tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

19/08/2011 : PAPA TOPO - La Chica Vampira

PAPA TOPO

La Chica Vampira

MusicVinyl
IndiePop

[80/100]   
19/08/2011, Dennis OHRT

Hands up, if you can name some important bands from Mallorca? None... okay, I can understand that (neither can't I...), as the Balearic Island is not that well known on the musical map of the world.

Things can change though and you should take out your pen and write down the name of PAPA TOPO. Already with their first 7", 'Oso Panda', the duo have made themselves a name and that was, when I first came across the band more or less by coincidence while watching the video on a Spanish TV channel.

Now Adrià and Paulita offer us a new 7". 'La Chica Vampira' takes a sidestep from the rather indiepop of the debut and comes across way more punky. Add distorted vocals to the guitars in the verse before the song reaches the singalong chorus. Fans of Helen Love should definitely give it a go, whether you understand Spanish or not.
The second track 'Capuchias De Lluvia' starts as a sweet summer pop song before distorted guitarlines almost in shoegaze-style enter the scene. Duet vocals and the trademark glockenspiel round off the song. All those different aspects, clearly show the potential of the band.

Dennis OHRT
19/08/2011


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
03
No Time To Cry since 36 years!
08
03
Today, exactly 27 years ago, American industrial band Nine Inch Nails released The Downward Spiral!
07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
03
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You