tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

02/12/2013 : OYAARSS - Smaida Greizi Nākamība

OYAARSS

Smaida Greizi Nākamība

MusicCD
AmbientDubstepExperimentalIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[70/100]   

Ad Noiseam
02/12/2013, Chris KONINGS

The solo project of Latvian Arvīds Laivinieks, this is a reissue of his demo album translates as "The future smiling wrily". So as you can read on his website, you can expect some dystopian soundscapes. For this he utilises intelligent but crushing metal, experimental electronic music and some jabs of dubstep and classical music as well...

Bads was his actual debut album and the difference with that one here is that it's purely instrumental. Why I do not know but even if the result is still interesting, I did like Bads better though, his vocals truly add another dimension! That album was very cohesive so I'm cutious about his methods and evolution. When you gaze at the desolate, broken buildings on the cover art, you can really get stuck into Arvīds dark broodings. With the first few song, you hear a similar approach, not that it's annoying but well, it shows... or rather, it hears... But there's better on the way!

The calm, esotheric fifth song Flight across the twilight is wonderful, dream away on this one folks! Then there's some ethnic singing on The hunger am I, but the calm ambient is quicky shoved aside by heavily distorted beats. I love the contrast between the 'adhan' on an ambient background and the raw power of those crushing beats.

Piano meanderings provide for a sensitive and dramatic touch on Music or irrelevant changes, maybe it's just a bit over dramatic near the end... I can't help but feel like I'm in a railway station after a while... Scrap even has some post rock elements but near the end of the album, it seems to slide away into a blurry moat.

A few very striking songs but you can't deny it's a demo album. As said earlier, Bads is a lot more cohesive, balanced and interesting. Still it's cool to hear where that came from!

Chris KONINGS
02/12/2013


 

Next reviews
LOUIS LETERRIER • Now You See Me
FAUSTEN • Fausten
GUS VAN SANT • Promised Land
COEN OSCAR & HERMAN WILKEN • Fathomless
ESBEN SVANE • live in Brussels, 30/11/2013
PEOPLE OF NOTHING • A Break To Cry
DELAYKLINIKEN • Air
HONG SANGSOO • In another country
TAPAGE • Overgrown
SHATOO • Floodlight

 

Other reviews from OYAARSS
OYAARSS • Bads

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence

 

Same genre: DUBSTEP
MIRA, UN LOBO! • Heart Beats Slow
ZA! • Loloismo
LAMB • Backspace Unwind
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
LABORATORY 5 • Awake in the dark
LABORATORY 5 • Rise ov The Machines EP
ESSENCE OF MIND • Hate EP
LABORATORY 5 • Elements of War
CIBERPUNK ARGENTINA • Tecno Melodías Biomecánicas
RUBY MY DEAR • Form

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age

Music reviews

20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me
16
10
DOOMSQUAD
Pyramids On Mars