tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man

PEYTON REED

Ant-Man

MovieCinema


[64/100]   

Walt Disney
17/07/2015, Didier BECU

EN

There was once a time when we could not wait to see a new superhero movie, but during recent years our retinas are so weary that it feels more like an aversion. Since Walt Disney bought Marvel, they are made in large numbers and (most important for them) they are a synonym for masses of money. Earlier this year we were overwhelmed with Avengers: Age of Ultron which is, if you don’t forget the budget, just about the dumbest movie that was released this year. But no one worries in Tinseltown, because the dollars are still coming in and so, they were looking for another summer hit. Last year we got the nice (but also overrated) Guardians Of The Galaxy, and this summer Ant-Man must be the superhero that leads Marvel to more money.

In the world of comics Ant-Man is a superhero who can stand alongside Iron Man or Captain America, but movie wise there is a problem. Superheroes fans generally like bombast, and how do you do that with a man who can transform himself to the size of an ant? It took ten years to make the film. Previous projects with the British director Edgar Wright (Shaun Of The Dead and Hot Fuzz) ended nowhere. It was actor Paul Rudd who turned the tide by rewriting the script. Ant-Man is supposed to be funny, but no one should forget that he is in the first place a Marvel hero.

For younger viewers it might be a new experience to see how a macro lens can make normal objects large, but older movie fans have seen these tricks before. In 1957 there was The Incredible Shrinking Man, and it was Disney who came up with Honey, I Shrunk The Kids in the 80s. The gadgets in Ant-Man are basically the same: a vacuum cleaner, the feet of men that seem to crush everything or a splash of water which is a devastating flood for an insect. The only difference is that the shrunken guy is not a victim, but a hero who helps the world get rid of a villain.

The choice of Paul Rudd as a super hero is not bad at all, just like Michael Douglas, who manipulates Ant-Man as Dr. Pym or Corey Stoll (of House Of Cards), who plays the role of villain Darren Cross (Corey Stoll). The story is okay, but the big problem is again the Disney factor that always takes the upper hand. Just like almost any other Marvel-movie, it is all too superficial, the villain is too caricatured and you always feel like being trapped between the CG-violence. And at the end of the day, it is all about characters you do not care about. We've written it before, but Ant-Man is once again a product that wants to spoil the popcorn eater, and that’s it! 

Didier BECU
17/07/2015


NL

Er was ooit een tijd dat je nauwelijks kon wachten tot er een nieuwe superheldenfilm in de zaal kwam, maar de laatste jaren zijn onze netvliezen er zo door vermoeid geraakt dat er nu eerder sprake is van een afkeer. Sinds Walt Disney Marvel opkocht, maakt men ze aan de lopende band en verdient men er bovendien massa’s geld mee. Eerder dit jaar werden we nog overstelpt met Avengers: Age of Ultron die, als je rekening houdt met het budget, zowat de domste film is die dit jaar is uitgebracht. Maar in Tinseltown is er niks aan de hand, want de dollars rollen nog steeds vlotjes binnen en dus was men op zoek naar een geschikte zomerhit. Vorig jaar hadden we het leuke (maar al evenzeer overschatte) Guardians Of The Galaxy, en deze zomer moet Ant-Man ervoor zorgen.

In de stripwereld is Ant-Man een superheld die zijn mannetje naast Iron Man of Captain America kan staan, maar in een filmversie is dat eventjes anders. Superheldenfans houden immers van bombast, en hoe los je dat nu op met een mannetje dat zich kan transformeren tot de grootte van een mier? Het duurde uiteindelijk tien jaar vooraleer de film er kwam. Eerdere projecten met de Britse regisseur Edgar Wright (Shaun Of The Dead en Hot Fuzz) liepen met een sisser af. Het was acteur Paul Rudd die het tij keerde door aan het script te sleutelen. Ant-Man moest grappig zijn, maar men mocht nooit uit het oog verliezen dat het in de eerste plaats een Marvel-held was.

Voor de jongere kijkers is het misschien een nieuwe ervaring om er met een macrolens voor te zorgen dat normale objecten bijzonder groot worden, maar doorgewinterde filmfans hebben deze trukendoos al eens eerder gezien. In 1957 was er al The Incredible Shrinking Man en het was Disney zelf die in de jaren 80 met Honey, I Shrunk The Kids op de proppen kwam. Het zijn bijna dezelfde gadgets die in Ant-Man aan bod komen: een stofzuiger, de voeten van mensen die alles lijken te verpletteren of een spat water die een insect ervaart als een allesvernietigende zondvloed. Het enige verschil is dat de gekrompen kerel geen slachtoffer is, maar een held die de wereld van een schurk moet afhelpen.

De keuze van Paul Rudd als superheld is zeker geen slechte, net als Michael Douglas die als dokter Pym Ant-Man manipuleert of Corey Stoll (uit House Of Cards) die de rol van slechterik Darren Cross (Corey Stoll) vertolkt. Het verhaal loopt lekker (alhoewel de uit te voeren opdracht allesbehalve simpel voorgesteld wordt), maar het grote probleem blijft alweer de Disney-factor die te veel de bovenhand neemt. Net zoals in andere Marvel-verfilmingen is het allemaal veel te oppervlakkig, is de slechterik veel te karikaturaal gemaakt en krijg je te veel het gevoel dat je tussen het CG-geweld gevangen zit. Men last wel enkele grapjes in (geloof echter niet als je ergens leest dat ze gedurfd zijn), maar uiteindelijk zijn het personages waar je geen moer om heeft. We hebben het al eerder geschreven, maar Ant-Man is weeral zo’n productie die de popcornvreter met clichés probeert te verwennen. Meer is het niet… 

Didier BECU
17/07/2015


17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque