tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

11/01/2015 : POLAR DUST - Into The Burning Water

POLAR DUST

Into The Burning Water

MusicDigital
DarkwaveIndiePost Punk

[95/100]   

Self-released
11/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The band began eight years ago in Iceland. Around 2010 singer Sarah Eksteen went to South Africa where she reformed the band. It's not because they make music from the warm Johannesburg that it sounds hot. Not at all. When hearing this album, you think of Scandinavian groups, dark winter months, depressive mood or rolling fjords.

The artwork consists of acassette box with a USB stick. The cover looks like a Rorschach drawing.The album begins with Ejected, a dark instrumental with a high thin voice in the far background (or is it a sample?). It made me curious about the rest. The second song Drown in you is a winner. The song starts with drums and a gritty keyboard sound that accompanies the vocals. Sarah has at times even an angelic voice.

Dose of my Darkside is actually even better. Very catchy sung, synths that blend into the bass with a nice jazzy drum that evolves into a more traditional rock drum. Between the Lines is a wonderful darkwave song. One that lingers in my head. A humming bass, dark Cure-keys. A desperate song about someone who recognizes that her love is not the one she thought he once was. When she sings "I've been to heaven and I've been to hell. I will find my way. Between the lines...", I believe her. Paranormal Love not only has a pretty nice intro, but also fine guitar sounds with a layer of effects. Man Down at times is reminiscent of PJ Harvey, while Forgive but not Forgive is the instrumental outro of a very strong record.

Electro and guitar work are interwoven into a beautiful and homogenous whole. Sara has a nice voice to listen to. She can do a lot with her ​​voice. There is great attention for detail and there is much to discover. An album that you must have heard. A very nice discovery.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/01/2015


NL

De band begon acht jaar gelden in IJsland. Omstreeks 2010 vertrok de zangeres (Sarah Eksteen) naar Zuid- Afrika waar ze de band (her)vormde tot zijn huidige bezetting. Het is niet omdat ze nu vanuit het warme Johannesburg muziek maken dat die zuiders of warm zou klinken. Verre van. Bij het horen van dit album, ga je eerder aan Scandinavische groepen, donkere wintermaanden, depressieve stemmingen of glooiende fjorden denken. Het artwork bestaat uit cassettedoosje met daarin een usb-stick. De cover is precies een Rorschachtest-tekening.

Het album begint met Ejected, een donkere instrumental met een hoge ijle stem op de verre achtergrond (of is het een sample?). Daar hou ik wel van en het maakte mij nieuwsgierig naar de rest. Het tweede nummer Drown in you is meteen raak. Het nummer begint met drums en een gruizig keyboardgeluid dat de zang begeleidt. Sarah heeft bij momenten een engelachtig stemgeluid. Dose of my Dark Side is zowaar nog beter. Heel pakkend gezongen, synths die mooi samengaan met de bas en een fijne jazzy drum die halfweg naar een meer traditionele rockdrum evolueert. In het refrein gaat ze zelfs nog trapje hoger zingen. 

Between the Lines is een heerlijke darkwave song. Een nummer dat in mijn hoofd blijft ronddwalen. Een brommende bas, donkere Cure-keys, een desperate zang over een iemand die inziet dat haar liefde maar van één kant blijkt te komen. Wanneer ze “I’ve been to heaven and I’ve been to hell. I will find my way. Between the lines… “ zingt, dan geloof ik haar best. 

Nerve begint redelijk donker met een zware gitaar om daarna het echte nummer tevoorschijn te toveren. Paranormal Love heeft naast een mooi intro, ook fijne gitaarklanken onder een laag effecten. In My Own Enemy beschrijft ze mooi hoe het aanvoelt als je zelf de pedalen aan het verliezen bent. 

Bij Man Down denk je bij momenten aan PJ Harvey. Forgive but not Forgive is een instrumentale outro op een heel sterke plaat. Electro en gitaarwerk worden tot een mooi en homogeen geheel verweven. Waar de song het vraagt, wordt meer gitaar gebruikt en vice versa.

Sara heeft een aangename stem om naar te luisteren, die nu en dan overgaat in een ander stemregister. Ze kan veel aan met haar stem. In haar teksten lijkt niets vanzelf te gaan en lijkt niets goed af te lopen. Er is veel aandacht voor details en er valt veel te ontdekken. Een album dat je gehoord moet hebben. Mij laat het in elk geval niet meteen los en het zit al een tijdje in mijn playlist. Een heel fijne ontdekking waarvan ik hoop dat ze heel wat potten zal breken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/01/2015


Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL
03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]
02
04
DIE KRUPPS
Chinese Black Die Krupps feat. Jyrki69 (Official Music Video)
02
04
DIESEIN
You
01
04
ILLUMININE
Dear, Eulogy (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR