tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

PAOLO VIRZI

Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Movie
Drama
Filmfest Gent
22/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

In a way we really hate to say it, just because we want our own brothers Dardenne to win, but for us the Oscar from 2015 can be given again to Italy as Il Capitale Umano is really superb. Just like La Grande Bellezza by Paolo Sorrentino, this movie reminds of the big grandeur of Federico Fellini. It surely is not a coincidence that this movie is played at the FilmFest Ghent as there is until January a big exposition about the Italian master.

Just like Fellini, Paolo Virzì criticises and jokes with the upper rich. Virzì tells the story from a tragic accident. A bike rider is the victim of a hit and run-accident. While the man is in a deep coma, the police searches for the chauffeur. But who is he or she? Does he belong to the upper class or is he a poor one? And how do all those people react? The movie is both a Hitchcockian thriller and a bitter parody to the Italian society, even if the film is based upon an American book by Stephen Amidon. But then again I guess you find arrogant rich people everywhere!

Il Capitale Umano (The Human Capital) is a movie that sticks to your pants. It’s a bitter, but extremely intelligent comedy about the decline of today’s society. The Italian cinema is reborn, and of course with our excuses to our brothers in Liège.

The movie is also out in the UK-theatres through Arrow.

Didier BECU
22/10/2014


NL

We zeggen het niet graag luidop, want we gunnen het onze broertjes Dardenne net iets te veel, maar wat ons betreft mag Italië in 2015 voor een tweede keer de Oscar halen. Il Capitale Umano wordt in 2015 veronderstelt te doen wat La Grande Bellezza van Paolo Sorrentino dit jaar deed. Het is al lang geen geheim meer dat de Italiaanse cinema het na zijn (iets te lange) dip weer uitstekend boert. Het is trouwens ook geen verrassing dat deze film in Gent wordt vertoond, want van de regisseur wiens naam je na enkele minuten prevelt (die van Federico Fellini dus) loopt er tot in januari een zeer interessante tentoonstelling.

Net als de Italiaanse grootmeester drijft Paolo Virzì de spot met de heersende klasse. Hij doet dit aan de hand van een tragisch ongeluk waarbij een fietser in coma raakt en de dader vluchtmisdrijf pleegt. De dader kan zowel bij de arme als bij de hogere klasse zitten. Paolo Virzì maakt van zijn film tegelijkertijd een Hitchcockiaanse thriller en een parodie op de superrijke Italianen, ofschoon de film is gebaseerd op een roman van de Amerikaanse auteur Stephen Amidon. Nu ja, de arrogantie van deze lui is nu ook eenmaal een universeel gegeven.

Il Capitale Umano (Het Menselijk Kapitaal) is een film die aan je broek blijft plakken. Een bittere, maar vooral intelligente komedie over de verloedering van de maatschappij. De Italiaanse cinema is herboren, met onze oprechte excuses aan de broers uit Luik.

Didier BECU
22/10/2014


22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
10
Producer & This Mortal Coil co-founder John Fryer releases 'These Mortal Covers' LP!
28
10
43 years Never Mind The Bollocks!
28
10
On this day, 32 years ago, Front 242 released Front By Front!
24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
10
VIOLENT VICKIE
Under The Gun
29
10
STACIAN
Telephonix
28
10
PSY'AVIAH
Reboot Reset Relay
27
10
NO MORE
Turnaround
26
10
DEVO
Beautiful World
25
10
DIE KRUPPS
To The Hilt
24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit