tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

11/12/2016 : PET SHOP BOYS - Super

PET SHOP BOYS

Super

MusicCD
DiscoSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[60/100]   

x2
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe have not much to complain about. Since West End Girls, they scored many hits which made them filthy rich. They only had problems with serious music journalists. Too commercial, too simple, too gay... you name it, there was always something wrong with Pet Shop Boys when you asked music fans with a better taste (come on, get a life!) about their opinion.

We can laugh about it, but Pet Shop Boys was annoyed. The beautiful single Pop Kids speaks for itself with a chorus that goes like this: They called us the pop kids' cause we loved the pop hits. Meanwhile, the days they ruled Top Of The Pops are gone and the duo counts on fans who haven’t forgotten them. That is why this thirteenth album is so striking, simply because the British duo takes quite some risk on Super.

However, with courage alone you make no good record, and Super isn’t. The band, often described as the gay version of New Order, no longer functions as a hit machine. And yet, (if they want to) they can still write songs that typified their unique sound which made them immortal. Despite the contemporary beats, songs like Say It To Me, the disco anthem Burn, the moving The Dictator Decides or the socially critical Twenty-Something could have been on earlier classics like Actually or Behaviour. Unfortunately, the two also want to experiment with house and other electronics, which results in flat tracks as Happiness, Groovy or Pazzo! Nice try, but the result is an unbalanced CD with highs and lows and that is something pop kids better avoid!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Neil Tennant en Chris Lowe hebben niet te klagen. Sinds West End Girls scoorden ze steevast hits en werden stinkend rijk. Alleen met de serieuze muziekjournalisten lukte het niet al te best. Te commercieel, te simpel, te verwijfd... noem maar op, altijd was er wel iets waarover de muziekliefhebber met de betere smaak (laat ons niet lachen!) struikelde.

Wij kunnen er best om lachen, maar het zit Pet Shop Boys blijkbaar behoorlijk hoog. Op de prachtige single Pop Kids hebben ze het dan ook zonder twijfel over zichzelf: They called us the pop kids ‘cause we loved the pop hits. Inmiddels zijn de dagen dat ze Top Of The Pops onveilig maken al lang voorbij en moeten ze het hebben van de fans die hen alsnog niet in de vergeethoek hebben gegooid. Dat is dan ook de reden waarom dit dertiende album zo opvalt: het Britse duo neemt op Super redelijk veel risico.

Met moed alleen maak je echter nog geen goede plaat en dat is Super uiteindelijk ook niet geworden. De band die men altijd een beetje als de nichterige versie van New Order beschouwt, functioneert niet meer als een hitmachine, zo veel is zeker. En toch kunnen ze (indien ze dat willen) nog songs schrijven die hun geluid destijds zo typeerde. Ondanks de hedendaagse beats konden Say It To Me, de discokraker Burn, het ontroerende The Dictator Decides of het maatschappijkritische Twenty-Something op vroegere platen als Actually of Behaviour staan. Helaas willen de Britten ook experimenteren met house en aanverwanten waardoor je een platte brij als Happiness, Groovy of Pazzo! krijgt. Leuk geprobeerd, maar het levert een onevenwichtige plaat op met hoogtes en laagtes en dat mogen pop kids niet doen!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!
23
12
Exactly one year ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Not the Actual Events'.
18
12
North American Industrial/Metal band Ministry announce new album with new single & video!
15
12
Black Needle Noise releases SyStem Bi feat. Fakeba single and video

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’
19
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
'Everything I've learned I know from records... (though I often misheard the words)'

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
13
01
VIIII
Fury
13
01
VOITH
A Christmas Eve In Berlin (Official Video)
12
01
REIZSTROM
Invisible Force
11
01
EYE STEAL
Burn Alive