tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : PIXIES - Head Carrier

PIXIES

Head Carrier

MusicCD
Alternative RockIndie Rock

[75/100]   

PIAS
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Since the Pixies released the primal scream Where's My Mind?, I was hooked. The delicious bass of Kim Deal and the unruly guitars and vocals by Black Francis coloured a part of my teenage years. The band made some really strong albums until it fell apart in 1993. Kim Deal was on drugs and Black's ego no longer merged without difficulty with the rest of the band. Black went solo (with varying success) and Kim Deal founded The Breeders. In 2004, the band came back together to tour and to do occasional gigs. In 2013, Kim Deal left for good. The remainder continued to make music and released even a new album: the slightly disappointing Indie Cindy. According to well-informed sources a new album is on its way. The news caused uproar in the press.

Head Carrier contains twelve tracks and opens with the title track. A decent opener with a fine bass line. The first highlight is the third track Baal's Back. This song includes a bit of the aggression and the grinta that we find on Doolittle. It is followed by Might As Well Be Gone with backing vocvals that are reminiscent of Kim Deal (and revive the Beatles). Musically it does remind us of Black's solo work. Oona has a typical Pixies sound: the riffs, the choruses... Delicious.

Talent thrives on a bass sound, a caustic vocal line and a mediocre chorus. All I Think About Now could be on the labuml Surfer Rosa and refers a bit to Where's My Mind? Um Chakka Lagga is a fine and appropriate single. Head Carrier is sharper, more surprising and more consistent than Indie Cindy. The track browses through the oeuvre of the Pixies: sometimes it tends towards the surfpop of Bossa Nova, then to the orchestrated madness of Doolittle or the Surfer Rosa trash punk.

The album is no masterpiece due to lack of innovation and risk. But it is good and solid. The Pixies are alive and well. With a little more fire and adrenaline it may become quite good.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Sinds de band Pixies de oerkreet Where’s My Mind? op de wereld loslie , was ik verkocht. De heerlijke bastonen van Kim Deal en de weerbarstige gitaren en zang van Francis Black kleurden een deel van mijn jeugd. Ze maakten enkele heel sterke albums totdat de band in 1993 uit elkaar viel: Kim Deal zat aan de drugst, Black's ego paste nog moeilijk in de band. Hij ging solo (met wisselend succes) en Kim Deal richtte The Breeders op. In 2004 kwam de band weer samen om occasioneel op te treden. In 2013 verliet Kim Deal opnieuw de band. De rest ging door en bracht kort daarna zelfs een nieuw album uit: het enigszins teleurstellende Indie Cindy. Een tijd geleden raakte bekend dat er aan een nieuw album wordt gewerkt, wat voor beroering zorgde in de pers.

Head Carrier bevat twaalf tracks en opent met de titeltrack. Het is een degelijke song met een fijne baslijn. Het eerste hoogtepunt is de derde track Baal’s Back. Deze song bevat de agressie en de grinta die we op o.a. Doolittle terugvinden en wordt gevolgd door Might As Well Be Gone, dat backings bevat die aan Kim Deal doen denken en de Beatles laten herleven. Muzikaal doet de track ook wat aan Blacks solowerk denken. Oona heeft een typisch Pixies-geluid: de riffs, refreintjes… heerlijk.

Talent drijft op basgeluid, een vinnige zanglijn en een middelmatig refrein. All I think About Now kon zo op Surfer Rosa staan en refereert een beetje aan Where’s My Mind? De track Um Chakka Lagga is een fijne en geschikte single. Op die manier laveren we heen en weer in de wereld van Francis Black en de zijnen. Head Carrier is vinniger, verrassender en consistenter dan Indie Cindy en de track grasduint in het oeuvre van de Pixies: soms neigt hij meer naar de surfpop van Bossanova, dan weer naar de georkestreerde waanzin van Doolittle of de trashpunk van Surfer Rosa.

Dit album is geen meesterwerk; daarvoor is er sprake van iets te weinig vernieuwingen en worden er te weinig risico’s genomen. Het is wel een goede en degelijke release die velen onder ons zal plezieren. De Pixies zijn levend en wel terug. Nu nog iets meer vuur en adrenaline en het komt allemaal goed.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
12
On this day, 42 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'!
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 40 Today!
11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'
10
12
On this day, 40 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

14
12
ME THE TIGER
Hollow
13
12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE
Open Your heart
12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers