tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/11/2015 : OBSZÖN GESCHOPF - The Vault Of Nightmares

OBSZÖN GESCHOPF

The Vault Of Nightmares

MusicCD
EBMIndustrial

[70/100]   

Cemetery Records
16/11/2015, Benny CALUWE

EN

Obszön Geschöpf is the project of Remzi Kellici. The band was founded in 1996 in Boulogne-sur-Mer, France. Obszön Geschöpf is the incorrect German translation of “obscene creature”. Obszönes Geschöpf would be correct. 15 years after the band's first demo Day Of Suffering, the box 15 Years Of Bloody Nightmares is released. This box consists of the aforementioned demo, a compilation CD from the previous 6 studio albums, a disc with remixes by international bands and their new and 7th album The Vault Of Nightmares.

Obszön Geschöpf describes its style as horror EBM industrial metal. The electronic part sounds nice and it has the dark atmosphere of the German electro bands of the 90s. There are many samples that often seem to come from horror movies. Most of the song titles could be used as titlse for scary movies, and also the album cover has a horror atmosphere.

On top of the electronic base, plenty of guitars are used and there it goes wrong. Some songs contain all the elements to become a fantastic EBM track, but they simply sound like mediocre industrial metal. The dominant, often trashy guitars push the atmospheric electro to the background. I sometimes miss the synergy between the guitars and the electro that I do hear in bands like KMFDM or Fear Factory. In tracks such as Doctor Gloomy and Rue Morgue Creature, the guitars are less prominent and rather intertwined with the electronics. Those tracks stand out, they’re real quality.

Besides a remix of 2 Headlights Apear On The Road To The Carnival by Mob Research, this album also contains an Animotion cover:Obsession, but I prefer the versions by Kirlian Camera and Dive.

Although Obszön Geschöpf has a certain charm, I am not completely convinced. Maybe a more balanced sound and a more polished production could be a solution.

Benny CALUWE
16/11/2015


NL

Obszön Geschöpf is het project van Remzi Kellici. De band werd in 1996 opgericht in het Franse Boulogne-sur-Mer. Obszön Geschöpf is een niet-correcte Duitse vertaling van “obsceen schepsel”, Obszönes Geschöpf zou correct zijn.

15 jaar na de eerste demo Day Of Suffering verscheen onlangs de box 15 Years Of Bloody Nightmares, die de eerder vernoemde demo, een compilatie-cd, een remix-cd door internationale bands, alsook hun zevende album The Vault Of Nightmares bevat.

Naar eigen zeggen speelt Obszön Geschöpf horror-EBM-industrial-metal. Het elektronische gedeelte klinkt aardig en ademt bij momenten de donkere sfeer uit van de Duitse electrobands uit de jaren 90. De samples lijken veelal uit horrorfilms afkomstig. De meeste songtitels zouden ook kunnen doorgaan als titels van griezelfilms, en ook de cover van het album baadt in de horrorsfeer.

Bovenop de elektronische basis wordt ook rijkelijk met gitaren gestrooid en daar wringt het schoentje. Tracks die alles in huis hebben om een sterk EBM-nummer te worden, vervallen tot middelmatige industrial metal. De dominante, vaak trashy gitaren duwen de sfeervolle electro naar de achtergrond. Ik mis soms de synergie tussen de gitaren en de elektronica die ik bij KMFDM of Fear Factory wel aantref. In nummers als Doctor Gloomy en Rue Morgue Creature zijn de gitaren minder prominent aanwezig en eerder verweven met de elektronica. Deze nummers steken er dan ook bovenuit, echt sterk.

Naast een remix van 2 Headlights Apear On The Road To The Carnival door Mob Researsch kan je op dit album ook nog een Animotion cover terugvinden: Obsession, maar ik verkies toch de versie van Kirlian Camera en Dive.

Hoewel Obszön Geschöpf zeker zijn charmes heeft, kon het album mij niet volledig overtuigen. Een betere balans en een meer gepolijste productie kunnen daaraan verhelpen.

Benny CALUWE
16/11/2015


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?