tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : PET SHOP BOYS - Super

PET SHOP BOYS

Super

MusicCD
DiscoSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[60/100]   

x2
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe have not much to complain about. Since West End Girls, they scored many hits which made them filthy rich. They only had problems with serious music journalists. Too commercial, too simple, too gay... you name it, there was always something wrong with Pet Shop Boys when you asked music fans with a better taste (come on, get a life!) about their opinion.

We can laugh about it, but Pet Shop Boys was annoyed. The beautiful single Pop Kids speaks for itself with a chorus that goes like this: They called us the pop kids' cause we loved the pop hits. Meanwhile, the days they ruled Top Of The Pops are gone and the duo counts on fans who haven’t forgotten them. That is why this thirteenth album is so striking, simply because the British duo takes quite some risk on Super.

However, with courage alone you make no good record, and Super isn’t. The band, often described as the gay version of New Order, no longer functions as a hit machine. And yet, (if they want to) they can still write songs that typified their unique sound which made them immortal. Despite the contemporary beats, songs like Say It To Me, the disco anthem Burn, the moving The Dictator Decides or the socially critical Twenty-Something could have been on earlier classics like Actually or Behaviour. Unfortunately, the two also want to experiment with house and other electronics, which results in flat tracks as Happiness, Groovy or Pazzo! Nice try, but the result is an unbalanced CD with highs and lows and that is something pop kids better avoid!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Neil Tennant en Chris Lowe hebben niet te klagen. Sinds West End Girls scoorden ze steevast hits en werden stinkend rijk. Alleen met de serieuze muziekjournalisten lukte het niet al te best. Te commercieel, te simpel, te verwijfd... noem maar op, altijd was er wel iets waarover de muziekliefhebber met de betere smaak (laat ons niet lachen!) struikelde.

Wij kunnen er best om lachen, maar het zit Pet Shop Boys blijkbaar behoorlijk hoog. Op de prachtige single Pop Kids hebben ze het dan ook zonder twijfel over zichzelf: They called us the pop kids ‘cause we loved the pop hits. Inmiddels zijn de dagen dat ze Top Of The Pops onveilig maken al lang voorbij en moeten ze het hebben van de fans die hen alsnog niet in de vergeethoek hebben gegooid. Dat is dan ook de reden waarom dit dertiende album zo opvalt: het Britse duo neemt op Super redelijk veel risico.

Met moed alleen maak je echter nog geen goede plaat en dat is Super uiteindelijk ook niet geworden. De band die men altijd een beetje als de nichterige versie van New Order beschouwt, functioneert niet meer als een hitmachine, zo veel is zeker. En toch kunnen ze (indien ze dat willen) nog songs schrijven die hun geluid destijds zo typeerde. Ondanks de hedendaagse beats konden Say It To Me, de discokraker Burn, het ontroerende The Dictator Decides of het maatschappijkritische Twenty-Something op vroegere platen als Actually of Behaviour staan. Helaas willen de Britten ook experimenteren met house en aanverwanten waardoor je een platte brij als Happiness, Groovy of Pazzo! krijgt. Leuk geprobeerd, maar het levert een onevenwichtige plaat op met hoogtes en laagtes en dat mogen pop kids niet doen!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
06
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On