tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : PETE SHELLEY - Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds

PETE SHELLEY

Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds

MusicCD
Indie RockPost Punk
Caroline International
10/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

This limited-edition release of 'seminal electronic work' by one of the UK's oft-overlooked synth-pop creators doesn't just hold retro sway with the contents' origins - new-wave designer Malcolm Garrett has crafted the somewhat minimal sleeve and post-punk observer and archivist Jon Savage formulated the sleeve-notes. So that's a tick-list in itself. Add in the composer's CV - co-founder and singer of Buzzcocks, plus responsible for a string of cerebral synth-pop albums in the '80s before regrouping the former and resuming live duties - and Cinema Music becomes something of an astonishing album.

This is the 1976 that wasn't made public. Beyond punk's sneering snotty underbelly, disco's rigidly streetwise candour and prog's occasionally po-faced histrionics, electronic music was largely overruled by the mainstream music-press and the opinion-worshipping record-buying public of the time. Kraftwerk, Cluster, Neu! and Can weren't exactly flavour of the month with UK audiences in the mid-'70s, although this shameful state of affairs began to change with the advent of Trans Europe Express.

Shelley's contribution to electronica began in 1974 with the distorted primitive machined oscillations that went on to form the album Sky Yen, finally issued in 1980. Cinema Music isn't dissimilar in that it's a vocal-free experience, however the final result is somewhat more listenable, save for the discordant diz-rhythmia generated at various intervals in Part Two. Before all that, the 21-minute first track utilises the deftest of drum machines, pulsating keyboards and random ad-hoc melodies that gradually fuse into a funereal sombre denouement.

The aforementioned side two is less restrained and more like random druggy library music for those that hate to sleep. A mite disturbed, schizoid even, Part Two rattles around like ball-bearings in a tin, replete with ad-hoc melodies and monotone indistinct cacophonous stabs.

Poles apart from Shelley's later radio-friendly solo efforts and earlier Buzzcocks anthems, Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds nonetheless inadvertently carries the punk aesthetic of doing what you want and doing it yourself. A curio brimming with heritage and charm.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
OS NOCTAMBULOS • Stranger
CAMERA • Phantom Of Liberty
BE • One
THE HIGH LLAMAS • Here Come The Rattling Trees
AURRA • Body Rock
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase
FIELD MUSIC • Commontime
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
JOHN FOXX • Burning Car
M CRAFT • Blood Moon

 

Other reviews from PETE SHELLEY
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds:

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE ROCK + POST PUNK
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days
RADICAL BOYS/PJARO • Business, Commerce and the Internet
THE BLOWOUTS • A Veteran of Sorts
CHICK QUEST • Vs Galore
TWO GALLANTS • We Are Undone
THE TWILIGHT SAD • Nobody Wants To be Here, and Nobody Wants to Leave
YOUNG KNIVES • Sick Octave

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
THE HEAT INC. • EP
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire