tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

23/06/2014 : PIETER NOOTEN - CLASSICS: Sleeps with the fishes

PIETER NOOTEN

CLASSICS: Sleeps with the fishes

MusicCD
AmbientAmbient PopDarkwaveDreampopUnclassifiable

[100/100]   

4-AD
23/06/2014, Didier BECU

Since we started the classics section on our website, it seems like we have to include the whole 4-AD-collection. Who knows that might happen one day as after all: the label from Ivo Watts is along with Factory the finest record company ever. And if not, then definitely from the 80's! When saying classics I surely can't skip Pieter Nooten.


Who you say? And look there is where the problem starts. Only a handful of people know that this man from Holland is one of the keymembers from Clan Of Xymox, but in ideal world everybody should know that Pieter is one of the founders of the darkwave genre: a style that's been copied a million times. Today Pieter has left his Xymoxtime behind him (he still composes music, so he’s not some carpenter in Amsterdam or so). But even if Clan Of Xymox is still around, you can’t talk about the old recordings without mentioning him. A lot has been written about the clash between him and Ronny Moorings, but as I said to Pieter once: I don’t care about that. Well, I do care, but in the first place I am a fan.


With Sleeps With The Fishes Pieter Nooten showed the world (in a manner of speaking) along with Michael Brook that he’s more than the shy guy behind the keyboards. He showed that he was one of the keystones who made the best album ever (and apart from Low by Bowie, that’s still Medusa by Clan Of Xymox).


For me personally, there has always been a connection between David Bowie and Pieter Nooten. When I was 14 I immediately felt that I'd never be the kind of guy who would live his life like many others. Bowie was the one to blame, as Low changed my life. No, at that age I wasn't aware that there was a man named Brian Eno around, I was just thinking that Bowie did it all.


That sound created on a Yamaha DX7 did something to my mind. It made me cry, made me feel melancholic and I soon knew that I would never care about Bob Dylan. And then it happened. I entered a record shop and heard a song that immediately blew me away. It was A Day. Of course it is a hell of a song, a dancefloor killer on many wave parties, but what got my attention were those synths! The owner shop told me they were called Clan Of Xymox. I really had no idea who they were, but I was hooked.


Clan Of Xymox soon became my band. Medusa became my new Low. I think I heard that album more than 5000 times, I guess I heard Twist Of Shadows 4850 times. Anke Wolbert became a dream woman (7th Time is the most erotic song ever written!), I tried to dance like Ronny Moorings (but always failed), but most important I started to have a new hero: Pieter Nooten. I know Pieter will laugh when he reads this (and yes he will), but when I was a teenager I was imagining myself that I was Pieter Nooten (told you I wouldn’t be normal!).


A melancholic daydreamer who composed the music of my life: that was me in the mirror, my insane imitation of Travis Bickle started later.


Soon after Medusa came Sleeps With The Fishes with Michael Brook. Back then, I haven’t read a word about it. I just bought it because I wanted to have everything from 4-AD in my record collection (funny, that Pixies are on the radio when writing this, as I gave up that once they got big on 4-AD).


I have compared this album a million times to other music lovers by saying it’s like David Sylvian meeting Bowie (or Eno)…and the more I know Pieter, the more I think of classic composers such as Bach. Nah, all not true as it sounds like Pieter Nooten, but then again: who knows Pieter Nooten? Yes, only melancholic daydreamers! Some weeks ago I was apologizing myself for not respecting journalistic rules. I won’t do it again. I soon turn 50 and I don’t care about those rules. Plus I am a music fan, journos are boring twats who are frustrated because they can’t play music themselves (…oh, do I recognize myself in here?). Nah, hail my heroes, and thanks to Pieter Nooten for writing the soundtrack of my life. I once said Sleeps With The Fishes will be the last record I hear before dying. Perfect deal.

Didier BECU
23/06/2014


 

Next reviews
SCOTT COOPER • Out of the furnace
YOUNG KNIVES • Sick Octave
STUART ROSENBERG • The Pope Of Greenwich Village
IVY & GOLD • Eye of the Storm EP
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • What Time is Love?
• Deadline 25/5
AMBERIAN DAWN • Magic Forest
JOSH BOONE • Stuck In Love
DIE FORM • Schaulust
• True Blood Season 6

 

Other reviews from PIETER NOOTEN
PIETER NOOTEN • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PIETER NOOTEN • Haven

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull

 

Same genre: AMBIENT POP
LAU NAU • Poseidon
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MAQUINA TOTAL • Maquina Total
ONUS • Proslambanomenos
RICARDO DONOSO • Symmetry
KIRSTEN MORRISON • Proserpine’s Gold
DED PIXEL • Form. Follow. Function
DIRK GEIGER • Connected Worlds
ZERO DEGREE • Stasis
BOWRAIN • Far Out

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
JE T'AIME • Je T'aime
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
DER KLINKE • Decade
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
NEWMOON • Space
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS • Aligned With Juniper
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
APHEX TWIN • Syro

Music reviews

16
10
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Chance Versus Causality
16
10
MASSIVE ATTACK
Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
15
10
DAVID J HASKINS
Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
15
10
ARMSTRONG
Under Blue Skies
14
10
MOONLIGHT MEADOW
Moonlight Meadow
14
10
IN DEED
Everest - Expanded Edition

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses
10
10
PET SHOP BOYS
Domino Dancing (Extended Version)