tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : PET SHOP BOYS - Super

PET SHOP BOYS

Super

MusicCD
DiscoSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[60/100]   

x2
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe have not much to complain about. Since West End Girls, they scored many hits which made them filthy rich. They only had problems with serious music journalists. Too commercial, too simple, too gay... you name it, there was always something wrong with Pet Shop Boys when you asked music fans with a better taste (come on, get a life!) about their opinion.

We can laugh about it, but Pet Shop Boys was annoyed. The beautiful single Pop Kids speaks for itself with a chorus that goes like this: They called us the pop kids' cause we loved the pop hits. Meanwhile, the days they ruled Top Of The Pops are gone and the duo counts on fans who haven’t forgotten them. That is why this thirteenth album is so striking, simply because the British duo takes quite some risk on Super.

However, with courage alone you make no good record, and Super isn’t. The band, often described as the gay version of New Order, no longer functions as a hit machine. And yet, (if they want to) they can still write songs that typified their unique sound which made them immortal. Despite the contemporary beats, songs like Say It To Me, the disco anthem Burn, the moving The Dictator Decides or the socially critical Twenty-Something could have been on earlier classics like Actually or Behaviour. Unfortunately, the two also want to experiment with house and other electronics, which results in flat tracks as Happiness, Groovy or Pazzo! Nice try, but the result is an unbalanced CD with highs and lows and that is something pop kids better avoid!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Neil Tennant en Chris Lowe hebben niet te klagen. Sinds West End Girls scoorden ze steevast hits en werden stinkend rijk. Alleen met de serieuze muziekjournalisten lukte het niet al te best. Te commercieel, te simpel, te verwijfd... noem maar op, altijd was er wel iets waarover de muziekliefhebber met de betere smaak (laat ons niet lachen!) struikelde.

Wij kunnen er best om lachen, maar het zit Pet Shop Boys blijkbaar behoorlijk hoog. Op de prachtige single Pop Kids hebben ze het dan ook zonder twijfel over zichzelf: They called us the pop kids ‘cause we loved the pop hits. Inmiddels zijn de dagen dat ze Top Of The Pops onveilig maken al lang voorbij en moeten ze het hebben van de fans die hen alsnog niet in de vergeethoek hebben gegooid. Dat is dan ook de reden waarom dit dertiende album zo opvalt: het Britse duo neemt op Super redelijk veel risico.

Met moed alleen maak je echter nog geen goede plaat en dat is Super uiteindelijk ook niet geworden. De band die men altijd een beetje als de nichterige versie van New Order beschouwt, functioneert niet meer als een hitmachine, zo veel is zeker. En toch kunnen ze (indien ze dat willen) nog songs schrijven die hun geluid destijds zo typeerde. Ondanks de hedendaagse beats konden Say It To Me, de discokraker Burn, het ontroerende The Dictator Decides of het maatschappijkritische Twenty-Something op vroegere platen als Actually of Behaviour staan. Helaas willen de Britten ook experimenteren met house en aanverwanten waardoor je een platte brij als Happiness, Groovy of Pazzo! krijgt. Leuk geprobeerd, maar het levert een onevenwichtige plaat op met hoogtes en laagtes en dat mogen pop kids niet doen!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer
22
08
NAIROD YARG
Nairod Yarg
17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
08
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS
Jesus Alone
24
08
SLEEPING PULSE
War
23
08
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy