tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

10/12/2016 : PALE THORNS - Somberland

PALE THORNS

Somberland

MusicCD
AmbientDroneExperimental

[76/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Pale Thorns is the musical solo project of Magnus Lindh from Norrköping, who is part of Skin Area. Call it coincidence (it probably is not), but Cold Meat Industry is the first thing you think of when you hear this debut. Just like many artists on this legendary label, Magnus uses a lot of different (often dark) styles (from field recordings to shoegaze) to create his own world.

A very diverse world, because you hear influences of the 70s (Lightstorm sounds almost like a ritual), sludge metal (the aggressive opener A Downward Spiral) and ambient (the relatively short Through PassedTimes).

Somberland is certainly not an easy album, as it requires a lot of effort from the listener, especially a track like Deserted Highways, which is very experimental.

The fifty minutes of music slowly will eat your soul piece by piece. Each note creeps into your brain, just like a worm that goes deeper and deeper while the victim doesn’t realize what is happening. Mysterious music that does something with your body.

Apart, beautiful, frightening, strange... did we mention it already? For Cold Meat Industry fans!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Pale Thorns is het muzikale soloproject van Magnus Lindh uit Norrköping, die bij Skin Area zit. Noem het toeval (wellicht is het dat niet), maar Cold Meat Industry is het eerste waaraan je denkt als je dit debuut hoort. Net zoals vele artiesten op dit legendarische label, gebruikt ook Magnus heel wat diverse (vaak donkere) stijlen (van fieldrecordings tot shoegaze) om daarmee zijn eigen wereld te scheppen.

Een zeer diverse wereld weliswaar, want je hoort er zowel invloeden van de jaren 70 (Lightstorm klinkt bijna als een ritueel) als sludge metal (de agressieve opener A Downward Spiral) en ambient (het vrij korte Through Passed Times) in.

Somberland is zeker geen gemakkelijke plaat en ze vraagt heel wat inspanningen van de luisteraar, zeker bij een track als Deserted Highways die uiterst experimenteel is.

De vijftig minuten muziek die je op deze release vindt vreet langzaam je ziel weg. Iedere noot kruipt je hersenpan binnen, net als een worm die steeds dieper en dieper gaat zonder dat het slachtoffer beseft wat er zich afspeelt. Mysterieuze muziek die iets met je lichaam doet.

Apart, diepgravend, mooi, beangstigend, vreemd... we hebben het toch al gezegd? Voor Cold Meat Industry-fans!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
JJD (SOFT RIOT) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
MESH • Kill Your Darlings
CLAUDIA NOTTEBELLA (ASH CODE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
STATHIS LEONTIADIS (HUMAN PUPPETS, DORIC) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
THE DUKE SPIRIT • Kin
RATS REST • On The Eastside
S.M. NURSE • S.M. Nurse Top Tape Cassette
DENEUVE • Ugly
CHIRON • We Own The Night

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + DRONE + EXPERIMENTAL
LA MONTE YOUNG & MARIAN ZAZEELA • Dream House 78’ 17”
GRØN • Indland
TROUM & RAISON D’ÊTRE • De Aeris in Sublunario Influxu
MONNIK • Vondeling
ULTRA MILKMAIDS • AMR
SLEW52 • Catalog
EDGAR WAPPENHALTER, URPF LANZE & HELLVETE • Split ep

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BRIAN ENO • The Ship
BE • One

 

Same genre: DRONE
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
EMPUSAE + KLANKDAL • Split album
YODOK III • Legion Of Radiance: Live At Dokkhuset
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
HERMAN NITSCH • (Brussels, Begijnenkerk, 28/02/2016)
JOHN 3:16 • The Burnt Tower/Babylon the Great (EP)

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
LINGOUF • Quatuor Solitaire
GROUP A • 70 + a =
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)

Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
OMD, MIDGE URE and more confirmed at XIV. AMPHI FESTIVAL 2018
17
01
no:carrier drops 'Lovesong' video, a cover of The Cure hit in collaboration with Mills and Nadia S.
31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!
23
12
Exactly one year ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Not the Actual Events'.

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’
19
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
'Everything I've learned I know from records... (though I often misheard the words)'

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
01
IN DEATH IT ENDS
Pomba Gira
18
01
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
17
01
WOUTER DEWIT
La durée. - Strings Version
16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
13
01
VIIII
Fury