tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness

PETER CHELSOM

Hector And The Search For Happiness

Movie
ComedyFeelgood Movie

[61/100]   

Imagine Films
16/02/2015, Didier BECU

EN

We had never heard the title before, but there are two million copies worldwide sold of Hector And The Search For Happiness. If everyone who read the book by French psychiatrist François LeLord went to see the movie, then that would be a reason to cheer, must have thought director Peter Chelsom. The result wasn’t exactly that, it is even a tad lame, but anyone who is looking for a decent feelgood movie (oh, how we hate that term!) knows what to watch!

Hector (Simon Pegg) leads a luxurious life in the heart of London. He earns his living as a psychiatrist, and with his wife Clara (Rosamund Pike) everything goes well. And yet, the shrink makes it difficult for himself. Through numerous conversations with his patients he wonders what happiness really is. He hopes to find the answer during a world tour that brings him to the strangest characters.

We know Simon Pegg mainly from British comedies like Hot Fuzz and The World's End, and in this movie he is just doing what is asked of him. It is quite difficult to identify ourselves with the boring philistine he performs. Fortunately, there are a lot of other colourful characters in the film. There is for example Stellan Skarsgård as a crafty banker or Jean Reno as (how could it be otherwise?) a dangerous drug lord. It is a pity that director Peter Chelsom, who previously made absurdities like Serendipity and Shall We Dance, plays it all too safe. Sometimes it seems like the many quotes are taken from those "Love is…" cartoons. Shame he didn’t dare to go any further. With more courage Hector And The Search For Happiness could have been as attractive as The Secret Life Of Walter Mitty, now it is just a funny movie to watch.

Didier BECU
16/02/2015


NL

Het zal wellicht aan ons liggen, maar we bibberen bij de gedachte dat de wereld storm loopt voor een film als 50 Shades Of Grey. Misschien zijn mensen die dolverliefd zijn op het medium film net iets anders dan de rest, want eerlijkheidshalve komt diezelfde angst terug als we het woord feelgoodfilm horen vallen. Het lijkt inderdaad verdraaid veel op een term die is bedacht door één of andere Flair-redactrice die er moet voor zorgen dat zwartkijkers plots weer wat levensvreugde krijgen door het bekijken van een lullige film. In ieder geval kunnen we pagina’s vullen met titels van zulke films, gelukkig zijn er ook uitzonderingen. Hector And The Search For Happiness is wel niet meteen een meesterwerk dat je niet mag missen, wel blijf je ten minste kijken zonder dat je halverwege je oog op je horloge laat vallen om te controleren hoe lang de ellendige filmtrip nog duurt!

Zelf hadden we er nog nooit van gehoord, maar er zijn wereldwijd twee miljoen exemplaren van het boek Hector And The Search For Happiness verkocht. Als je al die mensen, die het werk van de Franse psychiater François Lelord lazen, ook nog naar een filmzaal kan krijgen, dan heb je natuurlijk alle redenen tot juichen, moet regisseur Peter Chelsom hebben gedacht. Zo’n vaart liep het echter niet, want daarvoor blinkt de film niet voldoende uit (op bepaalde momenten is ie zelfs slapjes), maar wel is het een feelgoodfilm waarvoor je je niet hoeft te schamen, en dat is ook al een verdienste.

Hector (Simon Pegg) heeft een royaal leventje in hartje Londen. Als psychiater verdient hij goed zijn brood en ook met zijn echtgenote Clara (Rosamund Pike) loopt alles zoals het hoort. Toch maakt de zielenknijper het zichzelf moeilijk. Door de talrijke gespreken met zijn patiënten stelt hij zich luidop de vraag wat geluk nu eigenlijk is. Het antwoord daarop hoopt hij te vinden in een wereldreis die hem bij de meest vreemde personages brengt.

Simon Pegg die we vooral uit Britse komedies zoals Hot Fuzz en The World’s End kennen, doet wat van hem wordt gevraagd. Wel is het vrij moeilijk om je te vereenzelvigen met de saaie droogstoppel Hecto, ofschoon er gelukkig heel wat andere kleurrijke personages langskomen, zo is er bijv. Stellan Skarsgård als gehaaide bankier of Jean Reno als (hoe kan het ook anders) gevaarlijke drugsbaron. Alleen jammer dat regisseur Peter Chelsom, die ons eerder met afgrijselijke ondingen als Serendipity en Shall We Dance opzadelde, te veel op veilig speelt. Soms lijken de vele spreuken die de revue passeren net iets te veel op de belachelijke verzinsels van de Bond Zonder Naam. Met wat durf zou Hector And The Search For Happiness minstens even attractief als The Secret Life Of Walter Mitty kunnen zijn, nu is het gewoon leuk.

Hector And The Search For Happiness is vanaf nu op dvd uit via Imagine Films.

Didier BECU
16/02/2015


16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)
12
09
SPANKRAGHT
N16