tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this mp3/download review

11/01/2015 : POLAR DUST - Into The Burning Water

POLAR DUST

Into The Burning Water

MusicMP3/Download
DarkwaveIndiePost Punk

[95/100]   

Self-released
11/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The band began eight years ago in Iceland. Around 2010 singer Sarah Eksteen went to South Africa where she reformed the band. It's not because they make music from the warm Johannesburg that it sounds hot. Not at all. When hearing this album, you think of Scandinavian groups, dark winter months, depressive mood or rolling fjords.

The artwork consists of acassette box with a USB stick. The cover looks like a Rorschach drawing.The album begins with Ejected, a dark instrumental with a high thin voice in the far background (or is it a sample?). It made me curious about the rest. The second song Drown in you is a winner. The song starts with drums and a gritty keyboard sound that accompanies the vocals. Sarah has at times even an angelic voice.

Dose of my Darkside is actually even better. Very catchy sung, synths that blend into the bass with a nice jazzy drum that evolves into a more traditional rock drum. Between the Lines is a wonderful darkwave song. One that lingers in my head. A humming bass, dark Cure-keys. A desperate song about someone who recognizes that her love is not the one she thought he once was. When she sings "I've been to heaven and I've been to hell. I will find my way. Between the lines...", I believe her. Paranormal Love not only has a pretty nice intro, but also fine guitar sounds with a layer of effects. Man Down at times is reminiscent of PJ Harvey, while Forgive but not Forgive is the instrumental outro of a very strong record.

Electro and guitar work are interwoven into a beautiful and homogenous whole. Sara has a nice voice to listen to. She can do a lot with her ​​voice. There is great attention for detail and there is much to discover. An album that you must have heard. A very nice discovery.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/01/2015


NL

De band begon acht jaar gelden in IJsland. Omstreeks 2010 vertrok de zangeres (Sarah Eksteen) naar Zuid- Afrika waar ze de band (her)vormde tot zijn huidige bezetting. Het is niet omdat ze nu vanuit het warme Johannesburg muziek maken dat die zuiders of warm zou klinken. Verre van. Bij het horen van dit album, ga je eerder aan Scandinavische groepen, donkere wintermaanden, depressieve stemmingen of glooiende fjorden denken. Het artwork bestaat uit cassettedoosje met daarin een usb-stick. De cover is precies een Rorschachtest-tekening.

Het album begint met Ejected, een donkere instrumental met een hoge ijle stem op de verre achtergrond (of is het een sample?). Daar hou ik wel van en het maakte mij nieuwsgierig naar de rest. Het tweede nummer Drown in you is meteen raak. Het nummer begint met drums en een gruizig keyboardgeluid dat de zang begeleidt. Sarah heeft bij momenten een engelachtig stemgeluid. Dose of my Dark Side is zowaar nog beter. Heel pakkend gezongen, synths die mooi samengaan met de bas en een fijne jazzy drum die halfweg naar een meer traditionele rockdrum evolueert. In het refrein gaat ze zelfs nog trapje hoger zingen. 

Between the Lines is een heerlijke darkwave song. Een nummer dat in mijn hoofd blijft ronddwalen. Een brommende bas, donkere Cure-keys, een desperate zang over een iemand die inziet dat haar liefde maar van één kant blijkt te komen. Wanneer ze “I’ve been to heaven and I’ve been to hell. I will find my way. Between the lines… “ zingt, dan geloof ik haar best. 

Nerve begint redelijk donker met een zware gitaar om daarna het echte nummer tevoorschijn te toveren. Paranormal Love heeft naast een mooi intro, ook fijne gitaarklanken onder een laag effecten. In My Own Enemy beschrijft ze mooi hoe het aanvoelt als je zelf de pedalen aan het verliezen bent. 

Bij Man Down denk je bij momenten aan PJ Harvey. Forgive but not Forgive is een instrumentale outro op een heel sterke plaat. Electro en gitaarwerk worden tot een mooi en homogeen geheel verweven. Waar de song het vraagt, wordt meer gitaar gebruikt en vice versa.

Sara heeft een aangename stem om naar te luisteren, die nu en dan overgaat in een ander stemregister. Ze kan veel aan met haar stem. In haar teksten lijkt niets vanzelf te gaan en lijkt niets goed af te lopen. Er is veel aandacht voor details en er valt veel te ontdekken. Een album dat je gehoord moet hebben. Mij laat het in elk geval niet meteen los en het zit al een tijdje in mijn playlist. Een heel fijne ontdekking waarvan ik hoop dat ze heel wat potten zal breken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/01/2015


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi