tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : PALE THORNS - Somberland

PALE THORNS

Somberland

MusicCD
AmbientDroneExperimental

[76/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Pale Thorns is the musical solo project of Magnus Lindh from Norrköping, who is part of Skin Area. Call it coincidence (it probably is not), but Cold Meat Industry is the first thing you think of when you hear this debut. Just like many artists on this legendary label, Magnus uses a lot of different (often dark) styles (from field recordings to shoegaze) to create his own world.

A very diverse world, because you hear influences of the 70s (Lightstorm sounds almost like a ritual), sludge metal (the aggressive opener A Downward Spiral) and ambient (the relatively short Through PassedTimes).

Somberland is certainly not an easy album, as it requires a lot of effort from the listener, especially a track like Deserted Highways, which is very experimental.

The fifty minutes of music slowly will eat your soul piece by piece. Each note creeps into your brain, just like a worm that goes deeper and deeper while the victim doesn’t realize what is happening. Mysterious music that does something with your body.

Apart, beautiful, frightening, strange... did we mention it already? For Cold Meat Industry fans!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Pale Thorns is het muzikale soloproject van Magnus Lindh uit Norrköping, die bij Skin Area zit. Noem het toeval (wellicht is het dat niet), maar Cold Meat Industry is het eerste waaraan je denkt als je dit debuut hoort. Net zoals vele artiesten op dit legendarische label, gebruikt ook Magnus heel wat diverse (vaak donkere) stijlen (van fieldrecordings tot shoegaze) om daarmee zijn eigen wereld te scheppen.

Een zeer diverse wereld weliswaar, want je hoort er zowel invloeden van de jaren 70 (Lightstorm klinkt bijna als een ritueel) als sludge metal (de agressieve opener A Downward Spiral) en ambient (het vrij korte Through Passed Times) in.

Somberland is zeker geen gemakkelijke plaat en ze vraagt heel wat inspanningen van de luisteraar, zeker bij een track als Deserted Highways die uiterst experimenteel is.

De vijftig minuten muziek die je op deze release vindt vreet langzaam je ziel weg. Iedere noot kruipt je hersenpan binnen, net als een worm die steeds dieper en dieper gaat zonder dat het slachtoffer beseft wat er zich afspeelt. Mysterieuze muziek die iets met je lichaam doet.

Apart, diepgravend, mooi, beangstigend, vreemd... we hebben het toch al gezegd? Voor Cold Meat Industry-fans!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
JJD (SOFT RIOT) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
MESH • Kill Your Darlings
CLAUDIA NOTTEBELLA (ASH CODE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
STATHIS LEONTIADIS (HUMAN PUPPETS, DORIC) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
THE DUKE SPIRIT • Kin
RATS REST • On The Eastside
S.M. NURSE • S.M. Nurse Top Tape Cassette
DENEUVE • Ugly
CHIRON • We Own The Night

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + DRONE + EXPERIMENTAL
LA MONTE YOUNG & MARIAN ZAZEELA • Dream House 78’ 17”
GRØN • Indland
TROUM & RAISON D’ÊTRE • De Aeris in Sublunario Influxu
MONNIK • Vondeling
ULTRA MILKMAIDS • AMR
SLEW52 • Catalog
EDGAR WAPPENHALTER, URPF LANZE & HELLVETE • Split ep

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
BE • One
EMPUSAE + KLANKDAL • Split album
YODOK III • Legion Of Radiance: Live At Dokkhuset
ONEIROGEN • Convivium

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People

Music reviews

20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me