tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

17/03/2014 : PAUL GREENGRASS - Captain Phillips

PAUL GREENGRASS

Captain Phillips

Movie
Action

[82/100]   

SONY SPHE
17/03/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Captain Phillips is a movie about pirates. Nah, just forget the idiot that Jack Sparrow is, because this picture deals about real pirates from Somalia who are hijacking cargo's because they're poor, and hope to have a better life. Didn't we already hear this story in the Danish Kapringen by Tobias Lindholm? In a way yes, but now it's Paul Greengrass' turn. A perfect choice as he's the right man to make a hijackdrama like this, as we all remember his magnificent (but underrated) United 93: the movie about the plane that was supposed to crash on the White House on 11th September. But mind you, from the early start, Greengrass points out that Captain Phillips is not a story about terrorists. One of the first phrases from one of the pirates is “No Al-Qaeda here. Just business” which says enough.


Despite that the movie got overwhelmed with tons of Oscar-nominations and that Captain Phillips is a Sony-blockbuster, it never looks like your usual Hollywoodfodder. That's of course the merits of director Greengrass who builds up an unbearable tension by making Captain Phillips feel like a documentary. As always he uses his beloved handheld-camera and so the viewer has the idea that he's in the middle of the action, just like he's watching the news. There's even more as the audience has their doubts whether they will sympathize with the captain from the Maersk-cargo (Tom Hanks) or the pirate leader Muse (Barkhad Abdi). Everything feels extremely real. Not only because Greengrass filmed the whole movie at sea, but also because the director based himself upon Captain’s Duty: Somali Pirates, Navy Seals, and Dangerous Days at Sea by the real Richard Phillips.



The movie has a length from over two hours, but you never feel that. Not only, because of the thrilling tension (with Greengrass you never know who will be the winner), but also because of the splendid performances from both Tom Hanks and Barkhad Abdi. So yes, after Bloody Sunday, United 93 and The Bourne Supremacy Greengrass proves again that’s he’s the ultimate king of the intelligent action movie, whatever that might mean.

C
aptain Phillips is now out on DVD and Blu-ray on Sony.

Didier BECU
17/03/2014


NL

Captain Phillips is een film over piraten. Neen, geen carnavalszot zoals Jack Sparrow dat is, wel over echte kapers die uit pure armoede en met het nodige geweld cargo's overvallen in de hoop een stuiver bij te verdienen. We hebben dat onderwerp inderdaad al een half jaartje geleden eerder in Kapringen van de Deen Tobias Lindholm gehad, maar nu is het dus de beurt aan Paul Greengrass. Een meer dan ideale keuze om zo'n gijzelingsdrama in te blikken, want eerder draaide hij het lichtjes fantastische (en onderschatte) United 93: een prent over het vliegtuig dat op 11 september op het Witte Huis moest crashen. Maar vergis je niet, vanaf het begin maakt Greengrass duidelijk dat Captain Phillips geen film is over terroristen, het zijn mensen die (ook al verdedigt hij hun niet) uit pure ellende een (verschrikkelijke) wanhoopsdaad plegen.


Ondanks het feit dat deze film een Oscarmonster was (zonder ze te kunnen verzilveren) en uit de Sony-stal komt is Captain Phillips geen alledaags Hollywoodvoer geworden. Dat komt vooral door de aparte stijl van Greengrass die zijn verhaal als een documentaire filmt waardoor de kijker, net alsof hij naar een nieuwsbericht kijkt, zelf deel uitmaakt van de actie. Iedere minuut is spannend en de filmmaker slaagt er zelfs in om de kijker te doen twijfelen of hij partij voor de kapitein van de Maersk-cargo (Tom Hanks) of voor piratenleider Muse (Barkhad Abdi) zal kiezen. Alles voelt levensecht aan. Dat is niet alleen omdat Greengrass deze film volledig op zee opnam, maar ook omdat hij zich baseerde op het boek Captain’s Duty: Somali Pirates, Navy Seals, and Dangerous Days at Sea van de echte Richard Phillips.


De film heeft wel een lengte van meer dan twee uur, maar dat voel je nooit. Integendeel. Dat is niet alleen te danken aan de ijzingwekkende spanning (met Greengrass weet je immers nooit wie gaat winnen), maar ook aan de ijzersterke vertolkingen. Een naam als Tom Hanks roept misschien de vrees op dat Captain Phillips een afgelikt Hollywoodproduct zal worden, maar dat is het nooit. Meer zelfs, Greengrass laat het niet na om de kijker geregeld een stomp in de maag te verkopen.


Dus ja, na Bloody Sunday, United 93 of The Bourne Supremacy bewijst Greengrass nog maar eens dat hij de koning van de intelligente actiefilm (wat dat ook mag betekenen!) is, met uiteraard een grote dank aan Tom Hanks en Barkhad Abdi die naar verluidt ondertussen al zijn vergaarde geld reeds heeft opgebruikt.


Captain Phillips is vanaf nu uit op dvd en Blu-ray, en dit via Sony.

Didier BECU
17/03/2014


17/03/2014 : PAUL GREENGRASS - Captain Phillips 17/03/2014 : PAUL GREENGRASS - Captain Phillips 17/03/2014 : PAUL GREENGRASS - Captain Phillips 17/03/2014 : PAUL GREENGRASS - Captain Phillips 17/03/2014 : PAUL GREENGRASS - Captain Phillips 17/03/2014 : PAUL GREENGRASS - Captain Phillips 17/03/2014 : PAUL GREENGRASS - Captain Phillips 17/03/2014 : PAUL GREENGRASS - Captain Phillips 17/03/2014 : PAUL GREENGRASS - Captain Phillips 17/03/2014 : PAUL GREENGRASS - Captain Phillips 17/03/2014 : PAUL GREENGRASS - Captain Phillips 17/03/2014 : PAUL GREENGRASS - Captain Phillips 17/03/2014 : PAUL GREENGRASS - Captain Phillips 17/03/2014 : PAUL GREENGRASS - Captain Phillips 17/03/2014 : PAUL GREENGRASS - Captain Phillips

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation