tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : PIG - The Gospel

PIG

The Gospel

MusicCD
Electro RockIndustrial Rock

[85/100]   

Metropolis Records
11/12/2016, Fred GADGET

EN

"Gospel For the Masses" or how PIG strikes back with its new album The Gospel and a loud bang after a long silence! This eclectic American industrial rock band led by Raymond Watts came to Europe in 1994 as opener for the Nine Inch Nails ‘Self Destruct Tour’. I probably was one of the few people at the the sold out gig in De Vooruit (Ghent), who actually had heard and owned some of the records of this band. And although I was there for NIN in the first place, I was blown away by the show. But even if you had never heard of PIG, there was no escape … the wall of sound was so loud and so dense and the basses so deep that the building could collaps at any moment. But enough nostalgia, let's get back to The Gospel album.

If you know that Raymond Watts, in addition to his own adventures, has worked with bands like KMFDM and Foetus, released albums on the legendary Wax Trax and Trent Reznor's own label Nothing Records, and that musicians such as Gunter Schulz and En Esch collaborated with him on this piece of art, then it is no coincidence that this is a strong and heavy album. Don't let the opening track The Diamond Sinners misguide you with its cinematic and gospel touch, because this full album contains 12 pearls with plenty of old school content like Found In Filth, Mercy Murder and Make Yourself Deny. In contrast to the suggestion in the title, the gospel content of this album is almost non-existent, thank god. But then again, that is the beauty of a band like PIG: you never know what to expect after the needle has slipped to the next track.

With The Gospel, Raymond Watts has bridged in a perfect way the hiatus of ten long years of silence. The Gospel is certainly a must for fans of KMFDM, Marilyn Manson and Nine Inch Nails. The hipsters and/or nostalgic fans among us will also be pleased to know that this album is available as a nice gatefold double 12" too.

Fred GADGET
11/12/2016


NL

‘Gospel For the Masses’ of hoe met het album The Gospel het genre terug is van lang weg geweest, en dit met een overluide knal! Deze eclectische Amerikaanse industrial rockband van Raymond Watts deed ooit nog ons continent aan in 1994 als opwarmer voor de Nine Inch Nails' Self Destruct Tour. Ik was toemaals waarschijnlijk één van de weinige aanwezigen in de uitverkochte Vooruit (Gent) die er platen van bezat en hoewel ik meer voor NIN was gegaan, werd ik toch weggeblazen. Maar dat gold ook de kenners, want de geluidsmuur was zo overdonderend en stevig en de bassen zo diep, dat het gebouw elk moment dreigde in te storten. Maar genoeg nostalgie, terug naar The Gospel door PIG.

Als men weet dat Raymond Watts, naast zijn eigen avonturen, ook zijn sporen verdiende bij bands zoals KMFDM en Foetus, albums uitbracht op het legendarische Wax Trax en Trent Reznor’s eigen label Nothing Records, weet men ook meteen welk vlees (hahaha) men in de kuip heeft. Dat muzikanten zoals bijvoorbeeld Gunter Schulz en En Esch ook aan dit album sleutelden bevestigt het vermoeden dat dit een stevig album is geworden. Laat je vooral niet afschrikken door, het overigens knappe openingsnummer The Diamond Sinners dat eerder wat filmisch aandoet, want dit album bevat 12 parels voor de zwijnen (hahaha) met genoeg old school-gehalte zoals Found In Filth, Mercy Murder en Make Yourself Deny. Want in tegenstelling tot wat de titel suggereert, is het echte gospelgehalte van dit album gelukkig ver te zoeken. En dat is nu net het mooie eraan: je weet nooit wat te verwachten als de naald naar de volgende track glijdt.

Met The Gospel overbrugt Raymond Watts zijn hiatus van meer dan tien jaar op een perfecte manier. Spek (hahaha) dus voor de bek van liefhebbers van KMFDM, Marlyn Manson en Nine Inch Nails. De hipsters en/of nostalgische fans onder ons zullen ook graag horen dat dit album verkrijgbaar als een mooi ogende en openvouwende dubbele 12”.

Fred GADGET
11/12/2016


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death
17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
16
02
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void