tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

04/10/2013 : POLYNOMIQ - Languages (exclusive preview)

POLYNOMIQ

Languages (exclusive preview)

MusicCD
Analogue SynthSynth Wave

[75/100]   
04/10/2013, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

Peek-a-boo had the exclusive opportunity to preview the forthcoming album of PolynomiQ, the brand new solo project of JM Mélot, the Belgian composer and synth wizard (also in Modern Cubism, ex-MED). Being an IT professional and a fan of analog synths, Mélot has composed 9 instrumentals that are all named after mainframe computer languages, like Cobol, Fortran, etc. Nice idea!

The music is reminiscent of Kraftwerk, of course, but also of Jean-Michel Jarre, YMO, Vangelis or other Belgian projects like Metroland or Dan Lacksman. There are no vocals, only a few vocoder words and one sample from an interview of Brigitte Bardot ("La vie ressemble à une grande prison", in the song "Ada"). On "Algol", you hear magnificent synth sounds that evoke John Foxx. My favorite track is "Fortran", probably because it is more upbeat, more powerful.

Mélot has recorded the tracks in his own studio, "Geometry For Numbers Studio", located near Charleroi. The synths he used include vintage legends like Roland JX8P, Oberheim Matrix 1000, Crumar Bit01 or Roland Alpha Juno1. The album will be released in the next few weeks, as soon as Mélot has selected a label.

You can hear excerpts from the 9 tracks from the album here or check the trailer on YouTube below.

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
04/10/2013


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design