tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

08/12/2016 : OPPENHEIMER MK II - Line of Sight

OPPENHEIMER MK II

Line of Sight

MusicCD (EP)


[90/100]   

Falco Invernale Records
08/12/2016, Marija BULJETA

EN

After the brilliant The Presence of the Abnormal album released in 2013, what can we expect from Oppenheimer Mk II? Well, just recently the lads have released Line of Sight EP containing 4 tracks. And this EP is offering some more electronic pleasure you just have to discover if you’ve missed these guys until now. For those already familiar with their work, they will hear the recognizable Oppenheimer Mk II minimal synth sound. As they maybe wouldn’t necessarily agree with my description, I will still give a label to their sound; being a bit coldish, minimalistic and exact, I would give their sound a minimal electro prefix.

Line of Sight is a catchy song with a solid chorus and intriguing lyrics. It is not a 'must dance' track, but you will surely not forget it, as you can sing along with it almost right from the start, it has that hit quality. The guys decided to give us another version of Action Man in their Plastic Fantasy Mix that elevates the song up to real dance material, as the version is surely more poppy and dancy than the album version. A decision to turn this song into a dance hit was a welcome one. You Won’t Disarm Me just did. The song relies on a strong beat and bass line, it has a bit of an icy and dark feel to it, and you should definitely pay attention to the lyrics that add to the general tone of the song. Brilliant work and my personal highlight of the EP. As the last track there is Secrets And Lies Mix of You Will Never Know, a more soft and mellow version than what we’ve heard on The Presence of the Abnormal. A nice version that made a dance floor song into a slow dancer.

Marija BULJETA
08/12/2016


NL

Wat kunnen we verwachten van Oppenheimer Mk II na het briljante The Presence of the Abnormal-album uit 2013? Nou, onlangs brachten de jongens de ep Line of Sight uit met daarop 4 tracks. Die biedt elektronisch plezier dat je beslist moet ontdekken indien je deze jongens tot nog toe hebt gemist. Diegenen die al bekend zijn met hun werk zullen het typische minimalsynthgeluid van Oppenheimer Mk II herkennen. Misschien bent u het er niet mee eens, maar ik zou het geluid van deze band een beetje kinderachtig en minimalistisch durven noemen met een voorzichtige elektroprefix.

Line of Sight is een aantrekkelijke track met een stevig refrein en een intrigerende tekst. Het is geen dansbare track, maar vergeten doe hem niet want je kan hem vanaf de eerste keer meezingen. Een track met hitkwaliteit. De jongens besloten om ons een andere versie van Action Man te bezorgen. Hun Plastic Fantasy Mix bouwt de track om tot echt dansmateriaal. Een goede keuze. You Won’t Disarm Me is gebaseerd op een sterke beat en baslijn en heeft een beetje een ijzige en donkere sfeer. Let ook op de teksten die bijdraagt aan de algemene toon van de track. Briljant werk en mijn persoonlijk hoogtepunt op de ep. De laatste track is de Secrets and Lies Mix van You Will Never Know, een zachtere en zoetere versie dan die op The Presence of the Abnormal. Een leuke versie die een dansvloertrack omtovert tot een langzame sleper.

 

Marija BULJETA
08/12/2016


Music reviews

15
10
DAVID J HASKINS
Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
15
10
ARMSTRONG
Under Blue Skies
14
10
MOONLIGHT MEADOW
Moonlight Meadow
14
10
IN DEED
Everest - Expanded Edition
13
10
REACTOR7X
Are You My Bitch
13
10
WALTER CELI
Blend

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses
10
10
PET SHOP BOYS
Domino Dancing (Extended Version)
09
10
ALISON MOYET
Is This Love