tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

11/10/2015 : PARADISE LOST - Antwerp, Trix (10/06/2015)

PARADISE LOST

Antwerp, Trix (10/06/2015)

Concert
11/10/2015, Benny CALUWE

Paradise Lost returned to its death/doom origins with the critically acclaimed album The Plague Within. I didn’t want to miss the opportunity tho see them live again, it was too long ago. After we had outfaced the usual traffic jam around Antwerp and struggled with some lunatic truck drivers, we finally reached the Trix venue in time to see the support band Lucifer. Entering the venue, I was surprised to see that the gig wasn't in the big hall downstairs, but in the smaller club upstairs. It was Tuesday after all, maybe that’s why. The club might be small, but it’s more intimate and cosy. So no complaints.

Lucifer is the new manifestation of Berlin-based singer Johanna Sadonis (former The Oath). The band recently released its debut album on Lee Dorrian’s (former Cathedral and Napalm Death front man) Rise Above Records. Guitar player Garry Jennings, former Cathedral as well, is another notable band member. The other members are drummer Andy Prestidge (former Angel Witch and The Oath) and Ladytron touring bassist Dino Gollnick. Lucifer plays retro sounding metal, reminiscent of Black Sabbath., the sound of the 70s and 80s, you know, even the cover of their album looks very retro. Lucifer sounds like a bluesy kind of doom metal. Johanna has a great voice. Not that semi-operatic voice or the typical beauty and the beast gothic metal or other female fronted metal, but a powerful voice, both soaring and swooping. At the end of the set she still sounded equally powerful. The crowd could appreciate Lucifer’s effort. Quite enjoyable, but I wasn’t really overwhelmed by the set. Maybe a second guitarist could be useful. But for sure a band I will follow in the future, especially for Johanna.

Paradise Lost started its show with No Hope In Sight, the opening track of the new album. Many people already knew the words and screamed along. During Widow they had some problems with the sound. The vocals were too much on the background, but during Gothic they found the correct balance. The crowd cheered when this classic was announced. Many fists were raised during the massive riffs. Paradise Lost played tight and sounded chunky. The grateful crowd was enthusiastic. Even during Erased, a track with some electronic arrangements that dates from their experimental period. Many hands were raised to clap along the rhythm during the bridge. The involvement remained throughout the gig. Especially during As I Die the crowd went crazy and screamed out loud.

Paradise Lost played a balanced setlist. They focused on The Plague Within, but played some classic and some less obvious tracks as well. Although Nick Holmes isn’t the most mobile performer, he easily packed the crowd with his jokes and raised their hands whenever he wanted it. The vocalist did well, both clean vocals and harsh vocals sounded great. The band played flawless. The crowd was involved. All ingredients for a nice evening were there.

Setlist Paradise Lost:
No Hope In Sight (from The Plague Within, 2015)
Widow (from Icon, 1993)
Gothic (from Gothic, 1991)
Erased (from Symbol Of Life, 2002)
Praise Lamented Shade (from In Requiem, 2007)
Victim Of The Past (from The Plague Within, 2015)
Enchantment (from Draconian Times, 1995)
Cry Out (from The Plague Within, 2015)
Beneath Broken Earth (from The Plague Within, 2015)
As I Die (from Shades Of God, 1992)
Requiem (from In Requiem, 2007)

Encores:
Return To The Sun (from The Plague Within, 2015)
Faith Divides Us – Death Unites Us (from Faith Divides Us – Death Unites Us, 2009)
An Eternity Of Lies (from The Plague Within, 2015)
Say Just Words (from One Second, 1997)

Benny CALUWE
11/10/2015


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu