tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

21/07/2011 : PARADE GROUND - The Golden Years

PARADE GROUND

The Golden Years

MusicVinyl
Cold WaveMinimalNew waveSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[96/100]   

Dark Entries Records
21/07/2011, Didier BECU

What makes a band outstanding? Their skills? Surprised by how good they handle their instruments? You know what, to extol such bands just because of that, when they are nothing but boring bands. There's nothing wrong if a certain note is misplayed, as it's passion that matters and if you ask me which band is the most passionate in this world, I'll answer Parade Ground.

I don't know if I have to feel pity for them or not as they might be adored by a handful of people, but that's little comfort if you think they should be hailed as Gods.

The story of the brothers Pauly started somewhere in the early 80's with Daniel B. of Front 242 as their "big brother". Armed with a cheap synthesizer and a guitar, Parade Ground ended up on New Dance Records which, back then, was the label of both Daniel and Patrick Codenys.

The story went on to PIAS, which was back then the haven from Belgian talents and armed with the friendship of Wire-frontman Colin Newman, Parade Ground recorded an album.

What exactly happened afterwards is beyond us and not really our business, but those two brothers disappeared like so many bands till they were reincarnated with "Rosary" which was released in 2007. Literally a monster of an album, as it was soon clear that Parade Ground was nothing but vomit. I'm not saying this out of disrespect but when talking with Pierre I knew exactly what he meant with vomit as it's indeed something dirty, but also something which your body can't hold and so I tend to see Parade Ground as vomit, the spit of frustration that's formed by a society who makes it impossible for its residents.

The band also shows this on stage as seeing a gig by them is like entering some unknown danger zone with Pierre going out of his mind. Every gig you see him standing drenched in blood caused by smashing his microphone into his forehead. Not a very sane thing, you say? You're right but that's Parade Ground for you: kicking your mind and leaving you bewildered.

Today, Parade Ground are back more than ever before. In Belgium they celebrate this with their own Body Farm Festival and it's a relief to see that Dark Entries Records also embraced this mighty duo by releasing "The Golden years" which generally can be seen as a 'Best of', which also contains some unfindable recordings.

Opening song "I Shut My Eyes" was originally released on an obscure compilation album named "Nationale Rockmeeting" and their coldwave-sound has definitely been inspired by "Seventeen Seconds".

"Moan On The Sly" kind of breathes this out but the twisted synthetic sounds were already born as those analogue synths were like a cry for help.

"Retired" is a disco song for the outsiders of society while "Fall Incognito" is the type of song where they can experiment with their synths and yes, who was that woman who did the gorgeous intro on "She Took Advantage"? The sole lovesong they ever wrote and even their romantic world is mixed with vomit.

On the B-side you have a collection of their PIAS bestsellers with "Gold Rush" still sounding like one of the most refreshing synthpop tunes ever!

"Moans" has the help of Colin Newman and it's indeed a bit similar to the twisted synthpop the Wire frontman made when he was spending his time in Brussels.

Is it a coincidence they end this album with "Hollywood"? Suggesting perhaps what they should have been stars? In 2011 they're still not but those who know them, cherish them and have no problem in saying that they belong to the cream of the crop in Belgium.

A mighty release from one of the sole bands that really mattered/matters.

TRACKLIST :

A1 I Shut My Eyes
A2 Moan On The Sly
A3 Retired
A4 Fall Incognito
A5 Moral Support
A6 Took Advantage
B1 Gold Rush
B2 Action Replay
B3 Moans
B4 Strange World
B5 Hollywood

Didier BECU
21/07/2011


 

Next reviews
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Stahl Disko
KARBU38 • tour de chauffe
THE SHORTWAVE MYSTERY • Signals from Afar
YOU • Time Code
HAUS ARAFNA • New York Rhapsody
• Amphi Festival 2011 | Out Of The Rain
NORTHERN KIND • Euphonic / Dreams
ACCESSORY • Underbeat
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Born///Evolve///Progress///3
GRAURAUM • Shades

 

Other reviews from PARADE GROUND
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
PARADE GROUND • Parade Ground
PARADE GROUND • Cut up
PARADE GROUND • Strange World
PARADE GROUND • A ROOM WITH A VIEW
PARADE GROUND • A Room With a View

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything

Music reviews

05
12
SUNDAECRUSH
A Real Sensation
04
12
MERZBOW
Screaming Dove
03
12
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Shadow Of Fear
02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
12
44 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
03
12
This month, 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
Russian Dark Community in search of new blood
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
12
ANNA CALVI
Ghost Rider
04
12
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
03
12
ORKESTRA OBSOLETE
Blue Monday
02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life