tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

04/12/2014 : PAUL KING - Paddington

PAUL KING

Paddington

MovieCinema
Adventure
Belga Films
04/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

You can’t step into any souvenir shop in London without seeing an item that features the image of Paddington. This cuddly bear with his red hat and blue duffel coat is British cultural heritage, and the stories about him, written by Michael Bond, are present in every British bookcase. It's strange that we had to wait decades for a film version, but finally, here it is: Paddington!

Our excitement vanished a bit when we found out that Paddington would be a live-action movie (a movie containing characters that are created by a computer), if you remember stinkers like The Smurfs or even Garfield then you know what we mean. No worries though, because you never saw such a cuddly bear as Paddington !

Paddington is a pure British story, something that director Paul King, known for The Mighty Boosh, understood very well. Decades ago, an explorer met with two remarkable bears in Peru. He gave them a snow globe and a hat and the advice to visit London one day. Unfortunately this never happened, but during an earthquake the little bear gets the advice from his aunt Lucy to seek his solace in London. But the British capital appears not to be the paradise he expected, no one notices him until the moment the family Brown arrives. They name him Paddington (after the station where he was found). The bear thinks he has a golden future, but he is soon chased by the rabid taxidermist Millicent (Nicole Kidman).

Quite moving, right? It definitely is. If you’re an adult then you occasionally might shiver when you start watching a children's film, but that's not the case with Paddington. Obviously the makers keep in mind that the film is meant for children, so the story never becomes complicated, but it's all done so well that the 94 minutes film pass like a rollercoaster. The performances are more than fine, especially with the excellent Nicole Kidman as cruel bitch. But still, how good Hugh Bonneville and Sally Hawkins might be acting, it's Paddington who steals the show. By far the best children movie in years ! We’re in love!

Didier BECU
04/12/2014


NL

Je kan in Londen geen souvenirwinkel binnenlopen zonder dat je er één of andere prul met een afbeelding van Paddington vindt. Het snoezige beertje met zijn rode hoed en blauwe duffelcoat is Brits cultuurerfgoed en de verhalen die zijn geschreven door Michael Bond staan in iedere Britse boekenkast te glunderen. Het blijft een beetje vreemd dat een verfilming zo lang op zich heeft laten wachten, maar eindelijk is hij er: Paddington, de film.

Eventjes verdween ons enthousiasme toen we vernamen dat Paddington een live-actionfilm (een speelfilm met daarin personages die door een computer zijn gecreëerd) zou worden. Als je je het misbaksel The Smurfs of zelfs Garfield herinnert, weet je wat we bedoelen. Geen nood echter, want wellicht zag je nog nooit zo’n snoezig beertje als Paddington!

Paddington is een op en top Brits verhaal en dat heeft regisseur Paul King, die bekend is van The Mighty Boosh, zeer goed begrepen. Tientallen jaren geleden botste een ontdekkingsreiziger in Peru op twee beren. Hij gaf hun een sneeuwbol en een hoed, maar vooral het advies om op een mooie dag Londen te bezoeken. Het is er helaas nooit van gekomen, maar tijdens een aardbeving krijgt de kleine beer de raad van zijn tante Lucy om zijn soelaas in Londen te zoeken. Al gauw blijkt de Britse hoofdstad niet het paradijs te zijn dat hij verwachtte, geen mens merkt hem op tot op het moment dat de familie Brown hem tegenkomt. Het gezin doopt hem om tot Paddington (naar het station waar hij is gevonden). Het beertje denkt dat hij voortaan op gouden rozen zit, maar hij wordt achternagezeten door de dolle taxidermiste Millicent (Nicole Kidman).

Ontroerend, niet? Dat is het ook. Als volwassene bibber je wel af en toe als je aan een kinderfilm begint, maar dat is bij Paddington helemaal niet nodig. Uiteraard houden de makers er rekening mee het verhaal niet nodeloos ingewikkeld te maken, maar het zit allemaal zo goed in elkaar dat de 94 minuten die deze film duren als een sneltrein voorbijgaan. De vertolkingen zijn meer dan prima, met een uitstekende Nicole Kidman als feeks. Maar toch, hoe goed Hugh Bonneville of Sally Hawkins ook acteren, het is toch Paddington die de show steelt. Met stip de beste kinderfilm sinds jaren!

Didier BECU
04/12/2014


04/12/2014 : PAUL KING - Paddington 04/12/2014 : PAUL KING - Paddington 04/12/2014 : PAUL KING - Paddington 04/12/2014 : PAUL KING - Paddington 04/12/2014 : PAUL KING - Paddington 04/12/2014 : PAUL KING - Paddington 04/12/2014 : PAUL KING - Paddington 04/12/2014 : PAUL KING - Paddington 04/12/2014 : PAUL KING - Paddington 04/12/2014 : PAUL KING - Paddington 04/12/2014 : PAUL KING - Paddington 04/12/2014 : PAUL KING - Paddington 04/12/2014 : PAUL KING - Paddington 04/12/2014 : PAUL KING - Paddington 04/12/2014 : PAUL KING - Paddington 04/12/2014 : PAUL KING - Paddington

Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
12
This month it’s 38 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
Dark Electronic Band, Hem Netjer Talks Of Releasing Inner Warriors With New Single
01
12
52 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
30
11
Gothic/Occult Wave Duo, Raven Said Brings Alchemy To 'Chants To Dissolve'
29
11
Industrial Band Silence Embrace Drops The Dystopian Cyberpunk EP, 'Meta Queer Dolls'
28
11
Today it's exactly 42 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview

PHOTOS

28
11
FAUN
Phantastischer Lichter Weihnachtsmarkt Dortmund
28
11
SKALD
Phantastischer Lichter Weihnachtsmarkt Dortmund
28
11
EKLIPSE
Phantastischer Lichter Weihnachtsmarkt Dortmund
25
11
QNTAL
Christuskirche Bochum
24
11
THE CURE
Sportpaleis Antwerpen
18
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Porta Nigra Autumn Passage
18
11
HEILUNG
Ruhrcongress Bochum

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
12
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
01
12
MASQUERADE
Too Depressed to Dance
30
11
SOLDOUT
Forever
29
11
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
28
11
MAX LILJA
Twin Peaks Theme
27
11
WHISPERING SONS
The most beautiful Rock Rally-moment ever....
26
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Sense