tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : PATRIARCH - Rage of Gods

PATRIARCH

Rage of Gods

MusicCD
power metalTrashmetal

[75/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Recording an album is not always easy. In 2013, Patriarch began to record the album, but the band was not satisfied with the drummer. The man got fired and it took a long time to find a substitute. Meanwhile, the drums were played by the son of guitarist Freddy Mylemans. When the album was almost finished, Luc Seeuws joined as the new drummer and he played on The Red Chord. And so, three years later, the new album Rage of Gods is a fact.

Musically, Patriarch can be situated between trash and old school metal, or if you want to hear names: between Pantera and Iced Earth. Although this is a self-released album, the production is done very well with an elegant sound. The artwork fits with the sound. The band members do not look as typical metal heads, but they sound and breathe metal, and that’s important, is it not?

The title track that opens the CD, is a good example of the style of this album: a cool guitar line that forms the theme, it evolves to thrash metal, with a beautiful bridge halfway. The double bass drum does its job and the guitar riffs sound fat. On The Phenomenon of Thought, Chronology and The Sealed Tongues of Wisdom we hear a similar development.

Into The... is a dreamlike rest point on the album with guest vocals by Laure Mylemans. Neverwhere is a fast-paced song that captures the listener's attention. The Red Chord contains drums by Seeuws and that sounds promising for the upcoming gigs. The vocals tend to Channel Zero.

Rage of God is a very solid album that deserves more profiling to better stand out from the competition. But it's certainly a professional album. I think Patriarch is at its best when alternating trash with melodic and atmospheric elements. Best songs: Rage of Gods, The Sealed Tongues of Wisdom and Chronology.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Een album opnemen loopt niet altijd over rozen. In 2013 begon Patriarch met de opnames, maar kort nadien werd de drummer ontslagen omdat men niet tevreden was over zijn drumpartijen. Het werd een zoektocht die even duurde. Intussen werden de drumpartijen ingespeeld door de zoon van gitarist Freddy Mylemans. Toen het album bijna klaar was, haalde men drummer Luc Seeuws binnen en met hem werd de track The Red Chord opgenomen. En zo is er drie jaar later het nieuwe album: Rage of Gods.

Muzikaal situeren ze zich tussen trash en old school metal, zeg maar ergens tussen Pantera en Iced Earth. Hoewel het hier om een plaat gaat die in eigen beheer is opgenomen, is de productie heel goed geslaagd met een piekfijn geluid. Ook het artwork past in het plaatje. De bandleden op de foto zien er niet uit als typische metalheads, maar ze klinken en voelen wel aan als metal. En is dat niet het belangrijkste?

De muziek bestaat uit degelijke songs. De titeltrack, die tevens het album opent, is een goed voorbeeld: een leuke gitaarlijn die het thema levert voor de rest van de song. Een trage inleiding gevolgd door een versnelling, waardoor we trashmetal horen met halfweg een mooie bridge. De dubbele basdrum doet goed zijn werk en de gitaarriffs klinken vet. Ook de zang is helemaal in orde. Op The Phenomenon of Thought, Chronology en The Sealed Tongues of Wisdom is er sprake van een gelijksoortige songontwikkeling. Into The… is een dromerige passage, een rustpunt iop een album met gastvocalen van Laure Mylemans. Neverwhere is een jachtige song met minder twist and turns, maar de track slaat wel aan. The Red Chord bevat stevig drumwerk van Seeuws en dat belooft voor de optredens. Het zangwerk in deze song neigt wat naar Channel Zero.

Rage of Gods is een oerdegelijk product dat misschien nog wat meer eigenheid nodig heeft om beter op te vallen tussen de rest, maar het album is wel vakkundig gemaakt. Ik vind deze band het sterkst als hij trash afwisselt met andere, meer melodische en atmosferische elementen. De beste tracks zijn: Rage of Gods, The Sealed Tongues of Wisdom en Chronology.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)