tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness

PETER CHELSOM

Hector And The Search For Happiness

Movie
ComedyFeelgood Movie

[61/100]   

Imagine Films
16/02/2015, Didier BECU

EN

We had never heard the title before, but there are two million copies worldwide sold of Hector And The Search For Happiness. If everyone who read the book by French psychiatrist François LeLord went to see the movie, then that would be a reason to cheer, must have thought director Peter Chelsom. The result wasn’t exactly that, it is even a tad lame, but anyone who is looking for a decent feelgood movie (oh, how we hate that term!) knows what to watch!

Hector (Simon Pegg) leads a luxurious life in the heart of London. He earns his living as a psychiatrist, and with his wife Clara (Rosamund Pike) everything goes well. And yet, the shrink makes it difficult for himself. Through numerous conversations with his patients he wonders what happiness really is. He hopes to find the answer during a world tour that brings him to the strangest characters.

We know Simon Pegg mainly from British comedies like Hot Fuzz and The World's End, and in this movie he is just doing what is asked of him. It is quite difficult to identify ourselves with the boring philistine he performs. Fortunately, there are a lot of other colourful characters in the film. There is for example Stellan Skarsgård as a crafty banker or Jean Reno as (how could it be otherwise?) a dangerous drug lord. It is a pity that director Peter Chelsom, who previously made absurdities like Serendipity and Shall We Dance, plays it all too safe. Sometimes it seems like the many quotes are taken from those "Love is…" cartoons. Shame he didn’t dare to go any further. With more courage Hector And The Search For Happiness could have been as attractive as The Secret Life Of Walter Mitty, now it is just a funny movie to watch.

Didier BECU
16/02/2015


NL

Het zal wellicht aan ons liggen, maar we bibberen bij de gedachte dat de wereld storm loopt voor een film als 50 Shades Of Grey. Misschien zijn mensen die dolverliefd zijn op het medium film net iets anders dan de rest, want eerlijkheidshalve komt diezelfde angst terug als we het woord feelgoodfilm horen vallen. Het lijkt inderdaad verdraaid veel op een term die is bedacht door één of andere Flair-redactrice die er moet voor zorgen dat zwartkijkers plots weer wat levensvreugde krijgen door het bekijken van een lullige film. In ieder geval kunnen we pagina’s vullen met titels van zulke films, gelukkig zijn er ook uitzonderingen. Hector And The Search For Happiness is wel niet meteen een meesterwerk dat je niet mag missen, wel blijf je ten minste kijken zonder dat je halverwege je oog op je horloge laat vallen om te controleren hoe lang de ellendige filmtrip nog duurt!

Zelf hadden we er nog nooit van gehoord, maar er zijn wereldwijd twee miljoen exemplaren van het boek Hector And The Search For Happiness verkocht. Als je al die mensen, die het werk van de Franse psychiater François Lelord lazen, ook nog naar een filmzaal kan krijgen, dan heb je natuurlijk alle redenen tot juichen, moet regisseur Peter Chelsom hebben gedacht. Zo’n vaart liep het echter niet, want daarvoor blinkt de film niet voldoende uit (op bepaalde momenten is ie zelfs slapjes), maar wel is het een feelgoodfilm waarvoor je je niet hoeft te schamen, en dat is ook al een verdienste.

Hector (Simon Pegg) heeft een royaal leventje in hartje Londen. Als psychiater verdient hij goed zijn brood en ook met zijn echtgenote Clara (Rosamund Pike) loopt alles zoals het hoort. Toch maakt de zielenknijper het zichzelf moeilijk. Door de talrijke gespreken met zijn patiënten stelt hij zich luidop de vraag wat geluk nu eigenlijk is. Het antwoord daarop hoopt hij te vinden in een wereldreis die hem bij de meest vreemde personages brengt.

Simon Pegg die we vooral uit Britse komedies zoals Hot Fuzz en The World’s End kennen, doet wat van hem wordt gevraagd. Wel is het vrij moeilijk om je te vereenzelvigen met de saaie droogstoppel Hecto, ofschoon er gelukkig heel wat andere kleurrijke personages langskomen, zo is er bijv. Stellan Skarsgård als gehaaide bankier of Jean Reno als (hoe kan het ook anders) gevaarlijke drugsbaron. Alleen jammer dat regisseur Peter Chelsom, die ons eerder met afgrijselijke ondingen als Serendipity en Shall We Dance opzadelde, te veel op veilig speelt. Soms lijken de vele spreuken die de revue passeren net iets te veel op de belachelijke verzinsels van de Bond Zonder Naam. Met wat durf zou Hector And The Search For Happiness minstens even attractief als The Secret Life Of Walter Mitty kunnen zijn, nu is het gewoon leuk.

Hector And The Search For Happiness is vanaf nu op dvd uit via Imagine Films.

Didier BECU
16/02/2015


16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 41 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 45 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 5 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 32 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
47 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.
22
01
On this day, 13 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
SHE PAST AWAY
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
ASH CODE
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
MERCIFUL NUNS
Cremation
26
01
MARSHEAUX
Safe Tonight
25
01
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
24
01
EMPUSAE
Cadence Chamanique
23
01
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void
22
01
ESPLENDOR GEOMETRICO
Trybuna Robotnicza I
21
01
RABIA SORDA
King Of The Wasteland