tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : ONUS - Proslambanomenos

ONUS

Proslambanomenos

MusicCD
Ambient PopDark AmbientEthereal / Heavenly Voices

[85/100]   

Cyclic Law
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

You might know the musical masterminds of Onus: Peter Bjärgö (Sophia, Arcana) and Nicolas Van Meirhaeghe (Empusae). Now they have a joint project. Be aware, as there is also a death metal band called Onus.

With Onus they make ethereal, transcendent music that sometimes sounds as post-rock. The songs usually start as ambient soundscapes. Percussion and melody by the guitar are added afterwards. The vocals are sparse and beautifully covered between the different layers of music. That certainly applies to the first two songs When The Innocent Dies and The Dreams Die Young.

My Black Wave is more atmosphere than song. It is a dark piece of music with a religiously touch and (again) superb percussion. A total of six songs that stands for forty minutes of listening pleasure.

At times you do notice the influence of their own projects. But they manage to build a distinct universe. Fine, intelligent and attractive music.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

De muzikale breinen achter Onus zal je misschien wel kennen: Peter Bjärgö (Sophia, Arcana) en Nicolas Van Meirhaeghe van Empusae. Nu werken ze samen aan dit nieuwe project. Vergis je niet, want er bestaat ook een deathmetalband Onus.

Met Onus maken ze etherische, transcendentale muziek die soms een beetje als postrock klinkt. De songs zijn breed uitwaaierende lappen muziek die meestal beginnen als ambiente soundscapes. Daarna worden percussie en melodielijnen via de gitaar toegevoegd. De zang is spaarzaam en is mooi verpakt tussen de verschillende lagen van de muziek. Dat geldt zeker voor de eerste twee songs When The Innocent Dies en The Dreams Die Young.

My Black Wave
 is meer sfeer dan song. Het is een donker muziekfragment met religieuze en bezwerend klinkende gezangen, en met alweer mooi uitgewerkte percussie. In totaal vind je hier zes stukken muziek, samen goed voor veertig minuten luisterplezier.

Bij momenten merk je wel de invloeden/kenmerken van hun andere projecten. Desalniettemin bouwt Onus toch een eigen universum. En dat doet het op een goede manier. Fijne, intelligente, sfeervolle en aangename muziek.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ALESSANDRO BELLUCCIO (ASH CODE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BRING ON THE BLOODSHED • Amongst the Ruins
MACHINISTA • Machinista about the death of David Bowie
RANGLEKLODS • Straitjacket
BOMBAY • Show Your Teeth
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
KOBE LIJNEN (WHISPERING SONS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE PROGRAM • Path Of The Least Resistance
UNDERWORLD • Second Toughest In The Infants-Redux

 

Same genre: AMBIENT POP
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LAU NAU • Poseidon
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MAQUINA TOTAL • Maquina Total
RICARDO DONOSO • Symmetry
KIRSTEN MORRISON • Proserpine’s Gold
DED PIXEL • Form. Follow. Function
DIRK GEIGER • Connected Worlds
ZERO DEGREE • Stasis

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
CAVERNA DELLE ROSE • Elysian Chants
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete