tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

18/06/2015 : ORSON WELLES - Too Much Johnson

ORSON WELLES

Too Much Johnson

MovieMovie classics
Comedy

[80/100]   

Mr. Bongo
18/06/2015, Didier BECU

EN

2015 has been declared as the year in which Orson Welles will be remembered in the film world. This year the cinematographer would have been 100 years old, and to celebrate that there are many events to prove that he was one of the greatest geniuses (for some the greatest) in cinematography. Mr. Bongo provides the icing on the cake by issuing three releases : Falstaff, The Immortal Story and Too Much Johnson.

If you do not count the short film The Hearts Of Age , then Too Much Johnson is the first feature from Orson Welles. Only a handful of people saw this film. It was an exercise, nothing more. For years men thought that the film was destroyed in a house fire, but it was (although completely damaged) recovered and after a restoration it is now (finally) on the store shelves. 

Orson Welles has always been different from the rest, and in 1938 he made (three years before Citizen Kane), a silent film. The story is incredibly simple, this ode to the slapstick can be summarized in a few sentences. Dathis (Edgar Barrier) discovers that his wife (Arlene Francis) is cheating on him with a guy named Billings (Joseph Cotten). After a long flight, Billings arrives in Cuba where his wife awaits him. To hide he takes the identity of Johnson. Nothing more happens. The comedy is similar to the silent films of the Keystone Cops (Welles himself plays a cop). The interesting thing about this film is obviously not the story, but the cinematography. Those who are familiar with his work will see images that later appeared in Citizen Kane or The Lady From Shanghai. You must watch this movie from the perspective of a fan. The story is thin (quite a lot of scenes are missing), but in the first place you watch Too Much Johnson to discover the first images of Welles. Stuff for true fans, now out on Mr. Bongo.

Didier BECU
18/06/2015


NL

2015 is in de filmwereld uitgeroepen als het jaar waarin we Orson Welles herdenken.Dit jaar zou de cineast 100 zijn geworden, en om dat te vieren zijn er allerlei evenementen die moeten aantonen dat de ijdeltuit (want dat was hij zonder twijfel) één van de grootste genieën (voor sommige de grootste) uit de cinematografie is. Mr. Bongo zorgt voor de kers op de taart door drie releases uit te brengen: Falstaff, The Immortal Story en deze Too Much Johnson.

Als je de kortfilm The Hearts Of Age niet meerekent, dan is Too Much Johnson het eerste wapenfeit van Orson Welles. Slechts een handvol mensen hebben deze film gezien. Het was een oefening, niet meer dan dat. Jaren heeft men gedacht dat de film in een woningbrand verwoest was, maar men heeft uiteindelijk de film toch (volledig beschadigd) teruggevonden en na een grondige restauratie ligt hij vandaag (eindelijk) in de winkelrekken. 

Orson Welles is altijd anders geweest dan de rest, en in 1938 maakte hij (drie jaar voor Citizen Kane) een stomme film. Het verhaal is ongelooflijk eenvoudig. Deze ode aan de slapstick is dan ook in enkele zinnen samen te vatten. Dathis (Edgar Barrier) ontdekt dat zijn echtgenote (Arlene Francis) hem bedriegt met ene Billings (Joseph Cotten). Na een ellenlange vlucht slaagt Billings erin om Cuba te bereiken waar zijn eigen vrouw (Ruth Ford) op hem wacht. Om zich te verschuilen neemt hij de identiteit van Johnson aan. Meer gebeurt er niet. De komedie kan je best vergelijken met een stomme film van de Keystone Cops (Welles speelt zelf zo'n agent). Het interessante aan deze film is natuurlijk niet het verhaal, maar wel de cinematografie. Wie vertrouwd is met zijn werk ziet duidelijk dat er in deze vingeroefening beelden zijn die je later in Citizen Kane of The Lady From Shangai zal terugzien. Je moet deze film dan ook helemaal uit het oogpunt van een fan bekijken. Het verhaal hangt met haken en ogen aan elkaar (er zijn zelfs scènes die ontbreken), maar in de eerste plaats kijk je naar Too Much Johnson om de eerste beelden van Welles te ontdekken. Voer voor echte fans dus, de anderen moeten er niet in het minst hun slaap voor laten (ook al zijn we er heilig van overtuigd dat ze dat niet zullen doen).

Didier BECU
18/06/2015


18/06/2015 : ORSON WELLES - Too Much Johnson 18/06/2015 : ORSON WELLES - Too Much Johnson 18/06/2015 : ORSON WELLES - Too Much Johnson 18/06/2015 : ORSON WELLES - Too Much Johnson 18/06/2015 : ORSON WELLES - Too Much Johnson 18/06/2015 : ORSON WELLES - Too Much Johnson 18/06/2015 : ORSON WELLES - Too Much Johnson 18/06/2015 : ORSON WELLES - Too Much Johnson 18/06/2015 : ORSON WELLES - Too Much Johnson 18/06/2015 : ORSON WELLES - Too Much Johnson 18/06/2015 : ORSON WELLES - Too Much Johnson 18/06/2015 : ORSON WELLES - Too Much Johnson 18/06/2015 : ORSON WELLES - Too Much Johnson 18/06/2015 : ORSON WELLES - Too Much Johnson 18/06/2015 : ORSON WELLES - Too Much Johnson 18/06/2015 : ORSON WELLES - Too Much Johnson

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination