tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : PALE THORNS - Somberland

PALE THORNS

Somberland

MusicCD
AmbientDroneExperimental

[76/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Pale Thorns is the musical solo project of Magnus Lindh from Norrköping, who is part of Skin Area. Call it coincidence (it probably is not), but Cold Meat Industry is the first thing you think of when you hear this debut. Just like many artists on this legendary label, Magnus uses a lot of different (often dark) styles (from field recordings to shoegaze) to create his own world.

A very diverse world, because you hear influences of the 70s (Lightstorm sounds almost like a ritual), sludge metal (the aggressive opener A Downward Spiral) and ambient (the relatively short Through PassedTimes).

Somberland is certainly not an easy album, as it requires a lot of effort from the listener, especially a track like Deserted Highways, which is very experimental.

The fifty minutes of music slowly will eat your soul piece by piece. Each note creeps into your brain, just like a worm that goes deeper and deeper while the victim doesn’t realize what is happening. Mysterious music that does something with your body.

Apart, beautiful, frightening, strange... did we mention it already? For Cold Meat Industry fans!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Pale Thorns is het muzikale soloproject van Magnus Lindh uit Norrköping, die bij Skin Area zit. Noem het toeval (wellicht is het dat niet), maar Cold Meat Industry is het eerste waaraan je denkt als je dit debuut hoort. Net zoals vele artiesten op dit legendarische label, gebruikt ook Magnus heel wat diverse (vaak donkere) stijlen (van fieldrecordings tot shoegaze) om daarmee zijn eigen wereld te scheppen.

Een zeer diverse wereld weliswaar, want je hoort er zowel invloeden van de jaren 70 (Lightstorm klinkt bijna als een ritueel) als sludge metal (de agressieve opener A Downward Spiral) en ambient (het vrij korte Through Passed Times) in.

Somberland is zeker geen gemakkelijke plaat en ze vraagt heel wat inspanningen van de luisteraar, zeker bij een track als Deserted Highways die uiterst experimenteel is.

De vijftig minuten muziek die je op deze release vindt vreet langzaam je ziel weg. Iedere noot kruipt je hersenpan binnen, net als een worm die steeds dieper en dieper gaat zonder dat het slachtoffer beseft wat er zich afspeelt. Mysterieuze muziek die iets met je lichaam doet.

Apart, diepgravend, mooi, beangstigend, vreemd... we hebben het toch al gezegd? Voor Cold Meat Industry-fans!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
JJD (SOFT RIOT) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
MESH • Kill Your Darlings
CLAUDIA NOTTEBELLA (ASH CODE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
STATHIS LEONTIADIS (HUMAN PUPPETS, DORIC) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
THE DUKE SPIRIT • Kin
RATS REST • On The Eastside
S.M. NURSE • S.M. Nurse Top Tape Cassette
DENEUVE • Ugly
CHIRON • We Own The Night

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + DRONE + EXPERIMENTAL
LA MONTE YOUNG & MARIAN ZAZEELA • Dream House 78’ 17”
GRØN • Indland
TROUM & RAISON D’ÊTRE • De Aeris in Sublunario Influxu
MONNIK • Vondeling
ULTRA MILKMAIDS • AMR
SLEW52 • Catalog
EDGAR WAPPENHALTER, URPF LANZE & HELLVETE • Split ep

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)