tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

PAOLO VIRZI

Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Movie
Drama
Filmfest Gent
22/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

In a way we really hate to say it, just because we want our own brothers Dardenne to win, but for us the Oscar from 2015 can be given again to Italy as Il Capitale Umano is really superb. Just like La Grande Bellezza by Paolo Sorrentino, this movie reminds of the big grandeur of Federico Fellini. It surely is not a coincidence that this movie is played at the FilmFest Ghent as there is until January a big exposition about the Italian master.

Just like Fellini, Paolo Virzì criticises and jokes with the upper rich. Virzì tells the story from a tragic accident. A bike rider is the victim of a hit and run-accident. While the man is in a deep coma, the police searches for the chauffeur. But who is he or she? Does he belong to the upper class or is he a poor one? And how do all those people react? The movie is both a Hitchcockian thriller and a bitter parody to the Italian society, even if the film is based upon an American book by Stephen Amidon. But then again I guess you find arrogant rich people everywhere!

Il Capitale Umano (The Human Capital) is a movie that sticks to your pants. It’s a bitter, but extremely intelligent comedy about the decline of today’s society. The Italian cinema is reborn, and of course with our excuses to our brothers in Liège.

The movie is also out in the UK-theatres through Arrow.

Didier BECU
22/10/2014


NL

We zeggen het niet graag luidop, want we gunnen het onze broertjes Dardenne net iets te veel, maar wat ons betreft mag Italië in 2015 voor een tweede keer de Oscar halen. Il Capitale Umano wordt in 2015 veronderstelt te doen wat La Grande Bellezza van Paolo Sorrentino dit jaar deed. Het is al lang geen geheim meer dat de Italiaanse cinema het na zijn (iets te lange) dip weer uitstekend boert. Het is trouwens ook geen verrassing dat deze film in Gent wordt vertoond, want van de regisseur wiens naam je na enkele minuten prevelt (die van Federico Fellini dus) loopt er tot in januari een zeer interessante tentoonstelling.

Net als de Italiaanse grootmeester drijft Paolo Virzì de spot met de heersende klasse. Hij doet dit aan de hand van een tragisch ongeluk waarbij een fietser in coma raakt en de dader vluchtmisdrijf pleegt. De dader kan zowel bij de arme als bij de hogere klasse zitten. Paolo Virzì maakt van zijn film tegelijkertijd een Hitchcockiaanse thriller en een parodie op de superrijke Italianen, ofschoon de film is gebaseerd op een roman van de Amerikaanse auteur Stephen Amidon. Nu ja, de arrogantie van deze lui is nu ook eenmaal een universeel gegeven.

Il Capitale Umano (Het Menselijk Kapitaal) is een film die aan je broek blijft plakken. Een bittere, maar vooral intelligente komedie over de verloedering van de maatschappij. De Italiaanse cinema is herboren, met onze oprechte excuses aan de broers uit Luik.

Didier BECU
22/10/2014


22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)