tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

17/07/2013 : OPPENHEIMER MKII - The Presence Of The Abnormal

OPPENHEIMER MKII

The Presence Of The Abnormal

MusicCD
Electro PopMinimal

[98/100]   

Klanggalerie
17/07/2013, Jurgen VANVLASSELAER

OPPENHEIMER MKII is the collaboration between 2 veterans in the world of electronic music; Andy Oppenheimer from Oppenheimer Analysis and Mark Crumby from Konstruktivist.

With their debut The Presence Of The Abnormal they present us 12 little minimal synth masterpieces. Twelve catchy electronic popsongs combined with the very cool voice of mister Oppenheimer.Andy’s vocals remind me a bit of  I Start Counting’s vocalist David Baker, with the only difference that Andy’s voice is maybe a bit warmer, a bit fuller. Oppenheimer is a specialist in defence and counterterrorism and that reflects in some of his lyrics, the titletrack and Adrenaline Rush for instance, which makes the songs even more interesting to listen to. Most minimal synth albums start to get boring after a while, but Mark and Andy avoid that trap easily. The whole album goes from one highlight to another. Opening track You Will Never Know, I Wish I Never Said I Love You, Be A Star and Adrenaline Rush are for me already classics in its genre.

I can already tell you that this album will make my top 5 list of best albums of 2013 for sure. It’s going to very tough to do better on the 2nd album guys!

http://oppenheimermkii.bandcamp.com/album/the-presence-of-the-abnormal

Jurgen VANVLASSELAER
17/07/2013


Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'

PHOTOS

28
09
FADERHEAD
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
GRENDEL
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
VANGUARD
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
SYNTHATTACK
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
THE JOKE JAY
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
26
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser
25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders