tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

14/05/2018 : ORNAMENTI D'ORO - Mater Tenebrarum

ORNAMENTI D'ORO

Mater Tenebrarum

MusicCassette
Electronics

[68/100]   

Tensión Ritual
14/05/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Gustavo A. Roselinsky is Argentinian by birth but resides in Madrid. His project Ornamenti D'Oro now presents it's first-fruit: Mater Tenebrarum.

Gustavo was a fixture for years in the gothic and dark-wave scene in his hometown Córdoba and after moving to Madrid a few years ago, he was able to make contact with Tensión Ritual, a collective consisting of Jamie from the band Strucktura and Greta from the Madrid-based La Mano project. The latter are dedicated organizers of dark scene concerts and parties in Madrid.

Labeling this EP with a genre was rather difficult and since we don't waste time with box-thinking mentality, we chose that this disc remain label-free.

It is very spherical electronic music, grounded in the mythical and dreamy. In terms of vocals we get something quite unique on this Mater Tenebrarum. A very high pitched voice, dark, sometimes classic, then poppy again. Again a wide range. The entire gem, which is limited to 100 cassettes released on the Tensión Ritual label, is bursting with electronic experimental stuff.

The title song ‘Mater Tenebrarum’ emerges from the enervating sound of an alarm clock, that ominously shouts that it is time to leave bed, into an immensely dark piece of electronics. ‘Prima Guerra Mondiale’ is a song that stands out somewhat due to the nice arrangement and the slightly faster pace.

The only unfortunate thing to say about this work is that, after having heard one song, you have in fact heard them all. Despite the variation in the music and the unique atmosphere in which the album is bathed, it tends to get boring quickly.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
14/05/2018


NL

Gustavo A. Roselinsky is een Argentijn van geboorte maar resideert in Madrid. Met zijn project Ornamenti D’Oro brengt hij zijn eersteling uit: Mater Tenebrarum.

Gustavo is al jarenlang een vaste waarde in de gothic en darkwave scene in zijn geboortestad Córdoba. Nadat hij enkele jaren geleden naar Madrid was verhuisd, kon hij contact leggen met Tensión Ritual, een collectief bestaande uit Jamie van de band Strucktura, en Greta van het in Madrid gevestigde project La Mano. Deze laatsten zijn toegewijde organisatoren van concerten en fuiven uit de donkere scene in Madrid.

Deze EP labelen is vrij moeilijk, en omdat we niet aan hokjesdenken doen, laten we deze schijf etiketvrij.

Het is heel sferische electronische muziek, gegrond in het mythische en dromerige. Qua stemgeluid krijgen we op dit Mater Tenebrarum ook iets vrij unieks voorgeschoteld: heel hoog, donker, soms klassiek, dan weer poppy. Een brede waaier dys. Het gehele kleinood, dat gelimiteerd op 100 cassettes wordt uitgebracht op het Tensión Ritual-label, bulkt van electronisch experimenteel gedoe.

De titelsong Mater Tenebrarum ontpopt zich vanuit het enerverende geluid van een wekker die onheilspellend roept dat het alweer tijd is de bedstee te verlaten, tot een immens donker stukje electronica. Prima Guerra Mondiale is een nummer dat er enigszins uitspringt door het leuke arrangement en het iets snellere tempo.

Het enige jammere aan dit werk is dat je na één song in feite alles hebt gehoord. Ondanks de variatie in het muzikale en de aparte sfeer waarin het album baadt, gaat het snel vervelen.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
14/05/2018


Music reviews

15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum
07
05
STRUCK9
Ritual Body Music

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!
24
05
Covenant to play exclusive vintage and full clubshow at BIMFEST 2018

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
10
06
O VEUX
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
APPARAAT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ENZO KREFT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ROSA PARKS
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life
13
06
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Infierno
12
06
THE EDEN HOUSE
Misery