tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

14/05/2018 : ORNAMENTI D'ORO - Mater Tenebrarum

ORNAMENTI D'ORO

Mater Tenebrarum

MusicCassette
Electronics

[68/100]   

Tensión Ritual
14/05/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Gustavo A. Roselinsky is Argentinian by birth but resides in Madrid. His project Ornamenti D'Oro now presents it's first-fruit: Mater Tenebrarum.

Gustavo was a fixture for years in the gothic and dark-wave scene in his hometown Córdoba and after moving to Madrid a few years ago, he was able to make contact with Tensión Ritual, a collective consisting of Jamie from the band Strucktura and Greta from the Madrid-based La Mano project. The latter are dedicated organizers of dark scene concerts and parties in Madrid.

Labeling this EP with a genre was rather difficult and since we don't waste time with box-thinking mentality, we chose that this disc remain label-free.

It is very spherical electronic music, grounded in the mythical and dreamy. In terms of vocals we get something quite unique on this Mater Tenebrarum. A very high pitched voice, dark, sometimes classic, then poppy again. Again a wide range. The entire gem, which is limited to 100 cassettes released on the Tensión Ritual label, is bursting with electronic experimental stuff.

The title song ‘Mater Tenebrarum’ emerges from the enervating sound of an alarm clock, that ominously shouts that it is time to leave bed, into an immensely dark piece of electronics. ‘Prima Guerra Mondiale’ is a song that stands out somewhat due to the nice arrangement and the slightly faster pace.

The only unfortunate thing to say about this work is that, after having heard one song, you have in fact heard them all. Despite the variation in the music and the unique atmosphere in which the album is bathed, it tends to get boring quickly.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
14/05/2018


NL

Gustavo A. Roselinsky is een Argentijn van geboorte maar resideert in Madrid. Met zijn project Ornamenti D’Oro brengt hij zijn eersteling uit: Mater Tenebrarum.

Gustavo is al jarenlang een vaste waarde in de gothic en darkwave scene in zijn geboortestad Córdoba. Nadat hij enkele jaren geleden naar Madrid was verhuisd, kon hij contact leggen met Tensión Ritual, een collectief bestaande uit Jamie van de band Strucktura, en Greta van het in Madrid gevestigde project La Mano. Deze laatsten zijn toegewijde organisatoren van concerten en fuiven uit de donkere scene in Madrid.

Deze EP labelen is vrij moeilijk, en omdat we niet aan hokjesdenken doen, laten we deze schijf etiketvrij.

Het is heel sferische electronische muziek, gegrond in het mythische en dromerige. Qua stemgeluid krijgen we op dit Mater Tenebrarum ook iets vrij unieks voorgeschoteld: heel hoog, donker, soms klassiek, dan weer poppy. Een brede waaier dys. Het gehele kleinood, dat gelimiteerd op 100 cassettes wordt uitgebracht op het Tensión Ritual-label, bulkt van electronisch experimenteel gedoe.

De titelsong Mater Tenebrarum ontpopt zich vanuit het enerverende geluid van een wekker die onheilspellend roept dat het alweer tijd is de bedstee te verlaten, tot een immens donker stukje electronica. Prima Guerra Mondiale is een nummer dat er enigszins uitspringt door het leuke arrangement en het iets snellere tempo.

Het enige jammere aan dit werk is dat je na één song in feite alles hebt gehoord. Ondanks de variatie in het muzikale en de aparte sfeer waarin het album baadt, gaat het snel vervelen.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
14/05/2018


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
TOOL
Schism
26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots