tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

10/10/2013 : PEDRO ALMODOVAR - Los Amantes Pasajeros

PEDRO ALMODOVAR

Los Amantes Pasajeros

Movie
Comedy

[60/100]   

A-Film
10/10/2013, Didier BECU

EN

 

Almodóvar is certainly one of the most important directors of Spanish cinema. Despite his current fame for psychological arthousethrillers such as La Mala Educaciòn, Volver, Los Abrazos Rotos or La Piel Que Habito, the cinematographer decided to return to his roots. It was his goal to give the Spanish audience a reason to laugh again, to escape themselves from the current eurocrisis, even if according to the director Los Amantes Pasajeros contains at the same time some strong criticism towards the Spanish politics. Honestly said we haven’t seen that much of it, but nonetheless we saw strong references to his early works like Laberinto De Pasiones and of course that classic Mujeres Al Borde De Un Ataque De Nervios.

The whole movie takes place in a plane. Due to some technological error, the plane is forced to fly in circles above Toledo. Of course it wasn’t Almodóvars goal to make some disaster movie. What we get is a hilarious comedy full of strange, flamboyant types. Nothing is serious, everything’s a parody, just like life. Most of the conversation deal about love: broken relationships, but especially the hunger for the unknown and in Almodóvars case that’s mostly gay love.

Many reviewers slashed down this picture. Some were saying that Almodóvar has become a director who has nothing left to tell, but at times it seems like it are the reviewers themselves who have no more words. It’s definitely true that Los Amantes Pasajeros has not become another masterpiece. Even more, you never notice that this movie is made by the man who made gems such as La Mala Educaciòn. But still, if you don’t count some embarrassing moments (like pursers singing I’m So Excited byThe Pointer Sisters), you can say Los Amantes Pasajeros is an amusing, entertaining comedy which is characterized by its splendid colors.

So yes, Los Amantes Pasajeros has its moments, even if our cinematographic heart longs to the psychological dramas.

In the Benelux Los Amantes Pasajeros has been released by A-Film on both dvd and (excellent!) Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
10/10/2013


NL

Almodóvar, het boegbeeld van de Spaanse cinema en maker van loodzware arthousethrillers als La Mala Educaciòn, Volver, Los Abrazos Rotos en La Piel Que Habito liet begin dit jaar in een interview weten dat zijn nieuwste film een terugkeer naar zijn roots zou zijn. Naar eigen zeggen wilde hij de Spaanse bevolking na de eurocrisis wat reden tot lachen geven, ook al schuilt er volgens de cineast in Los Amantes Pasajeros eveneens heel wat kritiek op het Spaanse beleid. Veel hebben we daar eerlijkheidshalve niet van gemerkt, wel knipogen naar vroegere films als Laberinto De Pasiones en natuurlijk Mujeres Al Borde De Un Ataque De Nervios.

De film speelt zich de hele tijd in een vliegtuig af. Door een stuk landingsgestel moet het vliegtuig rondjes boven Toledo vliegen. Almodóvar maakt er echter geen rampenfilm van, wel maken we kennis met heel wat flamboyante typetjes. Niets is serieus, alles is een klucht, net zoals het leven dus. De meeste gespreken gaan over de liefde: kapot gelopen relaties, maar vooral de hunker naar het onbekende (en bij Almodóvar is dat de homoliefde).

Heel wat critici hebben zich gestoord aan deze prent. Al gauw werd Almodóvar bestempeld als de cineast die niks meer te vertellen heeft, maar wellicht zijn het de heren recensenten zelf die geen woorden meer vinden. Het is waar dat Los Amantes Pasajeros niet meer is dan een leuk tussendoortje en dat je geen seconde merkt dat dit dezelfde man is die een cinefiel meesterwerk als La Mala Educaciòn uit zijn mouw toverde. Maar toch, op enkele genante momenten na (bijv. nichterige pursers die plots I’m So Excited van The Pointer Sisters ten gehore brengen) is Los Amantes Pasajeros een aangename, onderhoudende komedie die vooral opvalt door zijn prachtige kitscherige kleuren. Als deze komedie een weerspiegeling is van de manier waarop Almodóvar de wereld ziet dan is deze aardbol inderdaad een regelrechte parodie geworden.

Neen, Los Amantes Pasajeros is beslist leuk, alhoewel ons cinefiel hart hoopt dat de Spaanse grootmeester snel naar zijn psychologische drama’s terugkeert.

Los Amantes Pasajeros is in de Benelux uitgebracht op A-Film en is dat op zowel dvd als (een uitmuntende!) Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
10/10/2013


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap