tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : PIXIES - Head Carrier

PIXIES

Head Carrier

MusicCD
Alternative RockIndie Rock

[75/100]   

PIAS
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Since the Pixies released the primal scream Where's My Mind?, I was hooked. The delicious bass of Kim Deal and the unruly guitars and vocals by Black Francis coloured a part of my teenage years. The band made some really strong albums until it fell apart in 1993. Kim Deal was on drugs and Black's ego no longer merged without difficulty with the rest of the band. Black went solo (with varying success) and Kim Deal founded The Breeders. In 2004, the band came back together to tour and to do occasional gigs. In 2013, Kim Deal left for good. The remainder continued to make music and released even a new album: the slightly disappointing Indie Cindy. According to well-informed sources a new album is on its way. The news caused uproar in the press.

Head Carrier contains twelve tracks and opens with the title track. A decent opener with a fine bass line. The first highlight is the third track Baal's Back. This song includes a bit of the aggression and the grinta that we find on Doolittle. It is followed by Might As Well Be Gone with backing vocvals that are reminiscent of Kim Deal (and revive the Beatles). Musically it does remind us of Black's solo work. Oona has a typical Pixies sound: the riffs, the choruses... Delicious.

Talent thrives on a bass sound, a caustic vocal line and a mediocre chorus. All I Think About Now could be on the labuml Surfer Rosa and refers a bit to Where's My Mind? Um Chakka Lagga is a fine and appropriate single. Head Carrier is sharper, more surprising and more consistent than Indie Cindy. The track browses through the oeuvre of the Pixies: sometimes it tends towards the surfpop of Bossa Nova, then to the orchestrated madness of Doolittle or the Surfer Rosa trash punk.

The album is no masterpiece due to lack of innovation and risk. But it is good and solid. The Pixies are alive and well. With a little more fire and adrenaline it may become quite good.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Sinds de band Pixies de oerkreet Where’s My Mind? op de wereld loslie , was ik verkocht. De heerlijke bastonen van Kim Deal en de weerbarstige gitaren en zang van Francis Black kleurden een deel van mijn jeugd. Ze maakten enkele heel sterke albums totdat de band in 1993 uit elkaar viel: Kim Deal zat aan de drugst, Black's ego paste nog moeilijk in de band. Hij ging solo (met wisselend succes) en Kim Deal richtte The Breeders op. In 2004 kwam de band weer samen om occasioneel op te treden. In 2013 verliet Kim Deal opnieuw de band. De rest ging door en bracht kort daarna zelfs een nieuw album uit: het enigszins teleurstellende Indie Cindy. Een tijd geleden raakte bekend dat er aan een nieuw album wordt gewerkt, wat voor beroering zorgde in de pers.

Head Carrier bevat twaalf tracks en opent met de titeltrack. Het is een degelijke song met een fijne baslijn. Het eerste hoogtepunt is de derde track Baal’s Back. Deze song bevat de agressie en de grinta die we op o.a. Doolittle terugvinden en wordt gevolgd door Might As Well Be Gone, dat backings bevat die aan Kim Deal doen denken en de Beatles laten herleven. Muzikaal doet de track ook wat aan Blacks solowerk denken. Oona heeft een typisch Pixies-geluid: de riffs, refreintjes… heerlijk.

Talent drijft op basgeluid, een vinnige zanglijn en een middelmatig refrein. All I think About Now kon zo op Surfer Rosa staan en refereert een beetje aan Where’s My Mind? De track Um Chakka Lagga is een fijne en geschikte single. Op die manier laveren we heen en weer in de wereld van Francis Black en de zijnen. Head Carrier is vinniger, verrassender en consistenter dan Indie Cindy en de track grasduint in het oeuvre van de Pixies: soms neigt hij meer naar de surfpop van Bossanova, dan weer naar de georkestreerde waanzin van Doolittle of de trashpunk van Surfer Rosa.

Dit album is geen meesterwerk; daarvoor is er sprake van iets te weinig vernieuwingen en worden er te weinig risico’s genomen. Het is wel een goede en degelijke release die velen onder ons zal plezieren. De Pixies zijn levend en wel terug. Nu nog iets meer vuur en adrenaline en het komt allemaal goed.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

19
07
SILENT RUNNERS
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
07
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus