tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

11/10/2015 : PARADISE LOST - Antwerp, Trix (10/06/2015)

PARADISE LOST

Antwerp, Trix (10/06/2015)

Concert
11/10/2015, Benny CALUWE

Paradise Lost returned to its death/doom origins with the critically acclaimed album The Plague Within. I didn’t want to miss the opportunity tho see them live again, it was too long ago. After we had outfaced the usual traffic jam around Antwerp and struggled with some lunatic truck drivers, we finally reached the Trix venue in time to see the support band Lucifer. Entering the venue, I was surprised to see that the gig wasn't in the big hall downstairs, but in the smaller club upstairs. It was Tuesday after all, maybe that’s why. The club might be small, but it’s more intimate and cosy. So no complaints.

Lucifer is the new manifestation of Berlin-based singer Johanna Sadonis (former The Oath). The band recently released its debut album on Lee Dorrian’s (former Cathedral and Napalm Death front man) Rise Above Records. Guitar player Garry Jennings, former Cathedral as well, is another notable band member. The other members are drummer Andy Prestidge (former Angel Witch and The Oath) and Ladytron touring bassist Dino Gollnick. Lucifer plays retro sounding metal, reminiscent of Black Sabbath., the sound of the 70s and 80s, you know, even the cover of their album looks very retro. Lucifer sounds like a bluesy kind of doom metal. Johanna has a great voice. Not that semi-operatic voice or the typical beauty and the beast gothic metal or other female fronted metal, but a powerful voice, both soaring and swooping. At the end of the set she still sounded equally powerful. The crowd could appreciate Lucifer’s effort. Quite enjoyable, but I wasn’t really overwhelmed by the set. Maybe a second guitarist could be useful. But for sure a band I will follow in the future, especially for Johanna.

Paradise Lost started its show with No Hope In Sight, the opening track of the new album. Many people already knew the words and screamed along. During Widow they had some problems with the sound. The vocals were too much on the background, but during Gothic they found the correct balance. The crowd cheered when this classic was announced. Many fists were raised during the massive riffs. Paradise Lost played tight and sounded chunky. The grateful crowd was enthusiastic. Even during Erased, a track with some electronic arrangements that dates from their experimental period. Many hands were raised to clap along the rhythm during the bridge. The involvement remained throughout the gig. Especially during As I Die the crowd went crazy and screamed out loud.

Paradise Lost played a balanced setlist. They focused on The Plague Within, but played some classic and some less obvious tracks as well. Although Nick Holmes isn’t the most mobile performer, he easily packed the crowd with his jokes and raised their hands whenever he wanted it. The vocalist did well, both clean vocals and harsh vocals sounded great. The band played flawless. The crowd was involved. All ingredients for a nice evening were there.

Setlist Paradise Lost:
No Hope In Sight (from The Plague Within, 2015)
Widow (from Icon, 1993)
Gothic (from Gothic, 1991)
Erased (from Symbol Of Life, 2002)
Praise Lamented Shade (from In Requiem, 2007)
Victim Of The Past (from The Plague Within, 2015)
Enchantment (from Draconian Times, 1995)
Cry Out (from The Plague Within, 2015)
Beneath Broken Earth (from The Plague Within, 2015)
As I Die (from Shades Of God, 1992)
Requiem (from In Requiem, 2007)

Encores:
Return To The Sun (from The Plague Within, 2015)
Faith Divides Us – Death Unites Us (from Faith Divides Us – Death Unites Us, 2009)
An Eternity Of Lies (from The Plague Within, 2015)
Say Just Words (from One Second, 1997)

Benny CALUWE
11/10/2015


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
03
No Time To Cry since 36 years!
08
03
Today, exactly 27 years ago, American industrial band Nine Inch Nails released The Downward Spiral!
07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
03
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You