tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

11/12/2016 : O VEUX - O Veux

O VEUX

O Veux

MusicVinyl
Cold WavePost Punk

[80/100]   

Onderstroom Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

O Veux was a post punk / cold wave band that existed in the 80s. Like their contemporaries Kebab, Cultural Decay or AA they were only known by a local and limited audience. They started a band from the philosophy that you shouldn't have the ability to play music to start a band. Interest, will and determination were adequate. The four unemployed teenagers bought quite cheap instruments and began to play. In 1982 they recorded their first 7 '' named Akinai. And now after 30 years O Veux makes its re-entry with two compilations (Through OnderStroom Records and Soft Spot). They also do a gig the 1st of October at Café Café in Hasselt.

The OnderStroom compilation contains unreleased tracks and live material from the period 1981-1982. Neatly divided into two LPs. After listening, I can already say that it is not about recovered leftovers. Here and there we find gems back as Measures of Exposure, Happy Years ... Sometimes we hear interesting turns. I think than of All Sent Away or Two Hearts Beat As One. Only one song appears, in a different version, on both compilations: Beneath Shallow Graves. On the studio version they sound something more sophisticated than on their live version where you can clearly hear their input and raw expression. All together good for 24 songs on this compilation.

The Soft Spot compilation gathered all of their studio recordings from the period 1982-1986, also on two LPs along with some unpublished work. The album contains some cold wave gems like A Face A Mask and Seconds. In addition, more post punk oriented work such as The Game and Beneath Shallow Graves. A Whip in the shack also contains some funk elements. Despite started playing without any musical knowledge they managed to integrate elements of post punk, funk and wave on their music. Seventeen songs long they show they still had something to offer and maybe could have had some more notoriety.

You can also order both releases together and you will get 4 lp's full of post punk and cold wave. Right out of the dark '80s projected with the time machine into the 21st century.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

O Veux is een postpunk-/coldwaveband uit de jaren 80. Net als de tijdsgenoten Kebab, Cultural Decay of AA was de band alleen bekend bij een beperkt publiek. De filosofie: je moet niets van muziek afweten om een band op te richten. Interesse, wil en doorzetting zijn voldoende. De vier werkloze tieners kochten heel goedkope instrumenten en in 1982 namen ze de eerste 7’’ Akinai op. En nu, na 30 jaar, verschijnen er twee compilaties (Via OnderStroom en Softspot). De band treedt op 1 oktober op in Café Café te Hasselt.

De Onderstroom-compilatie bevat onuitgebrachte tracks en livemateriaal uit de periode 1981-1982, netjes verdeeld over twee lp’s. Na beluistering kan ik alvast zeggen dat het niet over teruggevonden restjes gaat. Je hoort bijv. pareltjes zoals Measures of Exposure, Happy Years… Soms gaat het om interessante aanzetten. Ik denk dan aan All Sent Away of Two Hearts Beat As One. Slechts één song komt op beide compilaties terug (weliswaar in een verschillende versie): Beneath Shallow Graves. Op de studioversie klinkt de band iets geraffineerder dan op de liveversie, waarop je duidelijk de inzet en rauwe expressie hoort. Alles samen goed voor 24 tracks.

Op de Softspot-compilatie zijn alle studio-opnamen uit de periode 1982-1986 op 2 lp’s verzameld, samen met nog wat onuitgegeven werk. De elpee bevat enkele coldwavepareltjes zoals A Face A Mask en Seconds. Daarnaast meer post- punkachtige tracks zoals The Game en Beneath Shallow Graves. A Whip in the Shack bevat wat funkelementen. Ondanks het feit dat O Veux zonder enige muzikale kennis begon, wist de band elementen uit postpunk, funk en wave in de muziek te integreren. Zeventien songs lang bewijst O Veux wat in de mars te hebben en dat had meer bekendheid op mogen leveren.

Je kan de beide releases samen bestellen en danben je de gelukkige bezitter van 4 lp’s vol met post-punk en coldwave, uit de donkere jaren 80 via de teletijdmachine naar de 21ste eeuw.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : O VEUX - O Veux 11/12/2016 : O VEUX - O Veux

Music reviews

24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer
22
08
NAIROD YARG
Nairod Yarg
17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
08
SLEEPING PULSE
War
23
08
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo