tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

02/12/2013 : OYAARSS - Smaida Greizi Nākamība

OYAARSS

Smaida Greizi Nākamība

MusicCD
AmbientDubstepExperimentalIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[70/100]   

Ad Noiseam
02/12/2013, Chris KONINGS

The solo project of Latvian Arvīds Laivinieks, this is a reissue of his demo album translates as "The future smiling wrily". So as you can read on his website, you can expect some dystopian soundscapes. For this he utilises intelligent but crushing metal, experimental electronic music and some jabs of dubstep and classical music as well...

Bads was his actual debut album and the difference with that one here is that it's purely instrumental. Why I do not know but even if the result is still interesting, I did like Bads better though, his vocals truly add another dimension! That album was very cohesive so I'm cutious about his methods and evolution. When you gaze at the desolate, broken buildings on the cover art, you can really get stuck into Arvīds dark broodings. With the first few song, you hear a similar approach, not that it's annoying but well, it shows... or rather, it hears... But there's better on the way!

The calm, esotheric fifth song Flight across the twilight is wonderful, dream away on this one folks! Then there's some ethnic singing on The hunger am I, but the calm ambient is quicky shoved aside by heavily distorted beats. I love the contrast between the 'adhan' on an ambient background and the raw power of those crushing beats.

Piano meanderings provide for a sensitive and dramatic touch on Music or irrelevant changes, maybe it's just a bit over dramatic near the end... I can't help but feel like I'm in a railway station after a while... Scrap even has some post rock elements but near the end of the album, it seems to slide away into a blurry moat.

A few very striking songs but you can't deny it's a demo album. As said earlier, Bads is a lot more cohesive, balanced and interesting. Still it's cool to hear where that came from!

Chris KONINGS
02/12/2013


 

Next reviews
LOUIS LETERRIER • Now You See Me
FAUSTEN • Fausten
GUS VAN SANT • Promised Land
COEN OSCAR & HERMAN WILKEN • Fathomless
ESBEN SVANE • live in Brussels, 30/11/2013
PEOPLE OF NOTHING • A Break To Cry
DELAYKLINIKEN • Air
HONG SANGSOO • In another country
TAPAGE • Overgrown
SHATOO • Floodlight

 

Other reviews from OYAARSS
OYAARSS • Bads

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree

 

Same genre: DUBSTEP
MIRA, UN LOBO! • Heart Beats Slow
ZA! • Loloismo
LAMB • Backspace Unwind
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
LABORATORY 5 • Awake in the dark
LABORATORY 5 • Rise ov The Machines EP
ESSENCE OF MIND • Hate EP
LABORATORY 5 • Elements of War
CIBERPUNK ARGENTINA • Tecno Melodías Biomecánicas
RUBY MY DEAR • Form

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?