tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man

PEYTON REED

Ant-Man

MovieCinema


[64/100]   

Walt Disney
17/07/2015, Didier BECU

EN

There was once a time when we could not wait to see a new superhero movie, but during recent years our retinas are so weary that it feels more like an aversion. Since Walt Disney bought Marvel, they are made in large numbers and (most important for them) they are a synonym for masses of money. Earlier this year we were overwhelmed with Avengers: Age of Ultron which is, if you don’t forget the budget, just about the dumbest movie that was released this year. But no one worries in Tinseltown, because the dollars are still coming in and so, they were looking for another summer hit. Last year we got the nice (but also overrated) Guardians Of The Galaxy, and this summer Ant-Man must be the superhero that leads Marvel to more money.

In the world of comics Ant-Man is a superhero who can stand alongside Iron Man or Captain America, but movie wise there is a problem. Superheroes fans generally like bombast, and how do you do that with a man who can transform himself to the size of an ant? It took ten years to make the film. Previous projects with the British director Edgar Wright (Shaun Of The Dead and Hot Fuzz) ended nowhere. It was actor Paul Rudd who turned the tide by rewriting the script. Ant-Man is supposed to be funny, but no one should forget that he is in the first place a Marvel hero.

For younger viewers it might be a new experience to see how a macro lens can make normal objects large, but older movie fans have seen these tricks before. In 1957 there was The Incredible Shrinking Man, and it was Disney who came up with Honey, I Shrunk The Kids in the 80s. The gadgets in Ant-Man are basically the same: a vacuum cleaner, the feet of men that seem to crush everything or a splash of water which is a devastating flood for an insect. The only difference is that the shrunken guy is not a victim, but a hero who helps the world get rid of a villain.

The choice of Paul Rudd as a super hero is not bad at all, just like Michael Douglas, who manipulates Ant-Man as Dr. Pym or Corey Stoll (of House Of Cards), who plays the role of villain Darren Cross (Corey Stoll). The story is okay, but the big problem is again the Disney factor that always takes the upper hand. Just like almost any other Marvel-movie, it is all too superficial, the villain is too caricatured and you always feel like being trapped between the CG-violence. And at the end of the day, it is all about characters you do not care about. We've written it before, but Ant-Man is once again a product that wants to spoil the popcorn eater, and that’s it! 

Didier BECU
17/07/2015


NL

Er was ooit een tijd dat je nauwelijks kon wachten tot er een nieuwe superheldenfilm in de zaal kwam, maar de laatste jaren zijn onze netvliezen er zo door vermoeid geraakt dat er nu eerder sprake is van een afkeer. Sinds Walt Disney Marvel opkocht, maakt men ze aan de lopende band en verdient men er bovendien massa’s geld mee. Eerder dit jaar werden we nog overstelpt met Avengers: Age of Ultron die, als je rekening houdt met het budget, zowat de domste film is die dit jaar is uitgebracht. Maar in Tinseltown is er niks aan de hand, want de dollars rollen nog steeds vlotjes binnen en dus was men op zoek naar een geschikte zomerhit. Vorig jaar hadden we het leuke (maar al evenzeer overschatte) Guardians Of The Galaxy, en deze zomer moet Ant-Man ervoor zorgen.

In de stripwereld is Ant-Man een superheld die zijn mannetje naast Iron Man of Captain America kan staan, maar in een filmversie is dat eventjes anders. Superheldenfans houden immers van bombast, en hoe los je dat nu op met een mannetje dat zich kan transformeren tot de grootte van een mier? Het duurde uiteindelijk tien jaar vooraleer de film er kwam. Eerdere projecten met de Britse regisseur Edgar Wright (Shaun Of The Dead en Hot Fuzz) liepen met een sisser af. Het was acteur Paul Rudd die het tij keerde door aan het script te sleutelen. Ant-Man moest grappig zijn, maar men mocht nooit uit het oog verliezen dat het in de eerste plaats een Marvel-held was.

Voor de jongere kijkers is het misschien een nieuwe ervaring om er met een macrolens voor te zorgen dat normale objecten bijzonder groot worden, maar doorgewinterde filmfans hebben deze trukendoos al eens eerder gezien. In 1957 was er al The Incredible Shrinking Man en het was Disney zelf die in de jaren 80 met Honey, I Shrunk The Kids op de proppen kwam. Het zijn bijna dezelfde gadgets die in Ant-Man aan bod komen: een stofzuiger, de voeten van mensen die alles lijken te verpletteren of een spat water die een insect ervaart als een allesvernietigende zondvloed. Het enige verschil is dat de gekrompen kerel geen slachtoffer is, maar een held die de wereld van een schurk moet afhelpen.

De keuze van Paul Rudd als superheld is zeker geen slechte, net als Michael Douglas die als dokter Pym Ant-Man manipuleert of Corey Stoll (uit House Of Cards) die de rol van slechterik Darren Cross (Corey Stoll) vertolkt. Het verhaal loopt lekker (alhoewel de uit te voeren opdracht allesbehalve simpel voorgesteld wordt), maar het grote probleem blijft alweer de Disney-factor die te veel de bovenhand neemt. Net zoals in andere Marvel-verfilmingen is het allemaal veel te oppervlakkig, is de slechterik veel te karikaturaal gemaakt en krijg je te veel het gevoel dat je tussen het CG-geweld gevangen zit. Men last wel enkele grapjes in (geloof echter niet als je ergens leest dat ze gedurfd zijn), maar uiteindelijk zijn het personages waar je geen moer om heeft. We hebben het al eerder geschreven, maar Ant-Man is weeral zo’n productie die de popcornvreter met clichés probeert te verwennen. Meer is het niet… 

Didier BECU
17/07/2015


17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
05
NITZER EBB
Join in the Chant (Burn!)
18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses