tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : ONUS - Proslambanomenos

ONUS

Proslambanomenos

MusicCD
Ambient PopDark AmbientEthereal / Heavenly Voices

[85/100]   

Cyclic Law
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

You might know the musical masterminds of Onus: Peter Bjärgö (Sophia, Arcana) and Nicolas Van Meirhaeghe (Empusae). Now they have a joint project. Be aware, as there is also a death metal band called Onus.

With Onus they make ethereal, transcendent music that sometimes sounds as post-rock. The songs usually start as ambient soundscapes. Percussion and melody by the guitar are added afterwards. The vocals are sparse and beautifully covered between the different layers of music. That certainly applies to the first two songs When The Innocent Dies and The Dreams Die Young.

My Black Wave is more atmosphere than song. It is a dark piece of music with a religiously touch and (again) superb percussion. A total of six songs that stands for forty minutes of listening pleasure.

At times you do notice the influence of their own projects. But they manage to build a distinct universe. Fine, intelligent and attractive music.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

De muzikale breinen achter Onus zal je misschien wel kennen: Peter Bjärgö (Sophia, Arcana) en Nicolas Van Meirhaeghe van Empusae. Nu werken ze samen aan dit nieuwe project. Vergis je niet, want er bestaat ook een deathmetalband Onus.

Met Onus maken ze etherische, transcendentale muziek die soms een beetje als postrock klinkt. De songs zijn breed uitwaaierende lappen muziek die meestal beginnen als ambiente soundscapes. Daarna worden percussie en melodielijnen via de gitaar toegevoegd. De zang is spaarzaam en is mooi verpakt tussen de verschillende lagen van de muziek. Dat geldt zeker voor de eerste twee songs When The Innocent Dies en The Dreams Die Young.

My Black Wave
 is meer sfeer dan song. Het is een donker muziekfragment met religieuze en bezwerend klinkende gezangen, en met alweer mooi uitgewerkte percussie. In totaal vind je hier zes stukken muziek, samen goed voor veertig minuten luisterplezier.

Bij momenten merk je wel de invloeden/kenmerken van hun andere projecten. Desalniettemin bouwt Onus toch een eigen universum. En dat doet het op een goede manier. Fijne, intelligente, sfeervolle en aangename muziek.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ALESSANDRO BELLUCCIO (ASH CODE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BRING ON THE BLOODSHED • Amongst the Ruins
MACHINISTA • Machinista about the death of David Bowie
RANGLEKLODS • Straitjacket
BOMBAY • Show Your Teeth
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
KOBE LIJNEN (WHISPERING SONS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE PROGRAM • Path Of The Least Resistance
UNDERWORLD • Second Toughest In The Infants-Redux

 

Same genre: AMBIENT POP
LAU NAU • Poseidon
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MAQUINA TOTAL • Maquina Total
RICARDO DONOSO • Symmetry
KIRSTEN MORRISON • Proserpine’s Gold
DED PIXEL • Form. Follow. Function
DIRK GEIGER • Connected Worlds
ZERO DEGREE • Stasis
PIETER NOOTEN • CLASSICS: Sleeps with the fishes
BOWRAIN • Far Out

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
DARKHER • Realms
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MORBUS M. • Fight Or Die
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini

Music reviews

20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me
16
10
DOOMSQUAD
Pyramids On Mars