tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man

PEYTON REED

Ant-Man

MovieCinema


[64/100]   

Walt Disney
17/07/2015, Didier BECU

EN

There was once a time when we could not wait to see a new superhero movie, but during recent years our retinas are so weary that it feels more like an aversion. Since Walt Disney bought Marvel, they are made in large numbers and (most important for them) they are a synonym for masses of money. Earlier this year we were overwhelmed with Avengers: Age of Ultron which is, if you don’t forget the budget, just about the dumbest movie that was released this year. But no one worries in Tinseltown, because the dollars are still coming in and so, they were looking for another summer hit. Last year we got the nice (but also overrated) Guardians Of The Galaxy, and this summer Ant-Man must be the superhero that leads Marvel to more money.

In the world of comics Ant-Man is a superhero who can stand alongside Iron Man or Captain America, but movie wise there is a problem. Superheroes fans generally like bombast, and how do you do that with a man who can transform himself to the size of an ant? It took ten years to make the film. Previous projects with the British director Edgar Wright (Shaun Of The Dead and Hot Fuzz) ended nowhere. It was actor Paul Rudd who turned the tide by rewriting the script. Ant-Man is supposed to be funny, but no one should forget that he is in the first place a Marvel hero.

For younger viewers it might be a new experience to see how a macro lens can make normal objects large, but older movie fans have seen these tricks before. In 1957 there was The Incredible Shrinking Man, and it was Disney who came up with Honey, I Shrunk The Kids in the 80s. The gadgets in Ant-Man are basically the same: a vacuum cleaner, the feet of men that seem to crush everything or a splash of water which is a devastating flood for an insect. The only difference is that the shrunken guy is not a victim, but a hero who helps the world get rid of a villain.

The choice of Paul Rudd as a super hero is not bad at all, just like Michael Douglas, who manipulates Ant-Man as Dr. Pym or Corey Stoll (of House Of Cards), who plays the role of villain Darren Cross (Corey Stoll). The story is okay, but the big problem is again the Disney factor that always takes the upper hand. Just like almost any other Marvel-movie, it is all too superficial, the villain is too caricatured and you always feel like being trapped between the CG-violence. And at the end of the day, it is all about characters you do not care about. We've written it before, but Ant-Man is once again a product that wants to spoil the popcorn eater, and that’s it! 

Didier BECU
17/07/2015


NL

Er was ooit een tijd dat je nauwelijks kon wachten tot er een nieuwe superheldenfilm in de zaal kwam, maar de laatste jaren zijn onze netvliezen er zo door vermoeid geraakt dat er nu eerder sprake is van een afkeer. Sinds Walt Disney Marvel opkocht, maakt men ze aan de lopende band en verdient men er bovendien massa’s geld mee. Eerder dit jaar werden we nog overstelpt met Avengers: Age of Ultron die, als je rekening houdt met het budget, zowat de domste film is die dit jaar is uitgebracht. Maar in Tinseltown is er niks aan de hand, want de dollars rollen nog steeds vlotjes binnen en dus was men op zoek naar een geschikte zomerhit. Vorig jaar hadden we het leuke (maar al evenzeer overschatte) Guardians Of The Galaxy, en deze zomer moet Ant-Man ervoor zorgen.

In de stripwereld is Ant-Man een superheld die zijn mannetje naast Iron Man of Captain America kan staan, maar in een filmversie is dat eventjes anders. Superheldenfans houden immers van bombast, en hoe los je dat nu op met een mannetje dat zich kan transformeren tot de grootte van een mier? Het duurde uiteindelijk tien jaar vooraleer de film er kwam. Eerdere projecten met de Britse regisseur Edgar Wright (Shaun Of The Dead en Hot Fuzz) liepen met een sisser af. Het was acteur Paul Rudd die het tij keerde door aan het script te sleutelen. Ant-Man moest grappig zijn, maar men mocht nooit uit het oog verliezen dat het in de eerste plaats een Marvel-held was.

Voor de jongere kijkers is het misschien een nieuwe ervaring om er met een macrolens voor te zorgen dat normale objecten bijzonder groot worden, maar doorgewinterde filmfans hebben deze trukendoos al eens eerder gezien. In 1957 was er al The Incredible Shrinking Man en het was Disney zelf die in de jaren 80 met Honey, I Shrunk The Kids op de proppen kwam. Het zijn bijna dezelfde gadgets die in Ant-Man aan bod komen: een stofzuiger, de voeten van mensen die alles lijken te verpletteren of een spat water die een insect ervaart als een allesvernietigende zondvloed. Het enige verschil is dat de gekrompen kerel geen slachtoffer is, maar een held die de wereld van een schurk moet afhelpen.

De keuze van Paul Rudd als superheld is zeker geen slechte, net als Michael Douglas die als dokter Pym Ant-Man manipuleert of Corey Stoll (uit House Of Cards) die de rol van slechterik Darren Cross (Corey Stoll) vertolkt. Het verhaal loopt lekker (alhoewel de uit te voeren opdracht allesbehalve simpel voorgesteld wordt), maar het grote probleem blijft alweer de Disney-factor die te veel de bovenhand neemt. Net zoals in andere Marvel-verfilmingen is het allemaal veel te oppervlakkig, is de slechterik veel te karikaturaal gemaakt en krijg je te veel het gevoel dat je tussen het CG-geweld gevangen zit. Men last wel enkele grapjes in (geloof echter niet als je ergens leest dat ze gedurfd zijn), maar uiteindelijk zijn het personages waar je geen moer om heeft. We hebben het al eerder geschreven, maar Ant-Man is weeral zo’n productie die de popcornvreter met clichés probeert te verwennen. Meer is het niet… 

Didier BECU
17/07/2015


17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man 17/07/2015 : PEYTON REED - Ant-Man

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
12
Today, 41 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
76 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
27 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
43 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
This month it’s 35 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA (SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'

PHOTOS

06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
03
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers
07
12
VAST
Touched
07
12
MOTOR!K
Static
06
12
MASSIVE EGO
Let Go
05
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
04
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Crime Passionel
03
12
SIXTH JUNE
Night Before