tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness

PETER CHELSOM

Hector And The Search For Happiness

Movie
ComedyFeelgood Movie

[61/100]   

Imagine Films
16/02/2015, Didier BECU

EN

We had never heard the title before, but there are two million copies worldwide sold of Hector And The Search For Happiness. If everyone who read the book by French psychiatrist François LeLord went to see the movie, then that would be a reason to cheer, must have thought director Peter Chelsom. The result wasn’t exactly that, it is even a tad lame, but anyone who is looking for a decent feelgood movie (oh, how we hate that term!) knows what to watch!

Hector (Simon Pegg) leads a luxurious life in the heart of London. He earns his living as a psychiatrist, and with his wife Clara (Rosamund Pike) everything goes well. And yet, the shrink makes it difficult for himself. Through numerous conversations with his patients he wonders what happiness really is. He hopes to find the answer during a world tour that brings him to the strangest characters.

We know Simon Pegg mainly from British comedies like Hot Fuzz and The World's End, and in this movie he is just doing what is asked of him. It is quite difficult to identify ourselves with the boring philistine he performs. Fortunately, there are a lot of other colourful characters in the film. There is for example Stellan Skarsgård as a crafty banker or Jean Reno as (how could it be otherwise?) a dangerous drug lord. It is a pity that director Peter Chelsom, who previously made absurdities like Serendipity and Shall We Dance, plays it all too safe. Sometimes it seems like the many quotes are taken from those "Love is…" cartoons. Shame he didn’t dare to go any further. With more courage Hector And The Search For Happiness could have been as attractive as The Secret Life Of Walter Mitty, now it is just a funny movie to watch.

Didier BECU
16/02/2015


NL

Het zal wellicht aan ons liggen, maar we bibberen bij de gedachte dat de wereld storm loopt voor een film als 50 Shades Of Grey. Misschien zijn mensen die dolverliefd zijn op het medium film net iets anders dan de rest, want eerlijkheidshalve komt diezelfde angst terug als we het woord feelgoodfilm horen vallen. Het lijkt inderdaad verdraaid veel op een term die is bedacht door één of andere Flair-redactrice die er moet voor zorgen dat zwartkijkers plots weer wat levensvreugde krijgen door het bekijken van een lullige film. In ieder geval kunnen we pagina’s vullen met titels van zulke films, gelukkig zijn er ook uitzonderingen. Hector And The Search For Happiness is wel niet meteen een meesterwerk dat je niet mag missen, wel blijf je ten minste kijken zonder dat je halverwege je oog op je horloge laat vallen om te controleren hoe lang de ellendige filmtrip nog duurt!

Zelf hadden we er nog nooit van gehoord, maar er zijn wereldwijd twee miljoen exemplaren van het boek Hector And The Search For Happiness verkocht. Als je al die mensen, die het werk van de Franse psychiater François Lelord lazen, ook nog naar een filmzaal kan krijgen, dan heb je natuurlijk alle redenen tot juichen, moet regisseur Peter Chelsom hebben gedacht. Zo’n vaart liep het echter niet, want daarvoor blinkt de film niet voldoende uit (op bepaalde momenten is ie zelfs slapjes), maar wel is het een feelgoodfilm waarvoor je je niet hoeft te schamen, en dat is ook al een verdienste.

Hector (Simon Pegg) heeft een royaal leventje in hartje Londen. Als psychiater verdient hij goed zijn brood en ook met zijn echtgenote Clara (Rosamund Pike) loopt alles zoals het hoort. Toch maakt de zielenknijper het zichzelf moeilijk. Door de talrijke gespreken met zijn patiënten stelt hij zich luidop de vraag wat geluk nu eigenlijk is. Het antwoord daarop hoopt hij te vinden in een wereldreis die hem bij de meest vreemde personages brengt.

Simon Pegg die we vooral uit Britse komedies zoals Hot Fuzz en The World’s End kennen, doet wat van hem wordt gevraagd. Wel is het vrij moeilijk om je te vereenzelvigen met de saaie droogstoppel Hecto, ofschoon er gelukkig heel wat andere kleurrijke personages langskomen, zo is er bijv. Stellan Skarsgård als gehaaide bankier of Jean Reno als (hoe kan het ook anders) gevaarlijke drugsbaron. Alleen jammer dat regisseur Peter Chelsom, die ons eerder met afgrijselijke ondingen als Serendipity en Shall We Dance opzadelde, te veel op veilig speelt. Soms lijken de vele spreuken die de revue passeren net iets te veel op de belachelijke verzinsels van de Bond Zonder Naam. Met wat durf zou Hector And The Search For Happiness minstens even attractief als The Secret Life Of Walter Mitty kunnen zijn, nu is het gewoon leuk.

Hector And The Search For Happiness is vanaf nu op dvd uit via Imagine Films.

Didier BECU
16/02/2015


16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness

Music reviews

17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other
16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum