tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

26/09/2017 : OMD - The Punishment Of Luxury

OMD

The Punishment Of Luxury

MusicCD


[75/100]   
26/09/2017, Paul PLEDGER

Andy McCluskey and Paul Humphries' relatively recent purple-patch continues apace with their third album in seven years. Like 2013's triumphant English Electric, OMD repeat lyrical references to machines, art, human failings, relationships and political commentary, without being too obvious.

After the melodious opening pairing of the title-track and Isotype, The Punishment Of Luxury quickly starts to bear all the hallmarks of a classic OMD album. With the clunky exception of Robot Man, you're in the company of fairly typical fayre from the Kraftwerkian school of synth-pop - until that is the frankly dreadful Kiss Kiss Kiss Bang Bang Bang rears its head. Musically gorgeous, lyrically clumsy, it just doesn't sit well with the rest of what is a decent enough album. Thankfully, most of TPOL is as assured as the pair have been in recent times - they still manage to tickle the nape hairs with Art Eats Art and One More Time.

The duo sign off with two lovely dewy-eyed epics in the form of Ghost Star, which recalls early track Stanlow, and the all-too-short The View From Here. If anything, The Punishment of Luxury is crying out for something more experimental in its grooves although the militaristic La Mitrailleuse goes someway to remedy this. Still, OMD are cantering along with enough moreish misty-eyed pop to suggest there's another album in them.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
26/09/2017


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide
18
06
JO QUAIL
Tu Florentine (Live 2013)