tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

11/10/2015 : PARADISE LOST - Antwerp, Trix (10/06/2015)

PARADISE LOST

Antwerp, Trix (10/06/2015)

Concert
11/10/2015, Benny CALUWE

Paradise Lost returned to its death/doom origins with the critically acclaimed album The Plague Within. I didn’t want to miss the opportunity tho see them live again, it was too long ago. After we had outfaced the usual traffic jam around Antwerp and struggled with some lunatic truck drivers, we finally reached the Trix venue in time to see the support band Lucifer. Entering the venue, I was surprised to see that the gig wasn't in the big hall downstairs, but in the smaller club upstairs. It was Tuesday after all, maybe that’s why. The club might be small, but it’s more intimate and cosy. So no complaints.

Lucifer is the new manifestation of Berlin-based singer Johanna Sadonis (former The Oath). The band recently released its debut album on Lee Dorrian’s (former Cathedral and Napalm Death front man) Rise Above Records. Guitar player Garry Jennings, former Cathedral as well, is another notable band member. The other members are drummer Andy Prestidge (former Angel Witch and The Oath) and Ladytron touring bassist Dino Gollnick. Lucifer plays retro sounding metal, reminiscent of Black Sabbath., the sound of the 70s and 80s, you know, even the cover of their album looks very retro. Lucifer sounds like a bluesy kind of doom metal. Johanna has a great voice. Not that semi-operatic voice or the typical beauty and the beast gothic metal or other female fronted metal, but a powerful voice, both soaring and swooping. At the end of the set she still sounded equally powerful. The crowd could appreciate Lucifer’s effort. Quite enjoyable, but I wasn’t really overwhelmed by the set. Maybe a second guitarist could be useful. But for sure a band I will follow in the future, especially for Johanna.

Paradise Lost started its show with No Hope In Sight, the opening track of the new album. Many people already knew the words and screamed along. During Widow they had some problems with the sound. The vocals were too much on the background, but during Gothic they found the correct balance. The crowd cheered when this classic was announced. Many fists were raised during the massive riffs. Paradise Lost played tight and sounded chunky. The grateful crowd was enthusiastic. Even during Erased, a track with some electronic arrangements that dates from their experimental period. Many hands were raised to clap along the rhythm during the bridge. The involvement remained throughout the gig. Especially during As I Die the crowd went crazy and screamed out loud.

Paradise Lost played a balanced setlist. They focused on The Plague Within, but played some classic and some less obvious tracks as well. Although Nick Holmes isn’t the most mobile performer, he easily packed the crowd with his jokes and raised their hands whenever he wanted it. The vocalist did well, both clean vocals and harsh vocals sounded great. The band played flawless. The crowd was involved. All ingredients for a nice evening were there.

Setlist Paradise Lost:
No Hope In Sight (from The Plague Within, 2015)
Widow (from Icon, 1993)
Gothic (from Gothic, 1991)
Erased (from Symbol Of Life, 2002)
Praise Lamented Shade (from In Requiem, 2007)
Victim Of The Past (from The Plague Within, 2015)
Enchantment (from Draconian Times, 1995)
Cry Out (from The Plague Within, 2015)
Beneath Broken Earth (from The Plague Within, 2015)
As I Die (from Shades Of God, 1992)
Requiem (from In Requiem, 2007)

Encores:
Return To The Sun (from The Plague Within, 2015)
Faith Divides Us – Death Unites Us (from Faith Divides Us – Death Unites Us, 2009)
An Eternity Of Lies (from The Plague Within, 2015)
Say Just Words (from One Second, 1997)

Benny CALUWE
11/10/2015


Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.
22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
The Jesus and Mary Chain have signed to London-based independent label Fuzz Club Records.
21
01
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
'Giving Ground”…and Gaining It: The First Sisterhood Single, 36 ago, 20 January 1986
19
01
Electronic Band LUSCIOUS APPARATUS Addresses Domestic Violence With New Single, 'Infiltrate'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
20
01
FAUNLET
Anatomy
19
01
PSY'AVIAH FT MARIEKE LIGHTBAND
The Great Disconnect
18
01
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
17
01
MATT HART
Decimate
16
01
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom