tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

22/11/2015 : PARADOX OBSCUR - Anacrusis

PARADOX OBSCUR

Anacrusis

MusicVinyl
Minimal

[75/100]   
22/11/2015, Peter HESELMANS

EN

The Greek Paradox Obscur released its second LP Anacrusis, which contains 10 songs that can be labelled as minimal synth. This duo is formed by Toxic Razor (synths and drum machines) and female singer Kriistal Ann, the artist name of Anna Michailidou.

They are proud to make exclusive use of analogue electronics and drum machines for their typical dark, sometimes depressing sounds. The comparisons with their Greek countrymen Selofan or Human Puppets is indeed obvious, because they both share the unique sound that is somewhere between cold wave and minimal synth.

The opener of this album is Drone. The rhythmic and dark analogue sounds with the deep bass and the special voice of Anna immediately give us a good example of what we can expected on this album. More spooky texts and pure electronic sounds are heard in Flesh and Burn, dark horror sounds combined with cold rhythms that make your ears shiver of fear.

Shadows has a higher tempo, and that is beneficial. Faster and even danceable beats, complemented with the necessary electronic percussion are used in Shock: a song with a very catchy chorus that would fit perfectly on the playlist of a party at some dark underground club. Deconstruction offers us more raw analogue synth beats from the 80s, the comparison with the Neue Deutsche Welle is a fact. This LP is a gem for the admirers of this genre, but the average music lover may find this too much of the same…

Peter HESELMANS
22/11/2015


NL

Het Griekse Paradox Obscur brengt ons op z'n tweede lp Anacrusis 10 nummers die we onder de noemer minimal synth kunnen stoppen. Dit duo bestaat uit Toxic Razor (synths en drummachines) en zangeres Kriistal Ann, wat de artiestennaam is van Anna Michailidou.

Beiden gaan er prat op exclusief gebruik te maken van analoge electronica en drummachines voor hun typische donkere, soms deprimerende klanken. Vergelijkingen met hun Griekse landgenoten Selofan of Human Puppets zijn dan ook nooit ver weg, want ook zij hebben dat unieke geluid dat ergens tussen col wave en minimal synth zit.

De opener van deze plaat is Drone, de ritmische en donkere analoge klanken geven ons samen met de diepe bas en de schelle stem van Anna direct een mooi voorbeeld van wat we van dit album kunnen verwachten. Meer griezelige teksten en pure elektronische geluiden op Flesh en Burn. De donkere horrorklanken, gecombineerd met de koude ritmes, doen je oren trillen van angst.

Op Shadows wordt het tempo van de songs wat opgedreven, wat deze band echt wel ten goede komt. Snellere en zelfs dansbare tonen met de nodige elektronische percussie hoor je op Shock: een song met een zeer catchy refrein die perfect zou passen in de playlist in een donkere undergroundclub. Deconstruction brengt ons nog meer rauwe analoge synthbeats uit de jaren 80, de vergelijking met de Neue Deutsche Welle dringt zich op. Deze lp is voor de bewonderaars van dit genre een aanrader, maar voor de modale muziekliefhebber misschien net iets teveel van hetzelfde.

Peter HESELMANS
22/11/2015


Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein