tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

11/12/2016 : O VEUX - O Veux

O VEUX

O Veux

MusicVinyl
Cold WavePost Punk

[80/100]   

Onderstroom Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

O Veux was a post punk / cold wave band that existed in the 80s. Like their contemporaries Kebab, Cultural Decay or AA they were only known by a local and limited audience. They started a band from the philosophy that you shouldn't have the ability to play music to start a band. Interest, will and determination were adequate. The four unemployed teenagers bought quite cheap instruments and began to play. In 1982 they recorded their first 7 '' named Akinai. And now after 30 years O Veux makes its re-entry with two compilations (Through OnderStroom Records and Soft Spot). They also do a gig the 1st of October at Café Café in Hasselt.

The OnderStroom compilation contains unreleased tracks and live material from the period 1981-1982. Neatly divided into two LPs. After listening, I can already say that it is not about recovered leftovers. Here and there we find gems back as Measures of Exposure, Happy Years ... Sometimes we hear interesting turns. I think than of All Sent Away or Two Hearts Beat As One. Only one song appears, in a different version, on both compilations: Beneath Shallow Graves. On the studio version they sound something more sophisticated than on their live version where you can clearly hear their input and raw expression. All together good for 24 songs on this compilation.

The Soft Spot compilation gathered all of their studio recordings from the period 1982-1986, also on two LPs along with some unpublished work. The album contains some cold wave gems like A Face A Mask and Seconds. In addition, more post punk oriented work such as The Game and Beneath Shallow Graves. A Whip in the shack also contains some funk elements. Despite started playing without any musical knowledge they managed to integrate elements of post punk, funk and wave on their music. Seventeen songs long they show they still had something to offer and maybe could have had some more notoriety.

You can also order both releases together and you will get 4 lp's full of post punk and cold wave. Right out of the dark '80s projected with the time machine into the 21st century.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

O Veux is een postpunk-/coldwaveband uit de jaren 80. Net als de tijdsgenoten Kebab, Cultural Decay of AA was de band alleen bekend bij een beperkt publiek. De filosofie: je moet niets van muziek afweten om een band op te richten. Interesse, wil en doorzetting zijn voldoende. De vier werkloze tieners kochten heel goedkope instrumenten en in 1982 namen ze de eerste 7’’ Akinai op. En nu, na 30 jaar, verschijnen er twee compilaties (Via OnderStroom en Softspot). De band treedt op 1 oktober op in Café Café te Hasselt.

De Onderstroom-compilatie bevat onuitgebrachte tracks en livemateriaal uit de periode 1981-1982, netjes verdeeld over twee lp’s. Na beluistering kan ik alvast zeggen dat het niet over teruggevonden restjes gaat. Je hoort bijv. pareltjes zoals Measures of Exposure, Happy Years… Soms gaat het om interessante aanzetten. Ik denk dan aan All Sent Away of Two Hearts Beat As One. Slechts één song komt op beide compilaties terug (weliswaar in een verschillende versie): Beneath Shallow Graves. Op de studioversie klinkt de band iets geraffineerder dan op de liveversie, waarop je duidelijk de inzet en rauwe expressie hoort. Alles samen goed voor 24 tracks.

Op de Softspot-compilatie zijn alle studio-opnamen uit de periode 1982-1986 op 2 lp’s verzameld, samen met nog wat onuitgegeven werk. De elpee bevat enkele coldwavepareltjes zoals A Face A Mask en Seconds. Daarnaast meer post- punkachtige tracks zoals The Game en Beneath Shallow Graves. A Whip in the Shack bevat wat funkelementen. Ondanks het feit dat O Veux zonder enige muzikale kennis begon, wist de band elementen uit postpunk, funk en wave in de muziek te integreren. Zeventien songs lang bewijst O Veux wat in de mars te hebben en dat had meer bekendheid op mogen leveren.

Je kan de beide releases samen bestellen en danben je de gelukkige bezitter van 4 lp’s vol met post-punk en coldwave, uit de donkere jaren 80 via de teletijdmachine naar de 21ste eeuw.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : O VEUX - O Veux 11/12/2016 : O VEUX - O Veux

Music reviews

12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
08
11
MUSCLE AND MARROW
Ritual