tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

06/11/2011 : OUREBOROS - Dreaming In Earth, Dissolving In Light

OUREBOROS

Dreaming In Earth, Dissolving In Light

MusicCD
AmbientDroneIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[75/100]   
06/11/2011, Chris KONINGS

Oureboros is a collaboration between Canadians Rick Oddie (Orphx) and Aron West (Tropism). It all started in 2006 but it took until now to see a result. In 1993 West was a founding member of Orphx but he left to co-found Tropism, now renamed to Tropizm.

The album has a lot of guitar drones, much like Fear Falls Burning or Maeror Tri but in a more ambient way, so it's not that harsh. Dreaming In Earth builds up slowly with soft rhythms on the background and thickly layered and warm, even feverish sounds. This flows to the haunting Dissolving In Light, the added violin gives it a ghostly feeling as if you are stunned and cannot move anymore. Double Mercury is the most compelling song, the violin stays but is accompanied by a hopeful guitar soundscape.

Some softer moment can be found during "At Twilight", a cushioned downtempo song with a minimum of keyboards. So far so good but then it starts to fall apart, Circle Of Dust ends in an awkward fashion and from then on it's not that compelling anymore. Not until The Descent you have the feeling of being wrapped up in sound again. That song is pitchblack and will take you to the nether regions of earth, where even worms do not dare go.

Waveworn is almost unhearable but let's call it the silence before the storm that Point Of Disintegration is. A devilishly dark song, the victims are wailing in the deep. What goes on in this hellhole, nobody will ever return to tell us about it!

It says a lot when you need to put a lot of effort in an album and you still have doubt about whether it's good or not. It sure is quality but albums like "Heresy" by Lustmord or "Yearning For The Secrets Of Nature" by Maeror Tri work a lot better for me. Sometimes an album comes up that does not allow any doubt, the reason then is unquestionable that it's a great album. It does not have anything to do with what style I like or dislike, take "Convergent Fields" by electroband Blame for instance. After only one or two listenings I knew this would be a cd I would be playing regularly. Same with the collaboration between Empusae and Shinkiro.

The latter is similar, has a more dreamy, feverish and at the same time attractive and soothing feeling, with a fluent build-up. Oddie and West do a lot of things right but they fail to continually mesmerise me, probably because of that dropping out of form in the middle of the album. A difficult album that is has rewarding moments but too bad about the middle section. Uneasy listening and I'm sure a lot of people here will be getting interested when they read that. Maybe it didn't work for me but it still has some great moments!

Chris KONINGS
06/11/2011


 

Next reviews
BLAME • Convergent Fields
ASSEPTIC ROOM • Visceralofobia
WELLE:ERDBALL • Der Kalte Krieg
PALLERS • The Sea of Memories
GERARD HERMAN • Fêta Justice
BRIDGET HAYDEN • A Siren Blares In An Indifferent Ocean
COMPUTERUS • compUterus
FEORM • Feorm
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The Worst Music Dracula Ever Heard
ENABLERS • Blown realms and stalled explosions

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree

 

Same genre: DRONE
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete