tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : PET SHOP BOYS - Super

PET SHOP BOYS

Super

MusicCD
DiscoSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[60/100]   

x2
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe have not much to complain about. Since West End Girls, they scored many hits which made them filthy rich. They only had problems with serious music journalists. Too commercial, too simple, too gay... you name it, there was always something wrong with Pet Shop Boys when you asked music fans with a better taste (come on, get a life!) about their opinion.

We can laugh about it, but Pet Shop Boys was annoyed. The beautiful single Pop Kids speaks for itself with a chorus that goes like this: They called us the pop kids' cause we loved the pop hits. Meanwhile, the days they ruled Top Of The Pops are gone and the duo counts on fans who haven’t forgotten them. That is why this thirteenth album is so striking, simply because the British duo takes quite some risk on Super.

However, with courage alone you make no good record, and Super isn’t. The band, often described as the gay version of New Order, no longer functions as a hit machine. And yet, (if they want to) they can still write songs that typified their unique sound which made them immortal. Despite the contemporary beats, songs like Say It To Me, the disco anthem Burn, the moving The Dictator Decides or the socially critical Twenty-Something could have been on earlier classics like Actually or Behaviour. Unfortunately, the two also want to experiment with house and other electronics, which results in flat tracks as Happiness, Groovy or Pazzo! Nice try, but the result is an unbalanced CD with highs and lows and that is something pop kids better avoid!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Neil Tennant en Chris Lowe hebben niet te klagen. Sinds West End Girls scoorden ze steevast hits en werden stinkend rijk. Alleen met de serieuze muziekjournalisten lukte het niet al te best. Te commercieel, te simpel, te verwijfd... noem maar op, altijd was er wel iets waarover de muziekliefhebber met de betere smaak (laat ons niet lachen!) struikelde.

Wij kunnen er best om lachen, maar het zit Pet Shop Boys blijkbaar behoorlijk hoog. Op de prachtige single Pop Kids hebben ze het dan ook zonder twijfel over zichzelf: They called us the pop kids ‘cause we loved the pop hits. Inmiddels zijn de dagen dat ze Top Of The Pops onveilig maken al lang voorbij en moeten ze het hebben van de fans die hen alsnog niet in de vergeethoek hebben gegooid. Dat is dan ook de reden waarom dit dertiende album zo opvalt: het Britse duo neemt op Super redelijk veel risico.

Met moed alleen maak je echter nog geen goede plaat en dat is Super uiteindelijk ook niet geworden. De band die men altijd een beetje als de nichterige versie van New Order beschouwt, functioneert niet meer als een hitmachine, zo veel is zeker. En toch kunnen ze (indien ze dat willen) nog songs schrijven die hun geluid destijds zo typeerde. Ondanks de hedendaagse beats konden Say It To Me, de discokraker Burn, het ontroerende The Dictator Decides of het maatschappijkritische Twenty-Something op vroegere platen als Actually of Behaviour staan. Helaas willen de Britten ook experimenteren met house en aanverwanten waardoor je een platte brij als Happiness, Groovy of Pazzo! krijgt. Leuk geprobeerd, maar het levert een onevenwichtige plaat op met hoogtes en laagtes en dat mogen pop kids niet doen!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

04
12
MERZBOW
Screaming Dove
03
12
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Shadow Of Fear
02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
12
This month, 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
Russian Dark Community in search of new blood
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
12
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
03
12
ORKESTRA OBSOLETE
Blue Monday
02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven