tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

08/12/2016 : OPPENHEIMER MK II - Line of Sight

OPPENHEIMER MK II

Line of Sight

MusicCD (EP)


[90/100]   

Falco Invernale Records
08/12/2016, Marija BULJETA

EN

After the brilliant The Presence of the Abnormal album released in 2013, what can we expect from Oppenheimer Mk II? Well, just recently the lads have released Line of Sight EP containing 4 tracks. And this EP is offering some more electronic pleasure you just have to discover if you’ve missed these guys until now. For those already familiar with their work, they will hear the recognizable Oppenheimer Mk II minimal synth sound. As they maybe wouldn’t necessarily agree with my description, I will still give a label to their sound; being a bit coldish, minimalistic and exact, I would give their sound a minimal electro prefix.

Line of Sight is a catchy song with a solid chorus and intriguing lyrics. It is not a 'must dance' track, but you will surely not forget it, as you can sing along with it almost right from the start, it has that hit quality. The guys decided to give us another version of Action Man in their Plastic Fantasy Mix that elevates the song up to real dance material, as the version is surely more poppy and dancy than the album version. A decision to turn this song into a dance hit was a welcome one. You Won’t Disarm Me just did. The song relies on a strong beat and bass line, it has a bit of an icy and dark feel to it, and you should definitely pay attention to the lyrics that add to the general tone of the song. Brilliant work and my personal highlight of the EP. As the last track there is Secrets And Lies Mix of You Will Never Know, a more soft and mellow version than what we’ve heard on The Presence of the Abnormal. A nice version that made a dance floor song into a slow dancer.

Marija BULJETA
08/12/2016


NL

Wat kunnen we verwachten van Oppenheimer Mk II na het briljante The Presence of the Abnormal-album uit 2013? Nou, onlangs brachten de jongens de ep Line of Sight uit met daarop 4 tracks. Die biedt elektronisch plezier dat je beslist moet ontdekken indien je deze jongens tot nog toe hebt gemist. Diegenen die al bekend zijn met hun werk zullen het typische minimalsynthgeluid van Oppenheimer Mk II herkennen. Misschien bent u het er niet mee eens, maar ik zou het geluid van deze band een beetje kinderachtig en minimalistisch durven noemen met een voorzichtige elektroprefix.

Line of Sight is een aantrekkelijke track met een stevig refrein en een intrigerende tekst. Het is geen dansbare track, maar vergeten doe hem niet want je kan hem vanaf de eerste keer meezingen. Een track met hitkwaliteit. De jongens besloten om ons een andere versie van Action Man te bezorgen. Hun Plastic Fantasy Mix bouwt de track om tot echt dansmateriaal. Een goede keuze. You Won’t Disarm Me is gebaseerd op een sterke beat en baslijn en heeft een beetje een ijzige en donkere sfeer. Let ook op de teksten die bijdraagt aan de algemene toon van de track. Briljant werk en mijn persoonlijk hoogtepunt op de ep. De laatste track is de Secrets and Lies Mix van You Will Never Know, een zachtere en zoetere versie dan die op The Presence of the Abnormal. Een leuke versie die een dansvloertrack omtovert tot een langzame sleper.

 

Marija BULJETA
08/12/2016


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination