tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

PAOLO VIRZI

Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Movie
Drama
Filmfest Gent
22/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

In a way we really hate to say it, just because we want our own brothers Dardenne to win, but for us the Oscar from 2015 can be given again to Italy as Il Capitale Umano is really superb. Just like La Grande Bellezza by Paolo Sorrentino, this movie reminds of the big grandeur of Federico Fellini. It surely is not a coincidence that this movie is played at the FilmFest Ghent as there is until January a big exposition about the Italian master.

Just like Fellini, Paolo Virzì criticises and jokes with the upper rich. Virzì tells the story from a tragic accident. A bike rider is the victim of a hit and run-accident. While the man is in a deep coma, the police searches for the chauffeur. But who is he or she? Does he belong to the upper class or is he a poor one? And how do all those people react? The movie is both a Hitchcockian thriller and a bitter parody to the Italian society, even if the film is based upon an American book by Stephen Amidon. But then again I guess you find arrogant rich people everywhere!

Il Capitale Umano (The Human Capital) is a movie that sticks to your pants. It’s a bitter, but extremely intelligent comedy about the decline of today’s society. The Italian cinema is reborn, and of course with our excuses to our brothers in Liège.

The movie is also out in the UK-theatres through Arrow.

Didier BECU
22/10/2014


NL

We zeggen het niet graag luidop, want we gunnen het onze broertjes Dardenne net iets te veel, maar wat ons betreft mag Italië in 2015 voor een tweede keer de Oscar halen. Il Capitale Umano wordt in 2015 veronderstelt te doen wat La Grande Bellezza van Paolo Sorrentino dit jaar deed. Het is al lang geen geheim meer dat de Italiaanse cinema het na zijn (iets te lange) dip weer uitstekend boert. Het is trouwens ook geen verrassing dat deze film in Gent wordt vertoond, want van de regisseur wiens naam je na enkele minuten prevelt (die van Federico Fellini dus) loopt er tot in januari een zeer interessante tentoonstelling.

Net als de Italiaanse grootmeester drijft Paolo Virzì de spot met de heersende klasse. Hij doet dit aan de hand van een tragisch ongeluk waarbij een fietser in coma raakt en de dader vluchtmisdrijf pleegt. De dader kan zowel bij de arme als bij de hogere klasse zitten. Paolo Virzì maakt van zijn film tegelijkertijd een Hitchcockiaanse thriller en een parodie op de superrijke Italianen, ofschoon de film is gebaseerd op een roman van de Amerikaanse auteur Stephen Amidon. Nu ja, de arrogantie van deze lui is nu ook eenmaal een universeel gegeven.

Il Capitale Umano (Het Menselijk Kapitaal) is een film die aan je broek blijft plakken. Een bittere, maar vooral intelligente komedie over de verloedering van de maatschappij. De Italiaanse cinema is herboren, met onze oprechte excuses aan de broers uit Luik.

Didier BECU
22/10/2014


22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
07
This month it’s 28 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
07
VIOLENT VICKIE
Dark Disorder
09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)