tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : PALE THORNS - Somberland

PALE THORNS

Somberland

MusicCD
AmbientDroneExperimental

[76/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Pale Thorns is the musical solo project of Magnus Lindh from Norrköping, who is part of Skin Area. Call it coincidence (it probably is not), but Cold Meat Industry is the first thing you think of when you hear this debut. Just like many artists on this legendary label, Magnus uses a lot of different (often dark) styles (from field recordings to shoegaze) to create his own world.

A very diverse world, because you hear influences of the 70s (Lightstorm sounds almost like a ritual), sludge metal (the aggressive opener A Downward Spiral) and ambient (the relatively short Through PassedTimes).

Somberland is certainly not an easy album, as it requires a lot of effort from the listener, especially a track like Deserted Highways, which is very experimental.

The fifty minutes of music slowly will eat your soul piece by piece. Each note creeps into your brain, just like a worm that goes deeper and deeper while the victim doesn’t realize what is happening. Mysterious music that does something with your body.

Apart, beautiful, frightening, strange... did we mention it already? For Cold Meat Industry fans!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Pale Thorns is het muzikale soloproject van Magnus Lindh uit Norrköping, die bij Skin Area zit. Noem het toeval (wellicht is het dat niet), maar Cold Meat Industry is het eerste waaraan je denkt als je dit debuut hoort. Net zoals vele artiesten op dit legendarische label, gebruikt ook Magnus heel wat diverse (vaak donkere) stijlen (van fieldrecordings tot shoegaze) om daarmee zijn eigen wereld te scheppen.

Een zeer diverse wereld weliswaar, want je hoort er zowel invloeden van de jaren 70 (Lightstorm klinkt bijna als een ritueel) als sludge metal (de agressieve opener A Downward Spiral) en ambient (het vrij korte Through Passed Times) in.

Somberland is zeker geen gemakkelijke plaat en ze vraagt heel wat inspanningen van de luisteraar, zeker bij een track als Deserted Highways die uiterst experimenteel is.

De vijftig minuten muziek die je op deze release vindt vreet langzaam je ziel weg. Iedere noot kruipt je hersenpan binnen, net als een worm die steeds dieper en dieper gaat zonder dat het slachtoffer beseft wat er zich afspeelt. Mysterieuze muziek die iets met je lichaam doet.

Apart, diepgravend, mooi, beangstigend, vreemd... we hebben het toch al gezegd? Voor Cold Meat Industry-fans!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
JJD (SOFT RIOT) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
MESH • Kill Your Darlings
CLAUDIA NOTTEBELLA (ASH CODE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
STATHIS LEONTIADIS (HUMAN PUPPETS, DORIC) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
THE DUKE SPIRIT • Kin
RATS REST • On The Eastside
S.M. NURSE • S.M. Nurse Top Tape Cassette
DENEUVE • Ugly
CHIRON • We Own The Night

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + DRONE + EXPERIMENTAL
LA MONTE YOUNG & MARIAN ZAZEELA • Dream House 78’ 17”
GRØN • Indland
TROUM & RAISON D’ÊTRE • De Aeris in Sublunario Influxu
MONNIK • Vondeling
ULTRA MILKMAIDS • AMR
SLEW52 • Catalog
EDGAR WAPPENHALTER, URPF LANZE & HELLVETE • Split ep

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One
EMPUSAE + KLANKDAL • Split album
YODOK III • Legion Of Radiance: Live At Dokkhuset

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!
06
12
'Write When You Get Work': L.A. opening with special Q&A on December 7, 2018!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.
17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
04
12
BLUTENGEL
Soul Of Ice