tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

21/07/2011 : PARADE GROUND - The Golden Years

PARADE GROUND

The Golden Years

MusicVinyl
Cold WaveMinimalNew waveSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[96/100]   

Dark Entries Records
21/07/2011, Didier BECU

What makes a band outstanding? Their skills? Surprised by how good they handle their instruments? You know what, to extol such bands just because of that, when they are nothing but boring bands. There's nothing wrong if a certain note is misplayed, as it's passion that matters and if you ask me which band is the most passionate in this world, I'll answer Parade Ground.

I don't know if I have to feel pity for them or not as they might be adored by a handful of people, but that's little comfort if you think they should be hailed as Gods.

The story of the brothers Pauly started somewhere in the early 80's with Daniel B. of Front 242 as their "big brother". Armed with a cheap synthesizer and a guitar, Parade Ground ended up on New Dance Records which, back then, was the label of both Daniel and Patrick Codenys.

The story went on to PIAS, which was back then the haven from Belgian talents and armed with the friendship of Wire-frontman Colin Newman, Parade Ground recorded an album.

What exactly happened afterwards is beyond us and not really our business, but those two brothers disappeared like so many bands till they were reincarnated with "Rosary" which was released in 2007. Literally a monster of an album, as it was soon clear that Parade Ground was nothing but vomit. I'm not saying this out of disrespect but when talking with Pierre I knew exactly what he meant with vomit as it's indeed something dirty, but also something which your body can't hold and so I tend to see Parade Ground as vomit, the spit of frustration that's formed by a society who makes it impossible for its residents.

The band also shows this on stage as seeing a gig by them is like entering some unknown danger zone with Pierre going out of his mind. Every gig you see him standing drenched in blood caused by smashing his microphone into his forehead. Not a very sane thing, you say? You're right but that's Parade Ground for you: kicking your mind and leaving you bewildered.

Today, Parade Ground are back more than ever before. In Belgium they celebrate this with their own Body Farm Festival and it's a relief to see that Dark Entries Records also embraced this mighty duo by releasing "The Golden years" which generally can be seen as a 'Best of', which also contains some unfindable recordings.

Opening song "I Shut My Eyes" was originally released on an obscure compilation album named "Nationale Rockmeeting" and their coldwave-sound has definitely been inspired by "Seventeen Seconds".

"Moan On The Sly" kind of breathes this out but the twisted synthetic sounds were already born as those analogue synths were like a cry for help.

"Retired" is a disco song for the outsiders of society while "Fall Incognito" is the type of song where they can experiment with their synths and yes, who was that woman who did the gorgeous intro on "She Took Advantage"? The sole lovesong they ever wrote and even their romantic world is mixed with vomit.

On the B-side you have a collection of their PIAS bestsellers with "Gold Rush" still sounding like one of the most refreshing synthpop tunes ever!

"Moans" has the help of Colin Newman and it's indeed a bit similar to the twisted synthpop the Wire frontman made when he was spending his time in Brussels.

Is it a coincidence they end this album with "Hollywood"? Suggesting perhaps what they should have been stars? In 2011 they're still not but those who know them, cherish them and have no problem in saying that they belong to the cream of the crop in Belgium.

A mighty release from one of the sole bands that really mattered/matters.

TRACKLIST :

A1 I Shut My Eyes
A2 Moan On The Sly
A3 Retired
A4 Fall Incognito
A5 Moral Support
A6 Took Advantage
B1 Gold Rush
B2 Action Replay
B3 Moans
B4 Strange World
B5 Hollywood

Didier BECU
21/07/2011


 

Next reviews
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Stahl Disko
KARBU38 • tour de chauffe
THE SHORTWAVE MYSTERY • Signals from Afar
YOU • Time Code
HAUS ARAFNA • New York Rhapsody
• Amphi Festival 2011 | Out Of The Rain
NORTHERN KIND • Euphonic / Dreams
ACCESSORY • Underbeat
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Born///Evolve///Progress///3
GRAURAUM • Shades

 

Other reviews from PARADE GROUND
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
PARADE GROUND • Parade Ground
PARADE GROUND • Cut up
PARADE GROUND • Strange World
PARADE GROUND • A ROOM WITH A VIEW
PARADE GROUND • A Room With a View

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
WHISPERING SONS • Image
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
MALA HERBA • Demo
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
PARRALOX • Subculture
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
DICEPEOPLE • Synthetic

Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, exactly 9 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex on Major Records!
22
01
This month 47 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
21
01
Today, exactly 26 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
MILA MAR
Haime
21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life