tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl review

27/11/2019 : PLASTIKSTROM - Beton Gegen Angst

PLASTIKSTROM

Beton Gegen Angst

MusicCD / Vinyl
DarkwaveEBMElectro

[91/100]   

Young & Cold Records
27/11/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

We have to go a long way back in time to get to the foundations of Plastikstrom. In 1991 Matthias Günzler was still the singer of the New Wave / Gothic band The Last Curtain, while Wimp, an old sandbox buddy of Matthias', was involved with the punk scene and Jürgen Schips was still skipping around in a school uniform. Bit by bit they were starting to find their kicks in the so called ‘black scene’.

After the dissolution of The Last Curtain, Güzler becomes the singer of the band Darc Entries which later enlists Schips as the keyboard player. But the love for pure electronic music creeps in, so Schips and Günzler decide to start a side project in 1995, called Plastikstrom. They had not released new material since 2015.

However, today in 2019 they are back on the Young & Cold Records label with the stunning album ‘Beton Gegen Angst’.

The musical style on this album is quite broad, from dark wave to EBM, to fairly minimalistic electro.

The title song ‘Beton Gegen Angst’ is a straightforward stomper. A stark dry rhythm section and fairly minimal input from synthesizers and basses. Beauty is often in (relative) simplicity. My favourite track on this album on the other hand proves that it can be also much sharper and faster: ‘Grosny’. Up-tempo, melodic, with a solid rhythm section, mesmerizing and yet modestly aggressive. I don't even dare to say how many times I pressed the repeat button on this song… If you listen to the next song, you will notice that ‘Tote Stadt’ has much in common. Again a very strong track.

And what about a real plea for more exercise? Advertising sports on an EBM-inspired album? ‘Wandertag’ serves us this plea. A song about a weekly walking day, including hiking boots and a full backpack. With a big wink in the lyrics and vocals that tend to be both aggressive and ridiculous. But as a song is still stands strong!

‘Mir Egal’ is another absolutely great song (in-fact there seem to be almost only great songs on this album). In terms of structure, vocal work and orchestration, this is again all you can ask for.

‘Alles Für Uns’ is another dance floor killer/filler of an unprecedented high level. Aggressively pumping and thumping on all levels. Sounding intensively threatening and liberating at the same time.

Although Plastikstrom has not released that much since its 1995, this is a disc that deserves a place in the record collection of every electro lover. Please let this release be a harbinger of more!. Thirteen songs that are very firmly anchored on a rock-solid album. Available on CD and vinyl!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
27/11/2019


NL

We moeten al een eind terug in de tijd om bij de grondvesten te komen van Plastikstrom. In 1991 is Matthias Günzler nog zanger van de New Wave / Gothic-band The Last Curtain. Wimp, een oude sandbox-buddy van Matthias Günzler zit nog in de punkscene, en Jürgen Schips huppelt nog rond in een schoolkostuum. Ze beginnen meer en meer in de zwarte scène hun gading te zoeken en te vinden.

Na de ontbinding van The Last Curtain is Günzler zanger bij Darc Entries. Vanuit die band gaan ze op zoek naar een toetsenist en zo wandelt Schips de band binnen. De liefde voor electronische muziek sluipt toch binnen, en Schips en Günzler starten een nevenproject. In 1995 wordt het finaal Plastikstrom. Het is intussen van 2015 geleden dat ze nog werk uitbrachten.
in 2019 zijn ze echter, op het Young & Cold Records-label, terug met een knaller, genaamd Beton Gegen Angst.

De muzikale richting is breed. Van darkwave naar EBM, tot vrij minimalistsch.
De titelsong Beton Gegen Angst is een rechttoe rechtane meestamper. Kurkdroge ritmesectie en vrij minimale inbreng van synthesizers en bassen. Schoonheid zit vaak in (relatieve) eenvoud. En dat het snediger mag en kan bewijst mijn favoriet op dit album: Grosny. Tempo, melodie, stevige ritmesectie, bewerend en toch zo ingetogen agressief. Ik durf niet te zeggen hoe dikwijls ik bij deze song op de repeat-knop heb gedrukt… Als u het nummer beluistert, zal u merken dat Tote Stadt uit hetzelfde vaatje is getapt. Geweldig sterk.


En wat te denken van een heus pleidooi om meer te gaan bewegen? Reclame voor sport op een EBM-geïnspireerd album? Wandertag bedient ons op onze wenken. Een song over de wekelijkse wandeldag. De wandelschoenen en een volle rugzak. Met een vette knipoog in de zang die zowel agressief als lachwekkend is. Maar qua song een absolute voltreffer.

Mir Egal is een volgende absolute topsong (hoewel er weinig andere dan topsongs op dit album staan…). Qua opbouw, zang en orchestratie is dit alles wat je kan verlangen.

Alles Für Uns is een dancefloorkiller van een ongezien hoog niveau. Agressief stoempend en dreunend in alle regionen. Intens dreigend en bevrijdend tegelijkertijd.

Hoewel Plastikstrom sedert zijn 1995 nog niet zo veel uitbracht, is dit een schijf die in de platenkast van elke electroliefhebber een plaats verdient. Laat het alstublieft een voorbode zijn van meer van dat. 13 songs die heel stevig verankerd zijn op een dijk van een plaat. Te verkrijgen op CD en vinyl.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
27/11/2019


 

Next reviews
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO • MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
PSY'AVIAH • Soul Searching
DAGEIST • Sexy
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
TWIN TRIBES • Ceremony
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE • The Collection
KIM GORDON • No Home Record
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson

 

Same combination of genres: DARKWAVE + EBM + ELECTRO
• REWIND EASTER festival DAY 1 with Project Pitchfork, Clan Of Xymox, Chameleons Vox,...

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
DAGEIST • Sexy
JE T'AIME • Je T'aime
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MANDIVULA • Nonsens

 

Same genre: EBM
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Burn Forever
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
DIVE • Where do we go from here
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
03
No Time To Cry since 36 years!
08
03
Today, exactly 27 years ago, American industrial band Nine Inch Nails released The Downward Spiral!
07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
03
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You