tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness

PETER CHELSOM

Hector And The Search For Happiness

Movie
ComedyFeelgood Movie

[61/100]   

Imagine Films
16/02/2015, Didier BECU

EN

We had never heard the title before, but there are two million copies worldwide sold of Hector And The Search For Happiness. If everyone who read the book by French psychiatrist François LeLord went to see the movie, then that would be a reason to cheer, must have thought director Peter Chelsom. The result wasn’t exactly that, it is even a tad lame, but anyone who is looking for a decent feelgood movie (oh, how we hate that term!) knows what to watch!

Hector (Simon Pegg) leads a luxurious life in the heart of London. He earns his living as a psychiatrist, and with his wife Clara (Rosamund Pike) everything goes well. And yet, the shrink makes it difficult for himself. Through numerous conversations with his patients he wonders what happiness really is. He hopes to find the answer during a world tour that brings him to the strangest characters.

We know Simon Pegg mainly from British comedies like Hot Fuzz and The World's End, and in this movie he is just doing what is asked of him. It is quite difficult to identify ourselves with the boring philistine he performs. Fortunately, there are a lot of other colourful characters in the film. There is for example Stellan Skarsgård as a crafty banker or Jean Reno as (how could it be otherwise?) a dangerous drug lord. It is a pity that director Peter Chelsom, who previously made absurdities like Serendipity and Shall We Dance, plays it all too safe. Sometimes it seems like the many quotes are taken from those "Love is…" cartoons. Shame he didn’t dare to go any further. With more courage Hector And The Search For Happiness could have been as attractive as The Secret Life Of Walter Mitty, now it is just a funny movie to watch.

Didier BECU
16/02/2015


NL

Het zal wellicht aan ons liggen, maar we bibberen bij de gedachte dat de wereld storm loopt voor een film als 50 Shades Of Grey. Misschien zijn mensen die dolverliefd zijn op het medium film net iets anders dan de rest, want eerlijkheidshalve komt diezelfde angst terug als we het woord feelgoodfilm horen vallen. Het lijkt inderdaad verdraaid veel op een term die is bedacht door één of andere Flair-redactrice die er moet voor zorgen dat zwartkijkers plots weer wat levensvreugde krijgen door het bekijken van een lullige film. In ieder geval kunnen we pagina’s vullen met titels van zulke films, gelukkig zijn er ook uitzonderingen. Hector And The Search For Happiness is wel niet meteen een meesterwerk dat je niet mag missen, wel blijf je ten minste kijken zonder dat je halverwege je oog op je horloge laat vallen om te controleren hoe lang de ellendige filmtrip nog duurt!

Zelf hadden we er nog nooit van gehoord, maar er zijn wereldwijd twee miljoen exemplaren van het boek Hector And The Search For Happiness verkocht. Als je al die mensen, die het werk van de Franse psychiater François Lelord lazen, ook nog naar een filmzaal kan krijgen, dan heb je natuurlijk alle redenen tot juichen, moet regisseur Peter Chelsom hebben gedacht. Zo’n vaart liep het echter niet, want daarvoor blinkt de film niet voldoende uit (op bepaalde momenten is ie zelfs slapjes), maar wel is het een feelgoodfilm waarvoor je je niet hoeft te schamen, en dat is ook al een verdienste.

Hector (Simon Pegg) heeft een royaal leventje in hartje Londen. Als psychiater verdient hij goed zijn brood en ook met zijn echtgenote Clara (Rosamund Pike) loopt alles zoals het hoort. Toch maakt de zielenknijper het zichzelf moeilijk. Door de talrijke gespreken met zijn patiënten stelt hij zich luidop de vraag wat geluk nu eigenlijk is. Het antwoord daarop hoopt hij te vinden in een wereldreis die hem bij de meest vreemde personages brengt.

Simon Pegg die we vooral uit Britse komedies zoals Hot Fuzz en The World’s End kennen, doet wat van hem wordt gevraagd. Wel is het vrij moeilijk om je te vereenzelvigen met de saaie droogstoppel Hecto, ofschoon er gelukkig heel wat andere kleurrijke personages langskomen, zo is er bijv. Stellan Skarsgård als gehaaide bankier of Jean Reno als (hoe kan het ook anders) gevaarlijke drugsbaron. Alleen jammer dat regisseur Peter Chelsom, die ons eerder met afgrijselijke ondingen als Serendipity en Shall We Dance opzadelde, te veel op veilig speelt. Soms lijken de vele spreuken die de revue passeren net iets te veel op de belachelijke verzinsels van de Bond Zonder Naam. Met wat durf zou Hector And The Search For Happiness minstens even attractief als The Secret Life Of Walter Mitty kunnen zijn, nu is het gewoon leuk.

Hector And The Search For Happiness is vanaf nu op dvd uit via Imagine Films.

Didier BECU
16/02/2015


16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 16/02/2015 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness

Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
01
'Giving Ground”…and Gaining It: The First Sisterhood Single, 36 ago, 20 January 1986
19
01
Electronic Band LUSCIOUS APPARATUS Addresses Domestic Violence With New Single, 'Infiltrate'
19
01
On this day, 31 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
Horror Punk Band CUT LIKE THIS Personifies Insomnia With Latest Single, 'The Boogeyman' Featuring ANGELSPIT
18
01
On this day, 42 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
FREDRIK CROONA Condemns The Vain With New Project & Debut Single, 'Scum'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
01
FAUNLET
Anatomy
19
01
PSY'AVIAH FT MARIEKE LIGHTBAND
The Great Disconnect
18
01
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
17
01
MATT HART
Decimate
16
01
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
15
01
FATAL CASUALTIES
No Heaven
14
01
DI*OVE
Please Stop!