tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

12/06/2014 : PARADE GROUND - Strange World

PARADE GROUND

Strange World

MusicCD
Analogue SynthCold WaveEBMElectro PopExperimentalHorrorNew wavePopPost RockPunkSynth WaveSynthpopUnclassifiable

[99/100]   

Infacted Recordings
12/06/2014, Didier BECU

I’m going to say something that I’m not supposed to. Things that reviewers normally don’t say, but then again I know I’m reviewing a band who avoid normal things. Why? Simply, because ordinary things make no sense. It’s not because you can paint a horse that you’re making art, if you get my point.


It’s already been some years ago that I listened to new bands. Well, once in a while something slips through my fingers as I’m supposed to write something about it, but generally speaking I don’t care. I know, words you don’t expect from a reviewer. But it’s simply because with Parade Ground I experienced it all. If people ask me which band is my favourite, I simply answer Parade Ground. Mind you, most of them never heard from them.


Why? Because they are the best band around? Nah, even the lads from R.E.M. or for God’s sake Eric Clapton are better musicians than them. Technically speaking Jean-Marc Pauly and Pierre Pauly are amateurs. But, they do something others don’t. Carving something in the mind. There are times I simply avoid their music, just because it hurts too much. It makes me cry, makes me bang with my head to the wall, looking for a knife…their music evokes feelings in me from which I hope I have never had. Clapton or Dylan never could do that, Jean-Marc Pauly and Pierre Pauly can.


Of course, and here starts the tragedy, their music is only known by a handful of people. It even happens that people say: hey, Parade Ground isn’t that this synthpopband with those weird vocals? Well, true as long as you categorize them as synthpop for melancholic lunatics. In the meantime their stuff is hard to find. Their records were released on PIAS and they were, along with Trisomie 21 and Dole, the best thing the label had to offer. But the label got bigger and Parade Ground sadly enough smaller.


Sometimes it happens that people ask me if Parade Ground are still around. They are and their synthpop has simply become synthnoise, now it's for schizophrenics who can’t decide between live and death.

Just like Dark Entries some years ago, Infacted now have dig up their old recordings and put them on a CD called Strange World. It’s limited to 1000 copies and it’s a part of their EBM-classics series. Is it a good one? If you know tracks like Moans, Strange World, Gold Rush or Action Replay then you know the answer. And there’s more, there are some live versions (Hollywood or Gold Rush) and a collection of rare songs on here. So no, it’s not good, it’s brilliant.

But, apart from giving this review the maximum of points, it’s also a collection of old songs. Songs that are timeless, classics as they say.

I mean, Parade Ground are still going and they’re working on a new album. In all honesty, I’m afraid to listen to it. It will twist my mind, shake my body….and I’m afraid that I will crawl back to the medicine box. But then again, art hurts. Told you that this was going to be a special review. Normally a reviewer doesn’t tell personal things when talking about a band. With Parade Ground I do, simply because my life would have been completely different without them. Better or worse? Schizophrenics can’t answer such questions…

Didier BECU
12/06/2014


 

Next reviews
IN SLAUGHTER NATIVES • Cannula Coma Legio
LARS VON TRIER • Nymphomaniac
NO:CARRIER • Wisom & Failure
NIC PIZZOLATTO • True Detective
PRESTON STURGES • Sullivan's Travels
BELLY • CLASSICS: King
VERSUS YOU • Moving on
FIREFORCE • Deathbringer
BEN STILLER • The secret life of Walter Mitty
TANZWUT • Eselsmesse

 

Other reviews from PARADE GROUND
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
PARADE GROUND • Parade Ground
PARADE GROUND • Cut up
PARADE GROUND • A ROOM WITH A VIEW
PARADE GROUND • A Room With a View
PARADE GROUND • The Golden Years

 

Same genre: ANALOGUE SYNTH
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
VARIOUS ARISTS • Liasons Dangereuses
EL GUERRILLERO ROJO • Manifiesto LP 1983-1984
SCHONWALD • Between Parallel Lights
METAL DISCO • Unearthly Vices
CLAUS FOVEA • Cyanide/King Ludd
NÖVÖ • Zeitgeist
ALLES • Post
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
DER KLINKE • Decade
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
WHISPERING SONS • Image

 

Same genre: EBM
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull

 

Same genre: HORROR
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
MY OWN SORROW • Entity
ORGAN • Tetro
JEFF BAENA • Life After Beth
LEIGH WHANNELL • Insidious: Chapter 3
JENNIFER KENT • The Babadook
MICHAEL WADLEIGH • Wolfen
MARINO GIROLAMI • Zombi Holocaust
JOE DANTE • Burying The Ex
• INTRUDERS - SEASON 1

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
THE NAMES • German Nights

 

Same genre: POP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

 

Same genre: PUNK
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE SPECIALS • Encore
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
ENZO KREFT • Control
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
MALA HERBA • Demo

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
APHEX TWIN • Syro

Music reviews

16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS
06
01
KMFDM
Paradise

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
11
01
On this day 35 years ago, Nina Hagen performed in front of 1,5 million people on the first edition of world’s biggest festivals Rock in Rio (Brazil).
10
01
Lair Of The Dark Prince | Lou Reed's New York At 31

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.
11
01
CHRIS HASKETT (ROLLINS BAND)
'Musicians are more like radios that occasionally pick up and reproduce things from the cosmos.'
10
01
EVA - X
An Interview With Synthpop Act EVA - X

PHOTOS

26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest
26
12
REIN
Bimfest
26
12
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
bimfest
26
12
STURM CAFE
bimfest
26
12
RADERKRAFT
bimfest
26
12
ZWEITE JUGEND
Bimfest
26
12
ENZO KREFT
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing
13
01
VOK
Waterfall
12
01
KLANGSTABIL
You may start