tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

21/07/2011 : PARADE GROUND - The Golden Years

PARADE GROUND

The Golden Years

MusicVinyl
Cold WaveMinimalNew waveSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[96/100]   

Dark Entries Records
21/07/2011, Didier BECU

What makes a band outstanding? Their skills? Surprised by how good they handle their instruments? You know what, to extol such bands just because of that, when they are nothing but boring bands. There's nothing wrong if a certain note is misplayed, as it's passion that matters and if you ask me which band is the most passionate in this world, I'll answer Parade Ground.

I don't know if I have to feel pity for them or not as they might be adored by a handful of people, but that's little comfort if you think they should be hailed as Gods.

The story of the brothers Pauly started somewhere in the early 80's with Daniel B. of Front 242 as their "big brother". Armed with a cheap synthesizer and a guitar, Parade Ground ended up on New Dance Records which, back then, was the label of both Daniel and Patrick Codenys.

The story went on to PIAS, which was back then the haven from Belgian talents and armed with the friendship of Wire-frontman Colin Newman, Parade Ground recorded an album.

What exactly happened afterwards is beyond us and not really our business, but those two brothers disappeared like so many bands till they were reincarnated with "Rosary" which was released in 2007. Literally a monster of an album, as it was soon clear that Parade Ground was nothing but vomit. I'm not saying this out of disrespect but when talking with Pierre I knew exactly what he meant with vomit as it's indeed something dirty, but also something which your body can't hold and so I tend to see Parade Ground as vomit, the spit of frustration that's formed by a society who makes it impossible for its residents.

The band also shows this on stage as seeing a gig by them is like entering some unknown danger zone with Pierre going out of his mind. Every gig you see him standing drenched in blood caused by smashing his microphone into his forehead. Not a very sane thing, you say? You're right but that's Parade Ground for you: kicking your mind and leaving you bewildered.

Today, Parade Ground are back more than ever before. In Belgium they celebrate this with their own Body Farm Festival and it's a relief to see that Dark Entries Records also embraced this mighty duo by releasing "The Golden years" which generally can be seen as a 'Best of', which also contains some unfindable recordings.

Opening song "I Shut My Eyes" was originally released on an obscure compilation album named "Nationale Rockmeeting" and their coldwave-sound has definitely been inspired by "Seventeen Seconds".

"Moan On The Sly" kind of breathes this out but the twisted synthetic sounds were already born as those analogue synths were like a cry for help.

"Retired" is a disco song for the outsiders of society while "Fall Incognito" is the type of song where they can experiment with their synths and yes, who was that woman who did the gorgeous intro on "She Took Advantage"? The sole lovesong they ever wrote and even their romantic world is mixed with vomit.

On the B-side you have a collection of their PIAS bestsellers with "Gold Rush" still sounding like one of the most refreshing synthpop tunes ever!

"Moans" has the help of Colin Newman and it's indeed a bit similar to the twisted synthpop the Wire frontman made when he was spending his time in Brussels.

Is it a coincidence they end this album with "Hollywood"? Suggesting perhaps what they should have been stars? In 2011 they're still not but those who know them, cherish them and have no problem in saying that they belong to the cream of the crop in Belgium.

A mighty release from one of the sole bands that really mattered/matters.

TRACKLIST :

A1 I Shut My Eyes
A2 Moan On The Sly
A3 Retired
A4 Fall Incognito
A5 Moral Support
A6 Took Advantage
B1 Gold Rush
B2 Action Replay
B3 Moans
B4 Strange World
B5 Hollywood

Didier BECU
21/07/2011


 

Next reviews
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Stahl Disko
KARBU38 • tour de chauffe
THE SHORTWAVE MYSTERY • Signals from Afar
YOU • Time Code
HAUS ARAFNA • New York Rhapsody
• Amphi Festival 2011 | Out Of The Rain
NORTHERN KIND • Euphonic / Dreams
ACCESSORY • Underbeat
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Born///Evolve///Progress///3
GRAURAUM • Shades

 

Other reviews from PARADE GROUND
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
PARADE GROUND • Parade Ground
PARADE GROUND • Cut up
PARADE GROUND • Strange World
PARADE GROUND • A ROOM WITH A VIEW
PARADE GROUND • A Room With a View

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
MANDIVULA • Nonsens

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline