tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

14/05/2018 : ORNAMENTI D'ORO - Mater Tenebrarum

ORNAMENTI D'ORO

Mater Tenebrarum

MusicCassette
Electronics

[68/100]   

Tensión Ritual
14/05/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Gustavo A. Roselinsky is Argentinian by birth but resides in Madrid. His project Ornamenti D'Oro now presents it's first-fruit: Mater Tenebrarum.

Gustavo was a fixture for years in the gothic and dark-wave scene in his hometown Córdoba and after moving to Madrid a few years ago, he was able to make contact with Tensión Ritual, a collective consisting of Jamie from the band Strucktura and Greta from the Madrid-based La Mano project. The latter are dedicated organizers of dark scene concerts and parties in Madrid.

Labeling this EP with a genre was rather difficult and since we don't waste time with box-thinking mentality, we chose that this disc remain label-free.

It is very spherical electronic music, grounded in the mythical and dreamy. In terms of vocals we get something quite unique on this Mater Tenebrarum. A very high pitched voice, dark, sometimes classic, then poppy again. Again a wide range. The entire gem, which is limited to 100 cassettes released on the Tensión Ritual label, is bursting with electronic experimental stuff.

The title song ‘Mater Tenebrarum’ emerges from the enervating sound of an alarm clock, that ominously shouts that it is time to leave bed, into an immensely dark piece of electronics. ‘Prima Guerra Mondiale’ is a song that stands out somewhat due to the nice arrangement and the slightly faster pace.

The only unfortunate thing to say about this work is that, after having heard one song, you have in fact heard them all. Despite the variation in the music and the unique atmosphere in which the album is bathed, it tends to get boring quickly.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
14/05/2018


NL

Gustavo A. Roselinsky is een Argentijn van geboorte maar resideert in Madrid. Met zijn project Ornamenti D’Oro brengt hij zijn eersteling uit: Mater Tenebrarum.

Gustavo is al jarenlang een vaste waarde in de gothic en darkwave scene in zijn geboortestad Córdoba. Nadat hij enkele jaren geleden naar Madrid was verhuisd, kon hij contact leggen met Tensión Ritual, een collectief bestaande uit Jamie van de band Strucktura, en Greta van het in Madrid gevestigde project La Mano. Deze laatsten zijn toegewijde organisatoren van concerten en fuiven uit de donkere scene in Madrid.

Deze EP labelen is vrij moeilijk, en omdat we niet aan hokjesdenken doen, laten we deze schijf etiketvrij.

Het is heel sferische electronische muziek, gegrond in het mythische en dromerige. Qua stemgeluid krijgen we op dit Mater Tenebrarum ook iets vrij unieks voorgeschoteld: heel hoog, donker, soms klassiek, dan weer poppy. Een brede waaier dys. Het gehele kleinood, dat gelimiteerd op 100 cassettes wordt uitgebracht op het Tensión Ritual-label, bulkt van electronisch experimenteel gedoe.

De titelsong Mater Tenebrarum ontpopt zich vanuit het enerverende geluid van een wekker die onheilspellend roept dat het alweer tijd is de bedstee te verlaten, tot een immens donker stukje electronica. Prima Guerra Mondiale is een nummer dat er enigszins uitspringt door het leuke arrangement en het iets snellere tempo.

Het enige jammere aan dit werk is dat je na één song in feite alles hebt gehoord. Ondanks de variatie in het muzikale en de aparte sfeer waarin het album baadt, gaat het snel vervelen.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
14/05/2018


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation