tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

31/03/2015 : PETER CORNWELL - Mercy

PETER CORNWELL

Mercy

Movie
Horror

[53/100]   

Universal Pictures
31/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

There appears to come no end to the adaptations of the writings of Stephen King, because Mercy is the next one. You do not immediately have to run to the library , because it is a short story from the Skeleton Crew collection from 1985, titled Gramma. However, the biggest asset is not the author, but Chandler Riggs, the kid from the popular The Walking Dead. Riggs plays the role of George, who feels strongly attracted to his grandmother Mercy (Shirley Knight). It's getting worse with the old grandmother and the family decides to let her spend her last days in family circle rather than in an retirement home for old people. During these last days, George discovers the dark secrets of his grandmother, as she is indeed a witch.

Despite the fact that Mercy is a small movie that was doomed from its early days to land on the DVD market, director Peter Cornwell, who previously directed The Haunting In Connecticut, could count on a well-known cast. Obviously there is the young Chandler Riggs, who you might forever link with his Walking Dead character Carl Grimes, but there are also Frances O 'Connor and Dylan McDermott. Although the film clearly focuses on Riggs’ popularity, Shirley Knight stars as an interesting grandmother. Thanks to her (at times insane) performance, you never notice that the movie was made with dirt-cheap special effects. Real shock effects are not included, certainly not in the first half hour, but despite that Mercy is still a nice horror thriller.

Mercy is now out on DVD by Universal.

Didier BECU
31/03/2015


NL

Er blijkt voorlopig geen einde te komen aan de Stephen King-verfilmingen, want Mercy is alweer zo eentje. Je hoeft niet meteen naar de bibliotheek (voor zo lang die nog bestaan!) te rennen, want het gaat om een kortverhaal uit de Skeleton Crew-collectie uit 1985 en dan nog met als titel Gramma. De grootste troef is evenwel niet de auteur, wel Chandler Riggs, het jochie uit de razend populaire The Walking Dead. Riggs vertolkt de rol van George, die zich sterk aangetrokken voelt tot zijn grootmoeder Mercy (Shirley Knight). Het gaat steeds slechter met de oude oma en de familie beslist dat ze haar laatste dagen in gezinskring door kan brengen in plaats van in een kil bejaardentehuis. Tijdens deze laatste dagen ontdekt George de donkere geheimen van zijn oma, zij is namelijk een heks.

Ondanks het feit dat Mercy een kleine film is die vanaf zijn begindagen was gedoemd om in de videorekken te belanden, kon regisseur Peter Cornwell, die eerder al The Haunting In Connecticut draaide, toch op een bekende cast rekenen. Uiteraard is er de jonge Chandler Riggs, die je wellicht eeuwig met zijn Walking Dead-personage Carl Grimes zal vereenzelvigen, maar er zijn ook Frances O’ Connor en Dylan McDermott. Alhoewel de film duidelijk focust op Riggs, is het vooral Shirley Knight als grootmoeder die het aandachtspunt van de film vormt. Dankzij haar (bij momenten krankzinnige) vertolking merk je niet eens dat de film is gemaakt met spotgoedkope special effects. Echte schrikeffecten zijn er niet, zeker niet in de eerste helft, maar desondanks is Mercy toch een leuke horrorthriller.

Mercy is vanaf nu op dvd uit via Universal.

Didier BECU
31/03/2015


31/03/2015 : PETER CORNWELL - Mercy 31/03/2015 : PETER CORNWELL - Mercy 31/03/2015 : PETER CORNWELL - Mercy 31/03/2015 : PETER CORNWELL - Mercy 31/03/2015 : PETER CORNWELL - Mercy 31/03/2015 : PETER CORNWELL - Mercy 31/03/2015 : PETER CORNWELL - Mercy 31/03/2015 : PETER CORNWELL - Mercy 31/03/2015 : PETER CORNWELL - Mercy 31/03/2015 : PETER CORNWELL - Mercy 31/03/2015 : PETER CORNWELL - Mercy 31/03/2015 : PETER CORNWELL - Mercy 31/03/2015 : PETER CORNWELL - Mercy 31/03/2015 : PETER CORNWELL - Mercy 31/03/2015 : PETER CORNWELL - Mercy 31/03/2015 : PETER CORNWELL - Mercy

Music reviews

15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth
20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...
14
02
Today, exactly 40 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
13
02
In The Light | Happy Birthday Peter Hook!
12
02
Producer/composer Phil Western (Download/PlatEAU/...) passed way on Saturday 9 February.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'
07
02
GOETHES ERBEN
Goethes Erben: Strangely enough, those who cry the loudest are not those who drown during their flight
01
02
WAYNE HUSSEY
'I think for every action there is a reaction.'

PHOTOS

10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules
11
02
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
11
02
ALVAR
The Fluid