tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

22/11/2015 : PARADOX OBSCUR - Anacrusis

PARADOX OBSCUR

Anacrusis

MusicVinyl
Minimal

[75/100]   
22/11/2015, Peter HESELMANS

EN

The Greek Paradox Obscur released its second LP Anacrusis, which contains 10 songs that can be labelled as minimal synth. This duo is formed by Toxic Razor (synths and drum machines) and female singer Kriistal Ann, the artist name of Anna Michailidou.

They are proud to make exclusive use of analogue electronics and drum machines for their typical dark, sometimes depressing sounds. The comparisons with their Greek countrymen Selofan or Human Puppets is indeed obvious, because they both share the unique sound that is somewhere between cold wave and minimal synth.

The opener of this album is Drone. The rhythmic and dark analogue sounds with the deep bass and the special voice of Anna immediately give us a good example of what we can expected on this album. More spooky texts and pure electronic sounds are heard in Flesh and Burn, dark horror sounds combined with cold rhythms that make your ears shiver of fear.

Shadows has a higher tempo, and that is beneficial. Faster and even danceable beats, complemented with the necessary electronic percussion are used in Shock: a song with a very catchy chorus that would fit perfectly on the playlist of a party at some dark underground club. Deconstruction offers us more raw analogue synth beats from the 80s, the comparison with the Neue Deutsche Welle is a fact. This LP is a gem for the admirers of this genre, but the average music lover may find this too much of the same…

Peter HESELMANS
22/11/2015


NL

Het Griekse Paradox Obscur brengt ons op z'n tweede lp Anacrusis 10 nummers die we onder de noemer minimal synth kunnen stoppen. Dit duo bestaat uit Toxic Razor (synths en drummachines) en zangeres Kriistal Ann, wat de artiestennaam is van Anna Michailidou.

Beiden gaan er prat op exclusief gebruik te maken van analoge electronica en drummachines voor hun typische donkere, soms deprimerende klanken. Vergelijkingen met hun Griekse landgenoten Selofan of Human Puppets zijn dan ook nooit ver weg, want ook zij hebben dat unieke geluid dat ergens tussen col wave en minimal synth zit.

De opener van deze plaat is Drone, de ritmische en donkere analoge klanken geven ons samen met de diepe bas en de schelle stem van Anna direct een mooi voorbeeld van wat we van dit album kunnen verwachten. Meer griezelige teksten en pure elektronische geluiden op Flesh en Burn. De donkere horrorklanken, gecombineerd met de koude ritmes, doen je oren trillen van angst.

Op Shadows wordt het tempo van de songs wat opgedreven, wat deze band echt wel ten goede komt. Snellere en zelfs dansbare tonen met de nodige elektronische percussie hoor je op Shock: een song met een zeer catchy refrein die perfect zou passen in de playlist in een donkere undergroundclub. Deconstruction brengt ons nog meer rauwe analoge synthbeats uit de jaren 80, de vergelijking met de Neue Deutsche Welle dringt zich op. Deze lp is voor de bewonderaars van dit genre een aanrader, maar voor de modale muziekliefhebber misschien net iets teveel van hetzelfde.

Peter HESELMANS
22/11/2015


Music reviews

14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection