tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/05/2011 : PAIL - Faith in the void

PAIL

Faith in the void

MusicCD
EBMElectroIndustrial

[83/100]   

Caustic Records
16/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

After being overwhelmed by last year’s Cuture kultur-album we can recommend another great EBM-band from Spain. Their name: Pail.

“Faith in the void" is their third album and they describe their sound as an effort to melt the richness of the 80’s with those from the 90’s and even if we’re not that keen on promotalk, we must confess that there is more than just a hint of truth in that.

Pail made their first steps into the electroworld around 1998 and it was immediately obvious that they wanted to sound like all the great known electroworld icons. For those who know their stuff, we mean bands like Skinny Puppy, Front Line Assembly,, X Marks The Pedwalk or other Hocico's.

To get this sound, Pail went to the famous Green Jacket-studios in Canada and had their album produced by Greg Reely, a man who has been involved with the likes of Skinny Puppy and FLA.

“Faith in the void” is a record that deals with the poor state this world is in, and an economical situation in where everything is about dollarsigns, not even mentioning the devastating impact on Mother Earth.

Musically you get an album that sounds very rich and excels in its diversity. You get a track like "Hyper Reality" which sounds pure KMFDM but some tracks later you got something like "The first words" which, just like Solitary Experiments, has a futurepop-appeal and by the time you think it’s all too much, you get tight EBM-beats in a song like "Energy bodies", a title that says it all.

We would even take it a bit further by stating that "Global dreams" silences the critics who think electro can’t be original these days.

"Faith in the void" is a great album. It's also available in a special limited edition with extra goodies including a T-shirt, a patch and some pins-badges.

Didier BECU
16/05/2011


NL

Na de overweldigende plaat die Culture Kultur verleden jaar op ons losliet, kunnen we alweer een andere EBM-groep uit Spanje aanraden. Hun naam : Pail.

“Faith in the void" is ondertussen het derde album van Pail en naar eigen zeggen proberen ze de verdiensten van de jaren '80 met die van de jaren '90 te vermengen, en ook al zijn wij niet tuk op prietpraat die op persmedelingen wordt rondgestrooid, is daar geen woord van gelogen.

De groep zette hun eerste schreden in de electrowereld circa 1998 en meteen was het duidelijk dat ze wilden klinken zoals de grootheden die op deze electrowereld rondhuppelen. Voor een goed verstaander hebben we het hier over Skinny Puppy, Front Line Assembly, X Marks The Pedwalk of andere Hocico's.

Om het allemaal zo'n geluid te geven trokken de heren van Pail dan ook naar de Green Jacket-studios van Canada om alles te laten produceren door Greg Reely, een man die eerder achter de knoppen zat voor Skinny Puppy en FLA.

De mooie artwork onthuld meteen dat deze plaat verwijst naar de verloederde wereld waar alles in het teken van de economie staat en de daarmee gepaarde dollartekens, om maar van de verloedering van Moeder Aarde niet te spreken.

Muzikaal uit dat zich vooral in een zeer avontuurlijk album dat uitblinkt door zijn diversiteit. Zo is "Hyper Reality" gewoonweg KMFDM pur sang maar hoor je een paar tracks verder een nummer als "The first words" dat net zoals pakweg Solitary Experiments lichte futurepopneigingen vertoond, maar meteen daarna hernemen de EBM-beats zich met het opdwepende "Energy Bodies", een titel die geen uitleg hoeft.

Meer zelfs, een nummer als "Global dreams" snoert meteen de monden van zij die denken dat electro anno 2011 niet meer origineel uit de hoek zou kunnen komen.

"Faith in the void" is een groots album dat ook in gelimiteerde versie beschikbaar is en met zoiets krijg je er een T-shirt, patch, pins en allerlei andere dingen bovenop.

Didier BECU
16/05/2011


 

Next reviews
SIXTH JUNE • Back for a day EP
//TENSE// • No escape 12'inch
TOM'S MIDNIGHT GARDEN • To kill a klown, complete 1984 studio sessions
CHARLES BAUDELAIRE • Les fleurs du mal
SCHLEIMER K • Wounded Wood
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Domestic Pop Deux
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Alfa matrix re:covered vol.2 : a tribute to depeche mode
GRIMES • Halfaxa
DER PLAN • Geri Reig
BUZZ • Buzz Blitz Klub Vol.1 : Dancefloor De La Mort

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + ELECTRO + INDUSTRIAL
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
DIVE • Underneath
NOSTROMO 7 • Existence / Rewired & Reborn
AMORPHOUS • Behaviourism
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Dependence 2015 (next level electronics)
THE GOTHSICLES • Icarius
UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA • live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Echogenetic
THE KLINIK • Eat Your Heart Out

 

Same genre: EBM
STRIKKLAND • Predatorial Right
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Armèn
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition
MISERIA ULTIMA • Graygarden
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
ELM • Death Of The North
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)

Music reviews

06
06
I LIKE TRAINS
The Truth
05
06
GOOD CO
So Pretty
30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
06
D.A.F.
Als wär's das letzte Mal (Boys Noize Remix) - Official Video
06
06
PSYCHE
The Things That Dreams Are Made Of (Party Monster Mix)
05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted