tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

10/12/2016 : PAUL MCCARTNEY - Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)

PAUL MCCARTNEY

Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)

Concert
PopRock 10/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

The 2016 edition of Rock Werchter will probably be remembered as the year that a Beatle visited the festival. On Thursday june 30th, none other than king of Pop Paul McCartney played at the festival. Sir Paul, supported by an excellent four peace band, played a set of over two hours, with songs old and new and in between, as Macca stated, 31 pop jewels in total, yes!

The intro tape, a mix of Macca-songs combined with visuals on the big screens, took fifteen minutes and was rather long, but when McCartney and his band walked on stage and kicked off with A Hard Day's Night, the festival area was on fire, the patience was well rewarded. The feast had begun. After a splendid rockin' Save Us, from last year's album New, the legend spoke: Hello, Werchter, I'm glad to be here! (in Dutch).

The 74 year-young legend eagerly played a few exquisite Macca-songs, many Fab Four hits and, much to my pleasure, quite some songs by Wings! Macca introduced the phenomenal Nineteen Hundred and Eighty-Five as OK, this one's for the wings fans – thanks, Paul! And more Wings gems were featured such as Let Me Roll it, Letting Go, a fantastisc Band on the Run and a truly sublime Live And Let Die, fireworks included! Much to everyone's surprise Macca even dug up In Spite Of All The Anger, a song by The Quarrymen, Paul's pre-Beatles project!

Who didn't sing along to Love Me Do, Can't Buy Me Love, We Can Work It out or the inevitable Hey Jude? Oh, and Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-da from The White Album (1968)! As happy as I was because some Wings songs were included, I was nicely surprised with the selection from The White Album: Back in the U.S.S.R. and Birthday. Sadly, no Revolution, Helter Skelter nor Everybody's Got Something To Hide Except Me And My Monkey. But you can't have it all, can you?

Sir Paul paid tribute to both John Lennon and George Harrison. Lennon was remembered with a very touching Here Today and Macca sang Harrison's Something, playing the ukulele. He told us what a great ukulele player George was. And Macca joked that Something (Harrison!) was Frank Sinatra's favourite Lennon/McCartney song !

On the grand piano Macca played My Valentine, a wonderful ballad which he dedicated to his wife: This one's for Nancy. Later in the show he would do the same with Maybe I'm Amazed, one of the often forgotten Macca jewels, dedicating it to his late wife Linda.

Goosebumps all over the Werchter crowd when Paul played Blackbird on his acoustic guitar. Wauw! Another absolute highlight was Eleanor Rigby, and the Beatle's musicians sang the choirs so beautifully: Oh, look at all the lonely people, where do they all come from? Now we're talking about Paul's backing band; what a bunch of great, overall musicians, great singers too! Oh, and what a joy it was to watch drummer Abe Laboriel Jr., what a nutter! Those big smiles, that enthousiasm! Bring it on, Abe!

Seeing Paul McCartney perform, witnessing so much passion and pleasure, one would almost forget about the man's age. 74 and well preserved, you could say. Of course the voice didn't sound that young at times, nor did he hit the highest keys flawlessly now and then. But Paul surely delivered, and more. And hey, I would like to see you and you and you at 74, performing over two hours on a festival!

When the show was over it was five minutes to midnight and if you looked around you saw nothing but smiling faces and happy people! The power of Macca! Chosing highlights from a 31 song-setlist containing nothing but wonderful songs is difficult, if not impossible: Band On The Run, Nineteen Hundred and Eighty-Five, Let Me Roll It, Live and Let Die, Eleanor Rigby, For the Benefit of Mr. Kite!, Back In The U.S.S.R., Here Today, Something and Maybe I'm Amazed.. oh and Blackbird of course!

After Paul & co gave us five songs extra in the encores, Paul said: See you next time. We'lld love to, Paul. But please tell the bookers in heaven you're not ready yet, they have enough rock stars over there already, so keep on going, Paul!

Setlist:
Intro / A Hard Day's Night (The Beatles) / Save Us / Can't Buy Me Love (The Beatles) / Letting Go (Wings) / Let Me Roll It (Wings) / I've Got A Feeling (The Beatles) / My Valentine / Nineteen Hundred and Eighty Five (Wings) / Maybe I'm Amazed / We Can Work It Out (The Beatles) / In Spite of All The Anger (The Quarrymen) / Love Me Do (The Beatles) / Blackbird (The Beatles) / Here Today / New / Lady Madonna (The Beatles) / FourFiveSeconds / Eleanor Rigby (The Beatles) / Being for the Benefit of Mr. Kite! (The Beatles) / Something (The Beatles) / Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da (The Beatles) / Band on the Run (Wings) / Back in the U.S.S.R. (The Beatles) / Let it Be (The Beatles) / Live and Let Die (Wings) / Hey Jude (The Beatles)

Encore:
Hi, Hi, Hi (Wings) / Birthday (The Beatles) / Golden Slumbers (The Beatles) / Carry That Weight (The Beatles) / The End (The Beatles)

Mark VAN MULLEM
10/12/2016


NL

Donderdagavond 30 juni 2016 had Rock Werchter een memorabele afspraak met de geschiedenis. Niemand minder dan popkoning Paul McCartney stond, samen met een uitstekende vierkoppige band, te schitteren op de Werchterse weide. De goedlachse vitale legende van 74 lentes speelde ruim twee uur en deed dat met grote gretigheid met songs old and new and in between, zoals hij het zelf verwoordde, maar liefst 31 juweeltjes die hij onder eigen naam, met The Beatles of met Wings aan de wereld schonk. De Beatle haalde met In Spite of All The Anger zelfs een liedje van onder het stof dat hij met The Quarrymen opnam, een hoofdstuk dat het Beatles-tijdperk voorafging. Sir Paul McCartney vuurde de popparels vol enthousiasme af op een welwillend publiek, regelmatig ook tijd makend om wat duiding te geven bij sommige songs.


De introtape die om stipt 21.30 uur werd gestart, was een aaneenschakeling van Macca-composities en ging gepaard met visuals op de grote schermen. Leuk, zo'n samenvatting, maar een kwartier is misschien toch net iets te lang, niet Paul? Toen de Beatle en zijn band dan toch het podium opwandelden, ging meteen het spreekwoordelijke dak eraf, ook omdat ingezet werd met A Hard Day's Night. Het feest was begonnen. Na een voortreffelijk Save Us (uit het jonste album New, 2015) sprak de legende in iets wat héél goed op perfect Nederlands leek: Hallo, Werchter, ik ben blij hier te zijn. En meer popparels volgden.

Vanzelfsprekend zaten er véél Fab Four-hits in de setlist, afgewisseld met slechts enkele, goedgekozen solo-songs en tot mijn grote vreugde ook ruimschoots aandacht voor het Wings-repertoire. Het was dan ook genieten van een lekker rockend Let Me Roll It, Letting go, Nineteen Hundred and Eighty-Five, aangekondigd als OK, this one's for the Wings-fans, dankjewel, Paul, een geweldig Band On the Run en een subliem Live and Let Die, vuurwerk incluis. Wauw!

Wie zong er niét mee met Love Me Do, Can't Buy Me Love, We Can Work I Out en het obligate Hey Jude, maar ook met Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da. Dat af en toe uit The White Album (1968) geciteerd werd, was absoluut geen straf. Met uitstekende keuzes zoals een potig Back in The U.S.S.R of Birthday, dat aan iédereen die ooit wel eens een verjaardag viert, aan iedereen dus, werd opgedragen. Natuurlijk had ik graag ook Helter Skelter, Everybody's Got Something To Hide Except Me And My Monkey of Revolution gehoord, maar een mens kan niet alles hebben...

McCartney liet niet na de Fab Four-leden te eren die niet meer onder de levenden zijn. John Lennon werd herdacht met een bloedmooi Here Today, en voor George Harrison zong Macca diens Something, zichzelf begeleidend op de ukulele. McCartney vetrouwde ons toe dat Harrison een groot ukulelespeler was en grapte over de song van Harrison's hand: Frank Sinatra's favorite Lennon/McCartney-song!

Voor mijn vrouw Nancy, zei Paul, gezeten aan de grand piano, een heel mooi My Valentine inleidend. Later droeg hij Maybe I'm Amazed op aan Linda, destijds zijn vrouw.

Wat een absoluut kippenvelmoment toen Paul, alleen gewapend met de akoestische gitaar, Blackbird op de wei losliet. Slik. En hoe mooi klonk Eleanor Rigby, waarvoor de muzikanten een o zo perfect koortje vormden: Oh, look at all the lonely people, where do they all come from. Prachtig. Een dikke pluim trouwens voor de begeleidingsband van Macca, stuk voor stuk uitstekende muzikanten én zangers. En dat geldt zeer zeker voor de knotsgekke drummer Abe Laboriel Jr, een plezier om deze man bezig te zien, die grimassen, dat guitige lach en schaterlach, dat spelplezier!

De tijd lijkt op de Beatle van 74 jaar absoluut geen vat te hebben, al merkte je wel dat de stem niet meer altijd even zuiver is en dat de hoge noten Macca soms wat moeilijker vallen, maar dat is detailkritiek, want Macca wist zich nog uitstekend te redden. En hoe Sir Paul, pleger van mening popparel, met zichtbaar plezier, jeugdig enthousiasme en grote gretigheid op het podium staat, faut le faire. Doet u het hem na op uw 74ste? Ik niet!

In een set die bulkt van de topmomenten, een volle wei achterlatend met een gelukzalig gevoel, is het moeilijk hoogtepunten te plukken. En toch ga ik dat proberen; Band on the Run, Nineteen Hundred and Eighty Five, Let Me Roll It, Live and Let Die, Eleanor Rigby, For the Benefit of Mr. Kite, Back in the USSR, Here Today, Something, Maybe I'm Amazed... oh en Blackbird!!

Net voor de bisronde met ondermeer een knallend Hi, Hi, Hi van Wings en Carry That Weight, zei Paul: wij moeten doorgaan, alweer in het Nederlands, hij leert het nog. Na afloop zei Sir Paul See you next time! Graag, maar doe geen te gekke dingen, want dezer dagen zijn rockhelden van jouw generatie gegeerd voor festivals in het hiernamaals, Paul.

Setlist:
Intro / A Hard Day's Night (The Beatles) / Save Us / Can't Buy Me Love (The Beatles) / Letting Go (Wings) / Let Me Roll It (Wings) / I've Got A Feeling (The Beatles) / My Valentine / Nineteen Hundred and Eighty Five (Wings) / Maybe I'm Amazed / We Can Work It Out (The Beatles) / In Spite of All The Anger (The Quarrymen) / Love Me Do (The Beatles) / Blackbird (The Beatles) / Here Today / New / Lady Madonna (The Beatles) / FourFiveSeconds / Eleanor Rigby (The Beatles) / Being for the Benefit of Mr. Kite! (The Beatles) / Something (The Beatles) / Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da (The Beatles) / Band on the Run (Wings) / Back in the U.S.S.R. (The Beatles) / Let it Be (The Beatles) / Live and Let Die (Wings) / Hey Jude (The Beatles)

Encore:
Hi, Hi, Hi (Wings) / Birthday (The Beatles) / Golden Slumbers (The Beatles) / Carry That Weight (The Beatles) / The End (The Beatles)

Mark VAN MULLEM
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
GUY GARVEY • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
KATE RYAN • Comment Te Dire Adieu
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation
SON OF SAM • The Collapse of Ancient Funk vol. 2
DAS PROJEKT • Les Belles Infidèles
YVES SCHELPE (PSY'AVIAH) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
DAGEIST • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (25/06/2016)
QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS • Aligned With Juniper
SWITCHFOOT • When the Light Shines Through

 

Same combination of genres: POP + ROCK
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto
AN PIERLE • Arches
DAVID BOWIE • Black Star
MOTHERS • When You Walk a Long Distance You are Tired
SWEET BABOO • Dennis
MEILYR JONES • 2013
WILD NOTHING • Life of Pause
THE ANCHORESS • Confessions of a Romance Novelist

 

Same genre: POP
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop

 

Same genre: ROCK
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
NEIL YOUNG+PROMISE OF THE REAL + LAURA MARLING • London, O2 Arena (11/06/2016)
KOKO COHEN QUINTET • Kochenquit
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF (+ CHANTAL ACDA) • (Gent, Sint-Jacobskerk, 13/05/2016)

Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
09
SCHWEFELGELB
Bis zum Nächsten Tag