tempobet yeni adresi
like this cassette review

24/02/2013 : PARADE GROUND - A ROOM WITH A VIEW

PARADE GROUND

A ROOM WITH A VIEW

MusicCassette
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[99/100]   

Other Voices Records
24/02/2013, Didier BECU

We’re living in a strange world. In an ideal world people should kiss the feet from Pierre and Jean-Marc Pauly. Not because these brothers are fond of foot fetishism (at least I’m not aware of it), but simply because together they form Parade Ground, the best Belgian band ever. Or do I have to change this into “one of the best bands in the world”? Yes, not only does it sound better this way, it’s also closer to the truth.

And yet, despite all these great words, they’re also the most ignored band from this country (or if you want, from the world). We don’t want to repeat their history in every review we’re writing, but the world needs to know that these two guys were involved in the early history of Front 242 (and so they’re also responsible for the EBM-sound).

Pierre and Jean-Marc went their own way. In the 80’s they created the most strange synthpop you can think of. I personally love to describe their sound as schizophrenic synthpop with a suicidal twist and an inner voice tells me I’m on the right track.

The band still exists (you’ll soon read an interview in our pages) but somewhere they’re the victims of their own ingenuity as people always go back to their early recordings. After the release of their second (unreleased) album on Dirk Ivens’ label Minimal Maximal, we dive a bit deeper into the cellar of the Pauly-family. A Room With A View is a tape (yes, a tape!) released on the Russian label Other Voices Records. The tape features eight tracks which were recorded at the Light Studios in Brussels in 1998.

In all honesty, it really makes me sad that these eight gems are released on some tape (not even mentioning that it’s limited to 50 copies) as this deserves so much better. But then again, someone bothers to release it, so why complain?

The eight songs have the typical Parade Ground-sound of the 80’s. The core of the songs is quite poppy (there’s even a Depeche Modes-touch in it), but the boys destroy the pop by adding their twisted minds to it. There’s the imperfect (but astonishing) voice from Jean-Marc and those weird synths.

A Room With A View sounds like the greatest hits which they unfortunately never had, while the irresistible Conquerors is added with that typical Wire-sound. Crying Over Them is simply one of the best new wave classics you’ll ever hear. Miss Ivory Girl the most beautiful anthem an ivory girl (whatever that is!) can think of, while Me In My Love is a minimal wave-pearl.

A Room With A View is a collection of eight splendid pop songs. Tunes that are created to smash your head against the wall. Pop for people who hate pop.

Unmissable, but just remember that there are only 50 copies of this tape in the world.

Didier BECU
24/02/2013


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)