tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl review

27/11/2019 : PLASTIKSTROM - Beton Gegen Angst

PLASTIKSTROM

Beton Gegen Angst

MusicCD / Vinyl
DarkwaveEBMElectro

[91/100]   

Young & Cold Records
27/11/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

We have to go a long way back in time to get to the foundations of Plastikstrom. In 1991 Matthias Günzler was still the singer of the New Wave / Gothic band The Last Curtain, while Wimp, an old sandbox buddy of Matthias', was involved with the punk scene and Jürgen Schips was still skipping around in a school uniform. Bit by bit they were starting to find their kicks in the so called ‘black scene’.

After the dissolution of The Last Curtain, Güzler becomes the singer of the band Darc Entries which later enlists Schips as the keyboard player. But the love for pure electronic music creeps in, so Schips and Günzler decide to start a side project in 1995, called Plastikstrom. They had not released new material since 2015.

However, today in 2019 they are back on the Young & Cold Records label with the stunning album ‘Beton Gegen Angst’.

The musical style on this album is quite broad, from dark wave to EBM, to fairly minimalistic electro.

The title song ‘Beton Gegen Angst’ is a straightforward stomper. A stark dry rhythm section and fairly minimal input from synthesizers and basses. Beauty is often in (relative) simplicity. My favourite track on this album on the other hand proves that it can be also much sharper and faster: ‘Grosny’. Up-tempo, melodic, with a solid rhythm section, mesmerizing and yet modestly aggressive. I don't even dare to say how many times I pressed the repeat button on this song… If you listen to the next song, you will notice that ‘Tote Stadt’ has much in common. Again a very strong track.

And what about a real plea for more exercise? Advertising sports on an EBM-inspired album? ‘Wandertag’ serves us this plea. A song about a weekly walking day, including hiking boots and a full backpack. With a big wink in the lyrics and vocals that tend to be both aggressive and ridiculous. But as a song is still stands strong!

‘Mir Egal’ is another absolutely great song (in-fact there seem to be almost only great songs on this album). In terms of structure, vocal work and orchestration, this is again all you can ask for.

‘Alles Für Uns’ is another dance floor killer/filler of an unprecedented high level. Aggressively pumping and thumping on all levels. Sounding intensively threatening and liberating at the same time.

Although Plastikstrom has not released that much since its 1995, this is a disc that deserves a place in the record collection of every electro lover. Please let this release be a harbinger of more!. Thirteen songs that are very firmly anchored on a rock-solid album. Available on CD and vinyl!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
27/11/2019


NL

We moeten al een eind terug in de tijd om bij de grondvesten te komen van Plastikstrom. In 1991 is Matthias Günzler nog zanger van de New Wave / Gothic-band The Last Curtain. Wimp, een oude sandbox-buddy van Matthias Günzler zit nog in de punkscene, en Jürgen Schips huppelt nog rond in een schoolkostuum. Ze beginnen meer en meer in de zwarte scène hun gading te zoeken en te vinden.

Na de ontbinding van The Last Curtain is Günzler zanger bij Darc Entries. Vanuit die band gaan ze op zoek naar een toetsenist en zo wandelt Schips de band binnen. De liefde voor electronische muziek sluipt toch binnen, en Schips en Günzler starten een nevenproject. In 1995 wordt het finaal Plastikstrom. Het is intussen van 2015 geleden dat ze nog werk uitbrachten.
in 2019 zijn ze echter, op het Young & Cold Records-label, terug met een knaller, genaamd Beton Gegen Angst.

De muzikale richting is breed. Van darkwave naar EBM, tot vrij minimalistsch.
De titelsong Beton Gegen Angst is een rechttoe rechtane meestamper. Kurkdroge ritmesectie en vrij minimale inbreng van synthesizers en bassen. Schoonheid zit vaak in (relatieve) eenvoud. En dat het snediger mag en kan bewijst mijn favoriet op dit album: Grosny. Tempo, melodie, stevige ritmesectie, bewerend en toch zo ingetogen agressief. Ik durf niet te zeggen hoe dikwijls ik bij deze song op de repeat-knop heb gedrukt… Als u het nummer beluistert, zal u merken dat Tote Stadt uit hetzelfde vaatje is getapt. Geweldig sterk.


En wat te denken van een heus pleidooi om meer te gaan bewegen? Reclame voor sport op een EBM-geïnspireerd album? Wandertag bedient ons op onze wenken. Een song over de wekelijkse wandeldag. De wandelschoenen en een volle rugzak. Met een vette knipoog in de zang die zowel agressief als lachwekkend is. Maar qua song een absolute voltreffer.

Mir Egal is een volgende absolute topsong (hoewel er weinig andere dan topsongs op dit album staan…). Qua opbouw, zang en orchestratie is dit alles wat je kan verlangen.

Alles Für Uns is een dancefloorkiller van een ongezien hoog niveau. Agressief stoempend en dreunend in alle regionen. Intens dreigend en bevrijdend tegelijkertijd.

Hoewel Plastikstrom sedert zijn 1995 nog niet zo veel uitbracht, is dit een schijf die in de platenkast van elke electroliefhebber een plaats verdient. Laat het alstublieft een voorbode zijn van meer van dat. 13 songs die heel stevig verankerd zijn op een dijk van een plaat. Te verkrijgen op CD en vinyl.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
27/11/2019


 

Next reviews
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO • MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
PSY'AVIAH • Soul Searching
DAGEIST • Sexy
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
TWIN TRIBES • Ceremony
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE • The Collection
KIM GORDON • No Home Record
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson

 

Same combination of genres: DARKWAVE + EBM + ELECTRO
• REWIND EASTER festival DAY 1 with Project Pitchfork, Clan Of Xymox, Chameleons Vox,...

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
DAGEIST • Sexy
JE T'AIME • Je T'aime
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
DER KLINKE • Decade

 

Same genre: EBM
AD:KEY • Resonanz
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
TUKT • Tukt
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
M73 • Tainted
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit

Music reviews

26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
29 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights
26
11
PIG
Rock n Roll Refugee
25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song
24
11
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust