tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

20/10/2014 : PHIL LORD & CHRIS MILLER - 22 Jump Street

PHIL LORD & CHRIS MILLER

22 Jump Street

Movie
ComedyCrime
SONY SPHE
20/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

In Hollywood nobody cares if you’re happy with it or not, but these days it seems like all big productions have to fit for a trilogy. The list of useless sequels is far too long to mention, but we’re very happy to welcome back our two favorite dumb cops Schmidt (Jonah Hill) and Jenko (Channing Tatum). The magic that was around in 21 Jump Street is still there and even the jokes are better!

You can blame the makers for the fact that they made it themselves a bit too easy script wise, but that’s the only minor point you can say about this hilarious comedy. Just like in the first part the two buddies are send back to school to infiltrate undercover in a drug gang. Because the two are a bit older, the high school has been changed to university. A joke that is unnecessarily repeated, you think? It looks like that, but it isn’t. 

Directors Phil Lord and Christopher Miller know very well that no one watches this movie for its cinematographic value. They have to aim at the jokes, and believe us: they’re all good! We won’t spoil the fun by giving anyway of them (even if the Cate Blanchett-one is a classic!), but they surely do all work. You can say anything you want from Channing Tatum, but you have to admit that he’s just born to play a macho dumb cop. The same can be said about Jonah Hill. We surely love him, but he’s definitely someone who sometimes tends to exaggerate with wrong humor (whatever that might be!), he’s however the ideal choice to perform Schmidt. Even Ice Cube who isn’t exactly the greatest actor around is simply hilarious as their chief.

The funny thing is that the makers don’t take themselves too seriously. Just stay on your seat when the end credits come up as they take the piss with sequels that can be made. Don’t laugh, just remember how far the producers from Police Academy went! With 22 Jump Street we never felt this for one minute as this is popcorn entertainment from the highest level. A film that will make you laugh for almost two hours. And admit it: you’ll never thought that you’ll see Jonah Hill walking around as a Robert Smith-lookalike, not? 

This release is out on Sony SPHE on both DVD and Blu-ray. The disc is full of extra’s: five deleted and extended scenes, lots of (short) featurettes, a line-o-rama, a gag reel and commentary from Phil Lord, Chris Miller, Jonah Hill and Channing Tatum.

Technical specifications :

Image: 2.40:1 HD
Sound: DTS HD - MA English 5.1, French 5.1
Subtitles: Dutch, French, English
Length: 112 minutes

Didier BECU
20/10/2014


NL

Het kan de Hollywoodbonzen geen barst schelen of er je nu blij mee bent of niet, maar zo wat elke dure productie moet tegenwoordig vertaald worden in een trilogie. Het lijstje van stinkerds is ondertussen net iets te lang om op te sommen, maar we zijn wel in de wolken dat de agenten Schmidt (Jonah Hill) en Jenko (Channing Tatum) terug zijn. De magie die in 21 Jump Street aanwezig is wordt opnieuw herhaald en de grappen zijn zelfs (nog!) beter.

De makers hebben het zichzelf op scenariovlak in ieder geval gemakkelijk gemaakt. In het eerste deel werden de twee oetlullen undercover naar school teruggestuurd om de dealers van een gevaarlijke drug te klissen. In het tweede deel krijgen ze exact dezelfde opdracht, maar omdat de twee heren ondertussen een jaartje ouder zijn is deze keer de universiteit de plaats van de afspraak. Een grapje die onnodig wordt herhaald? Zo lijkt het misschien, maar dat is het niet. Regisseurs Phil Lord en Christopher Miller weten maar al te goed dat geen mens deze film bekijkt voor de cinematografische meerwaarde, maar dat ze vooral moeten mikken op een hoog aantal geslaagde grappen. We verklappen geen enkele, maar het aantal lachsalvo’s is met moeite bij te houden. Je kan van Channing Tatum zeggen wat je wil, maar hij heeft wel het ideale smoelwerk om een oerdomme flik te vertolken en dat doet hij als Jenko met bravoure! Hetzelfde geldt voor Jonah Hill. Soms gaat zijn zin voor foute humor net iets buiten de scheef, maar voor deze rol is hij de ideale keuze. Zelfs Ice Cube die op acteervlak geen al te groot licht is, oogt in deze sequel ontzettend grappig.

Het leuke is dat iedereen zichzelf niet te serieus neemt. Zo moet je maar even blijven kijken na de aftiteling, want daarin verhullen de regisseurs wat er zo allemaal zou kunnen gebeuren op het gebied van sequels (herinner je maar gewoon hoe bijv.  Police Academy is uitgemolken!). In het tweede deel is dat nog helemaal niet het geval. 22 Jump Street is popcornentertainment van het allerhoogste niveau. Een film die je doet schaterlachen, want zeg nu zelf: had je ooit verwacht dat je Jonah Hill als Robert Smith van The Cure in de schoolgangen zou zien rondlopen? Mooi niet dus!

Deze release is uitgebracht op Sony, uiteraard zowel op dvd als Blu-ray. Het schijfje staat boordevol extra’s : vijf verwijderde en uitgebreide scènes, (korte) featurettes, line-o-rama en een commentaarband met regisseurs Phil Lord en Chris Miller, alsook de acteurs Jonah Hill en Channing Tatum.

Technische gegevens :

Beeld: 2.40:1 HD
Geluid: DTS HD - MA Engels 5.1, Frans 5.1
Ondertiteling: Engels, Frans, Nederlands, Hindi
Speelduur: 112 minuten

Didier BECU
20/10/2014


20/10/2014 : PHIL LORD & CHRIS MILLER - 22 Jump Street 20/10/2014 : PHIL LORD & CHRIS MILLER - 22 Jump Street 20/10/2014 : PHIL LORD & CHRIS MILLER - 22 Jump Street 20/10/2014 : PHIL LORD & CHRIS MILLER - 22 Jump Street 20/10/2014 : PHIL LORD & CHRIS MILLER - 22 Jump Street 20/10/2014 : PHIL LORD & CHRIS MILLER - 22 Jump Street 20/10/2014 : PHIL LORD & CHRIS MILLER - 22 Jump Street 20/10/2014 : PHIL LORD & CHRIS MILLER - 22 Jump Street 20/10/2014 : PHIL LORD & CHRIS MILLER - 22 Jump Street 20/10/2014 : PHIL LORD & CHRIS MILLER - 22 Jump Street 20/10/2014 : PHIL LORD & CHRIS MILLER - 22 Jump Street 20/10/2014 : PHIL LORD & CHRIS MILLER - 22 Jump Street 20/10/2014 : PHIL LORD & CHRIS MILLER - 22 Jump Street 20/10/2014 : PHIL LORD & CHRIS MILLER - 22 Jump Street 20/10/2014 : PHIL LORD & CHRIS MILLER - 22 Jump Street 20/10/2014 : PHIL LORD & CHRIS MILLER - 22 Jump Street

 

Next reviews
NEONSOL • Ecliptic
MIKE FLANAGAN • Oculus
MICHAEL ARMSTRONG • Mark Of The Devil
DICEPEOPLE • End Of Line
SOPOR AETERNUS AND THE ENSEMBLE OF SHADOWS • Mitternacht
ATOM EGOYAN • The Captive (FilmFest Ghent 2014)
DURUTTI COLUMN • CLASSICS: The return of
MINNY POPS • CLASSICS: Sparks in A Dark Room
UMUT DAG • Risse Im Beton (FilmFest Ghent 2014)
LISANDRO ALONSO • Jauja (Filmfest Ghent 2014)

 

Other reviews from PHIL LORD & CHRIS MILLER
PHIL LORD & CHRIS MILLER • 21 Jump Street

 

Same combination of genres: COMEDY + CRIME
RAYMOND DE FELITTA • Rob The Mob
MARTIN BREST • Midnight Run
PATRICK MCDONAGH • In Bruges
PAUL THOMAS ANDERSON • Inherent Vice
LUC BESSON • Malavita

 

Same genre: COMEDY
A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM • A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Julian Jarrold: A Royal Night Out
JEFF BAENA • Life After Beth
MARCO FERRERI • La Grande Bouffe
JEAN-PAUL RAPPENEAU • Tout Feu, Tout Flamme
MAX LANDIS • American Ultra
MARC FORSTER • Stranger Than Fiction

 

Same genre: CRIME
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Helen Walsh: The Violators
ANDREA DI STEFANO • Escobar: Paradise Lost
ANDRE VAN DUREN • De Bende Van Oss
CRAIG ZOBEL • COMPLIANCE
RICHARD BROOKS • IN COLD BLOOD
DAVID BRADLEY • Harry Brown
PHIL JOANOU • State Of Grace
SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER • Victoria
PAUL THOMAS ANDERSON • Inherent Vice
• MAJOR CRIMES SEASON 2

Music reviews

20
04
LUCKY AND LOVE
Transitions
12
04
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO
Menetekel
04
04
GROOVENOM
Wir müssen reden
03
04
THE RECEIPTS
The Receipts
02
04
FONTAINES D.C
Dogrel
01
04
FRAGRANCE
Now That I'm Real

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 33 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
15
04
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #33 out now!
14
04
Blindness Vocalist Beth Rettig Announces Debut EP ''The Desert'' From New Project Where We Sleep
13
04
Watch a new trailer for an upcoming documentary on Canadian synthpunk innovator, Nash The Slash!
12
04
Coil Release 150 minutes Of Music Entitled ''SWANYARD''
11
04
Tomorrow! Double concert Neon Electronics + Simi Nah - Win a free album!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
04
GNOSTIC GORILLA
WAKE UP! We are really in deep shit if we don’t snap out of this siege mentality and we need to stop killing the earth!
12
04
ERNEST MOON
“Our interest in the literary arts is equal to that of music.”
11
04
51 PEG
Breaking A 14-Year Absence: An Interview With 51 Peg
10
04
JO QUAIL
'I guess I’m a bit difficult to categorize!'
08
04
LAIBACH
'In reality, nobody really wants to solve a Korean problem.'

PHOTOS

18
04
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
Dark Skies over Witten V Werkstatt Witten Germany
18
04
AUGER
Dark Skies over Witten V Wekstatt Witten Germany
06
04
PERSEPHONE
@ A Mourning hall concert Gelsenkirchen
24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
04
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Gone (Feat. Yvette Winkler)
20
04
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
19
04
GNOSTIC GORRILA
St. Basil's Asylum
18
04
UNDERTHESKIN
Borderline
18
04
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
17
04
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
16
04
ANNI HOGAN
Angels Of Romance (featuring Gavin Friday