tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

14/05/2018 : ORNAMENTI D'ORO - Mater Tenebrarum

ORNAMENTI D'ORO

Mater Tenebrarum

MusicCassette
Electronics

[68/100]   

Tensión Ritual
14/05/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Gustavo A. Roselinsky is Argentinian by birth but resides in Madrid. His project Ornamenti D'Oro now presents it's first-fruit: Mater Tenebrarum.

Gustavo was a fixture for years in the gothic and dark-wave scene in his hometown Córdoba and after moving to Madrid a few years ago, he was able to make contact with Tensión Ritual, a collective consisting of Jamie from the band Strucktura and Greta from the Madrid-based La Mano project. The latter are dedicated organizers of dark scene concerts and parties in Madrid.

Labeling this EP with a genre was rather difficult and since we don't waste time with box-thinking mentality, we chose that this disc remain label-free.

It is very spherical electronic music, grounded in the mythical and dreamy. In terms of vocals we get something quite unique on this Mater Tenebrarum. A very high pitched voice, dark, sometimes classic, then poppy again. Again a wide range. The entire gem, which is limited to 100 cassettes released on the Tensión Ritual label, is bursting with electronic experimental stuff.

The title song ‘Mater Tenebrarum’ emerges from the enervating sound of an alarm clock, that ominously shouts that it is time to leave bed, into an immensely dark piece of electronics. ‘Prima Guerra Mondiale’ is a song that stands out somewhat due to the nice arrangement and the slightly faster pace.

The only unfortunate thing to say about this work is that, after having heard one song, you have in fact heard them all. Despite the variation in the music and the unique atmosphere in which the album is bathed, it tends to get boring quickly.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
14/05/2018


NL

Gustavo A. Roselinsky is een Argentijn van geboorte maar resideert in Madrid. Met zijn project Ornamenti D’Oro brengt hij zijn eersteling uit: Mater Tenebrarum.

Gustavo is al jarenlang een vaste waarde in de gothic en darkwave scene in zijn geboortestad Córdoba. Nadat hij enkele jaren geleden naar Madrid was verhuisd, kon hij contact leggen met Tensión Ritual, een collectief bestaande uit Jamie van de band Strucktura, en Greta van het in Madrid gevestigde project La Mano. Deze laatsten zijn toegewijde organisatoren van concerten en fuiven uit de donkere scene in Madrid.

Deze EP labelen is vrij moeilijk, en omdat we niet aan hokjesdenken doen, laten we deze schijf etiketvrij.

Het is heel sferische electronische muziek, gegrond in het mythische en dromerige. Qua stemgeluid krijgen we op dit Mater Tenebrarum ook iets vrij unieks voorgeschoteld: heel hoog, donker, soms klassiek, dan weer poppy. Een brede waaier dys. Het gehele kleinood, dat gelimiteerd op 100 cassettes wordt uitgebracht op het Tensión Ritual-label, bulkt van electronisch experimenteel gedoe.

De titelsong Mater Tenebrarum ontpopt zich vanuit het enerverende geluid van een wekker die onheilspellend roept dat het alweer tijd is de bedstee te verlaten, tot een immens donker stukje electronica. Prima Guerra Mondiale is een nummer dat er enigszins uitspringt door het leuke arrangement en het iets snellere tempo.

Het enige jammere aan dit werk is dat je na één song in feite alles hebt gehoord. Ondanks de variatie in het muzikale en de aparte sfeer waarin het album baadt, gaat het snel vervelen.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
14/05/2018


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi
01
08
SOLAR FAKE
Amphi
01
08
GRENDEL
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
14
08
ASHRAM
Maria and the violin's string
13
08
DAVEY SUICIDE
Rise Above
12
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Sanri
11
08
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
10
08
NENA
Fragezeichen
09
08
ESSAIE PAS
Lights Out