tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

11/10/2015 : PARADISE LOST - Antwerp, Trix (10/06/2015)

PARADISE LOST

Antwerp, Trix (10/06/2015)

Concert
11/10/2015, Benny CALUWE

Paradise Lost returned to its death/doom origins with the critically acclaimed album The Plague Within. I didn’t want to miss the opportunity tho see them live again, it was too long ago. After we had outfaced the usual traffic jam around Antwerp and struggled with some lunatic truck drivers, we finally reached the Trix venue in time to see the support band Lucifer. Entering the venue, I was surprised to see that the gig wasn't in the big hall downstairs, but in the smaller club upstairs. It was Tuesday after all, maybe that’s why. The club might be small, but it’s more intimate and cosy. So no complaints.

Lucifer is the new manifestation of Berlin-based singer Johanna Sadonis (former The Oath). The band recently released its debut album on Lee Dorrian’s (former Cathedral and Napalm Death front man) Rise Above Records. Guitar player Garry Jennings, former Cathedral as well, is another notable band member. The other members are drummer Andy Prestidge (former Angel Witch and The Oath) and Ladytron touring bassist Dino Gollnick. Lucifer plays retro sounding metal, reminiscent of Black Sabbath., the sound of the 70s and 80s, you know, even the cover of their album looks very retro. Lucifer sounds like a bluesy kind of doom metal. Johanna has a great voice. Not that semi-operatic voice or the typical beauty and the beast gothic metal or other female fronted metal, but a powerful voice, both soaring and swooping. At the end of the set she still sounded equally powerful. The crowd could appreciate Lucifer’s effort. Quite enjoyable, but I wasn’t really overwhelmed by the set. Maybe a second guitarist could be useful. But for sure a band I will follow in the future, especially for Johanna.

Paradise Lost started its show with No Hope In Sight, the opening track of the new album. Many people already knew the words and screamed along. During Widow they had some problems with the sound. The vocals were too much on the background, but during Gothic they found the correct balance. The crowd cheered when this classic was announced. Many fists were raised during the massive riffs. Paradise Lost played tight and sounded chunky. The grateful crowd was enthusiastic. Even during Erased, a track with some electronic arrangements that dates from their experimental period. Many hands were raised to clap along the rhythm during the bridge. The involvement remained throughout the gig. Especially during As I Die the crowd went crazy and screamed out loud.

Paradise Lost played a balanced setlist. They focused on The Plague Within, but played some classic and some less obvious tracks as well. Although Nick Holmes isn’t the most mobile performer, he easily packed the crowd with his jokes and raised their hands whenever he wanted it. The vocalist did well, both clean vocals and harsh vocals sounded great. The band played flawless. The crowd was involved. All ingredients for a nice evening were there.

Setlist Paradise Lost:
No Hope In Sight (from The Plague Within, 2015)
Widow (from Icon, 1993)
Gothic (from Gothic, 1991)
Erased (from Symbol Of Life, 2002)
Praise Lamented Shade (from In Requiem, 2007)
Victim Of The Past (from The Plague Within, 2015)
Enchantment (from Draconian Times, 1995)
Cry Out (from The Plague Within, 2015)
Beneath Broken Earth (from The Plague Within, 2015)
As I Die (from Shades Of God, 1992)
Requiem (from In Requiem, 2007)

Encores:
Return To The Sun (from The Plague Within, 2015)
Faith Divides Us – Death Unites Us (from Faith Divides Us – Death Unites Us, 2009)
An Eternity Of Lies (from The Plague Within, 2015)
Say Just Words (from One Second, 1997)

Benny CALUWE
11/10/2015


Music reviews

26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
29 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights
26
11
PIG
Rock n Roll Refugee
25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song
24
11
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh