tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

11/12/2016 : O VEUX - O Veux

O VEUX

O Veux

MusicVinyl
Cold WavePost Punk

[80/100]   

Onderstroom Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

O Veux was a post punk / cold wave band that existed in the 80s. Like their contemporaries Kebab, Cultural Decay or AA they were only known by a local and limited audience. They started a band from the philosophy that you shouldn't have the ability to play music to start a band. Interest, will and determination were adequate. The four unemployed teenagers bought quite cheap instruments and began to play. In 1982 they recorded their first 7 '' named Akinai. And now after 30 years O Veux makes its re-entry with two compilations (Through OnderStroom Records and Soft Spot). They also do a gig the 1st of October at Café Café in Hasselt.

The OnderStroom compilation contains unreleased tracks and live material from the period 1981-1982. Neatly divided into two LPs. After listening, I can already say that it is not about recovered leftovers. Here and there we find gems back as Measures of Exposure, Happy Years ... Sometimes we hear interesting turns. I think than of All Sent Away or Two Hearts Beat As One. Only one song appears, in a different version, on both compilations: Beneath Shallow Graves. On the studio version they sound something more sophisticated than on their live version where you can clearly hear their input and raw expression. All together good for 24 songs on this compilation.

The Soft Spot compilation gathered all of their studio recordings from the period 1982-1986, also on two LPs along with some unpublished work. The album contains some cold wave gems like A Face A Mask and Seconds. In addition, more post punk oriented work such as The Game and Beneath Shallow Graves. A Whip in the shack also contains some funk elements. Despite started playing without any musical knowledge they managed to integrate elements of post punk, funk and wave on their music. Seventeen songs long they show they still had something to offer and maybe could have had some more notoriety.

You can also order both releases together and you will get 4 lp's full of post punk and cold wave. Right out of the dark '80s projected with the time machine into the 21st century.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

O Veux is een postpunk-/coldwaveband uit de jaren 80. Net als de tijdsgenoten Kebab, Cultural Decay of AA was de band alleen bekend bij een beperkt publiek. De filosofie: je moet niets van muziek afweten om een band op te richten. Interesse, wil en doorzetting zijn voldoende. De vier werkloze tieners kochten heel goedkope instrumenten en in 1982 namen ze de eerste 7’’ Akinai op. En nu, na 30 jaar, verschijnen er twee compilaties (Via OnderStroom en Softspot). De band treedt op 1 oktober op in Café Café te Hasselt.

De Onderstroom-compilatie bevat onuitgebrachte tracks en livemateriaal uit de periode 1981-1982, netjes verdeeld over twee lp’s. Na beluistering kan ik alvast zeggen dat het niet over teruggevonden restjes gaat. Je hoort bijv. pareltjes zoals Measures of Exposure, Happy Years… Soms gaat het om interessante aanzetten. Ik denk dan aan All Sent Away of Two Hearts Beat As One. Slechts één song komt op beide compilaties terug (weliswaar in een verschillende versie): Beneath Shallow Graves. Op de studioversie klinkt de band iets geraffineerder dan op de liveversie, waarop je duidelijk de inzet en rauwe expressie hoort. Alles samen goed voor 24 tracks.

Op de Softspot-compilatie zijn alle studio-opnamen uit de periode 1982-1986 op 2 lp’s verzameld, samen met nog wat onuitgegeven werk. De elpee bevat enkele coldwavepareltjes zoals A Face A Mask en Seconds. Daarnaast meer post- punkachtige tracks zoals The Game en Beneath Shallow Graves. A Whip in the Shack bevat wat funkelementen. Ondanks het feit dat O Veux zonder enige muzikale kennis begon, wist de band elementen uit postpunk, funk en wave in de muziek te integreren. Zeventien songs lang bewijst O Veux wat in de mars te hebben en dat had meer bekendheid op mogen leveren.

Je kan de beide releases samen bestellen en danben je de gelukkige bezitter van 4 lp’s vol met post-punk en coldwave, uit de donkere jaren 80 via de teletijdmachine naar de 21ste eeuw.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : O VEUX - O Veux 11/12/2016 : O VEUX - O Veux

Music reviews

15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum
07
05
STRUCK9
Ritual Body Music
05
05
CONSPIRACY COVEN
Conspiracy Coven
03
05
PAULINA CASSIDY
Drawing Up A Storm
25
04
RITUAL VEIL
Wolf In The Night

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
LOW FACTOR releases new album 'L'Oiseau du Désespoir'
17
05
'Worlds Left Behind', first full-length album by NEW HAUNTS
13
05
Adam & Eve release new song 'Unlucky Señor'
13
05
Today it’s exactly 21 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Classic Pop publishes special issue on the career of Pet Shop Boys!
07
05
This month it is 30 years ago that Front Line Assembly released their Disorder EP

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
05
PERSEPHONE
Maybe You Can Describe The Production Like A Puzzle: You Have To Find Each And Every Piece And Put It Together
08
05
ELECTRO SYNTHETIC REBELLION (ESR)
‘My Work Has Never Been Driven By The Trends Or The Dancefloor/Club Appeal’
04
05
MARTYRIA
The Process Of Creating Our Music Is A Way Of Expressing This Spiritual Transformation
02
05
WARM BODIES
Live - 27th of March - Antwerp Music City
21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’

PHOTOS

21
05
SKELETAL FAMILY
WGT
21
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
WGT
21
05
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA
WGT
21
05
UNDERTHESKIN
WGT
21
05
THE LAST CRY
WGT
20
05
PLASTIC NOICE EXPERIENCE
WGT
20
05
WULFBAND
WGT

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
05
STAHLR
Into The Black
21
05
VIRGIN PRUNES
Baby Turns Blue
21
05
ATTRITION
Dante's Kitchen
20
05
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
19
05
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
18
05
THE ARCH
Cocks Populi
17
05
VNV NATION
Nova