tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/09/2015 : P.I.L. - What The World Needs Now

P.I.L.

What The World Needs Now

MusicCD
Post PunkPunk

[80/100]   

PIL Official
07/09/2015, Paul PLEDGER

2012's This Is PiL still stands up as one of Lydon and co's most remarkable records and wasn't so much a comeback as a total rebirth. Three years on comes another double-vinyl set with the same line-up but a noticeable change of mood.

Less obviously reflective and autobiographical than its predecessor, What the World Needs Now is Lydon having fun with language (some of it decidedly fruity) while his charges Edmonds, Firth and Smith generate the kind of propulsive riffs, rhythms and bass-lines that made the likes of Album and Happy so engaging.

As with This is PiL, the opening track on WTWNN is the weakest - Double Trouble is all toilet-humour and marital rows, orchestrated by Lydon's best badly-behaved rantathon and mid-paced partially punkist pogoing that bears little similarity to the rest of this otherwise likeable collection. In fact much of What the World is verging on 'pop' - Spice of Choice bears a slight resemblance to Roxy's Love is the Drug (which is fine by me), The One is all a skanking riffed up variant on the Rise theme and works a treat and Bettie Page pays homage to the burlesque icon, as well as Mae West and Louise Brooks - it's all a dig at the double-standards of those who'd tut-tut at anyone who dares to bare flesh and soul in the 'land of the free, the pure absurd...' etc..

I'm partial to the MOR-isms of Big Blue Sky, a track that starts like a threatening dub warrior before going all melodically wide-eyed and wide-screen with a wash of keyboards and slow drums, while the following Whole Life Time and the classic I'm Not Satisfied appear to revisit the more personal side of Lydon's psyche with references to forgiveness, illnesses and impatience.

The album only teeters on the brink of padding-out with the closing Shoom. An admittedly nifty sub-disco groove gives way to a random 'fuck this, fuck that, fuck you' diatribe from Lydon before one decent verse arrives too late towards the end of the relentless barrage. In the vein of other curtain calls in the PiL repertoire such as Fodderstompf and Out of the Woods, Shoom is a motorik jam that outstays its welcome by a good few minutes. If you really want a display of punk vehemence, read his Anger is an Energy book.

Far from being the bitterest PiL, What the World Needs Now strikes this listener as a band at ease and having fun with itself and YOU the listener.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
07/09/2015


 

Next reviews
RAYMOND DE FELITTA • Rob The Mob
FLESH WORLD • The Wild Animals in my Life
MINIMAL COMPACT • The Figure one Cuts
BILL AND MURRAY • A New Kind Of High
IT'S A SYNTH • Curiosity
• THE BLACKLIST SEASON 2
NOYCE TM • Fall Out
JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
AN PIERLE • Le Tout Nouveau Testament-OST
MOTHER EMPIRE • The System

 

Other reviews from P.I.L.
P.I.L. • Antwerp, Trix (18/10/2015)

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + PUNK
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
STRUGGLER • The Gap
THE STRANGLERS, THE ALARM • O2 Academy, Bristol (19/03/16)
SIEVEHEAD • Into the Blue
CRIMSON SCARLET • Collection: 2011-2014
KANDAHAR • Bo Jeden to Szereg
DE BRASSERS • Antwerpen, De Kleine Hedonist (28/2/2015)
GIRLS AT OUR BEST • Pleasure
TRASH BOAT • Look alive EP
REGIMEN • S-T

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time

 

Same genre: PUNK
THE PULSEBEATS • LOOKIN’ OUT
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
SONNY VINCENT • Shake Pit Therapy
THE HEAT INC. • EP
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE SPECIALS • Encore
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVERNANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire