tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

23/06/2014 : PIETER NOOTEN - CLASSICS: Sleeps with the fishes

PIETER NOOTEN

CLASSICS: Sleeps with the fishes

MusicCD
AmbientAmbient PopDarkwaveDreampopUnclassifiable

[100/100]   

4-AD
23/06/2014, Didier BECU

Since we started the classics section on our website, it seems like we have to include the whole 4-AD-collection. Who knows that might happen one day as after all: the label from Ivo Watts is along with Factory the finest record company ever. And if not, then definitely from the 80's! When saying classics I surely can't skip Pieter Nooten.


Who you say? And look there is where the problem starts. Only a handful of people know that this man from Holland is one of the keymembers from Clan Of Xymox, but in ideal world everybody should know that Pieter is one of the founders of the darkwave genre: a style that's been copied a million times. Today Pieter has left his Xymoxtime behind him (he still composes music, so he’s not some carpenter in Amsterdam or so). But even if Clan Of Xymox is still around, you can’t talk about the old recordings without mentioning him. A lot has been written about the clash between him and Ronny Moorings, but as I said to Pieter once: I don’t care about that. Well, I do care, but in the first place I am a fan.


With Sleeps With The Fishes Pieter Nooten showed the world (in a manner of speaking) along with Michael Brook that he’s more than the shy guy behind the keyboards. He showed that he was one of the keystones who made the best album ever (and apart from Low by Bowie, that’s still Medusa by Clan Of Xymox).


For me personally, there has always been a connection between David Bowie and Pieter Nooten. When I was 14 I immediately felt that I'd never be the kind of guy who would live his life like many others. Bowie was the one to blame, as Low changed my life. No, at that age I wasn't aware that there was a man named Brian Eno around, I was just thinking that Bowie did it all.


That sound created on a Yamaha DX7 did something to my mind. It made me cry, made me feel melancholic and I soon knew that I would never care about Bob Dylan. And then it happened. I entered a record shop and heard a song that immediately blew me away. It was A Day. Of course it is a hell of a song, a dancefloor killer on many wave parties, but what got my attention were those synths! The owner shop told me they were called Clan Of Xymox. I really had no idea who they were, but I was hooked.


Clan Of Xymox soon became my band. Medusa became my new Low. I think I heard that album more than 5000 times, I guess I heard Twist Of Shadows 4850 times. Anke Wolbert became a dream woman (7th Time is the most erotic song ever written!), I tried to dance like Ronny Moorings (but always failed), but most important I started to have a new hero: Pieter Nooten. I know Pieter will laugh when he reads this (and yes he will), but when I was a teenager I was imagining myself that I was Pieter Nooten (told you I wouldn’t be normal!).


A melancholic daydreamer who composed the music of my life: that was me in the mirror, my insane imitation of Travis Bickle started later.


Soon after Medusa came Sleeps With The Fishes with Michael Brook. Back then, I haven’t read a word about it. I just bought it because I wanted to have everything from 4-AD in my record collection (funny, that Pixies are on the radio when writing this, as I gave up that once they got big on 4-AD).


I have compared this album a million times to other music lovers by saying it’s like David Sylvian meeting Bowie (or Eno)…and the more I know Pieter, the more I think of classic composers such as Bach. Nah, all not true as it sounds like Pieter Nooten, but then again: who knows Pieter Nooten? Yes, only melancholic daydreamers! Some weeks ago I was apologizing myself for not respecting journalistic rules. I won’t do it again. I soon turn 50 and I don’t care about those rules. Plus I am a music fan, journos are boring twats who are frustrated because they can’t play music themselves (…oh, do I recognize myself in here?). Nah, hail my heroes, and thanks to Pieter Nooten for writing the soundtrack of my life. I once said Sleeps With The Fishes will be the last record I hear before dying. Perfect deal.

Didier BECU
23/06/2014


 

Next reviews
SCOTT COOPER • Out of the furnace
YOUNG KNIVES • Sick Octave
STUART ROSENBERG • The Pope Of Greenwich Village
IVY & GOLD • Eye of the Storm EP
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • What Time is Love?
• Deadline 25/5
AMBERIAN DAWN • Magic Forest
JOSH BOONE • Stuck In Love
DIE FORM • Schaulust
• True Blood Season 6

 

Other reviews from PIETER NOOTEN
PIETER NOOTEN • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PIETER NOOTEN • Haven

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori

 

Same genre: AMBIENT POP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LAU NAU • Poseidon
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MAQUINA TOTAL • Maquina Total
ONUS • Proslambanomenos
RICARDO DONOSO • Symmetry
KIRSTEN MORRISON • Proserpine’s Gold
DED PIXEL • Form. Follow. Function
DIRK GEIGER • Connected Worlds
ZERO DEGREE • Stasis

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
DAGEIST • Sexy
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
JE T'AIME • Je T'aime
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
DER KLINKE • Decade

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
NEWMOON • Space
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS • Aligned With Juniper

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
APHEX TWIN • Syro

Music reviews

09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore
03
08
OST+FRONT
Ikarus
15
07
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Melancholic Maniac

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'
30
07
Electronic Act VEXILLARY Examines Surveillance Culture With New EP

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
08
BILL LASWELL
'Sometimes thing sort of “follow a path”...'
08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'
02
08
VELVET KILLS
Velvet Kills Is A Paradox, Wrapped In A Mystery, Inside Of An Enigma…

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
08
RED QUEEN
Insidious
09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED
07
08
SUPERNOVA 1006
Dope
06
08
SIXTH JUNE
Nebo
05
08
ANNE CLARK
Our Darkness
04
08
PIL
Rise