tempobet yeni adresi

02/12/2013 : OYAARSS - Smaida Greizi Nākamība

OYAARSS

Smaida Greizi Nākamība

MusicCD
AmbientDubstepExperimentalIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[70/100]   

Ad Noiseam
02/12/2013, Chris KONINGS

The solo project of Latvian Arvīds Laivinieks, this is a reissue of his demo album translates as "The future smiling wrily". So as you can read on his website, you can expect some dystopian soundscapes. For this he utilises intelligent but crushing metal, experimental electronic music and some jabs of dubstep and classical music as well...

Bads was his actual debut album and the difference with that one here is that it's purely instrumental. Why I do not know but even if the result is still interesting, I did like Bads better though, his vocals truly add another dimension! That album was very cohesive so I'm cutious about his methods and evolution. When you gaze at the desolate, broken buildings on the cover art, you can really get stuck into Arvīds dark broodings. With the first few song, you hear a similar approach, not that it's annoying but well, it shows... or rather, it hears... But there's better on the way!

The calm, esotheric fifth song Flight across the twilight is wonderful, dream away on this one folks! Then there's some ethnic singing on The hunger am I, but the calm ambient is quicky shoved aside by heavily distorted beats. I love the contrast between the 'adhan' on an ambient background and the raw power of those crushing beats.

Piano meanderings provide for a sensitive and dramatic touch on Music or irrelevant changes, maybe it's just a bit over dramatic near the end... I can't help but feel like I'm in a railway station after a while... Scrap even has some post rock elements but near the end of the album, it seems to slide away into a blurry moat.

A few very striking songs but you can't deny it's a demo album. As said earlier, Bads is a lot more cohesive, balanced and interesting. Still it's cool to hear where that came from!

Chris KONINGS
02/12/2013


 

Next reviews
LOUIS LETERRIER • Now You See Me
FAUSTEN • Fausten
GUS VAN SANT • Promised Land
COEN OSCAR & HERMAN WILKEN • Fathomless
ESBEN SVANE • live in Brussels, 30/11/2013
PEOPLE OF NOTHING • A Break To Cry
DELAYKLINIKEN • Air
HONG SANGSOO • In another country
TAPAGE • Overgrown
SHATOO • Floodlight

 

Other reviews from OYAARSS
OYAARSS • Bads

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BRIAN ENO • The Ship
BE • One

 

Same genre: DUBSTEP
MIRA, UN LOBO! • Heart Beats Slow
ZA! • Loloismo
LAMB • Backspace Unwind
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
LABORATORY 5 • Awake in the dark
LABORATORY 5 • Rise ov The Machines EP
ESSENCE OF MIND • Hate EP
LABORATORY 5 • Elements of War
CIBERPUNK ARGENTINA • Tecno Melodías Biomecánicas
RUBY MY DEAR • Form

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
LINGOUF • Quatuor Solitaire
GROUP A • 70 + a =

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age

Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!
23
12
Exactly one year ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Not the Actual Events'.
18
12
North American Industrial/Metal band Ministry announce new album with new single & video!
15
12
Black Needle Noise releases SyStem Bi feat. Fakeba single and video

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’
19
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
'Everything I've learned I know from records... (though I often misheard the words)'

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
13
01
VIIII
Fury
13
01
VOITH
A Christmas Eve In Berlin (Official Video)
12
01
REIZSTROM
Invisible Force
11
01
EYE STEAL
Burn Alive