tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

12/02/2014 : PETER WEBBER - Emperor

PETER WEBBER

Emperor

Movie
War Movie

[60/100]   

A-Film
12/02/2014, Didier BECU

EN

When seeing the poster you might think Emperor is a traditional warmovie because of the looks of Tommy Lee Jones as General Douglas MacArthur, but things are not what they seem like. This movie from Peter Webber that is written by Vera Blasi and David Klass pictures one of the most bizarre pages in American history. When Japan surrendered themselves in 1945 MacArthur had to clear out if Emperor Hirohito was a warcriminal or not. This investigation had to be done in ten days time and the officer turned over this difficult job to General Bonner Feller (Matthew Fox).


By reading all this, you tend to think that Emperor is a hard movie to deal with, but it’s not. Webber shows in a perfect way that there are no winners in a war. Both the Japanese and the American people have paid a heavy price for a stupid matter that could have been cleared out with words instead of weapons.


It probably has something to do with the unpopular subject, but this movie didn’t get that much attention when it was released in the theatres. A shame as Emperor is a tip everybody, even for those who don’t care what happened with Emperor Hirohito. The movie is characterized by a stunning photography and the acting is sublime as well. These days Tommy Lee Jones might not be the great star he once used to be, but his performance as the famous general with the weird pipe is simply great. At the end of the day both Japan and the US will remain two different cultures, but they have something in common too: war is misery.


Emperor is out on A-Film on both DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
12/02/2014


NL

Een blik op de poster met een nors uitziende Tommy Lee Jones als Generaal Douglas MacArthur laat vermoeden dat Emperor een oorlogsfilm is, maar schijn bedriegt. Deze prent van Peter Webber die door Vera Blasi en David Klass werd geschreven heeft het over één van de merkwaardigste momenten uit de Amerikaanse geschiedenis. Nadat Japan zich in 1945 had overgegeven, moest de staf van MacArthur uitmaken of Keizer Hirohito een oorlogsmisdadiger was of niet. Deze moeilijke kwestie moest in tien dagen worden geklaard en de bevelhebber van het Amerikaanse leger gaf deze klus door aan Generaal Bonner Feller (Matthew Fox).


Wie dat leest verwacht zich aan een loodzware film, maar dat is Emperor gelukkig niet. Op zeer subtiele wijze toont Webber dat er in een oorlog geen winnaars zijn. Zowel het Japanse als het Amerikaanse volk komt gehavend uit de zinloze strijd die talloze levens heeft verwoest. Wat met wapens werd beslecht, kon ook door simpele dialoog.


Waarschijnlijk zal het wel aan het onpopulaire onderwerp liggen, toch kreeg deze prent weinig of geen aandacht tijdens zijn bioscooprelease. Ten onrechte, want zelfs voor wie geen zier om het lot van Keizer Hirohito geeft is Emperor een aanrader. Niet alleen bezit de prent een knappe fotografie, ook zijn de vertolkingen van een hoog kaliber. Tommy Lee Jones is wel niet meer de ster die hij ooit was, desalniettemin geeft hij op indrukwekkende wijze gestalte aan de beroemde generaal met het vreemde pijpje. Japan en de VS zullen wellicht voor eeuwig twee aparte culturen blijven, maar ze hebben ook iets gemeen: oorlog is pure ellende.


Emperor is nu uit op A-Film en dit zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
12/02/2014


12/02/2014 : PETER WEBBER - Emperor 12/02/2014 : PETER WEBBER - Emperor 12/02/2014 : PETER WEBBER - Emperor 12/02/2014 : PETER WEBBER - Emperor 12/02/2014 : PETER WEBBER - Emperor 12/02/2014 : PETER WEBBER - Emperor 12/02/2014 : PETER WEBBER - Emperor 12/02/2014 : PETER WEBBER - Emperor 12/02/2014 : PETER WEBBER - Emperor 12/02/2014 : PETER WEBBER - Emperor 12/02/2014 : PETER WEBBER - Emperor 12/02/2014 : PETER WEBBER - Emperor 12/02/2014 : PETER WEBBER - Emperor 12/02/2014 : PETER WEBBER - Emperor

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)