tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

04/09/2015 : PAPERFACE - Out Of Time

PAPERFACE

Out Of Time

MusicCD
Indie

[80/100]   

Daydream Records
04/09/2015, Paul PLEDGER

From the opening string-drenched moments of opener Amsterdam, it becomes apparent that Paperface is another purveyor of descriptive majestic pop in the vein of Divine Comedy, Lilac Time, Aqualung and Richard Hawley.

Out of Time is the result of lone acoustic sessions in his converted lighthouse studio by the Thames, group rehearsals and try-outs with a band in various places and sweeping re-arrangements with an orchestra in Prague. Paperface's identity may be nigh on impossible to deduce (most of his Instagram selfies feature the back of his hat) but his intentions seem clear enough - to craft something timeless that might just stand the test of time when other songwriters are lined up against a wall in front of a firing squad for their previous demeanours. The bullets certainly won't be reaching this fella.

Amsterdam is just the beginning of the journey. Recent vinyl single A Better Man is just as redolent of melancholy lyrically and joyous in melody, with couplets like "...cos I used to dream that I'd take over the world one day/ but I guess for most of us, it's a chauffeur-driven bus..." while the plaintive weepie Alison is as unrequited as its subject, though infinitely more loveable. And if ever there was a song that captured the emptiness of consumerism, it's the closing, and beautifully orchestrated, Holy Water.

It would be churlish to write Paperface off as a bitter navel-gazing misery on some huge self-effacing downer to the highest cliff-face, but one can't help feeling that the best songs, the real heartstring-tuggers, get written in solitude these days. Of course, things do liven up a tad on the likes of Passer By and We Went To Nice but this is an album that puts its arms around you rather than parties hard and throws up in your shoes.

Ten years work, says the blurb. Worth the wait, says this reviewer.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
04/09/2015


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis