tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

03/06/2014 : PABLO TRAPERO - Carancho

PABLO TRAPERO

Carancho

Movie
Crime

[79/100]   

Filmfreaks
03/06/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Carancho is probably one of the best DVD-releases from this year you'll never heard from. We never think about it, but because most Argentinians don't care about the traffic law, the country faces every year 8000 deaths and 120000 injuries. Incredible numbers that would make every government ashamed, but in Argentinia assurance companies made a whole dirty business from it. Every company has so called carancho's (Spanish for a vulture) who seek victims after they got involved in an accident. A carancho let them sign a contract, but the money they receive is far too low.


Sosa (Ricardo Darín) is such a crook as well. You can find him every night at the busy streets in Buenos Aires waiting for an accident to happen. It's during such an action that he meets medic Luján (Martina Gusmán). Even if both have different aims (she tries to help the victim, while he wants to betray him), they both fall in love.


Director Pablo Trapero didn't make an ordinary love story from his sixth movie though. Sosa plays very dangerous games and most of the times you see images from how he's beaten up. Luján tries to make this world a better place, but she's addicted to drugs. Some critics have described this gem as a neo-noir thriller, and that's justified! Just like he did in El Bonaerense or Leonera, Trapero guides the viewer into the dirty swamp that the Argentinian underground is. There's no mercy, only money counts. At the end you can accuse him of playing too much Mr. Tarantino, but apart from that you can't deny the fact that Carancho is a must see! Also don't forget those excellent performances from both Ricardo Darin (you probably know him from El Secreto De Sus Ojos) and Martina Gusman who is the director's wife!


Carancho is a splendid example that shows how intriguing world cinema can be. If Martin Scorsese would have been an Argentinian, he might have made a movie like this. A real tip!

Didier BECU
03/06/2014


NL

Carancho zou wel eens één van de niet te missen releases van 2014 kunnen zijn die je wellicht niet kent. We staan er niet bij stil maar doordat de doorsnee Argentijn het verkeersreglement aan zijn laars lapt, vallen er in dat land gemiddeld 8000 doden en 120000 gewonden. Hallucinerende cijfers die bij ons automatisch het ontslag van de desbetreffende ministers zou betekenen, maar in het Zuid-Amerikaanse land vindt men dat normaal. Meer zelfs, er wordt een heel handeltje daar rond opgezet. Een carancho (Spaans voor aasgier) is een jurist die slachtoffers opzoekt en hun vervolgens oplicht door hun een veel te lage vergoeding uit te betalen.


Sosa (Ricardo Darín) is ook zo'n oplichter. Iedere nacht is hij aanwezig op de drukke banen van Buenos Aires om er als de eerste bij te zijn wanneer iemand het slachtoffer van een verkeersongeval wordt. Het is dan ook tijdens zo’n ongeluk dat hij in contact komt met spoedarts Luján (Martina Gusmán). Ofschoon de twee een tegengesteld uitgangspunt hebben (zij redt de patiënt, hij licht ze op) raken de twee verliefd.


Regisseur Pablo Trapero heeft van zijn zesde langspeelfilm geen ordinair liefdesverhaal gemaakt. Sosa wordt met de regelmaat van de klok in elkaar geslagen en ook al probeert Luján haar medemens te redden is zij zelf hopeloos aan drugs verslaafd. Door deze aanpak gebruiken heel wat filmjournalisten wel eens de term neo-noir thriller om deze Zuid-Amerikaanse parel te categoriseren en dat is volkomen terecht. Trapero dompelt je net zoals in zijn andere films El Bonaerense en Leonera volledig onder in de Argentijnse misdaadwereld. Op het einde verliest Trapero een beetje de trappers door zijn film nodeloos van overdreven geweld te voorzien (en waardoor het ook een beetje ongeloofwaardig wordt), maar los daarvan is Carancho niet te missen kost. Niet in het minst door de voortreffelijke vertolkingen die bijna volledig door Ricardo Darin die je wel zal kennen van El Secreto De Sus Ojos en Martina Gusman (de echtgenote van de regisseur) worden gedragen.


Carancho is een mooi voorbeeld van hoe intrigerend wereldcinema wel kan zijn. Mocht Martin Scorsese een Argentijn zijn, dan zou hij misschien wel deze film hebben gemaakt. Een echte tip!

Didier BECU
03/06/2014


03/06/2014 : PABLO TRAPERO - Carancho 03/06/2014 : PABLO TRAPERO - Carancho 03/06/2014 : PABLO TRAPERO - Carancho 03/06/2014 : PABLO TRAPERO - Carancho 03/06/2014 : PABLO TRAPERO - Carancho 03/06/2014 : PABLO TRAPERO - Carancho 03/06/2014 : PABLO TRAPERO - Carancho 03/06/2014 : PABLO TRAPERO - Carancho 03/06/2014 : PABLO TRAPERO - Carancho 03/06/2014 : PABLO TRAPERO - Carancho 03/06/2014 : PABLO TRAPERO - Carancho 03/06/2014 : PABLO TRAPERO - Carancho 03/06/2014 : PABLO TRAPERO - Carancho 03/06/2014 : PABLO TRAPERO - Carancho 03/06/2014 : PABLO TRAPERO - Carancho 03/06/2014 : PABLO TRAPERO - Carancho

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)