HOCICO
Amphi
22
07
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
07
LIZARD SMILE
Silence In Your Eyes
21
07
MINUIT MACHINE
BATTLES
20
07
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf