tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/08/2011 : PETE AND THE PIRATES - One Thousand Pictures

PETE AND THE PIRATES

One Thousand Pictures

MusicCD
IndiePopRock

[68/100]   
16/08/2011, Bernadette ALLAERT

EN

One Thousand Pictures is the second album by the British group Pete And The Pirates. The album contains pop songs that are built according to the well-known and approved pattern, but in order to become part of the Britpop-scene a few more steps should be taken.

The first song Can’t Fish attracts attention, if only because of the opening sentence: something you fear came into town. Still, the song sounds a little too folky to be convincing. That lack of persuasiveness applies to the entire record. In the way the instruments are used, experiment and boldness are few and far between. It is mainly the building up of rhythms and the rhythm and tempo changes, that give the numbers the necessary verve. A start for experimentation can be heard in the song Winter 1. Also the lyrics can be worked on. It is a skill to make music and text coincide, or to write no-nonsense lyrics. Not everything needs to get bogged down in incomprehensible cryptic lyrics, but it is not enough to write down a few beautiful sentences and compose a musical framework around it.
The whole remains pale and lacks originality. This record does not contain the ultimate hit. One Thousand Pictures is a next step to outgrow, the try-out level. For the next album some more explicit style choices could be made​​. In order to score a hit Pete and his Pirates will have to look for a haunting melody.

Bernadette ALLAERT
16/08/2011


NL

One Thousand Pictures is het tweede album van de Britse groep Pete And The Pirates. Het album bevat popsongs die volgens het beproefde stramien zijn opgebouwd. Om tot de Britpop-scène te gaan behoren moeten er echter nog enkele stappen gezet worden.

Het eerste nummer Can’t Fish trekt de aandacht, al was het maar omwille van de openingszin: something you fear came into town. Toch klinkt het nummer een beetje te folky om overtuigend te zijn. En dat gemis aan overtuigingskracht geldt voor de gehele plaat. Er is weinig experiment en durf aanwezig in de manier waarop de instrumenten worden gebruikt. Het zijn vooral de opgebouwde ritmes en de ritme- en tempowisselingen die aan de nummers de nodige schwung geven. Een aanzet tot experiment is te horen in het nummer Winter 1. Ook aan de songteksten kan gewerkt worden. Het is een kunst om tekst en muziek te laten samenvallen, of om no-nonsense teksten te schrijven. Het is niet zo dat alles hoeft te verzanden in onbegrijpelijke cryptische songteksten, maar het opschrijven van een paar mooie zinnen en daar een muzikaal raamwerk rond componeren, is niet voldoende.
Het geheel blijft flauw en mist originaliteit. De ultieme hit zit hier voorlopig niet tussen. One Thousand Pictures is een volgende stap om het niveau van het repetitiekot te ontgroeien. Voor de volgende plaat zouden wat meer expliciete stijlkeuzes kunnen gemaakt worden. Om een hit te scoren zullen Pete en zijn Pirates op zoek moeten gaan naar een beklijvende melodie.

Bernadette ALLAERT
16/08/2011


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVERNANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire