tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

12/06/2014 : PARADE GROUND - Strange World

PARADE GROUND

Strange World

MusicCD
Analogue SynthCold WaveEBMElectro PopExperimentalHorrorNew wavePopPost RockPunkSynth WaveSynthpopUnclassifiable

[99/100]   

Infacted Recordings
12/06/2014, Didier BECU

I’m going to say something that I’m not supposed to. Things that reviewers normally don’t say, but then again I know I’m reviewing a band who avoid normal things. Why? Simply, because ordinary things make no sense. It’s not because you can paint a horse that you’re making art, if you get my point.


It’s already been some years ago that I listened to new bands. Well, once in a while something slips through my fingers as I’m supposed to write something about it, but generally speaking I don’t care. I know, words you don’t expect from a reviewer. But it’s simply because with Parade Ground I experienced it all. If people ask me which band is my favourite, I simply answer Parade Ground. Mind you, most of them never heard from them.


Why? Because they are the best band around? Nah, even the lads from R.E.M. or for God’s sake Eric Clapton are better musicians than them. Technically speaking Jean-Marc Pauly and Pierre Pauly are amateurs. But, they do something others don’t. Carving something in the mind. There are times I simply avoid their music, just because it hurts too much. It makes me cry, makes me bang with my head to the wall, looking for a knife…their music evokes feelings in me from which I hope I have never had. Clapton or Dylan never could do that, Jean-Marc Pauly and Pierre Pauly can.


Of course, and here starts the tragedy, their music is only known by a handful of people. It even happens that people say: hey, Parade Ground isn’t that this synthpopband with those weird vocals? Well, true as long as you categorize them as synthpop for melancholic lunatics. In the meantime their stuff is hard to find. Their records were released on PIAS and they were, along with Trisomie 21 and Dole, the best thing the label had to offer. But the label got bigger and Parade Ground sadly enough smaller.


Sometimes it happens that people ask me if Parade Ground are still around. They are and their synthpop has simply become synthnoise, now it's for schizophrenics who can’t decide between live and death.

Just like Dark Entries some years ago, Infacted now have dig up their old recordings and put them on a CD called Strange World. It’s limited to 1000 copies and it’s a part of their EBM-classics series. Is it a good one? If you know tracks like Moans, Strange World, Gold Rush or Action Replay then you know the answer. And there’s more, there are some live versions (Hollywood or Gold Rush) and a collection of rare songs on here. So no, it’s not good, it’s brilliant.

But, apart from giving this review the maximum of points, it’s also a collection of old songs. Songs that are timeless, classics as they say.

I mean, Parade Ground are still going and they’re working on a new album. In all honesty, I’m afraid to listen to it. It will twist my mind, shake my body….and I’m afraid that I will crawl back to the medicine box. But then again, art hurts. Told you that this was going to be a special review. Normally a reviewer doesn’t tell personal things when talking about a band. With Parade Ground I do, simply because my life would have been completely different without them. Better or worse? Schizophrenics can’t answer such questions…

Didier BECU
12/06/2014


 

Next reviews
IN SLAUGHTER NATIVES • Cannula Coma Legio
LARS VON TRIER • Nymphomaniac
NO:CARRIER • Wisom & Failure
NIC PIZZOLATTO • True Detective
PRESTON STURGES • Sullivan's Travels
BELLY • CLASSICS: King
VERSUS YOU • Moving on
FIREFORCE • Deathbringer
BEN STILLER • The secret life of Walter Mitty
TANZWUT • Eselsmesse

 

Other reviews from PARADE GROUND
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
PARADE GROUND • Parade Ground
PARADE GROUND • Cut up
PARADE GROUND • A ROOM WITH A VIEW
PARADE GROUND • A Room With a View
PARADE GROUND • The Golden Years

 

Same genre: ANALOGUE SYNTH
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
VARIOUS ARISTS • Liasons Dangereuses
EL GUERRILLERO ROJO • Manifiesto LP 1983-1984
SCHONWALD • Between Parallel Lights
METAL DISCO • Unearthly Vices
CLAUS FOVEA • Cyanide/King Ludd
NÖVÖ • Zeitgeist
ALLES • Post
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
SYGO CRIES • In Outside Places
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy

 

Same genre: EBM
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7 • EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
WULF7 • I don't want (Anymore)
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti

 

Same genre: HORROR
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
MY OWN SORROW • Entity
ORGAN • Tetro
JEFF BAENA • Life After Beth
LEIGH WHANNELL • Insidious: Chapter 3
JENNIFER KENT • The Babadook
MICHAEL WADLEIGH • Wolfen
MARINO GIROLAMI • Zombi Holocaust
JOE DANTE • Burying The Ex
• INTRUDERS - SEASON 1

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
A SLICE OF LIFE • Tabula Rasa
THIS VALE OF TEARS • This Vale Of Tears
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box

 

Same genre: POP
DEZ MONA • LOOSE ENDS
DEMI LOVATO • HOLY FVCK
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
DEZ MONA & B.O.X • LUCY
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities

 

Same genre: PUNK
THE PULSEBEATS • LOOKIN’ OUT
SONNY VINCENT • Shake Pit Therapy
THE HEAT INC. • EP
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE SPECIALS • Encore
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
STAATSEINDE • Fehlerlinie
PARADOX OBSCUR • Intercourse
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
VANGUARD • Spectrum
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
ERASURE • THE NEON
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
APHEX TWIN • Syro

Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
Today it's exactly 42 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
41 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 41 years ago!
26
11
40 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
31 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 39 Years Old Today

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace

PHOTOS

25
11
QNTAL
Christuskirche Bochum
24
11
THE CURE
Sportpaleis Antwerpen
18
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Porta Nigra Autumn Passage
18
11
HEILUNG
Ruhrcongress Bochum
18
11
EIVOR
Ruhrcongress Bochum
18
11
LILI REFRAIN
Ruhrcongress Bochum
15
11
VERSENGOLD
Ruhrcongress Bochum

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
11
WHISPERING SONS
The most beautiful Rock Rally-moment ever....
26
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Sense
25
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
11
DARK POEM
Too Dark To See
23
11
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
(Let's Get) Physical
22
11
DOUBLE ECHO
Ancient Youth
21
11
NABTA
Drop The Mask