tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : ONUS - Proslambanomenos

ONUS

Proslambanomenos

MusicCD
Ambient PopDark AmbientEthereal / Heavenly Voices

[85/100]   

Cyclic Law
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

You might know the musical masterminds of Onus: Peter Bjärgö (Sophia, Arcana) and Nicolas Van Meirhaeghe (Empusae). Now they have a joint project. Be aware, as there is also a death metal band called Onus.

With Onus they make ethereal, transcendent music that sometimes sounds as post-rock. The songs usually start as ambient soundscapes. Percussion and melody by the guitar are added afterwards. The vocals are sparse and beautifully covered between the different layers of music. That certainly applies to the first two songs When The Innocent Dies and The Dreams Die Young.

My Black Wave is more atmosphere than song. It is a dark piece of music with a religiously touch and (again) superb percussion. A total of six songs that stands for forty minutes of listening pleasure.

At times you do notice the influence of their own projects. But they manage to build a distinct universe. Fine, intelligent and attractive music.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

De muzikale breinen achter Onus zal je misschien wel kennen: Peter Bjärgö (Sophia, Arcana) en Nicolas Van Meirhaeghe van Empusae. Nu werken ze samen aan dit nieuwe project. Vergis je niet, want er bestaat ook een deathmetalband Onus.

Met Onus maken ze etherische, transcendentale muziek die soms een beetje als postrock klinkt. De songs zijn breed uitwaaierende lappen muziek die meestal beginnen als ambiente soundscapes. Daarna worden percussie en melodielijnen via de gitaar toegevoegd. De zang is spaarzaam en is mooi verpakt tussen de verschillende lagen van de muziek. Dat geldt zeker voor de eerste twee songs When The Innocent Dies en The Dreams Die Young.

My Black Wave
 is meer sfeer dan song. Het is een donker muziekfragment met religieuze en bezwerend klinkende gezangen, en met alweer mooi uitgewerkte percussie. In totaal vind je hier zes stukken muziek, samen goed voor veertig minuten luisterplezier.

Bij momenten merk je wel de invloeden/kenmerken van hun andere projecten. Desalniettemin bouwt Onus toch een eigen universum. En dat doet het op een goede manier. Fijne, intelligente, sfeervolle en aangename muziek.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ALESSANDRO BELLUCCIO (ASH CODE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BRING ON THE BLOODSHED • Amongst the Ruins
MACHINISTA • Machinista about the death of David Bowie
RANGLEKLODS • Straitjacket
BOMBAY • Show Your Teeth
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
KOBE LIJNEN (WHISPERING SONS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE PROGRAM • Path Of The Least Resistance
UNDERWORLD • Second Toughest In The Infants-Redux

 

Same genre: AMBIENT POP
LAU NAU • Poseidon
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MAQUINA TOTAL • Maquina Total
RICARDO DONOSO • Symmetry
KIRSTEN MORRISON • Proserpine’s Gold
DED PIXEL • Form. Follow. Function
DIRK GEIGER • Connected Worlds
ZERO DEGREE • Stasis
PIETER NOOTEN • CLASSICS: Sleeps with the fishes
BOWRAIN • Far Out

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
DARKHER • Realms
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MORBUS M. • Fight Or Die
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini

Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi
01
08
SOLAR FAKE
Amphi
01
08
GRENDEL
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
14
08
ASHRAM
Maria and the violin's string
13
08
DAVEY SUICIDE
Rise Above
12
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Sanri
11
08
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
10
08
NENA
Fragezeichen
09
08
ESSAIE PAS
Lights Out