tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : PALE THORNS - Somberland

PALE THORNS

Somberland

MusicCD
AmbientDroneExperimental

[76/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Pale Thorns is the musical solo project of Magnus Lindh from Norrköping, who is part of Skin Area. Call it coincidence (it probably is not), but Cold Meat Industry is the first thing you think of when you hear this debut. Just like many artists on this legendary label, Magnus uses a lot of different (often dark) styles (from field recordings to shoegaze) to create his own world.

A very diverse world, because you hear influences of the 70s (Lightstorm sounds almost like a ritual), sludge metal (the aggressive opener A Downward Spiral) and ambient (the relatively short Through PassedTimes).

Somberland is certainly not an easy album, as it requires a lot of effort from the listener, especially a track like Deserted Highways, which is very experimental.

The fifty minutes of music slowly will eat your soul piece by piece. Each note creeps into your brain, just like a worm that goes deeper and deeper while the victim doesn’t realize what is happening. Mysterious music that does something with your body.

Apart, beautiful, frightening, strange... did we mention it already? For Cold Meat Industry fans!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Pale Thorns is het muzikale soloproject van Magnus Lindh uit Norrköping, die bij Skin Area zit. Noem het toeval (wellicht is het dat niet), maar Cold Meat Industry is het eerste waaraan je denkt als je dit debuut hoort. Net zoals vele artiesten op dit legendarische label, gebruikt ook Magnus heel wat diverse (vaak donkere) stijlen (van fieldrecordings tot shoegaze) om daarmee zijn eigen wereld te scheppen.

Een zeer diverse wereld weliswaar, want je hoort er zowel invloeden van de jaren 70 (Lightstorm klinkt bijna als een ritueel) als sludge metal (de agressieve opener A Downward Spiral) en ambient (het vrij korte Through Passed Times) in.

Somberland is zeker geen gemakkelijke plaat en ze vraagt heel wat inspanningen van de luisteraar, zeker bij een track als Deserted Highways die uiterst experimenteel is.

De vijftig minuten muziek die je op deze release vindt vreet langzaam je ziel weg. Iedere noot kruipt je hersenpan binnen, net als een worm die steeds dieper en dieper gaat zonder dat het slachtoffer beseft wat er zich afspeelt. Mysterieuze muziek die iets met je lichaam doet.

Apart, diepgravend, mooi, beangstigend, vreemd... we hebben het toch al gezegd? Voor Cold Meat Industry-fans!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
JJD (SOFT RIOT) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
MESH • Kill Your Darlings
CLAUDIA NOTTEBELLA (ASH CODE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
STATHIS LEONTIADIS (HUMAN PUPPETS, DORIC) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
THE DUKE SPIRIT • Kin
RATS REST • On The Eastside
S.M. NURSE • S.M. Nurse Top Tape Cassette
DENEUVE • Ugly
CHIRON • We Own The Night

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + DRONE + EXPERIMENTAL
LA MONTE YOUNG & MARIAN ZAZEELA • Dream House 78’ 17”
GRØN • Indland
TROUM & RAISON D’ÊTRE • De Aeris in Sublunario Influxu
MONNIK • Vondeling
ULTRA MILKMAIDS • AMR
SLEW52 • Catalog
EDGAR WAPPENHALTER, URPF LANZE & HELLVETE • Split ep

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination