tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : PET SHOP BOYS - Super

PET SHOP BOYS

Super

MusicCD
DiscoSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[60/100]   

x2
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe have not much to complain about. Since West End Girls, they scored many hits which made them filthy rich. They only had problems with serious music journalists. Too commercial, too simple, too gay... you name it, there was always something wrong with Pet Shop Boys when you asked music fans with a better taste (come on, get a life!) about their opinion.

We can laugh about it, but Pet Shop Boys was annoyed. The beautiful single Pop Kids speaks for itself with a chorus that goes like this: They called us the pop kids' cause we loved the pop hits. Meanwhile, the days they ruled Top Of The Pops are gone and the duo counts on fans who haven’t forgotten them. That is why this thirteenth album is so striking, simply because the British duo takes quite some risk on Super.

However, with courage alone you make no good record, and Super isn’t. The band, often described as the gay version of New Order, no longer functions as a hit machine. And yet, (if they want to) they can still write songs that typified their unique sound which made them immortal. Despite the contemporary beats, songs like Say It To Me, the disco anthem Burn, the moving The Dictator Decides or the socially critical Twenty-Something could have been on earlier classics like Actually or Behaviour. Unfortunately, the two also want to experiment with house and other electronics, which results in flat tracks as Happiness, Groovy or Pazzo! Nice try, but the result is an unbalanced CD with highs and lows and that is something pop kids better avoid!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Neil Tennant en Chris Lowe hebben niet te klagen. Sinds West End Girls scoorden ze steevast hits en werden stinkend rijk. Alleen met de serieuze muziekjournalisten lukte het niet al te best. Te commercieel, te simpel, te verwijfd... noem maar op, altijd was er wel iets waarover de muziekliefhebber met de betere smaak (laat ons niet lachen!) struikelde.

Wij kunnen er best om lachen, maar het zit Pet Shop Boys blijkbaar behoorlijk hoog. Op de prachtige single Pop Kids hebben ze het dan ook zonder twijfel over zichzelf: They called us the pop kids ‘cause we loved the pop hits. Inmiddels zijn de dagen dat ze Top Of The Pops onveilig maken al lang voorbij en moeten ze het hebben van de fans die hen alsnog niet in de vergeethoek hebben gegooid. Dat is dan ook de reden waarom dit dertiende album zo opvalt: het Britse duo neemt op Super redelijk veel risico.

Met moed alleen maak je echter nog geen goede plaat en dat is Super uiteindelijk ook niet geworden. De band die men altijd een beetje als de nichterige versie van New Order beschouwt, functioneert niet meer als een hitmachine, zo veel is zeker. En toch kunnen ze (indien ze dat willen) nog songs schrijven die hun geluid destijds zo typeerde. Ondanks de hedendaagse beats konden Say It To Me, de discokraker Burn, het ontroerende The Dictator Decides of het maatschappijkritische Twenty-Something op vroegere platen als Actually of Behaviour staan. Helaas willen de Britten ook experimenteren met house en aanverwanten waardoor je een platte brij als Happiness, Groovy of Pazzo! krijgt. Leuk geprobeerd, maar het levert een onevenwichtige plaat op met hoogtes en laagtes en dat mogen pop kids niet doen!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis